Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

4K with RoF???


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 31 December 2017 - 22:25

:icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin: Happy New Year Chaps. 2018, here we come. :icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin: :icon_e_biggrin:

 

So, Christmas/ Boxing day/ New Years sales all around the country. Prices on all sorts of items had massive discounts so my Dad decided to buy a TV/Monitor.

 

A monster, 49 inch.

 

 

4K and all.

 

 

Specs here: http://www.harveynor...k-smart-tv.html

 

 

My question is, will this monitor work on RoF? And anythings I need to watch out for?

 

 

Salute! :icon_e_salute:

Stumble.


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#2 US103_Baer

US103_Baer
  • Posts: 363

Posted 01 January 2018 - 05:52

Sounds great Stumble.


My question is.. anythings I need to watch out for?


An SE5a diving on your DIII :icon_e_biggrin:
  • 0

"Gathering his pilots around him on arrival he gave a pep talk, saying that they were equipped with the finest machine of all time and had three battle-experienced flight commanders. He expected every one of them to fight like hell and that it must never be said that any of them ever failed to go to the aid of a comrade, regardless of the cost, and that no patrol was ever to be late in taking off."

 

Major Keith 'Grid' Caldwell, 74 Sq


#3 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 966
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 01 January 2018 - 11:34

You'll need a pretty meaty Graphics card to run at 4K smoothly.

 

But 49" ... nice :)


  • 0

#4 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 02 January 2018 - 00:23

Sounds great Stumble.


An SE5a diving on your DIII :icon_e_biggrin:

 

XD, Will be on the look out.

 

You'll need a pretty meaty Graphics card to run at 4K smoothly.

 

But 49" ... nice :)

 

I have a gtx 1060 6gb. that should be good enough right?

 

 

S!


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#5 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 966
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 02 January 2018 - 10:25

I answered in Planks I7 thread, but in essence the 1060 will work but with compromises being made in RoF graphic settings.

My advice is to look at upgrading your graphics card to really enjoy RoF at 4K


  • 0

#6 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 02 January 2018 - 22:10

I answered in Planks I7 thread, but in essence the 1060 will work but with compromises being made in RoF graphic settings.

My advice is to look at upgrading your graphics card to really enjoy RoF at 4K

oh OK. Well, I'll see how it works out and report back to you lot. Thanks

 

S!


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#7 Porkchopper

Porkchopper
  • Member
  • Posts: 1
  • LocationFort Walton Beach, Florida, USA

Posted 13 January 2018 - 06:29

Not sure how much this helps you but my display is a 34in Ultra-wide and I'm running it at 3440x1440 using a GeForce 1050ti 4gb card. All video settings are max'd out and it's liquid smooth. Same story with DCS and IL-2 Cliffs of Dover. 

 

I think with a 49in, you're going to need to sit in another room, or possibly your backyard.


  • 0

#8 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 14 January 2018 - 06:08

Hi Porkchopper,

 

Oh Ok. thats good to know.

 

I'm thinking, is there a way to make a 49 inch TV/Monitor smaller. As in change the aspect ratio so its and ultra wide screen. I'm guessing ultra wide is better for gaming. tell me if i'm wrong.

Anyway, as in just have black bars on the top and bottom to make viewing screen smaller.

 

 

Mhmm, just had a thought, where will I put my PS3 camera for my head tracker? Normally I chuck it onto the top of my 24inch moniter which means its at the level height with my IR hat setup. Any Ideas?

 

 

Thanks all!

 

 

 

Salute!

Stumble.

 

P.S. I'm looking for a new Joystick. Mines currently broken. I think its a software thing. Not sure though.


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#9 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 14 January 2018 - 06:10

https://riseofflight...finally-got-i7/


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#10 Zooropa_Fly

Zooropa_Fly
  • Posts: 1283

Posted 14 January 2018 - 11:31

Hey Stumble,

 

You can set the computer output resolution to whichever suits, then switch your game resolution to match it.

Start at full, then reduce a step each time until you get satisfactory performance.

One consolation of a lower resolution is things will be bigger on screen.

 

As for the tracking sensor, you may have to raise your seating position.

You could tilt it down slightly but that will likely reduce the amount of pitch movement available.

That could be countered by speeding the movement up so your head doesn't have to travel as far..

 

I'm thinking about mounting my Track IR sensor on the wall, as good as TrIr is, the monitor clips are horrible.

 

:icon_e_salute:


  • 0

".. and they'll send you home in a pine overcoat, with a letter to your Mum,

    Saying find enclosed one son one medal and a note, to, say, he, Won".


#11 Stumble

Stumble
  • Member
  • Posts: 250
  • LocationNew Zealand. That little island near Aussie :)

Posted 31 January 2018 - 05:43

So, I got it.

 

Its pretty decent. I watched Planet Earth 2 At 4K. Wow its amazing!

And I plugged in my gaming computer and tried running RoF. I didn't play at all but just went onto a quick mission to see what the FPS were.

 

At mid graphics I was getting real low FPS.

I didn't do lots of testing but it seems like its gonna need a few graphics tweaking.

 

My question is whats best. FPS, resolution or game graphics.

And do I need to match the Windows set resolution with the in game one?

 

 

S!

Stumble.

 

 

mhmm... is a Air compressor too strong for removing dust In PC? Lets see :)


  • 0

Its actually an Honor to get stung by a bee.

It hates you so much, that its willing to die just

to cause you a mild amount of pain.


#12 Zooropa_Fly

Zooropa_Fly
  • Posts: 1283

Posted 07 February 2018 - 15:37

I'd say FPS is the most important aspect. You probably want at least 30.

 

Try the resolution (with same aspect ratio) down from full 4K and see how that goes...

 

Let us know how it's going !

 

:icon_e_salute:


  • 0

".. and they'll send you home in a pine overcoat, with a letter to your Mum,

    Saying find enclosed one son one medal and a note, to, say, he, Won".





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users