Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

GTX1080 settings for Rof


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4453

Posted 01 April 2017 - 12:48

I never did run an nVidia card on Rof, so on that point I'm an newby. To get this game running from a good base to start at, I would like to know the do and don't for the nVidia settings, as I know some settings like shadows did need some special attention.
Found on the more crowded Bos forum, an topic from Mastiff, https://forum.il2stu...t-and-settings/ while Rof and Bos seems to have the same game engine would like to know if this is still actual for RoF/GTX1080?
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#2 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16584

Posted 01 April 2017 - 18:37

Haven't made the jump to a 1080 yet, but I assume the settings for the 980 would work well for it, so here are mine for your consideration:

 

Game launcher settings:

Attached File  RoF - graphics settings 1.jpg   209.38KB   25 downloads

 

nVidia Control Panel settings:

Attached File  RoF - graphics settings 2.jpg   386.93KB   21 downloads

 

nVidia Inspector setting (add sparse grid 2x to eliminate shimmering):

Attached File  RoF - graphics settings 3.jpg   391.87KB   11 downloads


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#3 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4453

Posted 02 April 2017 - 10:47

Thanks but why is the frame limiter not adjusted to your monitor refresh rate.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#4 Ice_Age

Ice_Age
  • Member
  • Posts: 1608
  • LocationTrudolyubiye

Posted 02 April 2017 - 16:42

Thanks but why is the frame limiter not adjusted to your monitor refresh rate.

 

Because he is forcing on Vsync.

 

I don't like Vsync.   I run the game in borderless windowed mode, and cap the fps at 80 in the game settings, even though my refresh rate is 60 hz.  I don't understand the exact mechanisms at work here, but there is no screen tearing even when the reported fps exceeds the monitor refresh rate nor is there any throttling back when the game can't run at the refresh rate.  The only reason to cap the fps with a frame limiter is so that the GPU doesn't have to waste it's time computing frames that can't be displayed anyway....I put mine at 80, because when set at 60, the refresh rate, I got some annoying stutters. 


  • 0

#5 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16584

Posted 02 April 2017 - 20:17

Thanks but why is the frame limiter not adjusted to your monitor refresh rate.

 

For one thing, there's no 144 setting for the limiter in RoF, and my monitor runs at 144.  I have vsynch on for now, as I've always used it to make sure there's no tearing.  In some recent tests with BoS/BoM I was running without vsych and wasn't seeing any tearing, so I may come back and play with it in RoF to see if maybe I don't need it any more


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#6 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4453

Posted 02 April 2017 - 20:42

@ice-age Yep, I know, I did also read his adjustments, which are rather usefull btw as a sample did not know about the aditional injector.

About windowed mode, I did the same, the reason for this is that you are running on windows own "Vsync" which seems to be much better then the game own or from the AMD-Vcard. Running 80 FPS on an 60hz monitor, I think it was pure waist, it is not only about getting a high FPS but also try to generate less fluctuation by topping of the spikes. Only that was on AMD cards, nVidia seems to a different story now using a couple of Vsyn methods like a Fast Vsync and adaptieve Vsync, while Gsync is only for dedicated Gsync monitors.

I found also some intresting readings on this site: http://www.tweakguid.../NVFORCE_1.html hope it will help others in tweaking.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#7 Oorpii

Oorpii
  • Member
  • Posts: 150
  • LocationSweden

Posted 03 April 2017 - 09:11

I' afraid I have to reveal my ignorance.., how can I see at what fps the game is running?


  • 0

#8 =MAC=

=MAC=
  • Posts: 25
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 03 April 2017 - 10:54

I' afraid I have to reveal my ignorance.., how can I see at what fps the game is running?

 

You can use the free software "FRAPS" to know your fps. Here is the direct download link: http://www.fraps.com/download.php


  • 0
 
56badge100.jpg

#9 Oorpii

Oorpii
  • Member
  • Posts: 150
  • LocationSweden

Posted 03 April 2017 - 13:13

Thanks, it turned out to be 60, I guess the monitor sets the limit since it's pretty old.


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users