Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Syndicate introducing "Active Front" missions on weekdays


  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#41 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 23 June 2014 - 20:00

"i wonder if you can be a gunner in an AI plane?"
I don't think so, the only way that would work is for you to chose a two seater and engage Full Auto Pilot, but that option is not available on this server.

Auto pilot doesn't work in MP. Best you can do is use auto leveler and jump in the gunners' seat.
  • 0

#42 LennysCopilot

LennysCopilot
  • Posts: 54

Posted 23 June 2014 - 23:10

Gonna give this a try. Thanks again, Syndicate!
  • 0

#43 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 24 June 2014 - 05:26

Version 1.3 change log:
-Sopwith strutter B replaced by normal strutter.
-Adjusted waypoints on Strutter bombing mission
-Added airfield names to flights in announcements
-Added single AI fighter in random locations for bomber intercepts
  • 0

#44 =HillBilly=

=HillBilly=
  • Posts: 5605
  • LocationSouthern Ozark Mountains

Posted 24 June 2014 - 13:32

Vander would it be possible to mark the patrol route on the map?
This morning I got involved in a fight and lost my patrol,circled for awhile but could not find them.
Great work please keep it up.
HB
  • 0

     So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

 
 


#45 A.Challenge

A.Challenge
  • Posts: 996
  • LocationAustin, Tx

Posted 24 June 2014 - 22:05

Grabbed an Alby DIII from the southern airfield for a little familiarization flight. Spotted some two-seaters on their way west about 2000 m under me and as I dropped to get a closer look saw a scout firing tracers at one. Dropped past two other Central planes, and dropped down on what looked like a pup (could be mistaken). I climbed and turned for a second pass, but the target was in a flat spin.

I followed the plane down until it landed, did a fly-by, and realized that I'd lost my left aileron somewhere. Flew back to base for some schnaps. Didn't get a kill credit, so I guess the pilot broke his plane without my help, or someone got him before I did.

Most traffic I've ever seen just hopping onto a server like that. Navigation was an issue at first without the mud as a huge landmark, but once I had a few landmarks set everything was fine.

Excellent work. Good fun.

Fantasticly funtastic. :-)
  • 0

campribV.png


#46 SYN_Jedders

SYN_Jedders
  • Posts: 766

Posted 24 June 2014 - 23:32

Glad you enjoyed it. The server setting for this mission is kill messages off. Only way to deal with the ai/not ai issue.
  • 0

#47 PapaFlo

PapaFlo
  • Posts: 124
  • LocationInnsbruck

Posted 25 June 2014 - 06:20

I gave it a try yesterday and I just found out, that the strutter that shot me down was AI! :o
Hm, feels strange to salute a bot :)

The scenery is great. The action on the ground looks fantast…sorry, awesome.
Splendid work!

Some questions/suggestions:
Has the lack of the stats in-flight something to do with the kill-messages turned off?
I had no clue how many real players were online or who was flying on my side. At least not until I landed. Not a big problem, only unfamiliar.

Is it possible to add recon-flights for players to activate new targets for bombers?

What about artillery-spotting?

Maybe add some low level ground attack flights.

Thanks, :S!:
Flo
  • 0

intel i7 7700k@4,5Ghz watercooled with be-Quiet Silent Loop 240, GSkill Aegis 16 GB DDR4 Ram@2800Mhz, GigaByte GA-Z270-Gaming K3, Gainward GTX 1080 phoenix glh, TM Warthog throttle and stick (with 7,5cm extension by Sahaj), MFG Crosswind pedals, Saitek yoke, Saitek throttle quadrant x 2, Saitek trimm wheel, Gametrix KW 908 Jetseat, TrackIR 5


#48 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 25 June 2014 - 07:56

I gave it a try yesterday and I just found out, that the strutter that shot me down was AI! :o
Hm, feels strange to salute a bot :)

The scenery is great. The action on the ground looks fantast…sorry, awesome.
Splendid work!

Some questions/suggestions:
Has the lack of the stats in-flight something to do with the kill-messages turned off?
I had no clue how many real players were online or who was flying on my side. At least not until I landed. Not a big problem, only unfamiliar.

Is it possible to add recon-flights for players to activate new targets for bombers?

What about artillery-spotting?

Maybe add some low level ground attack flights.

Thanks, :S!:
Flo

Hi,

Lack of stats ingame is probably due to master server problems or something. Normally, you can see all active players on the server.

Yes, good ideas about recon planes and such. Will definitely look into that. Expect continuous improvements in that are.
First priority is to make the mission stable and bug-free.
  • 0

#49 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 25 June 2014 - 11:09

First priority is to make the mission stable and bug-free.
Seems problem free thus far. :S!:

As I mentioned at our squad forum, I've flown this a handful of times and thus far cannot tell when I'm engaged/engaging AI or real people in this mixed environment. It is quite surprising. One time my enemy involved 3 Albs, and only by looking at the server logs later did I realize that I shot down 2 AI and damaged/forced down a real player.

It would seem that no kill messages are quite important to maintain the illusion (but that seems such a negative way to characterize this new type of mission), though I do miss being able to S! an opponent either on victory or when bested myself. I suppose I still can regardless.

:lol:
  • 0

#50 ST_ami7b5

ST_ami7b5
  • Posts: 2137

Posted 25 June 2014 - 12:05

For me the biggest advantage of icons is the ability to recognize pilots around you, which helps socializing a great deal (when I'm in such a mood).
  • 0

#51 Mertons

Mertons
  • Posts: 72
  • LocationSpain

Posted 26 June 2014 - 06:44

Nice project, I'll take my mates at E69 to give a try
  • 0

#52 J2_Oelmann

J2_Oelmann
  • Posts: 292
  • LocationGermany

Posted 26 June 2014 - 12:27

Flew some time on the Server and loved it. Was almost crowded. Keep it up!
  • 0

#53 Gump

Gump
  • Posts: 169

Posted 26 June 2014 - 19:39

i tried this the other day (my ROF activity is sparse lately)….
just 1st impressions (fwiw)… took off in an escort, but there weren't any bombers on the field - wasn't sure what to do (i'm a little inexperienced). noticed a note that someone was taking off from another field (cant recall if it was bombers but i think so) - i wondered if i was supposed to rendevous with them??? anyways, waited for a while and a couple bombers started a mission from my field. escorted them, saw no action until an AI on the way back. shot him down (his wing hit my prop and broke it). started again, but tried to rendevous with the other bombers from another field this time - never found them - saw no enemy planes. took too long so i exited.
.
i think i was all alone (besides ai). saw someone else enter/exit.
  • 0

#54 Oliver88

Oliver88
  • Posts: 184

Posted 26 June 2014 - 22:27

I've jumped onto this server an number times this week now. Was my introduction to ROF MP also. Been rather enjoying it. First sortie I was confused also. But I got the handle upon joining an ai sortie rather soon. I now wait to see on the map that an plane icon appears upon the field that's an good indication that someone whether ai or not are about to sortie via there. Just slot in quick and then see them on the air station to realise what they are. And just join up with them. Doing such today I got a number patrols with two ai Triplanes and another with an player Triplane.
  • 0

#55 ciki

ciki
  • Posts: 407

Posted 26 June 2014 - 23:26

I'm in
  • 0

#56 A.Challenge

A.Challenge
  • Posts: 996
  • LocationAustin, Tx

Posted 27 June 2014 - 03:07

I like not knowing whether I'm up against AI or Human. I get cocky because the AI isn't very creative, nor twitchy because – OMG, it's a live person!. Helps keep an even adrenalin flow.
  • 0

campribV.png


#57 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 27 June 2014 - 05:44

The idea is you pick an airfield and aircraft and when you spawn, subtitles will tell you when the next flight leaves. You can then decide to to finish flight and try the other airfield to see if the next flight leaves sooner there.

Currently, you will only see the subtitles when you spawn in any of the "mission" planes: bomber1, patrol2, escort1 etc.
  • 0

#58 pollux18

pollux18
  • Posts: 154

Posted 28 June 2014 - 13:46

Good idea for multiplayer!

I'll try.
  • 0
"Il faut préférer la modestie de ceux qui s'associent pour combattre aux triomphes passagers de celui qui s'isole."
 
Cdt De Rose

#59 lefuneste

lefuneste
  • Posts: 73

Posted 28 June 2014 - 14:34

I tried the server last night:yu have THE RIGHT idea of what a coop server should be.I had one of my best multiplayer flight experience.
I also appreciate the work done to add life on airfields.
Next step: new theater and missions !
As you only have 4 airfield to the map, could you make the IA (and us) not taking of into the wind ? It is possible for most of the airfields and planes…
Another idea:it should be wonderful if Pat Wilson could work with you to allow his campaign generator to generate random active front scenery and missions…
  • 0

#60 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 28 June 2014 - 16:01

Thanks guys. Yes, an MP mission generator would be even better!
I can make the AI take-off into the wind, but they will probably cut across the path of players taking off?

I have added a 1918 version, on a different part of the map, with some new objectives as well. Go check it out!

EDIT: found a little bug: subtitles mention incorrect airfields….
  • 0

#61 Oliver88

Oliver88
  • Posts: 184

Posted 28 June 2014 - 17:48

I have added a 1918 version, on a different part of the map, with some new objectives as well. Go check it out!

oooh goodie
  • 0

#62 Razneff

Razneff
  • Posts: 73

Posted 28 June 2014 - 21:38

Just made it out of this mission (the new 1918 one). Vander, as I told you in chat, this is some quite excellent stuff you provided for every RoF player interested in this kind of gameplay, the perfect mix between "coop organised missions" and "ho, let's take off and see what's happening there".
(And I was about to repport a bug about the name of the airfield from where friendlies take off which is wrong, but I saw in your last post that you already spotted it, so…)
Thank you syn's!
  • 0

#63 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 28 June 2014 - 23:09

AI Re8s took off and immediately jettisoned their bombs, then landed.

Airfields are misnamed in the subtitles.

Subtitles announced "flight 2" taking off from Ugny but nothing was there (at La Gorgue).

Subtitles announcing flights taking off do not match either airfield (no one is taking off at either field).

Any reason why AI two seaters cross the lines unescorted?

:S!:
  • 0

#64 Oliver88

Oliver88
  • Posts: 184

Posted 29 June 2014 - 00:31

Hmm I just got an problem too on the 1918. I don't think I saw this on the 1917 though. I tried to join as the SPAD was told the air stations status was changed. That's no problem I've seen that in the other one and was just as the planeset changed. So I joined as the DH4 (which replaced the SPAD) I was told to wait 1 minute. An single DH4 spawned in giving the "Bomber 1 getting ready please hold" message but the DH4 started up moved about 20 meters and then shut down. Then I saw the "Bomber 1 are starting their engines" at which point the DH4 despawned? And the planeset then changed back to the SPAD. Since posting the same thing occurred on the next DH4 sortie.
  • 0

#65 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:04

Yup, timings seem to get all screwed up. Fixing it now…
  • 0

#66 lefuneste

lefuneste
  • Posts: 73

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:06

I can make the AI take-off into the wind, but they will probably cut across the path of players taking off?

No if you put player spawning point in the same aera than IA spawning point.
Like it is now, but in the other side of the airfield.

I made some testing for landing &takeoff point :http://riseofflight....p?f=393&t=41355
  • 0

#67 huntertastic

huntertastic
  • Posts: 340

Posted 29 June 2014 - 07:40

The more I fly this server the more I love it :D
Hunter :S!:
  • 0

#68 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 29 June 2014 - 09:56

I can make the AI take-off into the wind, but they will probably cut across the path of players taking off?

No if you put player spawning point in the same aera than IA spawning point.
Like it is now, but in the other side of the airfield.

I made some testing for landing &takeoff point :http://riseofflight....p?f=393&t=41355

Well that's the thing. I can't change player spawing point without rotating the whole airfield. And then it won't line up with the stupid pre-baked airfield texture!
  • 0

#69 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 29 June 2014 - 20:43

Version 1.2 of the 1918 mission.

Changelog:

-Completely new timing logic. All flights should be synchronized now.
-Added a beep to warn player of fresh orders/subtitles. Please provide feedback.
-Tuned most bombing missions so bombers drop all bombs.
-Tuned damage parameters for some targets.
-Rotated the Bailleul airfield to avoid crashes on take-off (hopefully!)
-Fixed a lot of small bugs that could create timing issues.
-Changed some planes and skins (some had 1917 skins, ie Maltese Cross)

The new mission should load automatically tomorrow noon (CET).
  • 0

#70 lefuneste

lefuneste
  • Posts: 73

Posted 29 June 2014 - 21:18

Well that's the thing. I can't change player spawing point without rotating the whole airfield. And then it won't line up with the stupid pre-baked airfield texture!

I didn't know that you could not choose multiplayer spawning point location.
It should be linked to airfield data, so the only way to modify it should be to use modded airfield copy ?
But as you can not "push" mods to player from the server, most player will have game crash because they don't have the mod ?
  • 0

#71 J2_Hornet

J2_Hornet
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2014 - 07:56

I spent several hours in the 1917 map, and really enjoyed this new multiplayer concept. What a great map!
When trying to join the 1918 map though, I get a 10016 file transfer error code. It happens only at this map, joining all other servers works ok, and neither a recovery, disabling write protection or deleting the files in data\multiplayer\dogfight, helps solve the issue. The problem must lie with my setup, because I see others are able play the 1918 map just fine. The odd thing is, I am able to run and join the 1918 map on my machine as a host, but needless to say, that ruins the multiplayer experience. Any ideas? Am I missing some mods or something?
  • 0

#72 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 02 July 2014 - 11:02

Thanks, I'll have a look at the .list file. It may be some version conflict.
  • 0

#73 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 02 July 2014 - 15:47

I have tested with a second PC with a clean, demo install and I have no problems connecting to the server. I don't think it's a problem with the mission or server?
  • 0

#74 J2_Hornet

J2_Hornet
  • Posts: 9

Posted 02 July 2014 - 16:37

Its probably with my setup, just cant figure out what it is. It puzzles me why I experience it only with this map. Im so eager to try this map, and the issue will probably involve more maps in the future, so I will do a complete reinstall. It will probably fix it. Thank you for your great maps, and for your swift reply.
  • 0

#75 J5_Corsaire

J5_Corsaire
  • Posts: 227

Posted 02 July 2014 - 20:14

Wanted to try this interesting new setup but I keep getting the " Error #10016 Unable to copy files to disk " On the french forum at C6 someone else also had the same issue.
Any idea ? I'm up to date with all mods installed. Rof is installed on a partition of a secondary HD and all other servers I tried to connect with work.
  • 0

#76 SYN_Mike77

SYN_Mike77
  • Posts: 1161

Posted 03 July 2014 - 02:33

I have to say, I am loving the new set up! I love that I can drop in and have a meaningful mission with no one else on or with a full house!
  • 0

#77 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 03 July 2014 - 05:50

Wanted to try this interesting new setup but I keep getting the " Error #10016 Unable to copy files to disk " On the french forum at C6 someone else also had the same issue.
Any idea ? I'm up to date with all mods installed. Rof is installed on a partition of a secondary HD and all other servers I tried to connect with work.

Okay, something must be up then. I'll have a look again tonight. Have any of you successfully loaded any other " active front" missions before?

Btw, you shouldn't need any mods.
  • 0

#78 J5_Corsaire

J5_Corsaire
  • Posts: 227

Posted 03 July 2014 - 10:01

Yes, last Friday I had a look and mission map loaded normally. Can't remember if it was the same mission.
  • 0

#79 1PL-Husar

1PL-Husar
  • Posts: 559

Posted 03 July 2014 - 13:51

I can't enter "Error #10016 Unable to copy files to disk" . Previously i haven't had problem.
Regards
  • 0

#80 SYN_Jedders

SYN_Jedders
  • Posts: 766

Posted 03 July 2014 - 13:56

Custom clouds package maybe?…
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users