- - - - -

Another guide for skinning with GIMP

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Fabioccio

Fabioccio

Posted 07 June 2013 - 21:46

Hi all.
I'm writing this doc to share what I've discovered, mostly by trials and errors since I'm not a graphic designer nor expert of image manipulation of any kind.

1. Download and install GIMP actually ver. 2.8.4
2. Download the GIMP DDS Plugin actually 2.2.1 and extract the dds.exe in the right folder, usually C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins
3. Open RoF PSD template with GIMP
You will see something like this
4. Click and drag all layers to the root level, otherwise they will not work as intended. Be careful to respect the original order, like this
5. Save the project in xcf GIMP format for future use as template
6. Set the DRAW HERE layer to 100% opacity and unleash your artistic vein :)
7. Once finished, from the image menu click Flatten Image, you will get one layer alone
8. From the Color menu select Brightness-Contrast tool and set a Brightness of -115 , this may vary depending on the template and on the colors you have used for editing the skin, feel free to experiment ;)
Now for the magic part…
9. From the Layer/Mask submenu, select Add Layer Mask tool. Then select Channel Alpha and click Add
You will get something like this
10. Now click File/Export, select file type DDS image. If you don't see this file type for choosing, probably there's a problem with the plug-in installation. Check point 2.
Obviously you have to select the right plane folder for saving the file :geek: for example C:\Games\Rise of Flight\data\graphics\Skins\Spad7
Click Export
Click export again at the warning
11. Select compression BC3/DXT5, mipmaps to be generated, open Advanced Options and select Luminance or Distance as color selection. Be aware! Leaving it to Default may lead to ugly texture artefacts!! :o