Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ROF not starting


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 Vidar252

Vidar252
  • Member
  • Posts: 2

Posted 28 November 2019 - 21:39

I just set up my new computer. Installed steam, downloaded ROF and tried starting it.....nothing!!! Just a short glimpse of the loading screen and it jumps right back to steam. No error code or message or anything just blib and gone!!

Only thing i noticed was it trying to install DirectX. Could see the window. I ran DXDiag, the newest DirectX is installed.

Tried downloading game outside of Steam. installed, updated and started it. Here at least i could get to the Launcher and play with Graphic Card options, but than same thing. Short glimpse of the loading screen and goodbye, like nothing ever happened.

 

What can i do? How to troubleshoot this? I looked all over, but i just cant get it to work!

I attached DXDiag for some more info...

By the way, it runs just fine on my old Laptop.

 

Thanks


  • 0

#2 Vidar252

Vidar252
  • Member
  • Posts: 2

Posted 29 November 2019 - 04:18

 Found it, I uninstalled all Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable Packages and installed all i could get my hands on. No messages nothing, just started working


  • 0

#3 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 29 November 2019 - 09:31

It does not need the newest DirectX, but the one it supports. Let it do its thing.
  • 0

#4 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 21 December 2019 - 16:07

Hello! I'm happy to be a part of this community!

 

Ready and willing to get this sim running.

 

I have gone through the tutorial video on the settings thing and I cannot get this game to run at all. Using launcher to start, goes to black screen and then back to desktop.

 

Any other Ideas? It's Steam Free Version 2.0... I've found no ability to update.

 

Comp Specs:

Opsys: Win10 Home x64

16gb RAM

Graphics Chipset
Radeon™ RX 580
CPU Type
AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Eight-Core Processor
128 SSD
1TB HD

  • 0

#5 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16286

Posted 21 December 2019 - 17:44

Welcome to RoF and the Forums!

 

Sorry you're having problems.  Doing the update thing is easy from the non-Steam version's launcher screen, but I've never messed with the Steam version so I can't say how that might work.

 

Perhaps someone who uses the Steam version will pop in with some advice.  Failing that, you could just try uninstaling that Steam version and D/L'ing and installing the free version from the RoF website - then do an update from its launcher and you should be good to go.

 

Good luck.  Even though the Devs have moved on from RoF to Flying Circus, there's still a lot of great content/planes and fun to be had with RoF, and there's a huge sale going on right now in the RoF store so you can pick up whatever strikes your fancy at super low prices.


  • 1

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 58.jpg


#6 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 21 December 2019 - 18:40


 

Welcome to RoF and the Forums!

 

Sorry you're having problems.  Doing the update thing is easy from the non-Steam version's launcher screen, but I've never messed with the Steam version so I can't say how that might work.

 

Perhaps someone who uses the Steam version will pop in with some advice.  Failing that, you could just try uninstaling that Steam version and D/L'ing and installing the free version from the RoF website - then do an update from its launcher and you should be good to go.

 

Good luck.  Even though the Devs have moved on from RoF to Flying Circus, there's still a lot of great content/planes and fun to be had with RoF, and there's a huge sale going on right now in the RoF store so you can pick up whatever strikes your fancy at super low prices.

 

Thank you for the response! I've been diligent in trying to figure this out. Afaik I have the 2005 c++ dist. It shows in loaded updates.

I have already purchased the CBE DLC lol... so I'm confident someone will come along soon!

Thank you again!


  • 0

#7 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 21 December 2019 - 20:45

Do check you have the latest gpu updates. If you do, you may want to check the event viewer and post the results here.
  • 1

#8 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 22 December 2019 - 21:18

Do check you have the latest gpu updates. If you do, you may want to check the event viewer and post the results here.

 

I am in process of downloading the latest AMD driver now. The last time I updated this card, the whole system crashed and my computer won a trip to Texas for repair lol.

 

If it isn't the vc driver , I have no clue as to why it won't run. Not sure where to go from here.

 

@Panthercules  I did uninstall the Steam version and downloaded/updated the copy from this website. Quirky as Steam is.


  • 0

#9 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16286

Posted 22 December 2019 - 22:48

Thank you for the response! I've been diligent in trying to figure this out. Afaik I have the 2005 c++ dist. 

 

Please note that after the latest update apparently you also need the 2008 c++ dist as well as the 2005 version - there's a thread around here somewhere that explains that issue and gives you a link to the correct 2008 version as well.


  • 1

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 58.jpg


#10 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 22 December 2019 - 22:55

You may try running the game "As Administrator - instead of double clicking the desktop icon, you press right mouse button and choose that option form the context menu. This will go around any permissions problems you may be having, although of course you shouldn't really run all your software like that. 

 

If it doesn't get better, the most likely place to get details from the error is at

 

    Control panel-> System and Security-> Administrative Tools-> Event Viewer -> Windows Logs

 

and then check both the System and Application logs at the exact time of the crash. You may get a glimpse yourself, or post here for us to check.


  • 1

#11 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 23 December 2019 - 01:40

You may try running the game "As Administrator - instead of double clicking the desktop icon, you press right mouse button and choose that option form the context menu. This will go around any permissions problems you may be having, although of course you shouldn't really run all your software like that. 

 

If it doesn't get better, the most likely place to get details from the error is at

 

    Control panel-> System and Security-> Administrative Tools-> Event Viewer -> Windows Logs

 

and then check both the System and Application logs at the exact time of the crash. You may get a glimpse yourself, or post here for us to check.

 

This is what I'm getting, after I have tried everything suggested, from the event viewer:

 

Faulting application name: ROF.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5af9a01e
Faulting module name: ROF.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5af9a01e
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000179f9
Faulting process id: 0x2a84
Faulting application start time: 0x01d5b93234cb8ac9
Faulting application path: E:\Games\Rise of Flight\bin_game\release\ROF.exe
Faulting module path: E:\Games\Rise of Flight\bin_game\release\ROF.exe
Report Id: 84d4f3b9-add5-416c-b402-8504e6fe8826
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID: 

  • 0

#12 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 23 December 2019 - 11:57

I believe the two log entries may be unrelated. So let's not go into a wild goose chase after that last one, and let's stick to your first error.
It says "Exception code: 0xc0000005":
 

«The exception code 0xc0000005 indicates a memory access violation.»


Are you running any software that may be interfering? Anti-virus or otherwise? Are you overclocking your RAM, or GPU? Anything slightly strange, you feel may be involved?

Did you recently upgrade anything, be it OS, GPU, memory?

Also, does it make a difference if you start in either Windowed or Full Screen mode?
  • 1

#13 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 23 December 2019 - 21:34

I believe the two log entries may be unrelated. So let's not go into a wild goose chase after that last one, and let's stick to your first error.
It says "Exception code: 0xc0000005":
 

Are you running any software that may be interfering? Anti-virus or otherwise? Are you overclocking your RAM, or GPU? Anything slightly strange, you feel may be involved?

Did you recently upgrade anything, be it OS, GPU, memory?

Also, does it make a difference if you start in either Windowed or Full Screen mode?

 

No anti-virus other than WinDef. Absolutely no overclocking as I do not believe in it. Nothing I can think of as strange. 

Nothing updated besides vc drivers.

Haven't tried windowed... full screen is non functional.

Thank you for helping! It means alot and I need to get into something else besides Arma 3 (3100+ hours :/ ) LOL.


  • 0

#14 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 23 December 2019 - 21:44

@J2_Bidu

 

No go on the windowed either.

I even cranked all settings down, and tried different resolutions... nothing.

I'm having a similar issue(s) with CFS3... although I can half ass make some of the expansions work if I don't play campaign lol.

What I learned through other sites with CFS3 is to go to compat settings and check off winXP servPk2, 16bit color @ 640x480 res and check off run as Admin.

Albeit a mute effort with ROF.

Thank you again for all the assistance!


  • 0

#15 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 23 December 2019 - 22:08

I would also like to apologize to Vidar252 for hijacking this thread. Unintentional as this was the most relevant post.


  • 0

#16 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 23 December 2019 - 23:14

@J2_Bidu,

 

Unsure if this is helpful, but I attached another more descriptive APPCRASH log.

Attached Files


  • 0

#17 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 23 December 2019 - 23:49

As per this thread (https://steamcommuni...96288636/?ctp=2) sometimes an earlier graphics driver may work when the newest doesn't.
But in principle, last is better so let's not head that way.

Can you try to leave Steam out of the equation and just run it directly? "E:\Games\Rise of Flight\bin_game\release\Settings.exe"
Don't know if that works. Give it a shot.

You may also want to try reinstalling the C++ redistributable packages (http://www.microsoft...ls.aspx?id=5555). I had those messed up after installing.
  • 1

#18 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 23 December 2019 - 23:53

These guys had luck going back with the AMD driver too: https://riseofflight...topped-working/
  • 1

#19 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 24 December 2019 - 00:11

As per this thread (https://steamcommuni...96288636/?ctp=2) sometimes an earlier graphics driver may work when the newest doesn't.
But in principle, last is better so let's not head that way.

Can you try to leave Steam out of the equation and just run it directly? "E:\Games\Rise of Flight\bin_game\release\Settings.exe"
Don't know if that works. Give it a shot.

You may also want to try reinstalling the C++ redistributable packages (http://www.microsoft...ls.aspx?id=5555). I had those messed up after installing.

 

I have the install from 777... and updated. Steam no longer in question. I can get to settings without issue, but no joy. I have done all of the usual suspects, i.e., run as admin and so on.

 

I redownloaded the 2005 C++ and all I can see in programs is (2) @ 2005 c++ (1) @ 2005 c++ (x64), at least 3-4 diff vers of 2008 and of course the 2010's, 12, 13.

 

Still will not run. I appreciate the efforts fellas!


  • 0

#20 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 24 December 2019 - 12:24

Damn, I can't come up with anything else.

All things considered, I still believe it's probably the GPU driver.

Which of "Adrenalin 2020 Edition 19.12.3 Optional" or "Adrenalin 2020 Edition 19.12.2 Recommended (WHQL)" are you running, and / or have you run before?
You may have to be alert for peculiar issues of your specific driver such as this: "Performing a resolution change while Radeon Software overlay is open may cause an application hang or TDR."
  • 1

#21 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 24 December 2019 - 15:49

Damn, I can't come up with anything else.

All things considered, I still believe it's probably the GPU driver.

Which of "Adrenalin 2020 Edition 19.12.3 Optional" or "Adrenalin 2020 Edition 19.12.2 Recommended (WHQL)" are you running, and / or have you run before?
You may have to be alert for peculiar issues of your specific driver such as this: "Performing a resolution change while Radeon Software overlay is open may cause an application hang or TDR."

 

I'm running the 19.12.2 at current. Thank you @J2_Bidu, for all your help as well as @Panthercules and Merry Christmas!

 

It's a shame an op system like win10 and current vcard drivers aren't more flexible for "older" titles.


  • 0

#22 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 25 December 2019 - 14:47

I see there are a few know issues with that version such as

- Some Vulkan® gaming applications may crash when performing a task switch with Radeon Image Sharpening enabled.

- Performing a resolution change while Radeon Software overlay is open may cause an application hang or TDR.

Are you comfortable with creating specific game configurations? I advise you to create one for ROF.EXE and another for SETTING.EXE
(I do believe it is the first, but I'd create a couple of configurations just in case...)

Specifically, I would impose the lowest options on every configuration, and also ensure that the the game is started in the exact same
resolution you run your desktop in. Apparently, AMD driver is sensitive to resolution changes, in some conditions. Just play safe. Also,
no overlay active. Don't run Discord and other stuff at the same time. Just keep things to a bare minimum for starters. And if it doesn't
work, head on to the optional 19.12.3 driver and try the same. And after all that I shall not bother you again and plain give up. ;)
  • 1

#23 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 25 December 2019 - 22:11

 


Are you comfortable with creating specific game configurations? I advise you to create one for ROF.EXE and another for SETTING.EXE
(I do believe it is the first, but I'd create a couple of configurations just in case...)

 

 

I'm not sure what you mean about specific game configs... in this instance I should say. Could I get an example?

I certainly appreciate all the help. I just wish I could figure this out.

I have even backed up to a 17.7 driver with no joy... my vcard only goes so far back.

My build HATES ROF unfortunately.

 


  • 0

#24 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 26 December 2019 - 12:33

I'm not sure what you mean about specific game configs... in this instance I should say. Could I get an example?


Ups I meant "game profiles", as in here:

Game%20Screen.jpg
  • 1

#25 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 26 December 2019 - 21:56

Ah yes. I have this done as well... and no joy. I do appreciate all the help, and makes me realize that you all actually give a crap!  :icon_e_salute:

Maybe something will click and it'll get fixed one day. In the meantime, I'll keep it on my comp.

 

Thank you again!


  • 0

#26 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 26 December 2019 - 22:11

Attached File  Screenshot 2019-12-26 16.58.29.jpg   178.06KB   0 downloads

 

Hmmm, this might be saying something... can't believe I didn't see the all profiles drop down with compat check lol.

 

 


  • 0

#27 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 27 December 2019 - 09:52

Hm, don't really think so. Probably reflects the niche market...
  • 1

#28 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 27 December 2019 - 10:28

@J2_Bidu you are correct as my other "non-checked" games spool up fine.

 

However, once playing around with the profile thing on ROF, when I launched through the AMD portal, the screen was black much longer than before... like it's trying to spool up... dunno...

 

The exception error may be the root. I simply cannot find anything that would interfere.


  • 0

#29 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 01 January 2020 - 00:26

@J2_Bidu

 

I reinstalled the ROF from the ROF-United folder right over top of my previous install and to my amazement.... it worked.

 

Popped up to the sign on screen and all. Wouldn't accept my login (I had previously registered online).

 

So update right? Did that... back to square one. Not working.

 

What does this update install? If I could pinpoint this, maybe it would resolve my issue.


  • 0

#30 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 01 January 2020 - 00:50

You may try to exclude the ROF folder from anti virus checking, just in case.

Did you check Vidar252's solution above? He reinstalled all the Visual C++ Redistributables he could find (I say check the versions you have installed, download and reinstall them) It is a source of problems for so many people, maybe you should try that.

Happy New Year! Hopefully with the game running well...
  • 1

#31 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 01 January 2020 - 01:42

Yeah reinstalled all C++ libraries. Just nothing other than not updating. Then I can't get past the logon lol.

Even did all the startup.cfg business.

There's something in that update...

 

Happy New Year to you as well!!


  • 0

#32 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 01 January 2020 - 11:57

I do notice in task manager that 2 instances of ROF.exe 32-bit are running at the same time... then ctd. Not sure if this is of any significance.

 

Added:

Considering a great deal of the topics concerning this issue are Microsoft Visual C++ related, I wanted to share here what is installed on my rig.

 

Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red 8.0.61001
Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red 8.0.56336
Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red (x64)
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x64 9.030729.4148
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x64 9.030729.6161
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x86 9.0.21022
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red (x86) 9.030729.4148
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red (x86) 9.030729.6161
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Red x64 10.0.40219
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Red (x86) 10.0.40219
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Red x64 11.0.61030
Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Red (x86) 11.0.61030
Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Red (x64)  12.0.30501
Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Red (x86)  12.0.30501
Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x64)  14.14.26429
Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x86)  14.14.26429

Edited by viperBAT46/DTF46, 01 January 2020 - 13:26.

  • 0

#33 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 01 January 2020 - 14:50

Two instances of ROF.EXE is unnatural. Is that after 1st attempt of game launch? Seems like the defunct of a previous crash.
  • 1

#34 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 01 January 2020 - 18:55

Yes this is after first run up.

 

Uninstalled. removed all instances, restarted, re-installed, worked to sign in screen. Couldn't sign in... updated... stopped working.


  • 0

#35 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 02 January 2020 - 08:30

I have many differences in terms of Visual C++ redistributables.

== I have the same version as you

-= You have this one, I don't

+= I have this one, you don't

 

== Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red 8.0.61001

== Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red 8.0.56336

-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red (x64)
+= Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Red 8.0.61000 (x64)
+= Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x64 9.0.30729
-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x64 9.030729.4148
-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x64 9.030729.6161
== Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red x86 9.0.21022
-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red (x86) 9.030729.4148
-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Red (x86) 9.030729.6161
== Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Red x64 10.0.40219
== Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Red (x86) 10.0.40219
+= Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Red x64 11.0.61030
-= Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Red (x86) 11.0.61030
== Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Red (x64)  12.0.30501
== Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Red (x86)  12.0.30501
-=Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x64)  14.14.26429
-=Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x86)  14.14.26429
+=Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x64)  14.14.26429
+=Microsoft Visual C++ 2017 Red (x86)  14.14.26429

  • 1

#36 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 05 January 2020 - 22:52

@J2_Bidu Thank you for sharing... as an outside chance , I'm going to try and locate those c++ that I don't have and download. Who knows? Could't hurt.


  • 0

#37 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 05 January 2020 - 22:58

Good luck!
  • 1

#38 viperBAT46/DTF46

viperBAT46/DTF46
  • Member
  • Posts: 20
  • LocationWest Virginia

Posted 05 January 2020 - 23:32

Argh... no go. Thanks for all the help! I'm just at a loss unfortunately.


  • 0

#39 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 06 January 2020 - 07:14

Gee, some bad luck. It will get solved when you least expect, as usual.

You may want to try IL2 Flying Circus... but there's no free version. And an old PC (a good one 8 years ago) will have trouble running it, even with low graphics settings.
  • 1

#40 J2_Bidu

J2_Bidu
  • Posts: 1316

Posted 06 January 2020 - 07:27

As last resort reinstall the two Service Packs mentioned here: https://support.micr...ual-c-downloads.

Even if you already have them, reinstall all the same.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users