Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New install - RoF won't start


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 05 February 2017 - 09:20

Hi

I've downloaded and installed the latest RoF Free2Play version, but it doesn't start. :(

Previously I had an older version of RoF Free2Play installed on the same computer, version 1.032b.
That version is uninstalled and I downloaded the latest RoF Free2Play version and installed it. Since I had installed MS VC++ 2005 Redistributable,.NET 3.5 SP1 and Direct X when installing 1.032b I unchecked them when completing the Setup Wizard.

When clicking on my ROF desktop icon to start Settings.exe nothing happens. The ROF launcher starts and when clicking "Update" it checks my installation and everything is up to date.

When I click Start game nothing happens. :(
When I click ROF.exe I get this message:
"The application failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. The problem might be fixed if you re-install." (Translated from Swedish).

So I uninstalled ROF and the next time I also installed MS VC++ 2005 Redistributable, .NET 3.5 SP1 and Direct X, but those installs failed.

Then I uninstalled ROF, MS VC++ 2005 Redistributable and .NET 3.5 SP1 and did a new RoF install again including MS VC++ 2005 Redistributable and .NET 3.5 SP1 and Direct X, which worked this time, but I still can't start RoF.

My PC specs:
CPU: AMD Phenom II x2 550BE 3.1 GHz
VC: Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 5770, 1GB GDDR4
OS: Windows XP
Direct X: 9.0c
DXdiag: No errors detected.

Any ideas what might be wrong and what to try next?

Thanks in advance!

Best regards

vonOben
 


  • 0

#2 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 09 February 2017 - 11:03

Hi

 

Still trying to get RoF to work.

 

I've downloaded RoF again from here:
https://riseofflight...ge-alternative/
Rise of Flight Free 2 Play - Version 1.034 UE (HUGE!):  http://www.mediafire...z51n/ROF_UE.zip

 

I uninstalled RoF again and reinstalled, but it still doesn't work. :(

 

What's the difference in this version compared to the official download?

 

Downloaded Mediafire version February 8, 2017. Zip file is: 8,32 GB (8 940 000 575 bytes)
Setup files dated 2014-12-18.

 

Download official version October 16, 2016: Zip file is: 6,71 GB (7 208 747 335 bytes)
Setup files dated 2015-06-03

 

I've tested both zip files in my zip program and there was no errors reported.

 

I'm running out of ideas what to try, suggestions would be most welcome.

 

Best regards

 

vonOben


  • 0

#3 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16183

Posted 09 February 2017 - 16:19

Hi

 

Still trying to get RoF to work.

 

I've downloaded RoF again from here:
https://riseofflight...ge-alternative/
Rise of Flight Free 2 Play - Version 1.034 UE (HUGE!):  http://www.mediafire...z51n/ROF_UE.zip

 

I uninstalled RoF again and reinstalled, but it still doesn't work. :(

 

What's the difference in this version compared to the official download?

 

Downloaded Mediafire version February 8, 2017. Zip file is: 8,32 GB (8 940 000 575 bytes)
Setup files dated 2014-12-18.

 

Download official version October 16, 2016: Zip file is: 6,71 GB (7 208 747 335 bytes)
Setup files dated 2015-06-03

 

I've tested both zip files in my zip program and there was no errors reported.

 

I'm running out of ideas what to try, suggestions would be most welcome.

 

Best regards

 

vonOben

 

 

There shouldn't be any differences between the official version and the alternate one I made available on MediaFire.  I'm D/L'ing the current official version again this morning and will check it to make sure.  I've successfuly installed the game before with each version, so it was working fine the last time I checked (when I uploaded the alternate version).

 

Just shooting in the dark here, but are you using Reshade/flightFX by any chance?  IIRC, a while back my Reshade settings file got corrupted somehow and caused RoF not to work (would just disappear to desktop when I tried to start it).  Uninstalling Reshade and deleting the Reshade config files solved the problem.

 

If that's not it, what exactly happens when you try to run the RoF launcher program?  

 

One other thing to consider - the game's specs (from the F2P web page) are as follows:

 

Recommended system requirements

  • Windows® XP (SP3) / Vista (SP1) / Windows® 7 (SP1) / Windows® 8 / Windows® 10 

  • CPU: Intel® Core™ 2 Quad 2.6 GHz+ or Intel® Core™ i5/i7 2.6 GHz+

  • GPU: 1024 Mb+, GeForce GTX 260+/Radeon HD5850+

  • RAM: 4 Gb+

  • Sound: DirectX 9.0c/11 compatible

  • Free Hard Drive space: 10 Gb+

 

Your post indicates that you're using a "VC: Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 5770", which looks like it's not up to specs.  Also, while I'm not familiar with those AMD processors, according to this site's comparisons (https://www.cpubench...henom II X2 550 ) it looks like your CPU may be under-spec as well.  Maybe your machine just can't run the game?


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#4 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 10 February 2017 - 12:15

Hi Panthercules

 

Thanks for answering!

 

As I wrote initially I had 1.032b installed earlier and I never had any problems with it.
The installation worked immediately and the game did run well, at medim settings.

 

I don't have Reshade/flightFX, they are not compatible with Windows XP AFAIK.

 

And as I aslo wrote in my first post:
When I click Start game nothing happens. :(
When I click ROF.exe I get this message:
 "The application failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. The problem might be fixed if you re-install." (Translated from Swedish).


  • 0

#5 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16183

Posted 10 February 2017 - 18:35

Not sure, but maybe the required specs went up when they created the merged UE version? 

 

Maybe I missed it in the above posts, but have you tried doing a "recovery" from the launcher yet?  That seems to fix a myriad of weird problems, so might be worth a try.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#6 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 11 February 2017 - 05:45

I've saved the old specs from when I downloaded 1.032b and they are exactly the same.

I tested the recovery on my install (from the Mediafire download) and that version is apparently not the latest as it made a few updates. But still the same problem. :(


  • 0

#7 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16183

Posted 11 February 2017 - 06:05

Hmm - looks like they must have updated the F2P version since I last uploaded my alternate version.  I'll upload the latest copy and update the link on the alternate useful materials page, but with my crappy upload speed it will probably be tomorrow night before that's finished.

 

Still not sure why it's not working for you though (just installed the copy from the official link and it fired up just fine) - maybe someone else will have better luck figuring it out.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#8 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 995
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 11 February 2017 - 11:40

That error message is a C++ error

 

Try downloading it from MS and install separately

 

https://www.microsof...ls.aspx?id=3387


  • 0

sig.png


#9 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 12 February 2017 - 11:32

Hi

I've uninstalled and installed manually NET 3.5 SP1, the MS VC++ 2005 Redistributable and ROF again and now I can start the game. :)

But when I start the game and type in my e-mail and my password and click "login online" I get:

"#5 licence key is not activated".

I've tried to register a new key typing in the demo key 77777-77777-77777-77777-77771, but this comes up as being invalid if I try and activate.

How should it be done?

Best Regards

 

vonOben


  • 0

#10 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 995
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 12 February 2017 - 16:05

Login to the RoF site and check your profile to check your licence and purchases. If you cant login get a password reset.

I am presuming that you do have an existing account
  • 0

sig.png


#11 vonOben.

vonOben.
  • Posts: 31
  • LocationSweden

Posted 14 February 2017 - 11:47

Hi

 

I got help from the RoF support and they fixed the license issue very quickly and now it works. :icon_e_smile:

 

Thanks for your help!  

 

Best regards

 

vonOben


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users