Photo
- - - - -

Trouble landing Albatros D.Va at Houplin

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 tednturanski

tednturanski

Posted 26 April 2021 - 01:51

I need some help with how to land the Albatros D.Va at Houplin aerodrome.  I'm new to ROF, and this is the first ROF plane I've attempted to fly.  I take off and fly OK, and can make a good landing approach to landing, but then what looks like it should have been a good setup to landing ends with what seems to be ground loop ending in a crash.  I've attempted different speeds many times, but somehow I'm missing the right kind of touch at or just after touchdown.  I've made hundreds of landings in other sims with other planes, but this has me stumped.  What can I try?  What do I need to look out for or do differently?  I would appreciate any help from some of the more experienced ROF pilots.  And, thank you for any help.

Sincerely,  Ted,   from Lake City, Michigan  USA

#2 Zooropa_Fly

Zooropa_Fly

Posted 26 April 2021 - 09:27

Ground looping is hard to avoid in many of these planes. (Alby's shouldn't be the worst for this though :P  )

It may be over-modelled in game - It's been talked about before..

Anyway, I'd suggest you'll get better with experience.

Try and be pro-active with rudder rather than re-active.

'Wiggle' it left and right as you're rolling, rather than waiting to make a 'correction'. Thus you're taking more control rather than letting the plane do it's own thing.

Stick-back will help you slow down a bit.

Good luck and let us know how you're getting on.

Salute !

ZF.

".. and they'll send you home in a pine overcoat, with a letter to your Mum,

Saying find enclosed one son one medal and a note, to, say, he, Won".

#3 Steamboat_Willie

Steamboat_Willie

Posted 26 April 2021 - 14:17