Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

What happened here?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Wykletypl

Wykletypl
  • Posts: 538

Posted 17 December 2016 - 13:05

I would have put it to the right folder, if not for one problem... Which You can see on the picture.

 

It's on the Template, on the layer called "WIRE". Turning it off didn't help.

 

 

Any eagerness to tell me how to shut it down? Make it not appear on the skin? With reference pictures, if possible.

 

UPDATE - Question no longer valid.... Delete "WIRE" layer? That was I had to do? Why is it even there!?!

Attached Files


  • 0

#2 Tzar

Tzar
  • Posts: 84

Posted 18 December 2016 - 21:23

You're wire frame seems to be the problem, turn off that layer export it to a .dds and all is well.... 

If you turn it off and it is still there, check to see if there is a duplicate layer somewhere.
 

 

BTW what is the slogan on the side of the plane? It looks like a slogan I've seen on a WWII KV1 tank early 1939-40's?

 

Fritz


  • 0

#3 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16179

Posted 18 December 2016 - 22:53

The wire frame layer can be very useful for seeing exactly where parts (and their edges) are, and can help when you need to span markings across different piece parts (like the fuselage of the Albatros series)  But, of course, you do need to hide/turn it off before you save your skin file or you will get some weird results, as you discovered.  Very simple process in PhotoShop - not sure about dealing with layers in other programs (like GIMP) that you may be using.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#4 Wykletypl

Wykletypl
  • Posts: 538

Posted 19 December 2016 - 04:31

 

BTW what is the slogan on the side of the plane? It looks like a slogan I've seen on a WWII KV1 tank early 1939-40's?

 

Fritz

 

"For Motherland!" That is what it says. Rather fitting for the Communist behemoth.


  • 0

#5 Wykletypl

Wykletypl
  • Posts: 538

Posted 19 December 2016 - 04:33

 Very simple process in PhotoShop - not sure about dealing with layers in other programs (like GIMP) that you may be using.

 

I do not use GIMP to make my skins. I use Photoshop to make them, then save them as PNG, after that I use Paintnet to save the PNGs as DDSs for the game.

 

And like I said, my question is not longer valid, because via experiment I found out all I had to do was delete WIRE layer.


  • 0

#6 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16179

Posted 19 December 2016 - 05:00

I do not use GIMP to make my skins. I use Photoshop to make them, then save them as PNG, after that I use Paintnet to save the PNGs as DDSs for the game.

 

And like I said, my question is not longer valid, because via experiment I found out all I had to do was delete WIRE layer.

 

Why not just save them down as .dds files straight out of PhotoShop?  Sounds like you're taking a lot of extra steps (with room for errors/distortion) by going through .png and Paintnet instead of just using the nVidia plug-in for PhotoShop and going straight to .dds files that way.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#7 Wykletypl

Wykletypl
  • Posts: 538

Posted 19 December 2016 - 19:29

Why not just save them down as .dds files straight out of PhotoShop?  Sounds like you're taking a lot of extra steps (with room for errors/distortion) by going through .png and Paintnet instead of just using the nVidia plug-in for PhotoShop and going straight to .dds files that way.

Let's just say in my case "It's not a confession. It's not THAT easy."


  • 0

#8 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16179

Posted 19 December 2016 - 23:48

Is there some reason the nVidia .dds plug-in is not comptible with the version of PhotoShop that you're using?  I've only used one version of PhotoShop all these years, so maybe there are some other versions that the plug-in won't work with?


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#9 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 21 December 2016 - 12:47

He's probably using an old version of Photoshop somehow acquired.  The nVidia DDS plug in that is available does not work with legacy versions of PS, but there is an older version of that plug-in available, you just have to keep looking for it...

 

Also, if you don't know, Adobe removed the DRM server for CS2 so anyone can use it if you have the DRM free key they provide and installed the DRM free version of CS2 that the key will only work with.  I actually own CS2 from long ago and this does all work, just ignore the nag screen.  Later versions of CS/Photoshop have a few nifty gadgets added but CS2 works perfectly well for texture work. 

 

GIMP is kind of hobbled as far as I'm concerned, and not sure whether you can edit an alpha channel with it.

 

PM if you like.


  • 0

#10 unreasonable

unreasonable
  • Posts: 1452
  • LocationBangkok

Posted 21 December 2016 - 17:39

 

 

GIMP is kind of hobbled as far as I'm concerned, and not sure whether you can edit an alpha channel with it.

 

 

If it is doable I would love to know how. I used DXTBmp which someone kindly suggested after the main skin work in GIMP: works OK but a little more complex. 


  • 0

"Democracy is the theory that the common people know what they want, and deserve to get it good and hard." H. L. Mencken



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users