Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 3 votes

PWCG Unified 2.1.2


  • Please log in to reply
280 replies to this topic

#81 McMinstrel

McMinstrel
  • Posts: 60
  • LocationAnn Arbor Michigan

Posted 13 September 2016 - 04:54

Hi Pat,

 

Just a couple of things off the bat.

 

1: We really need a scroll on the Intel screens.  There are way too many units listed to display them on one page.

2:  All RNAS pilots start with wings and the DSC.

3:  All RFC pilots start with wings and Military Cross.

4:  Perhaps an auto word wrap on the Pilot's Log.  Right now, a lot of the text runs out of the book.  To get it to fit you need to drop down to an 8 pt font.  Of course messing around with the font looses the next page link.  And the front of the book looks kind of odd in 8 pt. 

5:  I get quite a few missions with way points over 225 km. These occur with all type of missions (intercept planes over England, join bombers to escort at a gather point 200 km behind the lines, etc).  Unless I've missed the tankers for air refueling, these missions don't really work.

 

I know that these things are picky little things but since you're working on a new version.....

 

Oh, Pioniere, the aces are handled completely differently than normal pilots.  Their medals can be added quite easily if one knows the medals and dates awarded.

 

~M~


  • 0

"If you're too busy to laugh; you're too busy."


#82 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 996
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 13 September 2016 - 08:26

Hi Pat

 

Latest DL is missing the GUI mod


  • 0

sig.png


#83 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:31

Hi Pat

Latest DL is missing the GUI mod


You can just use the GUI mod supplied in 1.0 for now (but you probably know that already).

Just be careful, as missions launched with the 'fly mission' button while using the GUI mod are broken at the moment - you can't submit a combat report, so it's like that mission never happened. At least, this is the case for me.
  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#84 J2_SteveF

J2_SteveF
  • Posts: 996
  • LocationLondon, UK

Posted 13 September 2016 - 14:47

I did know, just highlighting to Pat.

 

Not got that combat report issue on my install.

 

Strange. GUI should not effect combat reporting, it only provides a link to PWCG.
PWCG takes care of everything from there


  • 0

sig.png


#85 Shutter

Shutter
  • Posts: 254
  • LocationWashington, USA

Posted 13 September 2016 - 16:22

Does anybody have a link to the latest GUI?
I must be losing it, I can't find it anywhere.
 


  • 0

#86 Barkhorn1x

Barkhorn1x
  • Posts: 900

Posted 13 September 2016 - 22:58

Does anybody have a link to the latest GUI?
I must be losing it, I can't find it anywhere.
 

GUI more trouble than it's worth IMO.  I just:

  • Fly a mission
  • After the mission is over I go to the main RoF screen
  • Hit Alt+TAB
  • Run PWCG and log the mission
  • Generate another mission
  • Close PWCG
  • ALT+TAB back into RoF

Wash, rinse, repeat

 

...and never have an issue.


  • 0

#87 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16347

Posted 14 September 2016 - 00:03

Does anybody have a link to the latest GUI?
I must be losing it, I can't find it anywhere.
 

 

I've uploaded it here:

 

http://www.mediafire...2_for_JSGME.zip

 

This is JSGME-ready - just unzip to your MODS folder and use JSGME to activate.

 

I'll add the link to the Useful Materials pages as well.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 65.jpg


#88 brentw

brentw
  • Posts: 13
  • LocationAbbotsford, B.C.

Posted 14 September 2016 - 00:24

Salute fellow pilots!

 

I am enjoying the skies of ROF again and Pat's unified 2.0 without the Gui.

 

I flew one mission so far with Jasta 2 and it was exciting.

 

I managed to down two planes but stayed too long at the bar and was slightly injured but landed ok.

 

Thank you Pat for all your hard work and also sincere thanks to the many folks that have contributed great mods for ROF.

 

You work is appreciated very much.

 

brentwe


  • 0

#89 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 14 September 2016 - 02:19

I was wondering, is anyone else experiencing the problems I mentioned before?

 

Also, I can't get the historical aces in my squadron to fly a mission, even with Odds Of Ace Flying set to 100. Is this a glitch, or is it a feature to make sure that historical aces don't score more or die earlier/later than the real person?

 

 

Some problems I've encountered.

 

1) I can't make a combat report after finishing a mission if I use the GUI mod. (Obviously only a minor issue.)

 

2) Sometimes flak is at the frontline, sometimes it isn't. (Minor issue, bombing targets and balloons still have defences.)

 

3) Most AI aircraft have default skins, even some in mu squadron that I assigned skins to. (Minor issue, is purely cosmetic with no effect on gameplay.)

 

TBH I don't think you should worry about these issues too much, just thought you might want to know  :icon_e_salute:


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#90 Pioniere719

Pioniere719
  • Posts: 271

Posted 14 September 2016 - 02:58

I flew a couple of SE5a missions tonight. My turbulence setting is 0, and my wind setting is 5, yet I was being thrown around like a seal by an Orca. Has anyone else experienced these issues with this version? Things were fine for me with those settings up until now.

 

 

Oh, Pioniere, the aces are handled completely differently than normal pilots.  Their medals can be added quite easily if one knows the medals and dates awarded.

 

~M~

 

But they should also have the Pilot Badge in addition to any medals they were awarded prior to the campaign start date (like two of my Aces did), no? To be honest, I don't know if this problem existed before, because I've only started to test Entente recently and didn't check that until now when I noticed everyone (except Aces) had the MC like you experienced as well.

 

By the way, I like your word wrap idea. It'd be good if it's possible to do.

 

 

@Cybermat: I don't use the GUI. It always gave me disastrous java issues. Like Barkhorn said "GUI more trouble than it's worth IMO".

 

As for flak, I don't pay attention to where it is, only that I know it's there and I say "@$%#! There's flak!" :P

 

As for the default skins, I'm not sure what your issue is. Are you saying they shouldn't have default skins?

 

:icon_e_salute:


  • 0

In exile.


#91 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 14 September 2016 - 06:49

 

 

As for the default skins, I'm not sure what your issue is. Are you saying they shouldn't have default skins?

 

:icon_e_salute:

 

In previous versions of PWCG, all the aircraft had squadron specific skins, but not much anymore.

 

I have been out of the loop for quite a while, though, so maybe there was a major issue that could only be fixed by using the default skins?
 

I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, though... it could just be a corrupt install for me.


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#92 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 14 September 2016 - 08:01

Bug found: upon finishing a combat report, I was not credited with a finished mission.


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#93 flightdok55

flightdok55
  • Posts: 61

Posted 14 September 2016 - 22:43

Hi all, I have tried it both ways now, with and without using the GUI., on several different Campaigns, and I can't get credit for a mission either way.  I have gone back to using Version 1, beta 3 for now................:(


  • 0

#94 Shutter

Shutter
  • Posts: 254
  • LocationWashington, USA

Posted 15 September 2016 - 02:50

I've uploaded it here:

 

http://www.mediafire...2_for_JSGME.zip

 

This is JSGME-ready - just unzip to your MODS folder and use JSGME to activate.

 

I'll add the link to the Useful Materials pages as well.

Thanks Panthercules!!!


  • 0

#95 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 15 September 2016 - 05:07

Hi all, I have tried it both ways now, with and without using the GUI., on several different Campaigns, and I can't get credit for a mission either way.  I have gone back to using Version 1, beta 3 for now................:(


Pat said on the IL-2 forum that a fix should be coming this weekend :S!:

Looks like I introduced a bug.  Probably something stupid.  I should have a fix out this weekend.
 
As you have noted, it's just a number in the campaign file so you can set it manually until I get the fix in.


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#96 Ralli70

Ralli70
  • Member
  • Posts: 24
  • LocationGermany

Posted 15 September 2016 - 19:11

In previous versions of PWCG, all the aircraft had squadron specific skins, but not much anymore.

 

I have been out of the loop for quite a while, though, so maybe there was a major issue that could only be fixed by using the default skins?
 

I'm not sure if anyone else is experiencing this, though... it could just be a corrupt install for me.

That´s why i am still playing 16.3.1 Version of this mod


  • 0

#97 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 15 September 2016 - 21:54

That´s why i am still playing 16.3.1 Version of this mod

 

I have two major items coming.  For BoS I have to populate airfields.  For RoF I have to rework skins.  I am surprised that squadron skins are not showing but I have an idea as to why that may be  true,

 

Skins are a complicated animal.  Some are embedded in the game.  Others are loose.  Designate a loose skin that the player doesn't have and you get a default skin.  Then there are skins that are appropriate for this time period and some that are appropriate  for that and others that have no business being used at all.

 

 

Anyhow, I think I can sort it out and people are helping.  Going to take some time though.


  • 0

#98 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 17 September 2016 - 17:50

we have been using this for squad coop campaign, glad to see the Coop option in now not generating an error message, however not certain that it is working correctly, we seem to be stuck on 30 Nov 1916, running second mission for that day now. Options have min 3 days between missions in Nov so we should not be getting a second on the same day.

 

Tried to scrub and generate a new mission and the results were,... peculiar.

 

Mission:
Aircraft  Sopwith Triplane
Squadron  No 1 Squadron RNAS
Airbase  La Lovie
Date  1916-11-30

Weather Report
    Mostly clear, some high altitude clouds.
    Cloud layer is 6435 meters.
    Wind speed is 4 MPH.
Wind direction is 291.

Primary Objective
    Penetrate enemy airspace at the specified transport hubs near Village.  Engage any enemy aircraft that you encounter.

 

all that seems straitght forward, however, the patrol way points are all over HASTINGS! a long flight for a Triplane with 70% fuel.

 

Scrubbed it again and next one same date:

 

Primary Objective
    Escort our flight to the location near Oost-Dunkerke.  Accompany them until they cross our lines.

 

Waypoints were WEST of Flokstone, so we were going to cross the channel and bomb Engliand! I guess it is the conscription issue?

 

 

the issue did resolve itself and the next one generated appears to be correct, or at least the bombers were going for a target on the correct side of the lines

 

We love the campaign generator and would not play without it!


  • 0

#99 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 17 September 2016 - 21:00

The first is because there is a group called "Village".  I'll see what I can do about that.

 

Per the rest: what squadron/date?  I didn't even think that Triplanes we active in Nov. 1916.


  • 0

#100 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 18 September 2016 - 03:40

PWCG 2.0.1 is available
 
New: Added error packaging button
- Bottom of main campaign screen
- Press it to create a zip file that can be posted on the forums
- Zip file will be in PWCGCampaign\ErrorReport
BoS: Added airfield AAA
BoS: Added airfield static objects and planes
BOS: Added the first ace to BoS courtesy of MarcoPegase44 - Hermann Graf
RoF: Fixed: Cannot access AAR when using GUI Mod
Fixed: Missions flown not incrementing

  • 0

#101 Slick_Ace

Slick_Ace
  • Posts: 16

Posted 18 September 2016 - 10:48

2.0.1 Works just fine With gui mod. Thank you for doing this.


  • 0

#102 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 19 September 2016 - 01:03

The first is because there is a group called "Village".  I'll see what I can do about that.

 

Per the rest: what squadron/date?  I didn't even think that Triplanes we active in Nov. 1916.

Aircraft  Sopwith Triplane
Squadron  No 1 Squadron RNAS
Airbase  La Lovie
Date  1916-11-30


  • 0

#103 Der.Mo

Der.Mo
  • Posts: 1010

Posted 19 September 2016 - 11:08

Aircraft Sopwith Triplane
Squadron No 1 Squadron RNAS
Airbase La Lovie
Date 1916-11-30


Looks like a wrong Start date for this plane inside the SquadronInfo file
  • 0

#104 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 20 September 2016 - 20:06

Looks like a wrong Start date for this plane inside the SquadronInfo file


Not sure that's true, don't have my reference books handy at the moment but Wikipedia states that No. 1 Squadron RNAS was fully operational with the Triplane by December 1916, currently we are flying a mix of Triplanes and N17.C1, so that seems consistent.
  • 0

#105 Der.Mo

Der.Mo
  • Posts: 1010

Posted 20 September 2016 - 20:55

Its only Wiki ;)

''1917
February
The Sopwith Triplane enters service with No.1 (Naval) Squadron, Royal Naval Air Service (RNAS).''

Quote from rafmuseum.org.uk
  • 0

#106 McMinstrel

McMinstrel
  • Posts: 60
  • LocationAnn Arbor Michigan

Posted 20 September 2016 - 21:54

OK... British is NOT my forte, but I do know that Tripe #N500 (1st prototype) was with RNAS 1 for field testing in mid June, 1916.  An order for additional AC was made shortly afterwards.  By July, they were being built for deployment.    According to the Rogers book, the unit became fully Tripes in January, 1917.  Now then, from this it is safe to say that Tripes dwindled in between August and January unti they were at full strength.  I realy see no problem with there being some available in November of 1916.

 

Just my observations.

 

~M~


  • 0

"If you're too busy to laugh; you're too busy."


#107 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16347

Posted 21 September 2016 - 00:49

The Davis book (Sopwith Aircraft) says that the first two prototypes (N500 and N504) were already with RNAS 1 by November 1916, and the first production models began coming off the Sopwith production lines in November 1916.  There's a confusing statement about when deliveries of the Tripe to the RNAS began - he seems to say they didn't start till February 1917, which would seem to jive with the quote from the RAF museum site posted above.  However, I think that statement was intended to refer only to Tripes built by Clayton & Shuttleworth, because he later says that RNAS 1 got many of the earlier-delivered Sopwith-built Tripes and "had received its full complement of Triplanes before 1916 was out".  Apparently, the unit saw little action with the type during its first two months, until it moved to Chipilly in mid-February 1917 to support an upcoming offensive.  He says RNAS 8 began swapping its Pups for Tripes at the beginning of February, and that RNAS 10 also began to receive its Tripes in February 1917.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 65.jpg


#108 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 24 September 2016 - 02:22

I've noticed an issue with the weather. I posted this in the BoS thread, but I did some further testing in RoF.

 

I set all the weather odds to 0, except for thunder storm, which I set to 100. The weather in the missions was still perfectly clear.


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#109 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 26 September 2016 - 11:04

Observations and issues:

 

- SFL 1 is improperly aligned in the water. They crash into the breakwater when they try to take off.

 

- SFL 1 seems is assigned standard fighter missions over the front lines, rather than the maritime and coastal patrols they seem to have performed in reality. Of course, the player can simply edit the waypoints in order to fix this issue on a case-by-case basis - which reinforces my opinion that the customisation options are one of PWCG's strengths  :icon_e_salute:


  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#110 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 26 September 2016 - 11:18

Keep posting - I'm taking notes.  Heads down in skin corrections but I will get to these when I come back up for air.


  • 0

#111 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 28 September 2016 - 00:18

Issues and observations:

- Assigning aircraft in the pilot selection screen does not work. It seems that pilots will always have the most recent aircraft, not the one chosen for them. From what I've tested, the player will have their aircraft of choice in, at least, Russian squadrons, while they will have the most recent aircraft in German squadrons. AI pilots aways have the most recent aircraft in all nations I've tested so far.

- With chances of death when stupid set to 100, and max pilot injury set to 4, as a test, I shot the pilots in my flight with my pistol, killing them in game. I then shot myself. No notification of death or injury was given, even though PWCG registered me as dead. I'm not sure if my AI wingmen were registered as dead.

- Historical aces cannot be assigned to missions. I'm not sure if this is a glitch, or a way to ensure that they don't die earlier/live longer than they did in real life - I've been out of the loop for some time.
  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#112 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 28 September 2016 - 16:34

Issues and observations:

- Assigning aircraft in the pilot selection screen does not work. It seems that pilots will always have the most recent aircraft, not the one chosen for them. From what I've tested, the player will have their aircraft of choice in, at least, Russian squadrons, while they will have the most recent aircraft in German squadrons. AI pilots aways have the most recent aircraft in all nations I've tested so far.

- With chances of death when stupid set to 100, and max pilot injury set to 4, as a test, I shot the pilots in my flight with my pistol, killing them in game. I then shot myself. No notification of death or injury was given, even though PWCG registered me as dead. I'm not sure if my AI wingmen were registered as dead.

- Historical aces cannot be assigned to missions. I'm not sure if this is a glitch, or a way to ensure that they don't die earlier/live longer than they did in real life - I've been out of the loop for some time.

Our experience has been similar, however, for the most part it works, just some aircraft change when saving the mission. I have not noticed a definite correlation between the changes being from older to the newest type, we have been flying 1 RNAS at the transition from N.17C1 to Triplane and I believe that it has gone both ways and may be more related to what did the mission generator originally assign vs what I assigned in the pilot selection screen than older type vs newer type.


  • 0

#113 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 30 September 2016 - 02:45

This might be a bug, or I am doing something wrong.

 

We have been playing a coop campaign since version 12(?)  Since the update that automatically syncs the log files for the Combat Report, we can not get a combat report after we fly a coop flight.

 

Setting the user preferences to 1 for Use Coop works to set up the coop automatically. The mission flys correctly, when I go back into PWCG to run the combat report it is greyed out.

 

I have tried running it using the GUI and manually both, neither work.

 

I can run a mission in the campaign as a single mission and it works fine, either manually or through the GUI, and the combat report will be an option when I finish.

 

https://www.dropbox....209833.zip?dl=0


  • 0

#114 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 30 September 2016 - 11:26

@Rob: got it.  Something different in the headers that PWCG is not picking up.  I should be able to resolve this by this weekend.


  • 0

#115 Rob1639

Rob1639
  • Posts: 20

Posted 30 September 2016 - 17:28

Great! Glad it was not something too obscure, we are looking forward to getting back to our campaign with results of the combat reports published.
  • 0

#116 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 02 October 2016 - 18:54

PWCG 2.0.2 Uploaded
 
Refactored skin algorithm.  Major restructuring of skin data for ROF, resulting in the addition of hundreds of skins.  I also restored the link to PWCG music.
 
Fixed: Eliminated climb WPs for low altitude mission types
Fixed: Debrief screens needs a scroll.  
Fixed: Intel screen needs a scroll.  
Fixed Assigning aircraft in the pilot selection screen does not work.
Fixed Historical aces cannot be assigned to missions. 
Fixed delete missions not working
Fixed bomber path for escort missions.  Rendezvous and path to target are more direct.
Fixed The weather in the missions was still perfectly clear.
Bos: Fixed - JU87 has cannons too early
RoF: SFL 1 is improperly aligned in the water. They crash into the breakwater when they try to take off.
RoF: SFL 1 seems is assigned standard fighter missions over the front lines
RoF: Fixed All RNAS pilots start with wings and the DSC.
RoF: Fixed All RFC pilots start with wings and Military Cross.
RoF: Fixed channel front way points over 225 km. 
RoF: Fixed coop mission results not recognized. 

  • 1

#117 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16347

Posted 02 October 2016 - 19:59

Cool - looking forward to trying this out.

 

BTW - I checked a fresh install and there are no skins actually "included in the game" (other than the single default skin per plane type) unless you install one or more of the skin packs (Official, historical, etc,).


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 65.jpg


#118 Cybermat47

Cybermat47
  • Posts: 566
  • LocationNew South Wales, Australia

Posted 02 October 2016 - 22:14

Awesome news, Pat, thank you!

Just don't forget to relax :)
  • 0
"If I could only have brought him down alive."
- Lieutenant Arthur Rhys-Davids, recalling his victory over Leutnant Werner Voss.

#119 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 02 October 2016 - 23:06

Cool - looking forward to trying this out.

 

BTW - I checked a fresh install and there are no skins actually "included in the game" (other than the single default skin per plane type) unless you install one or more of the skin packs (Official, historical, etc,).

 

My confusion - I was referring to the official skin pack.  To give you an idea of how muc is out there:

Official: 2100

Panther Historical: 2600

Additional PWCG: 3800

 

So there are 8500 skins in those three packs, most of which are used by PWCG.

 

After all of that there are still 1300 skins that are not in any of those skin packs that are also used by PWCG.  I used 7 zip at ultra compression and it's over 800 MB.  I will post those at the PWCG web site


  • 0

#120 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16347

Posted 03 October 2016 - 01:47

Where did those 1,300 come from, and which ones are they?  I can at least put a notice and link to your site for them on our "One Place" page, so people can still go to one place to find out about all the available skins for PWCG.


  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 65.jpg



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users