Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PWCG 14.4 released


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#81 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 September 2013 - 05:42

Fifi, if you hit F5 with Pat's Web page on your screen it will refresh. Mine says 14.2
  • 0

#82 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 September 2013 - 06:06

Fifi, if you hit F5 with Pat's Web page on your screen it will refresh. Mine says 14.2

Thanks a lot Tom. Never knew about this F5 feature! :lol:
It works!
  • 0

#83 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 September 2013 - 06:54

Yeah, Pat taught it to me (several times, I kept forgetting it). Glad you got it sorted!
  • 0

#84 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 September 2013 - 07:53

But still don't know what is the "structure" setting in simple config :?
It seems if i set it to medium, my FPS are dropping quite a lot…
On low setting, it's ok though. What am i missing in game if i let it on low?
Do i have to reduce my ROF graphics setting, so i can run this "structure" stuff on medium?
  • 0

#85 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 30 September 2013 - 13:24

Structures is cities, towns, bridges, etc. The higher the setting the more kinds of structures get included. PWCG has logic in place to limit structures to the flight area, so the setting only impacts what kinds of structures, not how wide of an area.

Surprised that it is having that big of an impact. I run mine on high with my 3+ year old computer with no problems.
  • 0

#86 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 September 2013 - 20:22

Surprised that it is having that big of an impact. I run mine on high with my 3+ year old computer with no problems.

Hmm…and what settings do you give for air and ground?
  • 0

#87 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 01 October 2013 - 01:13

I use low air (computer can't handle more), medium ground, high structure
  • 0

#88 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 01 October 2013 - 03:49

Ok, i'll try the same…and see my FPS :S!:
  • 0

#89 Pierre2

Pierre2
  • Posts: 541
  • LocationAdelaide

Posted 01 October 2013 - 06:13

Just realised I was using 14.1. Upgraded to 14.2, but now my squadron mates aircraft all disappear just after I start my engine. I seem to recall this happening once before after an upgrade but I cant remember what the fix was?
  • 0

#90 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 01 October 2013 - 08:31

Just realised I was using 14.1. Upgraded to 14.2, but now my squadron mates aircraft all disappear just after I start my engine. I seem to recall this happening once before after an upgrade but I cant remember what the fix was?

Twice on the Channel map, i saw my opponents just "pouf"…desappeared!! :?
Would like to know why!
  • 0

#91 Thaatu

Thaatu
  • Posts: 740

Posted 01 October 2013 - 20:02

It seems two-seaters which circle around in enemy territory are frequent in my campaign. I usually find single enemy two-seaters with that behavior, but on my last escort mission the friendly bomber flight also started circling around the bombing site. Have I just messed up the config, or is this behavior usual? Btw Pat, can you recommend how to reduce the amount of planes in a mission? Even on Plane Density Low I counted 45 planes in a mission when I checked the flight recording. I've reduced Base Allied and Central Flights to 1, Max Opposing Flights to 2 and Random Allied and Central Flights to 1, but it seems to have caused more than half of the missions to crash when loading. I think I did something wrong…
  • 0

#92 flightdok55

flightdok55
  • Posts: 61

Posted 01 October 2013 - 22:21

Yep Fifi, had the same thing happen to me…..got in close for the "kill" and he just up and vanished like a "fart" in the wind…..lol…..very strange…..:)………
  • 0

#93 33lima

33lima
  • Posts: 70

Posted 02 October 2013 - 21:11

14.2 released. In this version pilots run away. Damaged planes and low fuel will stay in the fight but RTB when they can. More serious issues the pilot will run away.

It's not perfect. When a pilot runs he flies straight and level and does not evade. I have flown several missions and I don't think that behavior is too bad, because usually when the plane is in that condition it is not really an unreasonable response. At least this way some might get away.

14.2
AI Pilots try to run from fight when
- Pilot wounded
- Aircraft critically damaged
- No ammo
- Gunner killed
- Half the squadron has been shot down.
AI pilots RTB after fight when
- Plane damaged.
- No fuel
Bugs:
- Continued issues with Lechelle-1 made me use Mesnil-Bruntel as an alternative
- Fixed error with fuel selection

Looking forward to trying this when I get back from holidays!

Re the flak issue, the ideal would seem to be plentiful visible AA fire, both over the front (sited mainly to deal with art obs and photo recce missions) AND (as a minimum) in the vicinity of potential bombing targets in rear areas (like railway yards or towns).

By all means increase the AA rate of fire to produce 2.5 times the bursts, but better still if the lethality could also be reduced, so that when under fire, we could sing "Archibald, certainly not!" instead of being regularly shot down, or seeing others shot down, at lower levels.

It's fairly clear by all historical accounts that we should not see the reported instances of whole flights being massacred by flak just because they are at 3,000 feet or less. The solution is not to stop low-flying flights, but to prevent flak being particularly lethal to them, if necessary compensating for AI limitations in taking evasve action. Yes I have read AG Lee's account ("Open Cockpit", I think, rather than "No Parachute") of an escorted recce plane crashing on the return flight due to flak wounding the pilot but the latter reportedly flew straight and level the whole time, ignoring the AA fire (and even then, he nearly made it!). It may or may not be that 'the other sims' slightly over-do flak as a 'combat indicator' but (altho I don't have much time yet with the latest version of PWCG) IMHO it's still the single area that would benefit most from improvement.

Too often, enemy flights are over the front, or even in rear areas, and seem ignored by AA. Much more often, we should become aware of enemy planes from the presence of AA fire aimed at them, rather than relying on crossing their path within a range where the aircraft themselves can readily be seen (or still less, relying on map or 3-d icons).

So I don't think the solution is to enable users to turn off the new 10x flak rate of fire - keep it, and indeed, also maximise the placement of flak to cover the Lines and plenty of airspace in rear areas too: but minimise its lethality at all altitudes. In a WW1 sim, even flak that is almost ineffective would be much preferable to flak that is too deadly. Yes small arms fire at very low level (say, under 1000 feet) should be quite dangerous but this is not NW Europe 1944-45.
  • 0

#94 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 02 October 2013 - 21:45

Guys, I'm using no-ambient-flak (mattm) with PWCG 14.2, do I really need this mod? I think I read somewhere last couple of days Paul answered PWCG controlled that by itself. Am I right?

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#95 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 02 October 2013 - 21:48

Sabre, I use both and there is no problem.
  • 0

#96 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 02 October 2013 - 23:40

Almost all enemy planes (Albatros D.Va) get destroyed by 13PdrAAA, there are too little left for me, Nov 1917.

Sabre.
  • 0

#97 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 03 October 2013 - 12:54

PWCG does not control ambient FLAK. If you want ambient FLAK off you have to use the mod.

If the 10x is too lethal, turn it down to 1x.
Advanced Config->Mission Limits-> Use 10x FLAK = 0

PWCG already sets FLAK AI to LOW, except around balloons where it would be zeroed in and lethal.

There is a reduced FLAK accuracy mod out there, at least I have one in my JGSME. Not sure how it works or if it even works.

Anyway, after setting FLAK AI to LOW and offering config options, that is the limit of what I can do now. Always looking for more ideas, but it is controllable as described above. Better too little FLAK than getting shot out of the air every time. In the meantime we can continue to look for the Goldilocks solution to FLAK (not too much, not too little - just right).
  • 0

#98 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 03 October 2013 - 14:05

If the 10x is too lethal, turn it down to 1x.
Advanced Config->Mission Limits-> Use 10x FLAK = 0

Paul, I think this is exactly what I needed. Also I noticed that it was not me or friendly aircraft but the the enemy who suffered most casualties from the flak. I'll try out this setting.

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#99 Uwe_W.

Uwe_W.
  • Posts: 143
  • LocationFresno, CA

Posted 03 October 2013 - 15:31

Just tried this out, starting a new campaign in an Eindecker.

I love this but its really going to cut down my kill counts.
last mission prior to 14.2 update I got three kills on N11's. First one 14.2 none because as soon as I damaged them they just climbed and ran away. No catching them in an Eindecker and I definitely wasn't going to brave the massive freaking flak batteries by chasing them home.
Seems pretty realistic to me.

Well done Sir!
  • 0

#100 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 03 October 2013 - 15:42

Strange, no matter when I start my campaing at the very beginning in 1916 or Nov 1917 I'm always offered SPAD XIII first in Pilot Selection. What can be wrong here?

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#101 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 03 October 2013 - 15:47

SPAD XIII is the plane of last resort for the Allies (DVa for the Germans). It is assigned when PWCG cannot find a plane that you own flying for your squadron.

Make sure that you tell PWCG which planes you own (Planes Owned from main screen). After you have, make sure that the squadron that you are in flies a plane that you own.
  • 0

#102 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 03 October 2013 - 15:52

Or, buy all the planes ;-)
  • 0

#103 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 03 October 2013 - 16:06

Or, buy all the planes ;-)

I have them all on my side of the aisle and I selected them already before starting the campain, still I'm offered SPAD XIII. On the other hand if I want to revert back to the default SPAD XIII in the menu it is not available after my first selection in each mission.

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#104 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 03 October 2013 - 16:07

What is your squadron supposed to be flying (it says when you first select the squadron)? Do you own that plane?
  • 0

#105 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 03 October 2013 - 17:21

HotTom, I mixed up the selection colour. Now all is good.

Thanks,
Sabre
  • 0

#106 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 03 October 2013 - 17:27

Cool!
  • 0

#107 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 04 October 2013 - 06:42

More often than not my leading wingmen tend to fly not along the patrol line on a patrol mission but above the first waypoint where the patrol starts. Not always though.

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#108 Sabre

Sabre
  • Posts: 173

Posted 07 October 2013 - 21:07

Anyway, after setting FLAK AI to LOW and offering config options, that is the limit of what I can do now.

Pat, by "setting FLAK AI to LOW" - what did you mean? First I thought it was: (Use 10x Flak = 0 in Advanced Configuration Categories), but then I read again and saw this part "… and offering config options". So which is which?

Thanks,
Sabre.
  • 0

#109 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 08 October 2013 - 02:02

AI level vs density level. AI=Low is the least level of confidence. It is an RoF setting. Density=low is least distribution and least output. It is a PWCG setting.
  • 0

#110 Hellshade

Hellshade
  • Posts: 786

Posted 08 October 2013 - 19:03

More great work with 14.2 Pat. Thank you very much for all of your efforts.

There used to be an option when you selected Air Start = 1 under Advanced Configuration where you could also set the distance from your objective that you spawned. It was a great option that got you up in the sky at altitude and near the action very quickly. I believe it was there during the test phase of 14 but I can't find it anywhere in 14.2. Was that removed for a reason? It was a great feature that I would love to see returned if possible.

I love the fact that aircraft will retreat if they sustain too much damage or whatever. Sure, sometimes they just make for an easy kill but other times they are able to get away because you are forced to deal with their squadron mates who are still flying and fighting. Really, really nice touch.
  • 0

#111 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 09 October 2013 - 19:30

14.3
Improvements to sea plane campaigns
W.12 flights are primarily scout patrols, looking for Felixstowes
Felixstowe flights are primarily sub hunting patrols.
Increased possibility of interaction between land and sea units
Bugs:
Fixed incorrectly deleting planes (I hope :) )
  • 0

#112 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4427

Posted 09 October 2013 - 19:31

thanks
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#113 Barkhorn1x

Barkhorn1x
  • Posts: 910

Posted 09 October 2013 - 19:38

14.3 already? Wow Pat, you just keep rolling along.
  • 0

#114 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 09 October 2013 - 19:46

14.3 already? Wow Pat, you just keep rolling along.

Needed a bug fix to stop planes from disappearing. Seemed kind of important :).

After a major release I will usually churn out bug fixes and small changes pretty quickly. With just myself and a 35K line code base it becomes more and more difficult to be bug free, so I count on users to be my QA. my end of the bargain is that I actually have to fix what people find.
  • 0

#115 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 09 October 2013 - 20:02

Thanks, Pat! :S!:
  • 0

#116 Pirato

Pirato
  • Posts: 1593
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 09 October 2013 - 20:04

Wow,thanks for the newest Version. The improved Seaplane missions sounds good.
  • 0

Dann gibt's Heulen und Zähne klammern, für das ganze Lumpenpack.
Dann ist Schluss mit "Tischlein deck' dich", da gibt's "Knüppel aus dem Sack"!


#117 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 09 October 2013 - 20:43

Wow,thanks for the newest Version. The improved Seaplane missions sounds good.

They are not improved enough. In order to fix the disappearing plane bug I had to release the sea plane stuff as is. I am trying to make sea plane operations fun while keeping them within the boundaries of history. Don't feel that I am having much success.

The Felix is faster than the W.12. I gave the W.12 an altitude advantage so hopefully that will help. In my test mission the Felixstowes were there but I couldn't catch them.

On the other side the subs submerge on mission start. I think that I can do something about that but the fix was too complex to get into 14.3. For now you will have to look for the periscope and bomb on that.

Had plans on doing port penetration missions only to find that the coastal towns have no port objects while some places in the heart of France do. Going to have to hard code a list of possible targets and do it that way.
  • 0

#118 Pierre2

Pierre2
  • Posts: 541
  • LocationAdelaide

Posted 09 October 2013 - 22:03

Great, thanks Pat.
  • 0

#119 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 10 October 2013 - 04:07

Latest PWCG downloaded and installed tonight. Confirming I disappeared at my last way point. March, 1917 Jasta 5 , Escort mission. DIII
Also, I was viewing a replay when we crossed back over the line, there were no enemy planes at all, come to think of it, I never saw any in the mission either and I had far icons on for the first time in ages. Just ran this mission again, within the first few minutes all enemy flights disappear Pat.

S!Blade<><

Attached Files

  • Attached File  PWCG.7z   63.9KB   3 downloads

  • 0

#120 Pierre2

Pierre2
  • Posts: 541
  • LocationAdelaide

Posted 10 October 2013 - 05:27

Flew 2 Fee Missions No problem.

Flew an Albatross (first mission in a new campaign for the Pfalz DXIII) and was closing in on some enemy when everything disappeared and the PWCG screen popped up. Sorry, didnt save file.

Flew second mission in the same campaign, this time with the Pfalz, with no problems (got 3 camels to boot).

As an aside - I reverted to the beta career campaigns while waiting for this to be fixed. I had forgotten how often the clouds appeared so you either have to fly through them or around them. This is a rarity in the PWCG campaigns. Is that because you dont like them, its too difficult to include them or too heavy on resources? I quite enjoyed the extra challenge of dog fighting amongst the clouds.

Nonetheless, great to be back in the PWCG saddle.

Edit. In one of the above missions (forgotten which one, but at 67 thats legal) I Shift A'd just prior to landing, the rest of my flight had disappeared but I was able to land, turn engine off and exit mission normally.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users