- - - - -

First time post, Rudder question

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 sunjunkiesi

sunjunkiesi

Posted 27 April 2016 - 08:03

Morning all

I am a newbie to RoF and to the combat sim genre, but by no means new to Flight sim.  I am enjoying RoF immensely so far.  I've been playing for several days and so far haven't managed to shoot a single plane down, but I will get there I am sure.  Requiems videos, Liberators guides, and the myriad of other helps out there are very much appreciated, being a bit of a "fly by the book" type.

As I say, my flight sim history is pretty intense, many hundreds of hours on FSX, and I use saitek x55 and ch pedals.  My question is regarding rudder control.  I bought the pedals some time ago to really concentrate on getting the rudder "right" in fsx.  My understanding is that many RL pilots never really get it right, so I don't beat myself up too much, but in RoF the rudder control appears to be counter to acquired modern knowledge - ie rudder in to the turn, roll to pitch required, release the rudder and the roll, and the plane should carry on turning.  In RoF, releasing the rudder causes a serious pitch upwards, followed by a very slow turn and a huge loss of airspeed.

Is this a characteristic of the era?  Were these old planes totally dependant on the rudder to turn, or is the FM wrong here - or indeed am I doing something wrong in the turn as compared to modern aircraft.  Even worse, have I been getting it wrong in FSX and not realised?

Thanks in advance for any help  anyone can offer me - I can't help but think that if I could get my turns properly coordinated whilst energy fighting, things might start to come easier for me in the old BnZ tactics...

Si

#2 FourSpeed

FourSpeed

Posted 27 April 2016 - 21:24

Hi sunjunkiesi,

There are a bunch of factors at work here.