New system - suggestions

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 ggrognard

ggrognard
  • LocationTexas

Posted 12 September 2016 - 06:08

Okay,

I am 52, about to build a new system for the first time in about a decade.  I have built my PCs for the last 30 years but have not gamed much in the last 5 years or so...

This game, and a few other events have prompted me to build a new, bad-ass system.  Not insane mind you (I did not win the lottery, just kicked the exwife out!).

So, tell me...  New CPU, New Board, Cards... 

I have an old Thrustmaster, but that is it.  I hope to pipe this game to a Huge HD TV I have just inherited from my pop as well but may spring for something VR...who knows.  I have looked at a TrackIR setup and will need some peddles for sure.

Suggestions for a MoBoard?  Vid card(s)?  Peddles...  Etc.  All with an eye to this game exclusively as I doubt I will play any other fly-sim.  I have zero interest in anything other than WW1 and this game is it IMO.

Oh, yeah and How come these guys dont offer a "Squadron Pack" or something of the sort?  When I drop the ball on this game I plan on doing so in a big way (duh, read above!).  Don't make me wait for the next damned sale. 

EDIT:  I see this prob should be in the hardware forum.  My bad, did not see it first time...  I can't delete or move this post however so it is up to the admin to do the needful as my Indian friends say...

Thanks for your feedback,

GG

#2 davidpartay

davidpartay

Posted 12 September 2016 - 09:03

Honestly, I spent a few years with AMD chipsets but moved to Intel with the i5 2500K (when it was new) and have never looked back.  I've had the same setup with this processor for 5 years now and it's still going strong!  I even have my original Geforce GTX570+ which I have been tempted to replace a few times but can't justify the AUD$400+ it will cost for a replacement to be worth getting.