Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Does anyone in the Community have a 5870 2 GB Card?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 06 May 2010 - 15:02

If you are running ROF on 5870, 2GB Graphics Card - please post here…

Thanks

Gunny
  • 0

#2 [ER]Fischer

[ER]Fischer
  • Posts: 141

Posted 06 May 2010 - 17:47

A 8570 with 2 Gig Ram?
WOW, I can only help with 4 x 5870 with 4 Gig Ram overall. :shock:
  • 0

#3 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 06 May 2010 - 18:17

LOL, no, and I'm not going to run out and spend $600 just to satisfy your curiosity, Gunny :lol:

Thanks, by the way, for all the useful stuff you are providing. I always check out your posts.

S!

HT
  • 0

#4 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 06 May 2010 - 23:11

Naw, Tom - I understand :) I'm just curious (can't let the wife see me looking at any hardware)……

I'm checking into two things:

1) For single GPU Boards, does ROF recognize the extra VRAM
2) What's it do for you (should allow 8X AA/16X AF + Effects)…maybe a bit more

S!

Gunny
  • 0

#5 SC/JG_Oesau

SC/JG_Oesau
  • Posts: 2024

Posted 06 May 2010 - 23:33

Not at this stage…

Do you mean the eyefinity 6 card? Don't know of any reviews running it on ROF and whether you get any advantage with it.

http://www.hardocp.c...ormance_review/">http://www.hardocp.c...rticle/2010/04/ … ce_review/
  • 0

#6 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 07 May 2010 - 02:00

Thanks, Oesau - it's a shame they don't test FLight sims anymore….

Someone will show up with it someday :)

S!

Gunny
  • 0

#7 SC/JG_Oesau

SC/JG_Oesau
  • Posts: 2024

Posted 07 May 2010 - 02:14

I've budgeted for one in that price range for the next PC (couple of months off), by that time someone is sure to have tested it out on ROF.
  • 0

#8 Hornswaggle

Hornswaggle
  • Posts: 70

Posted 06 June 2010 - 07:18

If you are running ROF on 5870, 2GB Graphics Card - please post here…

Thanks

Gunny

I am running two Toxic 5870 2gb cards, but crossfire is not working with ROF, so I make due with one of em.

ROF is one of the first games where you notice a difference right off the bat, because it tells you how much virtual memory your settings were using. With my old 5870 I would top out at 100%, but now I can turn HDR on, AAx2 on and a few other goodies and I never max past 70 memory usage. I am running an eyefinity setup with three dell U2410s and I would say that yea, its a smoother experience, but dunno if it would justify the cost to upgrade.

Image
Image
  • 0

#9 =IRFC=AirBiscuit

=IRFC=AirBiscuit
  • Posts: 2455
  • LocationNaples, FL USA

Posted 06 June 2010 - 12:02

Damn, Hornswaggle, now I have to clean my keyboard..
  • 0

=IRFC=Air Biscuit

http://quetoo.org


#10 Hornswaggle

Hornswaggle
  • Posts: 70

Posted 06 June 2010 - 22:51

Damn, Hornswaggle, now I have to clean my keyboard..


Well dont clean it yet…look at this absolutely insane five monitor setup!
http://www.youtube.c...h?v=GNkDX2pcg0U">
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users