Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Co-Op Corner Missions & Feedback Thread


  • Please log in to reply
274 replies to this topic

#161 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 15 July 2013 - 18:56

If you want to change the British aircraft (please), I suggest either:

The F2b (39 squadron was the most famous HD unit), which will give Panther a gunner's seat :mrgreen: ). Some F2B night fighters used the Lewis guns atop the wing, giving them a total of 5 guns.

We don't have an F2b night fighter skin, but if any skinner is feeling ambitious, here's one:

Attached File  9_10.jpg   28.52KB   156 downloads

And/or the SE5a. There is an excellent SE5a night fighter skin done by WWDubya called SE5a-37RAF-D3459 already in the historical skins. It can be used for either 37 squadron or 61 Squadron (it flew with both).

I still haven't tried any PWCG night missions today but will get to it this afternoon (before the Home Run Derby starts :mrgreen: )

:S!:

HT
  • 0

#162 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 15 July 2013 - 20:20

Req, I have set up the server to run on Saturdays, using your .sds. I have downloaded and added your 4 missions. I noticed that the mission "English Channel Gotha Attack (16p)" has an empty .list file so I think players will not see a mission description? Please re-save in the mission editor, maybe under a different name to force save the .list file.
  • 0

#163 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 15 July 2013 - 21:43

Req, I have set up the server to run on Saturdays, using your .sds. I have downloaded and added your 4 missions. I noticed that the mission "English Channel Gotha Attack (16p)" has an empty .list file so I think players will not see a mission description? Please re-save in the mission editor, maybe under a different name to force save the .list file.


I've had a couple of situations now where my coop server was throwing off 10017 errors because the list files in the D/L package I got from Requiem called for there to be a .jpg file which was not included in the D/L package. I was able to fix it by simply editing the list file to delete the reference to the missing .jpg file (thought I'd fixed everything after the first time it cropped up but it looks like I may have missed one).

I'm going to go back and check them all again later tonight when I get home from work to make sure all the missions will work OK in this respect.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#164 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 15 July 2013 - 21:51

IT'S THE MOON!!!

Ran a couple of PWCG Home Defense night missions with RoF Gamma cranked up to 100% (from usual 20%):

First Mission: SE5a at 23:39 hrs, half moon just at moonrise on eastern horizon: Couldn't see anything on the ground, couldn't see the Gotha, quit mission to avoid crashing.

Second Mission: F2B at 0:41 hrs, full moon 45+ degrees above eastern horizon: Could easily see objects on the grounds, killed a Gotha (!), found my airfield (no fires on the field) and landed safely.

It's the moon, size and position. Definitely.

:S!:

HT
  • 0

#165 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 15 July 2013 - 23:48

Req, I have set up the server to run on Saturdays, using your .sds. I have downloaded and added your 4 missions. I noticed that the mission "English Channel Gotha Attack (16p)" has an empty .list file so I think players will not see a mission description? Please re-save in the mission editor, maybe under a different name to force save the .list file.

Ok. I'll be making my changes in a few mins, so I'll see how the .list file turns out. You might as well delete the ones you've downloaded though as they will be changed before Saturday.

I've had a couple of situations now where my coop server was throwing off 10017 errors because the list files in the D/L package I got from Requiem called for there to be a .jpg file which was not included in the D/L package. I was able to fix it by simply editing the list file to delete the reference to the missing .jpg file (thought I'd fixed everything after the first time it cropped up but it looks like I may have missed one).

I'm going to go back and check them all again later tonight when I get home from work to make sure all the missions will work OK in this respect.

I updated the link for the Stop the Commander mission a few days ago with the required jpeg in the zipfile.
IT'S THE MOON!!!

Ran a couple of PWCG Home Defense night missions with RoF Gamma cranked up to 100% (from usual 20%):

First Mission: SE5a at 23:39 hrs, half moon just at moonrise on eastern horizon: Couldn't see anything on the ground, couldn't see the Gotha, quit mission to avoid crashing.

Second Mission: F2B at 0:41 hrs, full moon 45+ degrees above eastern horizon: Could easily see objects on the grounds, killed a Gotha (!), found my airfield (no fires on the field) and landed safely.

It's the moon, size and position. Definitely.

:S!:

HT

Yeah figured as much. I don't think its the time so much as the date, I have to mess with the date to get a full moon. I'll check in later tonight once its done.
  • 0

#166 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 16 July 2013 - 00:19

I've had a couple of situations now where my coop server was throwing off 10017 errors because the list files in the D/L package I got from Requiem called for there to be a .jpg file which was not included in the D/L package. I was able to fix it by simply editing the list file to delete the reference to the missing .jpg file (thought I'd fixed everything after the first time it cropped up but it looks like I may have missed one).

I'm going to go back and check them all again later tonight when I get home from work to make sure all the missions will work OK in this respect.

I updated the link for the Stop the Commander mission a few days ago with the required jpeg in the zipfile.


I just now D/L'ed the Stop the Commander mission again and saw that the .jpg is now in there for that mission, BUT, what about the Entente Recon mission? Its list file calls for the following file:

filename="swf\photorecon.gfx","0b4447cd"

but I can't seem to find that file in the D/L package or in my swf folder (and that mission was also throwing off 10017 errors according to a report earlier today).
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#167 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 16 July 2013 - 00:26

I believe that photorecon.gfx is stored inside a .gtp file. I don't have it in my /swf folder either, but you can call upon it for use in the ME. Might have to get Vander's insight on that one…

Just as a precaution though, I will resave everything with a slightly different filename.
  • 0

#168 =IRFC=Harock

=IRFC=Harock
  • Posts: 102

Posted 16 July 2013 - 00:54

is there respawning in these missions?
(hope not) play is different when death means something


I would be really excited if this took off.
weekends are tough for me in the summer though.
Any weeknights? .. selfishly suggesting east coast america gmt+5

bachelor mondays!? (wife is watching the "Bachelor")
or
Tactical tuesdays!?

any way, i have a good excuse for missing this weekend.

what the heck did they do to my baby!?
Image
went to old rinebeck. always fun!
  • 0

#169 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 16 July 2013 - 03:31

Harock, Co-op mode does not have respawns. Everyone picks an aircraft, the mission starts, if you die you die, and inside of 25mins the mission will be over and the next map will load.

General changes:
Added an extra recon aircraft that is "visiting" an airfield to the missions which will despawn if they don't take off within 1 minute.

Saved missions using different filenames, so you will need to update the .sds with
file="Cooperative\Eliminate GeneralOberst Klein! (16p)"
file="Cooperative\Schusta 27b Raid Near Arras (16p)"
file="Cooperative\Boghol 3 Attacking Dover (16p)"
file="Cooperative\No.59 Squadron Recon Over Douai (16p)"

Gotha Mission:
Removed 4 pups, replaced with 2 Bristol F.IIb and 2 SE5a at their own aerodromes, so there are 4 Pups, 2 SE5, and 2 Bristol.
Made the Gotha leader aircraft AI only, so it can lead the players to the randomised target. This leaves 3 player controlled Gotha aircraft + the AI leader, so they should all be essentially fully crewed if Central has a full side.
Changed starting position of Gotha flight to prevent them bypassing Dover for the English Channel.
Changed date and time so there is a full moon high in the sky to provide extra lighting.

Hoping to test the Squadron Recon mission on Saturday :)
  • 0

#170 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 16 July 2013 - 05:50

Hey Req - I D/L'ed and installed the new missions, and modified the .sds file accordingly, but I'm getting a 10017 error when I try to join my coop server when it's running the No.59 recon mission.

I believe it's associated with the list file entry:

filename="swf\photorecon.gfx","0b4447cd"

because when I delete that line from the list file the mission loads up OK and lets me join the mission.

However, I don't know what the effect of removing that line from the list file really is or whether there might be unintended consequences or problems at some point after loading the mission with it removed.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#171 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 16 July 2013 - 06:04

Hey Req - I D/L'ed and installed the new missions, and modified the .sds file accordingly, but I'm getting a 10017 error when I try to join my coop server when it's running the No.59 recon mission.

I believe it's associated with the list file entry:

filename="swf\photorecon.gfx","0b4447cd"

because when I delete that line from the list file the mission loads up OK and lets me join the mission.

However, I don't know what the effect of removing that line from the list file really is or whether there might be unintended consequences or problems at some point after loading the mission with it removed.

I think the solution here is to change the \ to a / . You can do it in the .list file, but then you need to update it every time you change a mission. It's better to included a Media mcu and then configure it to play an image. In the path you type in "swf/photorecon.gfx", so it will automatically add it to the .list file.

I also remember someone saying that the devs had moved ( copied ) the .gfx files to another location. Might have to check the .gtp files.
  • 0

#172 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 16 July 2013 - 12:43

Thanks Vander. I'll change that \ to / in the editor and see if the recon still functions properly.
  • 0

#173 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 16 July 2013 - 12:46

And I dropped that mission to the bottom of the rotation for today so it probably won't be encountered on my test server while I'm at work today.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#174 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 16 July 2013 - 13:10

Changing the \ to / still allowed the recon to work. Mission has been updated accordingly to hopefully avoid the 10017 issue.
  • 0

#175 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 17 July 2013 - 00:35

Changing the \ to / still allowed the recon to work. Mission has been updated accordingly to hopefully avoid the 10017 issue.

Thanks - I've put the updated mission into the rotation on my test server, which will stay up for the next 3 hours or so.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#176 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 17 July 2013 - 13:36

Hey Req - I'm still getting 10017 errors on the Entente recon mission. I've taken it out of the rotation for today's session on my test server.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#177 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 17 July 2013 - 14:18

Panther, I think I've figured this problem out..

I extracted the .gtp file and found the following folder:

/swf/externalmedia/photorecon

Inside this photorecon folder is the photorecon.gfx file, so to fix the problem I changed the media MCU directory in the ME to be /swf/externalmedia/photorecon/photorecon.gfx. I think this affects how the server calls upon it to distribute it to MP clients because by changing it the recon flash trigger still worked fine.

Fingers crossed, but I think this is the solution.

Recon mission is updated in the link.
  • 0

#178 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 17 July 2013 - 14:27

I D/L'ed and installed the new mission files - it seems to have worked, at least in terms of letting me into the server without a 10017 error, so I've got it in the rotation for my test server today.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#179 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 17 July 2013 - 14:34

Panther, I think I've figured this problem out..

I extracted the .gtp file and found the following folder:

/swf/externalmedia/photorecon

Inside this photorecon folder is the photorecon.gfx file, so to fix the problem I changed the media MCU directory in the ME to be /swf/externalmedia/photorecon/photorecon.gfx. I think this affects how the server calls upon it to distribute it to MP clients because by changing it the recon flash trigger still worked fine.

Fingers crossed, but I think this is the solution.

Recon mission is updated in the link.

Ah yes, that was it.
  • 0

#180 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 18 July 2013 - 01:03

Hey guys - it looks like my server saw at least a little activity today - the log showed a couple of rotations between missions.

But I also found this error notation, which must have occurred some time after the server was started with its initial mission:

Server succesfully registered on master server
!!! ERROR INET thread: MIS_REQUEST_FAILED: MIST_SERVERNOTIFYPROXY

===== Rotation is in progress (20 seconds to wait before loading) =====
… Server name 'Panthercules' Co-Op Corner Test Server: All Welcome to join'
Loading mission 'Multiplayer\Cooperative\Schusta 27b Raid Near Arras (16p).mission' (Multiplayer\Cooperative\Schusta 27b Raid Near Arras (16p))…
Server listener IP = 'xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx'
… Mission loaded successfully


Any idea what might have caused this error? Anything that might need to be changed about the server?
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#181 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 18 July 2013 - 05:41

We have this all the time. It means the master server could not be updated, due to a ( temporary ) connection failure.
Don't worry about it too much. If there are a number of these messages it means the master server is busy doing other stuff :)
  • 0

#182 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16608

Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:46

Thanks - there was only the one message like that all day, so not a big deal I guess.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#183 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 17:32

Req: I tried to fly the Recon mission…but…the only instructions I received were to photograph the railway station. There is no railway station on the map. It doesn't give any grid coordinates, name of town near the station, nada. Am I missing something or should it maybe be more specific?

There should be icons on the map that indicate which target each icon is.
  • 0

#184 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 17:58

I saw four icons on the briefing map showing four icons. Does it narrow to only one when the mission starts? I'll check again….BBL.

And since it's an air start, I have no idea where I am when I spawn. That adds a bit to the navigation part. ;)

EDIT: Tried it again. The map stays the same. What I see on the map are four blue arrow icons (I have no idea what those are) and four small bullseye icons, three on the allied side and one on the central side. Is the one on the central side my target? Do I spawn at one of the allied icons? Should I wait for an escort? Where? Sri, maybe I'm being dense but I can't figure out what to do. :roll:
  • 0

#185 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:20

Unfortunately I don't know if its possible to isolate the objectives down to a single icon on the map. The icons showing your airstart and the other fields are thick dots. I'll change them to different icons so they are more visible. The escort will find you, so don't worry about those. You can orbit on your side of the lines if needed and they will link up with you.

If you mouse over the icons they give a description.
  • 0

#186 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:32

OK. I still gotta know where to go to take the pictures.
  • 0

#187 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:34

OK. I still gotta know where to go to take the pictures.

The four blue arrows are the "recon objective" icon from the ME. Don't shoot the messenger ;)
  • 0

#188 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:36

OK. I still gotta know where to go to take the pictures.

The four blue arrows are the "recon objective" icon from the ME. Don't shoot the messenger ;)

Aha! So it's one of the blue arrows? If so, which one?

I'm not shooting the messenger but he didn't bring the whole message. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#189 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:39

I hate quoting myself HT, but…

If you mouse over the icons they give a description.

  • 0

#190 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:40

I hate quoting myself HT, but…

If you mouse over the icons they give a description.

I got hat. Haven't tried it yet (obviously) but does it tell me that in the briefing?
  • 0

#191 BraveSirRobin

BraveSirRobin
  • Member
  • Posts: 6602
  • LocationHackistan

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:45

This conversation is why I never block anyone…
  • 0

The toughest part of my job is dealing with incompetent clowns who think they're good at their job.

Free Plank!

 


#192 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:45

I hate quoting myself HT, but…

If you mouse over the icons they give a description.

I got hat. Haven't tried it yet (obviously) but does it tell me that in the briefing?

No it does not. Duly noted :)
  • 0

#193 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 18:58

I could do this HT, but I think its a bit cluttered

Attached Files

  • Attached File  map.png   653.95KB   114 downloads

  • 0

#194 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 19:06

I tried it again. Yes, the titles appear if you place the mouse over the symbols. I think that's all you need to add to the briefings. Don't need to show the routes.

I flew to the town where I assumed the train station is located (I could see tracks on the south edge of town) and couldn't get a camera icon, Maybe I just didn't find the station.

Everything else worked fine. Noops joined up.
  • 0

#195 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 19:08

I tried it again. Yes, the titles appear if you place the mouse over the symbols. I think that's all you need to add to the briefings. Don't need to show the routes.

I flew to the town where I assumed the train station is located (I could see tracks on the south edge of town) and couldn't get a camera icon, Maybe I just didn't find it.

Everything else worked fine. Noops joined up.


I've tested the photorecons and they all work. The trick is making sure you approach from the right altitude and direction for the camera to come up.
  • 0

#196 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 18 July 2013 - 19:11

I tried it again. Yes, the titles appear if you place the mouse over the symbols. I think that's all you need to add to the briefings. Don't need to show the routes.

I flew to the town where I assumed the train station is located (I could see tracks on the south edge of town) and couldn't get a camera icon, Maybe I just didn't find it.

Everything else worked fine. Noops joined up.


I've tested the photorecons and they all work. The trick is making sure you approach from the right altitude and direction for the camera to come up.

I was right at 5,000 feet flying due east. Is the station in the town (where I thought it was) or somewhere else?

EDIT: I may have been too far north. The town probably was Lens and I was looking at the track that goes by it. On the map, the station appears to be southeast of Lens. Probably my bad.
  • 0

#197 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 20:31

For the info of those who have downloaded the missions. I've updated all of the icons on each mission so they all have names for ease of viewing, so you may download these updated ones if you wish.
  • 0

#198 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 18 July 2013 - 20:41

Thanks! I have just downloaded and updated the Syn server. On Saturday, the co-op corner server will run instead of normal Syndicate server.

I hope it all works out as I will be in sunny France on a holiday! :)

But there are others in Syndicate that can help out in case of troubles…
  • 0

#199 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 18 July 2013 - 21:43

Thanks! I have just downloaded and updated the Syn server. On Saturday, the co-op corner server will run instead of normal Syndicate server.

I hope it all works out as I will be in sunny France on a holiday! :)

But there are others in Syndicate that can help out in case of troubles…

Thanks very much Vander! I hope that some of the regular Syndicate Server pilots can spare a few mins to try out the missions and see what they think. I'll bump the general discussion thread tomorrow about it.

I'm close to finishing the next mission, but I'll reveal what that's about soon. I think it will be pretty cool :)
  • 0

#200 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 19 July 2013 - 23:13

Hi all,

The latest mission involves Felixstowes vs Brandenburgs on the 4 June 1918. This is taking some liberties on the revenge attack mission that was planned by No.4 Group on this day in response to five Brandenburgs attacking the disabled H.12 (#8660) on water, killing the pilot and taking its crew prisoner. Its in the Windsock Datafile 82 on page 27.

Objectives are random as always and include the following:

1) The Felixstowes must damage a flotilla of German cruisers. A German submarine is also in the area as a bonus.

2) The Felixstowes must damage a convoy of ships. Among these ships are passenger liners so the Felixstowes must not bomb these ships to avoid civilian casualties.

3) The Felixstowes must destroy most of the W12 Brandenburgs. The Central side cannot tell when this objective is selected and just avoid the Felixstowes as I've made it randomly spawn the ships needed for either the convoy and flotilla objectives.

4) For those previous three objectives the Felixstowes are on the offensive, but this next one changes that mission dynamic and instead puts the Felixstowes on defense.

A Felixstowe develops a petrol pump problem and has to land on the water. A small deployment of German ships begins heading towards his position while he attempts a fix. The fix is randomised also with a fix become more likely, but not certain, the longer he is on the water. If he fixes the pump then he takes off and must survive to leave the area, but since its not a real fix he flies much slower than normal. If he does not fix it then he is stuck on the water and is captured/destroyed.

Obviously during this whole thing the Felixstowes will have the W12s after them. It should make for an interesting mission, so how does it sound? It will be uploaded in a couple of hours.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users