Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Yet Another Side Project


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:08

S!

Been working on this off and on for the last few weeks. I thought we could do with a locomotive which was more appropriate for the English side of the channel. A few more tweaks required and then I'm starting with the UV Mapping and animations.

Attached File  SECR-H.jpg   86.19KB   966 downloads

Here's the real thing:

Attached File  h_vic_sp_johns_31oct13h.jpg   220.98KB   966 downloads

W.
  • 0

#2 Demon_

Demon_
  • Posts: 2080

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:33

Wow! Nice Tchou! Tchou! Thanks for the job. 8-)
  • 0

#3 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:38

Very cool to have more locomotive choice!

Were the German different from French ones?
  • 0

#4 J2_Adam

J2_Adam
  • Posts: 2453
  • LocationVancouver, BC

Posted 20 January 2014 - 02:39

That's funny… I was just thinking about this. There was a post a loooong time ago about how RoF should have more appropriate trains for the period. With all the new objects coming out made by members, it seems like a good time to have new trains.

Looking good.
  • 0

#5 B24_LIBERATOR

B24_LIBERATOR
  • Posts: 3876
  • LocationSan Diego

Posted 20 January 2014 - 05:27

Yep there was

Realistic rail traffic
  • 0

Liberator's Tutorials: http://steamcommunit...s/?id=438268482

 

 


#6 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 20 January 2014 - 05:33

Very cool to have more locomotive choice!

Were the German different from French ones?

That's a very good question. In fact the G8.1 locomotives we have in game were used in France. Unfortunately, from a historical correctness perspective, these locomotives were used in Alsace-Lorraine, which was ceded to Germany under the terms of the Treaty of Frankfurt in 1871. The territory was returned to France after the end of the first world war.

A more appropriate locomotive for France would be this one:

Attached File  140-C-231-a.jpg   1.76MB   927 downloads

If anyone has a decent set of drawings for the 140C, I might be tempted to have a go.

W.
  • 0

#7 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 20 January 2014 - 22:53

Good news !

For the 140 C, i've found this

Image

Image

I don't know if you will found some info here: www.tassignon.be/trains/documentation/documentation.php


Good luck for animation of the wheel drive :D :S!:

Genius
  • 0

#8 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 21 January 2014 - 06:51

Looking good! Will be nice to see some new trains. Don't worry, we can work out that animation :)
  • 0

#9 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 21 January 2014 - 07:41

Gr8 stuff. And here is somthing from Foobar in bos forum. To bad it is in 3d max 2009 and rof suports only 2008 ver. I hope there will be same fix so we could see thise nice addons in rof. Check it here

http://forum.il2stur...jects-graphics/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://forum.il2stur...k.com/topic/376 … -graphics/
  • 0

#10 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 25 January 2014 - 04:38

Looking good! Will be nice to see some new trains. Don't worry, we can work out that animation :)

Glad you said that. Just one question, does ROF support wired parameters, or will I have to set up event controllers for each item?

W.
  • 0

#11 SeaW0lf

SeaW0lf
  • Posts: 2415
  • LocationRio de Janeiro - Brazil

Posted 25 January 2014 - 06:20

Very nice!
  • 0
"There will be honor enough for us all."

#12 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 25 January 2014 - 07:44

That's good news if you can model an authentic French loco!
So we could keep the actual one for German side, of what you said…

Thinking a bit further, maybe an armoured train could be modelisable?
Think about those targets laying on rails near the front line, even stopped! :D

Image
  • 0

#13 Branwell

Branwell
  • Posts: 200

Posted 25 January 2014 - 12:14

That's good news if you can model an authentic French loco!
So we could keep the actual one for German side, of what you said…

Thinking a bit further, maybe an armoured train could be modelisable?
Think about those targets laying on rails near the front line, even stopped! :D

Image

Already being worked on Fifi: Heavy Artillery - Big guns
  • 0

#14 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 26 January 2014 - 23:31

Looking good! Will be nice to see some new trains. Don't worry, we can work out that animation :)

Glad you said that. Just one question, does ROF support wired parameters, or will I have to set up event controllers for each item?

W.

Hi, you can use parent object to move all children object with the parent.

I have made this, this tutorial if i can help you. : riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=393&t=39747&p=576840#p576840

How many poly do you have ? To save polygons, you can use square face, see post #29 here riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?p=566668#p566668

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#15 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 27 January 2014 - 00:03

Thanks for the tutorial, very useful, I missed it before. I wonder if some friendly moderator could grab all of these tutorials in various places and put them in a sticky thread somewhere.

The poly count isn't too high right now, ~4250 triangles, but I will be replacing the ends of the buffers and wheels with square planes to reduce that still further. I left them in for the picture so everyone could see something close to the finished shape.

W.
  • 0

#16 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 02 February 2014 - 02:46

UV Mapping Complete after a couple of false starts ;):

Attached File  UVMap.png   50.73KB   389 downloads

W.
  • 0

#17 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 05 February 2014 - 23:10

Hi,

Good progress.

For info, it's better to share the texture file for user memory. Maybe you can make a bigger texture file with free space to share for other future project or, better, use current texture files (for exemple files ungtp data/graphics/train/g8/textures, the current g8 texture have 512x512 original size and 1028x1028 on high res. mod).

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#18 NewGuy_

NewGuy_
  • Posts: 4114

Posted 06 February 2014 - 01:40

That is going to be one sweet locomotive! :S!: MJ
  • 0

Something something SPAD. Something something then dive away. 


#19 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 13 February 2014 - 06:12

S!

Hope someone can help me here: I'm into the skin painting phase and having a devil of a job getting the specularity to work. I can cut holes using alpha with no problem, but the specularity ranges given in the skinning guide are just not working for me. Whatever I do, I end up with a skin which is matte all over. I've used 'specular' as the material as directed in the buildings/blocks SDK.

I'm using Gimp 2.8 with the very latest DDS converter which is recommended here: riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=112&t=37740. DXTBmp is a complete lost cause as far as I can see, not only not working to cut holes, but also giving compression artefacts. Importing the skin into PS CS2 reveals no obvious errors.

I looked back at SYN_Vander's ships SDK, and the models, but I notice there is no specularity there either. Should I use the bumpchrome material instead?

W.
  • 0

#20 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 13 February 2014 - 22:44

Hi,

Wich compression format do you use on gimp export dds ? BC3 / DXT5 ? Do you use the correct plugin for your system (32/64 bits) ?

No problem to cut holes with this compression format.

but the specularity ranges given in the skinning guide are just not working for me.

Do you have link ? , i don't understand. Do you want to adjust the reflectivity or the transparency ?

Bye

Genius
  • 0

#21 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 14 February 2014 - 02:58

The skinning guide is included with all the aircraft skin templates, so you can download one of those and see. I'm exporting as BC3/DXT5 which is correct as far as I know and has worked for aircraft skins in the past.

Transparency is not a problem, I can cut holes just fine. The reflectivity is the problem.

W.
  • 0

#22 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 14 February 2014 - 22:40

I notice the Hi-Res texture for the existing train doesn't have (or has much less) specularity either compared to the original texture:

Hi-Res:

Image

Original:

Image

Very Strange.

W.
  • 0

#23 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 15 February 2014 - 00:27

Its controlled by the alpha-channel.

Original
Image

Hi-Res
Image
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users