Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Basic Hardware


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 20 April 2020 - 02:26

running an older system, I should upgrade soon anyway. 

 

Just what current systems an a person get right now that are "bare bones" enough in a desktop that can run the flying circus and rise of flight?

 

I use an HDTV for a monitor so im set on that.

 

Is desk mounted throttle systems and floor pedals actually needed for these games?  Curious because games I have looked at over the years merely consider them to be optional eye candy. And flightgear flight simulator that people are actually using to practice flying commercial jets as well as our beloved rotary engines, doesn't have the need for them.

 

Joystick, the thrustmaster T16000 seems an over all popular stick here, is it truly good enough to fly all the planes in RoF and FC?


  • 0

#2 Leftenant_Gerald

Leftenant_Gerald
  • Member
  • Posts: 1109
  • LocationUnited States EST

Posted 20 April 2020 - 16:39

Minimum systems:

 

  • OS: Win XP SP3, Vista, 7, 8 and 10 (32 or 64 bit)
  • Processor: Win XP: Intel® Core 2™ Duo 2.4 GHz or comparable AMD chip
  • Memory: 2 GB RAM
  • Graphics: 512 MB video memory / GeForce 8800GT / Radeon HD3500
  • DirectX: Version 9.0c
  • Storage: 8 GB available space
  • Sound Card: DirectX 9.0c Compatible
  • Additional Notes: Initial activation requires internet connection for User Account creation inside game interface. Internet connection required for use of some game modes. 256kbs Internet connection or faster required for internet play. An offline mode is also available for certain game modes. Software installations required (included with the game) include Steam Client, DirectX 9c, Microsoft .NET 3.5 Framework, Visual C++ Redistributable 2005. Controller: DirectX Compatible joystick or other controller recommended.

 

Having a throttle and floor peddles is not required, is only an extra add on, though if you're flying with a joystick I would recommend getting some sort of head tracking device/software

The Thrustmaster is absolutely good enough to use in rise of flight and flying circus, it is one of the better ones that is pretty cheap.


  • 0

Salute! The Youngest Geezer Around   :icon_e_salute: 

PP logo1 25.jpg

 

 


#3 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 20 April 2020 - 22:21

care to explain the head tracking stuff,  im kind of used to red baron and simply hitting a keyboard button to look in multiple directions.


  • 0

#4 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 21 April 2020 - 01:41

care to explain the head tracking stuff,  im kind of used to red baron and simply hitting a keyboard button to look in multiple directions.

Head tracking is a must have IMO for any flight sim. Basically, you wear a device on your head (Can be attached to headphones or worn as a cap like I have), and you use software for the game to recognize when you move your head, the in-game head will move likewise. Being able to look around is essential for having situational awareness, and improves game play ten fold compared to use your mouse or a hat switch.

 

You can either buy the real expensive TrackIR, or make your own. Here's a little tutorial thing I made. It's a pretty rubbish post and not even finished, so If you have any questions feel free to ask. I'm happy to help!

https://riseofflight...acker-tutorial/

 

And with the joystick, the T16000m is perfect. it'll work great for pretty much all aircraft's.

 

I'm not sure about In RoF, but in Il2 great battles multi engine planes can have their engines controlled separately. Having a throttle quadrant could be useful, but I wouldn't say necessary. I don't have one. Buttons are enough for me.

 

And rudder pedals are great! But a bit less necessary. I just use pedals from my Logitech Wingman Formula Force GP steering wheel pedals. Just needed to report combined pedals or something, and it works perfect. However the twist in the T16000m also works.

 

S!


  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#5 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 21 April 2020 - 20:01

does the stick have good yaw?


  • 0

#6 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 21 April 2020 - 22:07

Compared to my old junky sticks, yes I would say so. However I've never properly used it for rudder, since I've had my make shift pedals. Learning how to properly use Yaw is critical tho! When I first started I had an old joystick with no yaw, and buttons instead... that doesn't work lol. I could never line myself up with nay target.

 

If you're ambitious enough you could make your own rudder bar using a hall effect sensor, and an Arduino or another spare joystick. Here's a link to a thread on the FC forums started by plank knalp!. There's alot of junk in there... so i understand if you cant be bothered reading it all haha. https://forum.il2stu...nd-other-stuff/
 

S!


  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#7 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 22 April 2020 - 01:01

Im almost shocked that wasn't a thread about getting a world war 1 model plane to fly.

 

I haven't dealt with joysticks since I had a go at playing x-wing versus tie fighter in a computer store back when it came out. That dates me.


  • 0

#8 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 22 April 2020 - 05:08

Is it better to just spend the money and get the thrustmaster t16000m FCS on its own and skip the throttle system,

 

or is it better to spend a tad more and get one that has the throttle controls included?

 

For what I see the throttle controls are really really simple here...

 

fuel mix, throttle up, throttle down.  Lawn Dart.


  • 0

#9 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 22 April 2020 - 08:39

T16000m has a throttle on the joystick. Buttons on either the keyboard, or preferably the joystick are perfectly fine imo. I would say it is more important to have a head tracker then rudder pedals or throttle quadrant.

 

Planes are all different... but In RoF we have mixture and radiator. Some planes like the D7f also have altitude control, but that can be to the same keys as mixture control. Its simple open + close radiator, and increase + decrease mixture.  4 Keys.

 

And with getting the joystick... I think the T16000m is a very very good joystick, but I have little else to base it off. However, If you have the budget, and you know you will spend alot of time on flight sims, then by all means look at different sticks. But for normal game play, the T16000m is great!

 

S!

 

PS I updated the link which shows you the first page where rudder talk was going on.


  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#10 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 22 April 2020 - 08:49

Here's my layout: T16000m-Ro-F-layout.jpgcount on me poem

 

FYI, i control rudder with rudder pedals, and engine on, icons and what not are all with the keyboard.


  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#11 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 22 April 2020 - 16:33

Its why im asking, I KNOW the throttle system WOULD be more usable to have with the IL-2 games and some of the other flight sims, but as I want to get rise of flight figured out properly.

 

we have throttle up, throttle down

fuel mix lean, fuel mix rich

 

does the throttle lever actually change those things or are we still stuck doing that with keys in rof?

 

Im still trying to figure out the head movement to look around my plane.


  • 0

#12 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 22 April 2020 - 22:35

Yes, mixture, radiator and throttle can all be mapped to slider keys (like the throttle on T16000m). However, I believe keys work perfectly fine, since on screen it tells you how much mixture/radiator you have going. If you want to go 100% with the HUD off, then maybe you'll need a throttle quadrant.

But like I say, I think a throttle quadrant is quite low on the list for things you need.

Perhaps someone else could chip in with a different stick that you might be after?

S!
  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#13 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 23 April 2020 - 02:43

just a general question,

 

Has anyone here tried to shoot the AI gunners when they stand around and watch the enemy fighters shoot your plane to crap?


  • 0

#14 Leftenant_Gerald

Leftenant_Gerald
  • Member
  • Posts: 1109
  • LocationUnited States EST

Posted 23 April 2020 - 12:26

Do you mean shoot as the gunner? because you can switch postitions but it makes flying alot harder


  • 0

Salute! The Youngest Geezer Around   :icon_e_salute: 

PP logo1 25.jpg

 

 


#15 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16646

Posted 23 April 2020 - 17:18

Yeah - you can shoot them with your pistol - or you can try giving them orders to engage at different ranges - if you have them engaging at too-long range, they may be shooting up all their ammo by the time the enemy gets in close and starts chewing up your plane.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#16 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 23 April 2020 - 20:07

ordered the thrustmaster with hotas.  I have a feeling that either my keyboard isn't working or I just don't get the right key combo because I can ue the key board to look around the plane.


  • 0

#17 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 415
  • LocationAotearoa

Posted 25 April 2020 - 03:21

I suggest waiting for your joystick, then set everything up proper. Setting up your controls early is very important IMO. Otherwise you will learn bad habits and what not.

 

Whats the chances that you will get a new PC?


  • 0

Always remember you are unique!

Just like everyone else.


#18 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 17 December 2020 - 06:51

Well  its been an interesting year.  I did get that flightmaster and hotas.. still have not used it.  Been waiting on getting my new pc together.

 

So many months still don't know what I should get parts wise other then CPU based on whats available and on skewed reviews


  • 0

#19 Barkhorn1x

Barkhorn1x
  • Posts: 1056

Posted 17 December 2020 - 13:48

Well  its been an interesting year.  I did get that flightmaster and hotas.. still have not used it.  Been waiting on getting my new pc together.

 

So many months still don't know what I should get parts wise other then CPU based on whats available and on skewed reviews

Well, this is not the best forum for hardware recs.

 

But this one has all sorts of good info and knowledgeable people who will answer your questions:

 

https://simhq.com/fo...are-software-pc


  • 0

#20 SeaW0lf

SeaW0lf
  • Posts: 2542
  • LocationRio de Janeiro - Brazil

Posted 17 December 2020 - 18:36

So many months still don't know what I should get parts wise other then CPU based on whats available and on skewed reviews

 

If you want a good computer that will last for a few years, you can't go wrong with the specs below:

Ryzen 5 5600X (5000 series), 16GB of 3600Mhz CL16 RAM (32GB for Microsoft Flight Simulator), a NVMe SSD (Samsung) for Windows and a few games, 2 or 4TB HDD for files and such, a Seasonic 650 / 750W PSU (650W should cover even for the RTX 3070). 

On the GPU side of things, if you are playing 1080p (perhaps 1440p), get the RTX 3060 Ti or the upcoming 3060. If you are playing on 1440p, get the RTX 3070. For 4K, get the RTX 3080.

If you render your flights or stream, consider the Ryzen 7 5800X. But the R5 5600X is a good overall CPU. If you only play ROF or Il-2 Series, an Intel i5-9600K is a good / cheap option.

VR is demanding on the GPU, so get the best your money can buy.


  • 1
"There will be honor enough for us all."

#21 pocketshaver

pocketshaver
  • Member
  • Posts: 119

Posted 21 December 2020 - 05:50

PCPartPicker Part List

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X 3.8 GHz 6-Core Processor  ($339.29 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: *Asus PRIME X570-P ATX AM4 Motherboard  ($148.99 @ Amazon)
Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 CL16 Memory  ($74.99 @ Corsair)
Storage: Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive  ($89.99 @ Adorama)
Video Card: Asus Radeon RX 5500 XT 8 GB DUAL EVO OC Video Card  ($309.98 @ Amazon)
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit  ($108.78 @ Other World Computing)
Total: $1072.02
Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
*Lowest price parts chosen from parametric criteria
Generated by PCPartPicker 2020-12-21 00:49 EST-0500

 

actual price of what I bout 50% less total. Love digging the internet.

 

How does a person figure out the correct cables to use inside the case?


  • 0

#22 SeaW0lf

SeaW0lf
  • Posts: 2542
  • LocationRio de Janeiro - Brazil

Posted 21 December 2020 - 10:29

I would not get the Ryzen 5 3600X. An Intel i5-9600K is better for Il-2, Rise of Flight. Either you get the R5 5600X or I would get any Intel part. These games are basically single core (a Il-2 Dev said once the game used 2 cores), and Ryzen 3000 series still has latency issues.

 

Also, Nvidia is recommended for Il-2 and Rise of Flight. AMD has driver issues in these simulators as fas as I know. 


  • 0
"There will be honor enough for us all."

#23 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4465

Posted 28 December 2020 - 09:07

The problem its a very bad time to pickup new hardware. Only I would right now go for an AMD5000 CPU and Nvidia3000 series GPU.
Before buying hardware ask to yourself a couple of questions:
Do I overclock, whats the budget, what can I still use from my old PC, what application you going to use.
If not being an overclocker then you can get cheaper motherboards & CPU and use the stock cooler.
Budget says it all
Harddisk, PSU or even the RAM, it’s always interesting to check this.
Application, if your using only single core applications like most of the flysim then select an CPU thats good in single core performance.

About selecting the motherboards check on the best audiochip, avoid hot boards, and 4 RAM slots. 4RAM slots is always an handy when like me have to shift from 2x8Gb to 32Gb (FS2020). Performance difference in motherboards is something from the past.
RAM selecting, always check in the motherboard listing if you RAM of choice has been listed.

Good source for selecting are Hardware Unboxed, Gamersnexus and Der8auer. Tomshardware is more become an advertisement site.

Helpfull can be this discussion: https://forum.il2stu...pc-for-il-2-vr/
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users