Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New project - Buildings


  • Please log in to reply
162 replies to this topic

#41 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 17 February 2014 - 21:08

Can these be used to replace existing game hangers if we make this into a JSGME mod?
Or do they have to be added into specific missions to be seen?

Looks terrific!

Hi, To use it on pwcg, this requires that the objects are placed in the mission by the mission generator (Installing the mod is not enough).

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#42 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 18 February 2014 - 21:36

Hi all,

The typical french hangar Bessoneau (WIP)

Original (777 team):

Image

Image

Image

My version (WIP):

Image

Image

Image

The two version (left my version, right the ingame version)

Image

main differences (currently):
- internal textures (shadow)
- Roof trust/support are not flat but in 3D
- The buttress are not flat but in 3D

Need to adjust:

- side reinforcing (buttress unaligned to the windows)
- shadow texture: the ingame version use a dark texture to create the illusion of larger shadow. Do you prefer the ingame version or my version ?
- LOD version

Need your opinion.

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#43 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 18 February 2014 - 21:44

Wonderful, even more possibilties. Thank You!
  • 0

#44 actionjoe

actionjoe
  • Posts: 927
  • LocationNord, France.

Posted 18 February 2014 - 22:29

Il suffisait de demander? ;) Very nice Genius, thanks.

I think that something a bit darker will be better,

Image
  • 0

#45 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 18 February 2014 - 22:55

Merci (comme on dit c'est pas tombé dans l'oreille d'un sourd ;) )

Thanks

OK, I will do a darker version

Genius
  • 0

#46 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:06

Looks like good work, but must ask pourquoi???

RoF is a flight simulator, not a first person shooter. How often will these internal hangar details be important? Will you spend a significant portion of your time inside the hangar? If so, why?

Please do not mistake my comments, you may spend your 3D and real life as you like. Your other buildings are great additions, and I am sure there are more buildings waiting. So are there not more important things to accomplish than hangar edits?
  • 0

#47 J.j.

J.j.
  • Posts: 1959

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:42

Well, you choose Torpedoboot, Genius chose Bessoneaux hangars. Which one is the most important? I don't know, and I don't care. I'm just grateful that both of you are working to improve ROF in every ways you chose.
  • 0

#48 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 19 February 2014 - 12:51

Looks like good work, but must ask pourquoi???

I asked if someone has sometime to make single hangars. And Iam very happy Genius is doing them. They are the only possibility to recreate historic aerodrome-layouts. In ROF there are only predefined groups of wholeairfields which are really limited if you want to make something different. And every Airfield was different. :)
Ok, I am a big Airfield fan, but to me these are one of the most important additions, even when hardly anybody will recognize the differences! :)
  • 0

#49 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 19 February 2014 - 13:54

OK, maybe I misunderstood then and wasn't trying to be confrontational. Adding a single hangar to the repertoire of buildings available provided Genius with the opportunity to make it better. That makes sense.

I thought it was adding detail just for the sake of detail to the existing hangar. That doesn't make sense, at least to me. :D
  • 0

#50 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 19 February 2014 - 21:18

OK, maybe I misunderstood then and wasn't trying to be confrontational. Adding a single hangar to the repertoire of buildings available provided Genius with the opportunity to make it better. That makes sense.

I thought it was adding detail just for the sake of detail to the existing hangar. That doesn't make sense, at least to me. :D

Hi,

_Paf aptly summarized the reasons for modeling a single object like Bessoneau hangar:

In ROF there are only predefined groups of wholeairfields which are really limited if you want to make something different. And every Airfield was different.

I have made german type, i want to made other french type.

For the rest, the internal texture does not give me more works (in blender, with the current game texture, is only "drag & drop" U.V.).

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#51 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 20 February 2014 - 21:29

Hi,

Two (open / closed) new hangar done !

Image

N28 not included :D

Bye
Genius
  • 0

#52 J5_Rumey

J5_Rumey
  • Posts: 1180

Posted 21 February 2014 - 09:13

Lol what happened there :) Did he get stuck? Seriously nice work this!
  • 0

#53 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 21 February 2014 - 14:23

I think he tried to pull a "Zebra" landing…

Image
  • 0

#54 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 21 February 2014 - 21:28

Thanks !
  • 0

#55 pollux18

pollux18
  • Posts: 154

Posted 28 February 2014 - 10:45

Merci Genius de ton implication pour rendre ce simulateur encore plus beau… :S!:
  • 0
"Il faut préférer la modestie de ceux qui s'associent pour combattre aux triomphes passagers de celui qui s'isole."
 
Cdt De Rose

#56 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 15 May 2014 - 22:05

Hi all, some news:

A talented texture french artist - Tchaika - help me on this project, some may know him as being created many skins in il2.

Current Zeppelin shed texture - Work in Progress

Image

Image

Image

Bye

Genius
  • 0

#57 SeaW0lf

SeaW0lf
  • Posts: 2415
  • LocationRio de Janeiro - Brazil

Posted 15 May 2014 - 23:13

Coming up nice!
  • 0
"There will be honor enough for us all."

#58 Tzar

Tzar
  • Posts: 84

Posted 16 May 2014 - 04:25

Been waiting for this….

Very nice work and a thank you to you and your helper(S).
  • 0

#59 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 24 May 2014 - 16:02

Wanted building:
Towers of Mont St. Eloi ;)
Image
  • 0

#60 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 24 May 2014 - 21:37

Wanted building:
Towers of Mont St. Eloi ;)
Image

Ah yes, have been wanting to do that one for some time!
If I'll do the 3d model, will you make the skin Paf? :)
  • 0

#61 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 25 May 2014 - 07:27

Wanted building:
Towers of Mont St. Eloi ;)
Image

Ah yes, have been wanting to do that one for some time!
If I'll do the 3d model, will you make the skin Paf? :)

yes :)
  • 0

#62 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 25 May 2014 - 09:51

Lot of details! Not sure where to start! :shock:

Attached File  mont_saint_eloi_abbey.JPG   56.35KB   397 downloads

This is how it was in 1914 (from rear):

Attached File  MONTSAINTELOI.jpg   74.03KB   397 downloads
  • 0

#63 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 25 May 2014 - 11:21

Good news! :S!:

Just don't forget the rubble! There must be piles of rubble about or ruined buildings just look out of place and silly sitting on clean terrain.
  • 0

#64 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 May 2014 - 16:43

I'll start with the "undamaged" towers…

Attached File  St Eloi tower draft.jpg   43KB   333 downloads

In fact, the abbey had already been destroyed since the French revolution, but the towers were still standing in 1914.
  • 0

#65 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 26 May 2014 - 19:39

Very nice! :)
  • 0

#66 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 26 May 2014 - 21:15

Hi, some pictures here:

French&british offensive in Artois - september-october 1915 - page 12/13 http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b84469872.r=Abbaye+de+Saint-Eloi.langFR

[Recueil. Offensive franco-britannique en Artois, septembre-octobre 1915] –1915 Informations détaillées
Image(s)
Sujet:Ablain-Saint-Nazaire (Pas-de-Calais)
Sujet:Abbaye Saint-Vindicien (Mont-Saint-Éloi, Pas-de-Calais)
Accéder au document

Image

Vander you can use current free space on my building texture, this space is sufficient no (858px x 780 px)?

Image

Bye

Genius
  • 0

#67 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 27 May 2014 - 05:35

Thanks Genius, let's see if it fits!
  • 0

#68 Dr.Zebra

Dr.Zebra
  • Posts: 2663

Posted 27 May 2014 - 12:07

looking forward to that!
  • 0

#69 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 27 May 2014 - 16:23

RE: sharing texture file space across objects.

I know to save system resources we should be trying to reduce the number of texture files uploaded to video RAM. It simply makes sense to have all of Vander's airfield objects share one texture file, right? You see all or most of these objects from the cockpit when taking off.

However, I question whether this is a good idea for rare objects (objects that appear in only one map location) such as the zeppelin hangars and these ruined towers. You are basically loading a really big texture file when there is no way the two objects will be in visual range of each other. In this case, I think (but could be wrong) that our systems are better off loading a smaller texture file for one-of-a-kind objects. A small texture file leaves more room for other textures in visual range.

Apologies Genius, but this is the reason why I did not use the offer of space on your very large artillery texture when I made the Tirpitz Battery. Your rail guns and the Tirpitz battery will never be close to each other to give a performance advantage of sharing the file.

This is just my opinion, willing to listen to critique.
  • 0

#70 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 27 May 2014 - 20:05

Depends how the game works? Maybe it loads the textures of all used objects at the start of the mission?
Just guessing here, Han once told me it was good to share texture maps….
  • 0

#71 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 27 May 2014 - 21:44

Re,

Yes it seem that all texture of the objects in the mission file was load at the start. (if you load mission in rof editor and after modify the texture, you have no change in current mission edition).

My texture is not only for Zeppelin hangar but also for coal factory, and St-eloy is in a big region of coal production (Lille / Arras).

Bye

Genius
  • 0

#72 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 28 May 2014 - 16:09

OK, so all the texture files in a mission are loaded into system RAM at the start of the mission, but does this advantage still apply for video RAM which is a more limited resource and critical for good frame rates?

I really don't know enough about the render pipeline in games, but thinking that we need a solid answer from devs, because the context Hann was talking about to Vander may be very different than the possible issue I mention here.

Make no mistake, I don't even know if there is an issue, but it makes you think…
  • 0

#73 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 28 May 2014 - 16:09

The towers as they were in 1914. Now I just need to demolish it! :)

Attached File  St Eloi tower 1914.jpg   81.11KB   309 downloads
  • 0

#74 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:38

In game screenshot of the 1914 Mont St Eloi towers. UV mapping and texturing still needs to be done.
Let it be noted that I was the first to fly between the towers! :)

Attached File  St Eloi tower 1914 game.jpg   322.69KB   262 downloads
  • 0

#75 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 29 May 2014 - 16:41

That looks great!
  • 0

#76 SeaW0lf

SeaW0lf
  • Posts: 2415
  • LocationRio de Janeiro - Brazil

Posted 29 May 2014 - 17:44

So nice!
  • 0
"There will be honor enough for us all."

#77 Markow

Markow
  • Posts: 201

Posted 29 May 2014 - 18:08

:) WoW
  • 0

campribV.png


#78 Dr.Zebra

Dr.Zebra
  • Posts: 2663

Posted 29 May 2014 - 19:36

..and i thought I was running out of objects to land on…

;=)
  • 0

#79 Genius

Genius
  • Posts: 587

Posted 30 May 2014 - 14:48

Nice Vander.

You will make different damaged object ?rate

@bandy, i don't know the real impact on the frame rate.

Bye
  • 0

#80 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 30 May 2014 - 15:59

Nice Vander.

You will make different damaged object ?rate

@bandy, i don't know the real impact on the frame rate.

Bye

Of course! But I first need to uv map the undamaged model…
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users