Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ATI drivers


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 W1ndy

W1ndy
  • Posts: 1475

Posted 20 April 2010 - 09:07

Edit to add ; 10.5 driver released


Someone had to do it… absolutely first post in the new sub-forum . ;)

Ati . I just switched over to ATI and have no knowledge about the drivers and RoF.

Any experiences to share ?

At the moment I'm leaving all catalyst centre settings to "application" because this seems best so far.

I'm running 10.2, and flying a HD 5850
  • 0

#2 TX-Thunderbolt

TX-Thunderbolt
  • Posts: 1436

Posted 20 April 2010 - 12:37

My Squad mate TX-Gunslinger is running a late edition ATI offering and can certainly give respectable advice regarding them. I'll point him over here.
  • 0

#3 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 20 April 2010 - 14:44

Hey W1ndy, I'm having good luck with the 10.3 drivers, which are the current recommended.

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

S!

Gunny
  • 0

#4 [ER]Fischer

[ER]Fischer
  • Posts: 141

Posted 20 April 2010 - 17:34

I have four 5870 and Catalyst 10.3.
The framerate grows up for 10 fps from 10.2 to 10.3.
But when I use only ONE card, the performance is much better.
I think, the crossfire support doesn't really work correctly.
  • 0

#5 =IRFC=AirBiscuit

=IRFC=AirBiscuit
  • Posts: 2455
  • LocationNaples, FL USA

Posted 20 April 2010 - 18:37

Crossfire / SLI not working is a Rise of Flight issue, tho. Not a drivers issue.

I'm running a a 5870 but have not yet upgraded from 10.2 to 10.3. I plan to once they're out of release-candidate / beta.
  • 0

=IRFC=Air Biscuit

http://quetoo.org


#6 Murf

Murf
  • Posts: 137

Posted 21 April 2010 - 07:21

I have heard more than once that the crossfire support doesn't play nice
with the 5870… a guy at work is having all sorts of headaches with it!! :shock:
  • 0

#7 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 21 April 2010 - 12:58

Jay,

I'm not sure I understand the ATI certification process. The 10.3's are the drivers your led to first, when you ask for drivers on the ATI site. The 10.3's were out last month as beta, I thought.

Is it the fact that the 10.3 drivers are not listed as "WHQL" mean that it's they are in RC status?

Thanks

Gunny
  • 0

#8 =IRFC=AirBiscuit

=IRFC=AirBiscuit
  • Posts: 2455
  • LocationNaples, FL USA

Posted 21 April 2010 - 13:32

That was my understanding from their support website, yes. I'm sure they are very close to "ready" and the official 10.3 release might just be a repackaging of this RC. I'm just not in any sort of rush to get them :)
  • 0

=IRFC=Air Biscuit

http://quetoo.org


#9 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 21 April 2010 - 14:49

Roger, copy all. Thanks Jay. I have not noticed anything particularly different in 10.3 - then again - I have not looked all that hard…

S!

Gunny
  • 0

#10 BOLT

BOLT
  • Posts: 62

Posted 21 April 2010 - 16:50

The 10.3's were approved and officially released last month; 10.4 is to be released later today according to an ati dev on twitter
  • 0

#11 W1ndy

W1ndy
  • Posts: 1475

Posted 05 June 2010 - 08:42

Bump to note that 10.5 is released. I got a 5 FPS-average boost from it and no problems so far.
  • 0

#12 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4372

Posted 05 June 2010 - 09:27

Bump to note that 10.5 is released. I got a 5 FPS-average boost from it and no problems so far.

see Catalyst fix for IL-2 players
I did not have any FPS boost on XPpro, only failures which resulting into a BSoD. Back to 10.4 and no problems anymore, sent a report to AMD and now waiting for the 10.5fix or 10.6.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#13 W1ndy

W1ndy
  • Posts: 1475

Posted 05 June 2010 - 10:03

see Catalyst fix for IL-2 players
I did not have any FPS boost on XPpro, only failures which resulting into a BSoD. Back to 10.4 and no problems anymore, sent a report to AMD and now waiting for the 10.5fix or 10.6.

You beat me. I was going to edit this. I (duh) forgot to configure CCC to what I had before , and actually there was no boost. Possibly a drop.

I stayed with 10.5 to see what happens, but no, no boost.
  • 0

#14 Crockett

Crockett
  • Posts: 97

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:18

I'm running 10.4 drivers with an ATI 5770 card and Intel Core i5-750 Processor overclocked to 3700 MHz. My in game settings are mostly on high except for Grass and Reflection which are on Medium.
Screen Resolution is 1280 x 1024 (I've still got an older CRT monitor)
Distance is Far
Filter is Anisotropic 2X
Antialiasing is 1
Landscape mesh is 100%
HDR is Med
And I've got Bloom and Rain Drops checked.
I'm getting in the 60's fps

I plan on trying different settings but have been having too much fun so far!

I got a boost in fps when I went from 10.3 to 10.4 and had no problems when I did that. At one time I was getting in the 40's fps but I don't remember if that was with 10.2 or 10.3 drivers.

Tally Ho!!!
Crockett
  • 0

#15 Quax.

Quax.
  • Posts: 633
  • LocationGermany

Posted 09 June 2010 - 07:37

Could you please give me your fps with CCC set to 2*SSAA (AA set to supersampling) ? THX
Do you run XP or "7"?
  • 0

#16 Crockett

Crockett
  • Posts: 97

Posted 09 June 2010 - 08:25

I set the AA Mode to Super Sample AA. It had been on Adaptive Multi Sample AA

Then I flew the Du Doch mission with the D VII. Depending whether I was in chase view or in the cockpit and how close to the ground I was – I got anywhere from a low of 47 to a high in the low 80's. Dogfighting was in the low to mid 50's. Just flying and looking around was in the 60's to low 70's.

I'm using fraps and just tried to keep a close eye in the FPS while flying. I didn't have fraps set to give me an average frame rate.

My OS is windows 7 64 bit.

Crockett
  • 0

#17 kirock7

kirock7
  • Posts: 1138

Posted 09 June 2010 - 14:07

Hi, Crockett
I'm curious; To get above 60 frames you must have V-Sync turned off, right?
Do you have it disabled in both the CCC and the game?

Edit: Just realized you stated you're running a CRT and not an LCD… I'll be that's why you have frame rates higher than 60 even with V-Sync turned on.
  • 0

#18 Crockett

Crockett
  • Posts: 97

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:24

I've got v-sync off.

I've never seen that much difference but of course have never had a system that could ever give me decent frame rates with it on – so have never enabled it. Maybe I'll turn it on and post the difference.

Crockett
  • 0

#19 Herbs107

Herbs107
  • Posts: 234

Posted 11 June 2010 - 05:38

Hey Crockett, shouldnt you be able to get higher AF and AA settings with the 5770?
  • 0

#20 TX-Gunslinger

TX-Gunslinger
  • Posts: 751

Posted 11 June 2010 - 05:42

10.5 has worked just great for my 5870. No gain, but Il2 sure runs well :)

S!

Gunny
  • 0

#21 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4372

Posted 11 June 2010 - 15:19

This could be my combination HD4890 and XPpro that is not a optimum for 10.5 I think new catalyst is more a less build for Win7 or HD5XXX cards. But as always to new drivers be cautious :geek:
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#22 Oldsimmer

Oldsimmer
  • Posts: 446

Posted 11 June 2010 - 18:31

10.5 works just perfect for me with XP Home SP3, HD 5850. IL2 runs just fine and anything else I throw at it.
  • 0

#23 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 11 June 2010 - 23:32

10.5 seems very happy in my HD 4870 1 GB, Win 7 64 Home Premium.

No increase here that I can notice (I really should find a benchmark mission) but very smooth.

With every new driver release, if you read the ATI forums, you would think they had uncaged the Drivers From Hell but I never seem to have any of the demons they report.

I'm happy.

HT
  • 0

#24 Crockett

Crockett
  • Posts: 97

Posted 12 June 2010 - 04:35

OK – I couldn't get Fraps to give me average FPS but I watched it as closely as I could. I flew the Du Doch Nicht Campaign. Never did finish it without going down in flames! My frame rates were about what they were before maxing everything out!

Guess I'll fly maxed out from now on.

I've got 10.4 Driver with OS Windows 7 64 bit
Intel Core i5-750 Processor overclocked to 3700 MHz
ATI 5770
ALL Catalyst Control Center 3D settings to Maximum.
In game settings:
CRT Screen Resolution 1280 x 1024 (5:4)
Checked: Fullscreen mode
Landscape: High
Grass: High
Trees: High
Shadows: High
Reflection: High
Textures: High
Filter : Anisotropic X8
Forest Distance: Far

Antialising 4x
Landscape mesh quality 100%
Gamma correction: 50%
Vertical synchronization: checked
Post effects: HDR High
Bloom: checked
Rain Drops: checked

ATI Overdrive
High performance GPU clock settings 850 MHz
High performance Memory clock settings: 1200MHz

Enable Manual Fan Control: 75%
(I have a Cooler Master HAF case with a lot of air flow. But I do find that my video card stays cooler with manual fan control to 75% so I play the game with it on manual rather than auto)

While flying
In the cockpit looking forward: 65 fps
Chase view: 50 fps
In the cockpit while looking at the ground beside me: mid 50's
In the cockpit while looking straight up: 75 fps

I flew the mission several times and while in combat never looked at the fps counter but I think it was in the 50's – I guess I was too excited to look at it!!!

Crockett
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users