Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PWCG 15.0 Test 5 is Available


  • Please log in to reply
265 replies to this topic

#1 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 06 November 2013 - 14:24

Get the test release at the PWCG web site


15.0 Test 6
Made daylight Gotha raids fly as a formation
Night time raids use Stream
Made daylight home defense missions fly as a formation
Night time HD missions remain single plane
Made tactical night time targets more appropriate (further behind the lines)
Fixed passive scramble mission opposition (may have affected other mission types too).
Fixed serious issue that could cause moving front data to be overlayed on static front campaigns
Fixed issue where scout types might be passive on ground attack missions.
Fixed no Kests in moving front
Fixed error when train is target but has no destination station.
  • 0

#2 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 06 November 2013 - 16:27

Thanks, Pat! Will take it for a test drive! :-)
  • 0

#3 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4417

Posted 06 November 2013 - 17:10

will try this weekend,
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#4 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 06 November 2013 - 18:59

Well, that was quick. :mrgreen:

I had the 15 overwrite a copy of 14.4. It opened fine, I picked a pilot, clicked mission and got this:

PWCG Error
Wed Nov 06 11:52:13 MST 2013
java.lang.NullPointerException
at rof.campaign.mission.flight.Flight.createVirtualEscortFlight(Flight.java:1643)
at rof.campaign.mission.flight.recon.ReconPackage.createPackage(ReconPackage.java:70)
at rof.campaign.mission.flight.FlightFactory.getFlight(FlightFactory.java:142)
at rof.campaign.mission.Mission.createFlights(Mission.java:572)
at rof.campaign.mission.Mission.generate(Mission.java:158)
at rof.campaign.gui.campaign.CampaignHomeGUI.makeMission(CampaignHomeGUI.java:349)
at rof.campaign.gui.campaign.CampaignHomeGUI.actionPerformed(CampaignHomeGUI.java:386)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicButtonListener.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.access$200(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$3.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue$4.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.security.ProtectionDomain$1.doIntersectionPrivilege(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

A few questions regarding getting rid of all the Advanced customization menus. I only use a few items but they seem quite crucial to me:

1. I set all the days between missions to 1. I don't like the speeded up default.

2. I got rid of the 10x AAA. It was just way too deadly.

3. The F2b, which you classify as a recon plane and not a scout, I had set to fly all scout missions (had to switch it whenever I used another two-seater).

How do I tweak those settings now?
  • 0

#5 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 06 November 2013 - 19:04

I have seen that error and I need to track it down. It does not happen very often (only seen it once) so it is not easy to figure out what is happening. Can you tell me which squadron/date?

All of the configs are now in the campaign menu (Campaign level configs were added in version 14). Edit Advanced Configs in your campaign. The layout is almost the same as previous versions.

Another note on configs: there are no more parameters around number of flights. Instead it is number of friendly and enemy planes before spawning stops.
  • 0

#6 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 06 November 2013 - 19:15

48 Sqdn 6/8/17 at Eecke.

Ok, I found the configs. Does this mean we can use different configs for each campaign? If so, that's great!

EDIT: Tried another mission in another campaign and did not get the error message.

But…( :!: )…this was 67 Escadrille on 3/2/16 at 7:21. The clock conmfirmed 7:21. But it was pitch black out. I know days are short in February but it was like midnight.

That is the game that is doing that. The only thing that I can do in PWCG is not do missions that early.
  • 0

#7 robin100

robin100
  • Posts: 68

Posted 06 November 2013 - 19:35

Hi Pat,
I've just downloaded and installed 15 Test 1 (fresh install).
I get an error message each time I check 'Moving Front' ON in 'Simple Config', no matter the date or squadron.
Attached is the error log file.

Attached Files


  • 0

#8 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 06 November 2013 - 20:09

Thanks Robin. That will be fixed in the next test release.
  • 0

#9 Der.Mo

Der.Mo
  • Posts: 1010

Posted 06 November 2013 - 21:12

Man, this is getting better and better!
I´ll rename my game direcrory from RoF to RoP.. RISE OF PAT! ;)
  • 0

#10 karnak

karnak
  • Posts: 59

Posted 06 November 2013 - 21:13

Hi Pat,

first sorry for my bad english :(

I switched now to PWCG 15.0 and i now have no PWCG button anymore at the ROF menu.
And it seems that the Aces are no longer available. If i choose a Ace for a mission he wont appear.

Sadly the AI is still BAD, all the enemy scouts are only there to get hunted and shot down without fighting or attack by themself. I know thats not your fault but i had to say it because thats the greatest dissapointment in ROF now. The AI was not that bad in the early ROF days right?

Anyway let me say thank you very much for your effort with your PWCG, it makes ROF much more better and i realy love that you are able to fly with Aces and that its also possible to kill them ;)

After the beginning of ROF i switched realy fast to Over flanders fields because i liked the game mechanics much more but thanks to your generator i realy like ROF now. Hopefully 777 will do something about the AI soon.

Again Thanks and again sorry for my bad english.
  • 0

#11 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 06 November 2013 - 21:56

The reason that the button is unavailable is that PWCG 15 is installing into a test directory. I do not overwrite the current release version. The button looks for PWCG in …\RoFcampaign. version 15 is in …\RoFCampaignTest15_1.

Looks like pilot substitution in general is busted. I'll get that fixed.
  • 0

#12 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 07 November 2013 - 02:34

Sadly the AI is still BAD, all the enemy scouts are only there to get hunted and shot down without fighting or attack by themself. I know thats not your fault but i had to say it because thats the greatest dissapointment in ROF now. The AI was not that bad in the early ROF days right?

The AI wasn't that bad a few months ago. Whoever has been tinkering with the AI at 777 broke it.

————–

Anyway, Pat, the moving front thing seems to be backward. Turning it on turns it off, and vice versa.

It also seems like there are far more aircraft spawning than the limits you set from the config.
  • 0

#13 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 November 2013 - 15:01

It also seems like there are far more aircraft spawning than the limits you set from the config.

Any further information you have regarding this would be helpful. Check the advanced configs to see how many friendlies and enemies should be allowed to spawn. Then check to see how many are really spawning, when and where.

From an ME point of view what I do is create two global counters, one Allied and one Central. Each of those counters is tied to every virtual waypoint (hundreds of them) for its side. When the counter triggers it disables all VWPs that it is attached to, preventing further spawns.

It is definitely possible for a few more planes to spawn if the spawn trigger activates before the VWP disable. However, it should be pretty close.
  • 0

#14 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 November 2013 - 18:58

Quick post on where I am at:

Bugs:
1. Moving front selection error
- Fixed
2. Null pointer error on AI Recon flight generation
- Fixed
3. Error in pilot assignment
- Fixed
4. Too many planes being spawned
- Not fixed

Added features for test 2:
Revamp of nigh operations
- 100 Sq will get Fees in April 1917 and transition to HPs in August 1917
- While using Fees 100 Sq will do low altitude tactical night bombing.
- Upon transitioning to HPs it will go to strategic targets.
- Added three German Kests as German night fighter squadrons.
- Opposition to HPs as well for Allies, opportunity to do night fighting for Germans.
- Gothas will do daylight raids in mid 1917.
  • 0

#15 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 07 November 2013 - 20:16

100 Sqdn! Yay!
  • 0

#16 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 November 2013 - 20:32

100 Sqdn! Yay!

Counting on you to test it :)
  • 0

#17 flightdok55

flightdok55
  • Posts: 61

Posted 07 November 2013 - 20:40

Quote from Pat:…" Too many planes being spawned- Not fixed"….Is this why my "high end" computer is "bogging down" so bad with the "mission" settings at their lowest levels?….Version 14.4 runs fast and like a champ on my computer…..
  • 0

#18 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 November 2013 - 20:52

Quote from Pat:…" Too many planes being spawned- Not fixed"….Is this why my "high end" computer is "bogging down" so bad with the "mission" settings at their lowest levels?….Version 14.4 runs fast and like a champ on my computer…..

When 15.0 is working well it will run much more precisely than previous versions. Just have to get it there. 15.0 limits the number of friendly and enemy aircraft in the air. Your flight and you count as friendlies. You can look at advanced config to determine how many friendlies and enemies should spawn.

If you are slowing down cycle through friendlies and enemies via SHIFT-F2 and CTRL-F2. Are too many planes in the air? How many? When did they spawn?

Flight testing is very time intensive so I can't do it alone. If testers can give me feedback it will help me to pinpoint where I should focus my efforts.
  • 0

#19 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 07 November 2013 - 21:22

Tried another F2b 48 Squadron mission and got no error message this time…but there was some goofy stuff:

It was a balloon bust mission with two balloons as targets. One of the targets actually was two balloons fused together. The other was about 3 km away.

I put all 1,000 rounds into the two separate balloons and neither went down. My AI wingman attacked both and neither went down. I put it in autopilot to see what would happen and my AI pilot kept attacking the balloons even though I was out of ammo. Both balloons were winched down.

My gunner and my AI wingman's gunner both ignored the balloons completely. They must have known they were invulnerable. :mrgreen:

There was no AA or AAA anywhere around the balloons, no support vehicles of any kind.

There wasn't a single enemy aircraft anywhere.

I scrolled through the views and saw Philip Fullard flying a SPAD 7. Fullard, of course, was the top Nieuport ace, I don't know if he ever flew a SPAD. http://www.theaerodr...and/fullard.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.theaerodr...and/fullard.php

Very odd mission. I'm flying with everything set on Low. Should I increase the settings?
  • 0

#20 flightdok55

flightdok55
  • Posts: 61

Posted 07 November 2013 - 21:27

Ok Pat , thanks for the info……I will do some more testing and see…..no complaints here, just asking a question…..thank you for all your hard work on this monumental task and great game changing generator…..btw., I'm just "up the road" from you in Kerrville……..:)……
  • 0

#21 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 07 November 2013 - 21:41

HT:
The twin balloons is a known issue. I think that I know how to solve it.

No AAA around the balloon was something that I thought I had fixed. Will have to look into that one again.

I can check on Fullard to make sure he is in the right squadron. If he is then maybe the plane assignments are wrong. If he is in the right squadron and plane assignments are correct then who knows, maybe he flew a SPAD :).

Setting the air activity higher will not help to create more encounters in 15.0. There are many more flights in the air than previous versions, and low/medium/high no longer regulates the number of flights in the mission. Instead it regulates the number of planes that will spawn before the rest are cancelled. Hope that makes sense. Sometime a milk run is just a milk run. If this mission is a one-off then that's OK.

Can't do much about invulnerable balloons (I can make sure that they can be killed) or idiotic flight mates beyond what I have already done.
  • 0

#22 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 07 November 2013 - 22:33

Thanks, Pat. :S!:

fwiw, Fullard spent his entire flying career (until his leg was broken in a soccer game, which ended his war in late 1917) in 1 RFC. And 1 RFC never flew SPADs. It's my primary argument for late war Nieuports. That's what caught my attention: http://www.theaerodr...itain/rfc/1.php" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.theaerodr...itain/rfc/1.php
  • 0

#23 Bucksnort

Bucksnort
  • Posts: 384

Posted 08 November 2013 - 00:22

Added features for test 2:
Revamp of nigh operations
- 100 Sq will get Fees in April 1917 and transition to HPs in August 1917
- While using Fees 100 Sq will do low altitude tactical night bombing.
- Upon transitioning to HPs it will go to strategic targets.
- Added three German Kests as German night fighter squadrons.
- Opposition to HPs as well for Allies, opportunity to do night fighting for Germans.
- Gothas will do daylight raids in mid 1917.


Hip, hip, hooray for this Pat!

Downloading now :)
  • 0

#24 Bucksnort

Bucksnort
  • Posts: 384

Posted 08 November 2013 - 00:31

Added features for test 2:
Revamp of nigh operations
- 100 Sq will get Fees in April 1917 and transition to HPs in August 1917
- While using Fees 100 Sq will do low altitude tactical night bombing.
- Upon transitioning to HPs it will go to strategic targets.
- Added three German Kests as German night fighter squadrons.
- Opposition to HPs as well for Allies, opportunity to do night fighting for Germans.
- Gothas will do daylight raids in mid 1917.

Hi Pat,

I just went to your website and there is just a link for 15.0 Test 1. Are the above features now in Test 1 or should I wait for a Test 2 link?

Thanks!
  • 0

#25 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 08 November 2013 - 00:56

74 Sqdn (SE5a) same problem as in past: First waypoint is too close and too high. Plane can't get high enough soon enough. If I circle to climb to it, my AI wingmen get all confused. I don't know if this is peculiar to all SE5a campaigns or if 74 Sqdn is just an anomaly.
  • 0

#26 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 08 November 2013 - 02:51

Hi Pat,

I just went to your website and there is just a link for 15.0 Test 1. Are the above features now in Test 1 or should I wait for a Test 2 link?

Thanks!

Wait for test 2. The changes that I made were per your and Hot Tom's request so I would like you to try them out. When I do test releases I go for rapid turnaround until the bugs are squished, so test 2 should be out in a couple of days.
  • 0

#27 Bucksnort

Bucksnort
  • Posts: 384

Posted 08 November 2013 - 03:07

Hi Pat,

I just went to your website and there is just a link for 15.0 Test 1. Are the above features now in Test 1 or should I wait for a Test 2 link?

Thanks!

Wait for test 2. The changes that I made were per your and Hot Tom's request so I would like you to try them out. When I do test releases I go for rapid turnaround until the bugs are squished, so test 2 should be out in a couple of days.

Rgr :S!:
  • 0

#28 W1ndy

W1ndy
  • Posts: 1475

Posted 08 November 2013 - 04:04

Thanks again Pat. I'm flying Rolands in 1916. I'll report any anomalies if they come up.
  • 0

#29 Major_Marvel

Major_Marvel
  • Posts: 83

Posted 08 November 2013 - 08:17

Thanks very much Pat,Awesome
  • 0

#30 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 08 November 2013 - 16:13

HT: I have the N24 mapped to the SPAD VII 150 and the N27 mapped to the SPAD VII 180. There is your Fullard in a SPAD. Only alternative is to map these mid war types to the N17.
  • 0

#31 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 08 November 2013 - 16:33

Aha! That explains it. Personally I would go with the N17 (at least for 1 RFC, which flew nothing but Nieuports until it switched to the SE5a).
  • 0

#32 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 08 November 2013 - 17:51

That might be the way to go. No need to keep references in place for a mid war Nieuport that isn't coming.
  • 0

#33 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 09 November 2013 - 19:44

It also seems like there are far more aircraft spawning than the limits you set from the config.

Any further information you have regarding this would be helpful. Check the advanced configs to see how many friendlies and enemies should be allowed to spawn. Then check to see how many are really spawning, when and where.

From an ME point of view what I do is create two global counters, one Allied and one Central. Each of those counters is tied to every virtual waypoint (hundreds of them) for its side. When the counter triggers it disables all VWPs that it is attached to, preventing further spawns.

It is definitely possible for a few more planes to spawn if the spawn trigger activates before the VWP disable. However, it should be pretty close.

Ok, when I set the config to low, the friendly aircraft max was 6, but there were 10 actually flying around. I guess that is close enough?

My impression of this new PWCG is that all the spawn triggers use a good chunk of cpu power. Even though there are only a few aircraft flying around, time compression is a bit limited, as if there were many more aircraft in the air.
  • 0

#34 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 November 2013 - 19:50

Yes, time compression has slowed noticeably even though there are few objects in the air.
  • 0

#35 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 09 November 2013 - 22:04

*** Shrug ***

Feels like I am fighting a losing battle. The performance limitations are really starting to wear. I can do more limits and more limits, but then we are right back to potentially empty skies. Oh well, I asked for test feedback and I appreciate it, even if the news is not good.

Ideas include hard limits on flights (like version 14) and yet more sophisticated limitations on flight inclusions. In version 15 I added/improved in program mission analysis so that lays the groundwork for some more changes. Let it be known, however, that I am tinkering and guessing.
  • 0

#36 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 November 2013 - 22:05

No problem, Pat.
  • 0

#37 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 09 November 2013 - 22:06

15.0 Test 2
Revamp of nigh operations
- 100 Sq will get Fees in April 1917 and transition to HPs in August 1917
- While using Fees 100 Sq will do low altitude tactical night bombing.
- Upon transitioning to HPs it will go to strategic targets.
- Added three German Kests as German night fighter squadrons.
- Opposition to HPs as well for Allies, opportunity to do night fighting for Germans.
- Gothas will do daylight raids in mid 1917.

- Fixed moving front selection error
- Fixed null pointer error on AI Recon flight generation
- Fixed error in pilot assignment
- Fixed plane assignments for 1 RFC and 29 RFC (no more SPADs)
- Fixed No AAA around balloons
  • 0

#38 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 09 November 2013 - 22:09

Cool, I'll give it a try.
  • 0

#39 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 November 2013 - 22:22

I'll grab it as soon as the Doolittle Raider event is over.
  • 0

#40 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 09 November 2013 - 23:00

The moving front selection is still backward. Unchecking it moves the front, checking it doesn't.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users