Not enough equipment?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 kkang2828

kkang2828
  • LocationGwangju City, Gyeonggi Province, South Korea

Posted 20 April 2017 - 09:51

Hello guys.

I started playing RoF about a month ago.(As you might have noticed from my various forum posts).

And I've seen a lot of people talking about all the essential hardware needed to play the game. I've got a joystick of course, but I have no gaming PC, no pedal, and no head-tracking device. In fact, my joystick is a Thrustmaster T. Flight Hotas X(which is not a high-end one) and my PC is below average even for a household PC(The CPU is an AMD A8-6500T APU I think. If you look it up on the CPU charts, you'll know what I'm talking about). I'm surprised that I can even run the game smoothly(on very low graphic settings of course). And I'll bet there's more essential hardware that I don't know about(please tell me below).

I'm a kid, so I don't have the money to buy all this hardware. I'll list the questions below.

1. Is all this equipment really necessary?(I mean, in order to play the game on even footing with other players)

2. Changing my PC is not an option, at least in the short-term. What are the consequences of running the game on a low-end PC and what can I do to compensate     for it?(I know about "bullet lag")

3. How much do you think all this(a high-end CPU, decent set of rudder pedals, webcam+IR LEDs for FreeTrack, etc.) would cost?

#2 Pirato

Pirato
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 20 April 2017 - 14:02

I've seen very good virtual Pilots with only a cheap Joystick blowing most others out of the sky. I think its all about finding a good combination of using the Stick to control the plane with a proper response curve setting and the Keyboard for the views,like Snapviews etc.