Photo
- - - - -

Proper prop selection and other things like wings but not exactly the same...

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Plank

Plank
  • LocationNew Zealand.

Posted 21 February 2018 - 20:07

Hello!

Well I am still learning! Yey! Even at my age... ( late 40's )

So we have two major dimensions for propellers ( fixed pitch ! )

The width. ( Diameter of the swept circle ...)

The one revolution distance traveled forward or "pitch"

So a 8 x 4 propeller is 8" in diameter and has a full rotation pitch of 4".

( To clear up any issues with pitch: the propeller is an "air screw" and does exactly that.

So the the distance it travels in one rotation is the "pitch". If we were to look a stationary

propeller and then rotate it one turn it would move a linear column of air n inches... and this

would be it's pitch.)

So what do the numbers really mean?

Small diameter is less swept air, larger diameter is more swept air.

Small diameter at n rev's is less power use, large diameter at n rev's is more power use.

Small diameter will air brake less, large diameter will air brake more.

Less pitch is less air column shifted , more pitch is more air column shifted.

Less pitch is more linear torque/less rotational torque, more pitch is ~ versa.

Less pitch is more air braking at higher speed, more pitch is less air braking at high speed.

So a small diameter and low pitch prop will:

sweep not much air, use less power, air brakes less, shift less air column, more LT, less RT, more air braking. ( With respect to above table.)

and smaller props weigh less. obviously.

Props for climbing/prop hanging and props for high speed.

lets say we use an 11" prop in 4" inch pitch and in 8" pitch.

Ignoring all but the basics you will find the 4" prop will yank your plane along to a point then it won't go any faster, conversely the 8" will slowly fly up to a much higher top speed.

Want to have oodles of pull? Go for a lower pitch.