Posted 06 May 2010 - 07:35

OK, here's the master plan:

from this:
c2d 2.66
9800GT 1GB
4G RAM
530W PSU

to this:

intel x58 (according to Bender's guide. I'm no expert)
Corsair 850W PSU
a decent cooling system
I'll keep my 4G RAM and buy 2 more

i7-960 @ 3.2 Ghz - AMD six cores are cheaper but they don't perform any better, and I can't afford an i7 6 core (x980)

I'll also keep my vcard. It has 1G memory, and it's dx 10 compatible. It wouldn't be worth it to buy anything that isn't dx11 compatible and has at least 2 gigs, but these cards are non-existent/ horribly expensive

Neither will I buy a sound card, as RoF has problems with it, I suppose the built-in one will work just fine.

I expect this new system to run RoF perfectly and run SoW fine too. In case my Vcard proves to be a bottleneck for SoW, I'll buy a 2Gig one that's dx11 compatible in a year or something.

I think that it won't be much cheaper in September, and the new technologies will still be out of reach for my wallet, so why not now?

What do you you think? Any PC gurus out there?

#2 Marco_._

Marco_._

Posted 06 May 2010 - 08:21

from this:
c2d 2.66
9800GT 1GB
4G RAM
530W PSU

to this:

Corsair 850W PSU
a decent cooling system

i7-960 @ 3.2 Ghz - AMD six cores are cheaper but they don't perform any better, and I can't afford an i7 6 core (x980)

I'll also keep my vcard. It has 1G memory, and it's dx 10 compatible. It wouldn't be worth it to buy anything that isn't dx11 compatible and has at least 2 gigs, but these cards are non-existent/ horribly expensive

Neither will I buy a sound card, as RoF has problems with it, I suppose the built-in one will work just fine.

I expect this new system to run RoF perfectly and run SoW fine too. In case my Vcard proves to be a bottleneck for SoW, I'll buy a 2Gig one that's dx11 compatible in a year or something.

I think that it won't be much cheaper in September, and the new technologies will still be out of reach for my wallet, so why not now?