Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

My first try at skinning...a work in progress.


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:20

So I went to the illustrious Internet and discovered that Adobe has released Photoshop CS2 for free download. I dived right in and tried painting a Halberstadt D.II plain white without messing with any of the layers and here's what I got. What did I do wrong? Hints, suggestions?

I suppose I need to acquaint myself more thoroughly with layers and the like, but I really need a bit of help. Thanks in advance. :S!:

Attached Files


  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#2 nbryant

nbryant
  • Posts: 165

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:29

Not really free…… but whose looking!


"Adobe strongly advises against running unsupported and outdated software. The serial numbers below should only be used by customers who legitimately purchased CS2 or Acrobat 7 and need to maintain their current use of these products. "
  • 0

#3 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:34

http://www.techspot....toshop-cs2.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.techspot....downloads/3689- … p-cs2.html
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#4 Bullets

Bullets
  • Posts: 780

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:38

Looks nice, very very bright though… dim down the white alot, the blacks are nice though! :S!:
  • 0

#5 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:40

White is a hard colour to do correctly, but when you do use white you should never use a pure white as it looks unnatural. Giving it a very slight difference away from white, I like to give it a very slight blueish hint, makes it look much better.
  • 0

#6 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:42

Believe me, all I did was load the template, mark out the areas and dump white paint on the lot. Saturation is way overboard though, and you're saying all I have to do is dim it down? I'll give it a shot. Thanks.
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#7 J2_Adam

J2_Adam
  • Posts: 2453
  • LocationVancouver, BC

Posted 05 April 2013 - 00:50

When wanting white I always use a shade of gray….and for blacks, a charcoal. White and blacks are WAY to stark for RoF.
  • 0

#8 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:10

Thanks for the link, Nav! Haven't used Photoshop in almost 10 years. Trying to remember how will give me something to do ;)
  • 0

#9 A1_Phoenix

A1_Phoenix
  • Posts: 122
  • LocationMilano, Italy

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:10

Good job navair! :) that's the spirit!

As you can see the white is too white for ROF standard, you can use the "white" of the markings as reference :)

if you want i can PM you the modified template i'm using and some of the colors!

S!
A1_Phoenix

How many time i've used the word "white"? LOL
  • 0

#10 tvrtko

tvrtko
  • Posts: 745

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:24

I always love "Goering" white planes.
But, like some already said, it a little
bit too white. Too bright. Well, too
exposed if you like… :)
This is imho how white, weathered,
RoF, planes should look.
Image

Keep up nav. And thanks for free CS2 ! :S!:
I really appreciate. You save my *ss.
Once again. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#11 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 05 April 2013 - 10:57

Now that is the white I'm looking for. I need to figure out how to copy and paste an already weathered paint job onto a completely different aircraft…I mean hey, if one can't create from scratch, there's always "reverse engineering", eh? :lol:
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#12 nbryant

nbryant
  • Posts: 165

Posted 06 April 2013 - 17:32

http://www.techspot....toshop-cs2.html


Just an FYI. When Adobe initially posted the activation codes it was only intended for those that previously purchased the program, as noted on the Adobe site. A number of other sites misconstrued the information as being the program was "free" and jumped all over it flooding the web with that information. Even after Adobe provided clarity they continue to still post it as free. Adobe realized their error and initially locked the site down but eventually realizing the damage was done made it available again. Now that being said, if you DL it will they hunt you down? Not likely. I don't know what would happen if you attempted to register it and were not a previous owner so if someone does let me know! :)
  • 0

#13 nbryant

nbryant
  • Posts: 165

Posted 06 April 2013 - 17:34

Now that is the white I'm looking for. I need to figure out how to copy and paste an already weathered paint job onto a completely different aircraft…I mean hey, if one can't create from scratch, there's always "reverse engineering", eh? :lol:


It should be as easy as duplicating the layer from the originally template into the new one. When you click on duplicate you should find a drop down where you can select where you want it copied.
  • 0

#14 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:22

Messing around with solid colors…don't ask me the method to my madness, but I've arrived at a repeatable way to get solid colors through "bathing" the Alpha Layer… :mrgreen:

Attached Files


  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#15 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:48

Now…take the stock brown and green camo pattern, strip away the default sky blue and hit the rest with deep red and …voila! Red and white Roland.

I need to branch out and try some symbols when I get this down solid ( no pun intended ). 8-)

Attached Files


  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#16 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:41

OK, I've finally managed to teach myself the intricacies of layers ( imitates Dr. Evil's voice in the Austin Powers movies, when he says, "lasers" ), and I've arrived at some fairly decent paintjobs. :)

The trick? Strip all the layers away until you get down to only what you need to change, then reassemble the whole bloomin' thing with weathering effects and all right over the top of the base color that was changed. 8-)

It takes a bit of practice, but it's not hard after a fashion. Now all I need to do is figure out how to copy over different camo patterns and colors to generic files that I can then apply to any aircraft ( picture dumping a paint bucket of lozenge pattern on base wing surface…;)

I think I'm getting the hang of it. :S!:

Attached Files


  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#17 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 07 April 2013 - 17:49

By reading your thread I'm not sure if you do this, but its something I find makes things much easier.

When I first get the RoF skin template I pick the aircraft apart so everything has its own layer. I then save the .psd as a base template to work off for future skins.

For example, I have individual layers for metal surfaces, upper wings, lower wings, wheels, struts, markings etc..
  • 0

#18 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 07 April 2013 - 18:33

I haven't arrived at that level of layering, but it makes perfect sense sir. Thanks for the advice. 8-)
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#19 A1_Phoenix

A1_Phoenix
  • Posts: 122
  • LocationMilano, Italy

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:25

Good job navair! :)

S!
A1
  • 0

#20 tvrtko

tvrtko
  • Posts: 745

Posted 08 April 2013 - 14:18

Image

That's what I'm talking about. Image
Can I order a dozen pretty please ?
Seriously… can you send it to me
via PM if you won't publish it here ?

And that green doesn't have to be
…darker.

But it could. :lol:


Keep up mate.
;) :S!:
  • 0

#21 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 00:48

Ok…I've almost mastered the art of solid colors, now I've started importing images as layers and I'm also to the point I can edit those images for a few basic qualities like saturation and so forth. Here's a few pics of my personal Halberstad D.II:

Attached Files


  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#22 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 09 April 2013 - 01:43

:shock: :shock: :shock: Very nice Sir!

S!Blade<><
  • 0

#23 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 02:35

Thanks BM, all compliments appreciated. :)

By reading your thread I'm not sure if you do this, but its something I find makes things much easier.

When I first get the RoF skin template I pick the aircraft apart so everything has its own layer. I then save the .psd as a base template to work off for future skins.

For example, I have individual layers for metal surfaces, upper wings, lower wings, wheels, struts, markings etc..

I've discovered how to create layers by outlining and then cutting the particular aircraft surfaces away to make those layers…for example, top wing(s), rudder, top elevator and so on. Painting skins in Rise of Flight is like peeling ( and reassembling ) an onion…it's all done in layers. ;)

What's bad: I'm spending hours learning this, but it's getting faster to break things down and reassemble them. Practice makes perfect I suppose. :D

Thanks for the advice, everyone. :S!:
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#24 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Posts: 3410

Posted 09 April 2013 - 12:17

Thanks for the link!
  • 0

#25 ChiefRedCloud

ChiefRedCloud
  • Posts: 2850
  • LocationWaleska, Georgia, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 13:04

Your coming along very nicely ….. look forward to your works …
  • 0

G5fCmYF.png

NEW WINGS VIRTUAL FLIGHT TRAINING

"Hardcore Through Passion"


#26 Feathered_IV

Feathered_IV
  • Posts: 1575

Posted 09 April 2013 - 13:59

Nice skins. They're coming along quick.

Thanks for the CS link too. When I try to save a DDS though I get an error message reading, Could not save copy because of a problem with file-format module interface.

Argh!
  • 0

#27 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 09 April 2013 - 21:56

Nice skins. They're coming along quick.

Thanks for the CS link too. When I try to save a DDS though I get an error message reading, Could not save copy because of a problem with file-format module interface.

Argh!



1) Make sure you don't have anything highlighted on the skin ( marching ants )

2) Be sure and flatten the image before trying to save ( Don't forget to enable the Alpha channel! )

2) Get the Nvidia .dds plugins here: https://developer.nv...adobe-photoshop" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">https://developer.nv....com/nvidia-tex … -photoshop
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#28 N28_Uberplane

N28_Uberplane
  • Posts: 1268

Posted 10 April 2013 - 01:42

Now that is the white I'm looking for. I need to figure out how to copy and paste an already weathered paint job onto a completely different aircraft…I mean hey, if one can't create from scratch, there's always "reverse engineering", eh? :lol:

Open the skin (the one you want to take the color from) as a .dds file, take the little syringe tool, and extract the color. You probably should make it a bit darker though because the already saved .dds includes the weathering layers.
  • 0

=IRFC=


#29 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 10 April 2013 - 01:50

Ok, thanks Artun :S!: …now about patterns: I can't seem to figure out how to make a lozenge pattern that doesn't look all "tiled", instead of one continuous layout; Any advice from you professionals?

Szelljr did it here: Roland C.IIa green-white. but it looks suspiciously like he layered the Halberstadt CL.II's pattern and Balken crosses onto the Roland structure. :?

It'll work, but I'm looking for advice on how to do it without the lines showing up between the ribs. ;)
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#30 -Requiem-

-Requiem-
  • Posts: 1502

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:12

Ok, thanks Artun :S!: …now about patterns: I can't seem to figure out how to make a lozenge pattern that doesn't look all "tiled", instead of one continuous layout; Any advice from you professionals?

Szelljr did it here: Roland C.IIa green-white. but it looks suspiciously like he layered the Halberstadt CL.II's pattern and Balken crosses onto the Roland structure. :?

It'll work, but I'm looking for advice on how to do it without the lines showing up between the ribs. ;)

Ribbing and markings on a separate layer, then do your lozenge on a new layer and place it below ribbings and markings in the layer order window.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users