- - - - -

Mod Overload - What, When, and How to Install

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 marshce

marshce
  • LocationTokyo, Japan

Posted 13 January 2016 - 16:54

I'm experiencing a bit of mod overload, and I'd like to ask for anyone's help or explanation of this.

I'm relatively new to the whole Rise of Flight world, but I'm extremely eager.

My goal with using mods is two-fold: First, I'd like to increase the graphical quality as much as possible to create as visually realistic a flight simulator as possible. I want to be absolutely transported to the Western Front circa 1916. Second, I like to create as realistic an experience as possible with accurately firing weapons and AI that act like real humans and so on.

I've gathered together all the mods that fit these two criteria that I could get my hands on. I've installed JSGME Mod Enabler and then individually installed these.

However, this is where I've encountered a problem. A lot of the mods I tried to install experience conflicts with other mods. There is no clear indication what mods are contained in other mods and which are compatible with which.

Here's an example. I've installed "Bullet Effect for Buildings", "More Active Front", and the appropriate "Rate of Fire" mods. But then when I try to install AI gunners there is a conflict and one or more of these become greyed out in JSGME depending on the order I've installed them.

Also, I've installed "Fubar's Landscape Mod", but then other, smaller mods experience conflicts like "Wildflower mod" or "TerrainBump". It's unclear if these are already contained in "Fubar's Landscape Mod" or else they are overlapping files, each trying to alter the same files in different ways.

It's all so confusing.