Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PWCG 14.4 released


  • Please log in to reply
221 replies to this topic

#41 J5_Corsaire

J5_Corsaire
  • Posts: 227

Posted 13 September 2013 - 16:59

Thks Pat ! Once again a great piece of work… Can't find the french and belgian skins for the FE2 on your skins page, but maybe I'm too early… ;)

Edit : made a test and the performance gain is really there. I tried time acceleration x8 and it works !
  • 0

#42 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 13 September 2013 - 18:10

French and Belgian FE2b Skins

Thanks for the reminder. I had the skins up but I had not yet put in a download link.

Fees in drag - come and get it. :)
  • 0

#43 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 13 September 2013 - 18:15

I have also uploaded the latest GUI mod by Ankor. The newest version fixes an issue that some non-English users were having.

Ankor has already posted the fix version in this thread, so if you already have it there is no need to download it again.
  • 0

#44 J5_Corsaire

J5_Corsaire
  • Posts: 227

Posted 13 September 2013 - 22:02

Thks I had the problem with GUI mod. Downloading with the skins…

Edit : sorry still don't see the skins in the list ?
  • 0

#45 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 13 September 2013 - 22:48

Last entry in the middle column. "Download French and Belgian FE2b"

If you do not see that button press F5 to refresh the page.
  • 0

#46 FGTH-Fan

FGTH-Fan
  • Posts: 31

Posted 14 September 2013 - 06:02

It's me again…

I'm flying a Campaign with Jasta 2 in Feb 1917. When I choose the Air Start-Option, my Plane circles around the Airfield and never flies to Waypoint 2. Suddenly this Problem appears, I've flown 60 Missions and it never happened before…
  • 0

#47 theMoxy

theMoxy
  • Posts: 410

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:16

Hey Patty-Pat…quick note i noticed in 14.5 or whatever - around April 24th, 1918 i switched my pilot from "Marine-something-er-schwader-something-1" flying Alby's to the nearby squadron flying the Brandenburg…

some funny things noted:

-very tricky to take off - my squadmates often couldn't
-missions involving ship patrols…but lacking bomb options in the Brandenburg, i couldn't do much damage
-BIG ONE: when trying to transfer BACK to my squad (or ANY other), none were available..of any kind!
-when i took a "1 week leave" request…3 months or so passed..tried it a couple more times, same thing.

…im not sure if any of these are relevant to PWCG, but i figured i'd mention them in the name of ur beta-testing mission. hope it's of some help(?)
  • 0

#48 US103_Baer

US103_Baer
  • Posts: 481

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:07

Having same problem as @andy73 with airstarts creating AI that just circle aerodrome.

Additionally the airstart is now just above the aerodrome, whereas 13.10 had airstarts closer to the front - which was a major plus point for me.

Thanks,
Paul
  • 0

BxlHM7Q.png                  HaO2aNP.png

 


#49 J5_Corsaire

J5_Corsaire
  • Posts: 227

Posted 14 September 2013 - 11:01

Last entry in the middle column. "Download French and Belgian FE2b"
If you do not see that button press F5 to refresh the page.

Sorry for forgetting the F5 trick.. it was late ! ;)
  • 0

#50 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 14 September 2013 - 14:57

Air starts are a known issue.

I can look at German sea plane takeoff from Zeebrugge.

You should be able to transfer between any German Naval squadron. There are only three in PWCG, but going from sea planes back to land planes should work. I will look at it.

Not much I can do about the Brandenburg load. If people have ideas for W.12 missions in general I am open to suggestions. I think sea plane missions deserves a thread of its own.

The leave process also adds some extra days until the next mission. Missions in sea plane squadrons and strategic bombing squadrons don't happen as often, so it is possible that one week leave will result in more than that until the next mission.
  • 0

#51 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 14 September 2013 - 16:03

Pat just to remand u u forgat to remove edit map in version 14 so just to pint it out if somabdy didnt all redy. Not a big deal but i remember u wont to remove it. Didnt hade time to fly the mission just trayed to see is the gui working. Head the error so i dont now did u change the gui to latest ver on u site.
Thx agen for u hard and amezing wwork.
:S!:
  • 0

#52 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 14 September 2013 - 18:15

Moxy: about your transfer issue. There is only one German seaplane unit so there is nothing else to transfer to. If you want to go back to Naval land based squadrons then change the Role drop down from "Sea Plane" to "Scout" and you will see the MFJs again.
  • 0

#53 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 14 September 2013 - 18:29

Thanks for the reminder. Done in 14.1
  • 0

#54 mj3437

mj3437
  • Posts: 234

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:42

Pat, I just tried to fly a ground attack mission in a Tripe with the No 9 Squad RNAS on 04/04/1917. When I was just reaching the mud I got this message and had to use Task Manager to exit. Is there something I am missing in my install?
MJ

Attached Files


  • 0

#55 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:48

Yes, download third party objects. Air crew, infantry, etc. Don't have a link handy but if you can't find them I will try to help find the links.
  • 0

#56 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:50

14.1 hhas been released. This fixes some of the bugs reported in 14.0
- Fixed air starts
- Fixed scramble missions to avoid deleting planes
- Fixed data error in battle data file
- Added Option for no 10x flak
- Advanced Config
- Mission Limits
- use 10x AAA set to 0 for off, 1 for on
- Removed Edit Map
- Fixed ambient Balloons cannot be claimed
  • 0

#57 mj3437

mj3437
  • Posts: 234

Posted 14 September 2013 - 21:57

Thanks Pat , I found them in the Game Mods. Downloading now.
Thanks for your CG and everything else you do for this Sim.
MJ
  • 0

#58 33lima

33lima
  • Posts: 70

Posted 15 September 2013 - 00:10

Hi Pat
just started a fresh campaign mission, Jasta 11 flying from Lechelle, 1 Apr 18. My flight started facing the hangars; I managed to swing around, they didn't.

Attached File  2013_9_15__0_3_50.jpg   140.7KB   230 downloads

Tried a fresh, this time clean install of 14.1, created the campaign anew, same result.
  • 0

#59 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 15 September 2013 - 00:27

I'm still disappearing when I return from a mission and hit the last waypoint (still scores okay). Everything else is working fine!
  • 0

#60 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 15 September 2013 - 00:57

Still working it and it is now #1 on the bug list. Just didn't want to hold up the rest of the fixes.

I looked at the disappearing thing and could not come up with a reason. The delete entity group that I use to delete a plane is definitely not attached to the player - at least as far as I have seen so far. This is going to be challenging.
  • 0

#61 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:46

No problem and no hurry. If it wiped out the whole mission, it would be a problem. Instead it's just a minor annoyance. ;-)
  • 0

#62 Nightbreed

Nightbreed
  • Posts: 11

Posted 15 September 2013 - 17:40

Thank you for fixing the air starts. A BIG thank you for your on this PWCG project. For me, it has kept me very interested in this sim. I wish I could clone you and get you to work on the DCS A10C!

Thanks again,

NB
  • 0

#63 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 16 September 2013 - 02:21

Ah, so the 10x AAA is what I've been seeing. I kind of like it. Fly low on the enemy side and you will probably die. Trouble is that the AI pilots seem to ignore that kind of cautionary principle.
  • 0

#64 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 16 September 2013 - 12:45

Hi Pat,

I had to turn off the 10x AAA. I watched a flight of 4 DFWs get annihilated in just a few minutes and decided it was too much.

P.S. I have also seen aircraft in my own flight de-spawn at strange times.
  • 0

#65 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 16 September 2013 - 13:37

That feature needs some work. Your flight should despawn after the last WP is reached. They may also despawn if they are far away from an enemy and far away from you. Your own aircraft should never despawn.

HT reports and I have seen myself instances where the player despawns. Need to work that.

Given the statement above as to how it is supposed to work, can you describe "at strange times"?


An explanation as to why the despawning. People reported repeated loss of AI pilots because they can't land a plane. I have never managed to overcome that issue. My solution was not to have them land.

OK, with that done what happens to them? I want the player to be able to land, but if the player is the flight leader the AI will probably fly right into the hangars - in perfect formation, of course. Thus the despawn. Hit the last WP, despawn the player's flight, let the player land normally.

That is the goal - despawn after the last WP. Anything other than that is a bug.
  • 0

#66 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 16 September 2013 - 13:39

I saw my flight leader de-spawn while we were over no man's land. It's only happened once so far. Maybe that was the last way point for some reason? Thanks for the great campaign generator!
  • 0

#67 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 16 September 2013 - 13:51

You might have something - were you on an escort mission?

The last WP should always near your own field. Escorts are oddballs though, in that you fly your WPs, then you fly the escorted flight WPs, then back to your WPs. Definitely see the possibility of a mistake there.
  • 0

#68 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 16 September 2013 - 16:27

Not sure, I'll generate an escort mission and test it out tonight.
  • 0

#69 Pirato

Pirato
  • Posts: 1595
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 18 September 2013 - 17:27

FA 7 stationed at Lechelle1 in July 1916. Everyone spawns the wrong way and points toward the Hangars. No need to say what happened on take off. :lol:
  • 0

Dann gibt's Heulen und Zähne klammern, für das ganze Lumpenpack.
Dann ist Schluss mit "Tischlein deck' dich", da gibt's "Knüppel aus dem Sack"!


#70 jeanba4

jeanba4
  • Posts: 1257

Posted 25 September 2013 - 09:21

Edit : moved to pwcg support thread
  • 0

#71 Thaatu

Thaatu
  • Posts: 740

Posted 26 September 2013 - 20:10

Hi Pat, great work! Just a few apparent bugs I noticed with my August 1916 campaign:

Some French squadrons (at least N.12 and N.15) have Spad 7s with a 180 HP engine instead of 150 HP. Also I saw a Brequet 14 on my last mission (August 3rd). Needless to say I couldn't catch it with my Eindecker so I couldn't see the squadron markings on it. It was either a bug or a place holder for Strutter, in which case ignore it.
  • 0

#72 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 26 September 2013 - 21:24

Thanks Thaatu.

I took care of N.12 and N.15. I had a 1916 start date when I needed 1917.

Your comment prompted me to look at Breguet assignments and there were a number of errors. I had some early war types mapped to Breguets, but at this point the FE2b is a better choice. Hopefully no more chasing Breguets in Eindeckers.
  • 0

#73 J5_Spyboy

J5_Spyboy
  • Posts: 557

Posted 29 September 2013 - 13:15

Pat
Simple question, the WinRAR files dont dload do you need a licence, I have partially installed the PWCG, but not the maps,Now I cant open the updates and am afraid my directory is becoming cluttered with RAR files, The same is true of the Flying Fury campaign which is in the directory but I cant see it in game
Sorry to be dense
Spyboy :S!:
  • 0

#74 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 29 September 2013 - 16:37

Confused. PWCG is packed in a zip file, not a rar. No license needed. As of version 14 the maps are reduced in size and packed back into the main download, so no need for a separate map download.

Apologies if that is not he right answer. If I did not answer the question please try again.
  • 0

#75 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 30 September 2013 - 02:18

14.2 released. In this version pilots run away. Damaged planes and low fuel will stay in the fight but RTB when they can. More serious issues the pilot will run away.

It's not perfect. When a pilot runs he flies straight and level and does not evade. I have flown several missions and I don't think that behavior is too bad, because usually when the plane is in that condition it is not really an unreasonable response. At least this way some might get away.

14.2
AI Pilots try to run from fight when
- Pilot wounded
- Aircraft critically damaged
- No ammo
- Gunner killed
- Half the squadron has been shot down.
AI pilots RTB after fight when
- Plane damaged.
- No fuel
Bugs:
- Continued issues with Lechelle-1 made me use Mesnil-Bruntel as an alternative
- Fixed error with fuel selection
  • 0

#76 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 30 September 2013 - 02:27

Haven't even had a chance to try 14.0 Pat! :lol: You are just to fast.

S!Blade<><
  • 0

#77 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 September 2013 - 02:59

Thanks, Pat! Will try it very soon! :S!:
  • 0

#78 SYN_Adamfp3

SYN_Adamfp3
  • Posts: 82

Posted 30 September 2013 - 03:44

Thanks Pat. Quick question what, who where, are Lechelle-1 and Mesnil-Bruntel?
  • 0

#79 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 30 September 2013 - 04:43

Airfields. Lechelle 1 is a special field. Every time I think that I have takeoffs fixed i find out that I have not, so I just moved squadrons to a nearby field.
  • 0

#80 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 September 2013 - 05:11

:oops: Where is the link for version 14.2 ?
On your web page, it's still 14.1
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users