Photo
- - - - -

Newb Questions for TrackIR (Tracking General)

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Odovacer

Odovacer
  • LocationNova Scotia, Canada

Posted 14 April 2017 - 21:06

Hello. I've never used a tracking device before. Is the device solely used for vision tracking (head movement) or is it mapped to flight control as well? I've seen a RoF TrackIR sample video and it almost seemed the pilot was using it as flight control device, but impossible to say for sure.

For TrackIR5, why is the clip sold separately? Can the TrackIR5 work on it's own?

Thanks.

#2 J2_Adam

J2_Adam
  • LocationVancouver, BC

Posted 14 April 2017 - 22:26

"For TrackIR5, why is the clip sold separately? Can the TrackIR5 work on it's own?"

...becaue there are 2 different clips. One that clips on a baseball cap and one that attaches to your headset. The former costs less.

#3 Panthercules

Panthercules

Posted 14 April 2017 - 23:10

IIRC, TrackIR uses two different types of IR detection methods.  In one, it's bouncing IR light from the camera unit off reflectors mounted on your head/cap and reading the reflections coming back to the camera unit.  In the other, the clip itself is emitting the light (from LEDs on the clip) and the camera is picking it up.  I've found that the latter gives much better tracking results under more varied lighting conditions, and is well worth the cost of buying the special clip, IMHO.  I've seen posts about some other brand of clip that is reputed to be either cheaper or better (sturdier?) or both, but have never tried anything but TIR's own pro clip (but I have had to glue/tape some of the parts back together over the years, as they can be a bit fragile).

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg

#4 Zooropa_Fly

Zooropa_Fly

Posted 15 April 2017 - 10:08