Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Mission with custom map...


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Deciman

Deciman
  • Member
  • Posts: 67

Posted 17 August 2017 - 11:22

Hi guys...

When I create a mission with a modified map (basically a new map, so not existing on any other pc)
and start a dServer with that map...

 

Do the users have to download it before?
Is 'mods on' needed to play it?

 

Or does the server itself handle all those things on it's own?

 

Deci


  • 0

#2 JG1_Butzzell

JG1_Butzzell
  • Posts: 1250

Posted 17 August 2017 - 15:16

S!

 

 

I think there is a minor problems with words.  Most people create "New Missions". We often call them "Maps". For most "New Missions" you do not need mods on. Occasionally people will use special objects or features from the "Mods" section and then you do need mods on as well as being sure the mods are on the server. When a person joins a server the mission is downloaded to the users's pc. Generally servers do not use the .mission file because it is very large. They use the .bin file which is much smaller. If you have been on many multiplayer servers, you will find these missions in your Dogfight folder. When you open the mission editor you will not see them because they lack the .mission file. If you type in the first few letters of the .bin file, it will be displayed and you can open it.

 

Actual "Map" creation refers to the land, rivers, roads, etc.


  • 0

#3 Deciman

Deciman
  • Member
  • Posts: 67

Posted 17 August 2017 - 16:00

Hi Butzell

 

No, i really meant 'Map'.

 

For my server i need modded maps

(no trenches, removed frontline, maybe more rails)

 

Actually to see everything the way it should look like
the players have to install a modded map on their clients.
But i want to avoid that (in case a server hosting a custom map will force a download of the map)
and not mess up any previous installed mods with a new mod...

 

Deci


  • 0

#4 =HillBilly=

=HillBilly=
  • Posts: 5186
  • LocationSouthern Ozark Mountains

Posted 17 August 2017 - 17:11

Hi Butzell

 

No, i really meant 'Map'.

 

For my server i need modded maps

(no trenches, removed frontline, maybe more rails)

 

Actually to see everything the way it should look like
the players have to install a modded map on their clients.
But i want to avoid that (in case a server hosting a custom map will force a download of the map)
and not mess up any previous installed mods with a new mod...

 

Deci

I think you have offer a down-load of the map for people to join your server. Reference  https://riseofflight...ifis/?hl=island


  • 0
        You have to be quick 
 
 

#5 Deciman

Deciman
  • Member
  • Posts: 67

Posted 18 August 2017 - 17:30

Hil HillBilly

 

Ok, that's what i feared (but expected...)

But if(!) all files are present on the clients pc
everythink would work?

(thinking about putting all files needed as 'trigger media' into the mission)
maybe the users have to launch the mission twice (at the first start),

but then all files should be present...

 

Tnx

 

Deci


  • 0

#6 =HillBilly=

=HillBilly=
  • Posts: 5186
  • LocationSouthern Ozark Mountains

Posted 18 August 2017 - 17:57

Hil HillBilly

 

Ok, that's what i feared (but expected...)

But if(!) all files are present on the clients pc
everythink would work?

 

Tnx

 

Deci

Yes

 

Hil HillBilly

 

 

(thinking about putting all files needed as 'trigger media' into the mission)

 

Tnx

 

Deci

All external "media" files would have to be in the server's "swf/externalmedia" folder.


  • 0
        You have to be quick 
 
 




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users