Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Laser's Dogfight Generator Beta 02 Now Available


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 02 October 2009 - 04:23

Hey guys,

The latest version of Lazer's wonderful Dogfight Generator for Rise of Flight is now available. Download it directly here. page. Feel free to grab it and give it a try.

Lazer would like your feedback and ideas on how to improve it. This version is considered a Beta.

Please check out the included Readme and post your comments and observations here so Lazer and the TX Squadron team that assisted him can read them.

Great job Lazer and TX!

Jason
  • 0

#2 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 05:16

Jason, it´s better to add required additional software information to README (e.g. binary depends on msvcr90.dll, provided by Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable), or include required libraries to tool package, or make staticaly linked executable. Last one choice is the best, IMHO.
  • 0

#3 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 02 October 2009 - 09:45

Wow. I'm just impressed, awesome tool and perfect timing. It's come a long way since the original version.

Thanks alot Laser.
  • 0

#4 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:19

I'm not the dev. I'm only the sponsor. Lazer created the Readme. Feel free to edit the Readme and send to me and I'll give it to him.

Jsaon
  • 0

#5 AI-Neoqb

AI-Neoqb
  • Posts: 1697

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:24

Hey guys,

The latest version of Lazer's wonderful Dogfight Generator for Rise of Flight is now available. Download it directly here. page. Feel free to grab it and give it a try.

Lazer would like your feedback and ideas on how to improve it. This version is considered a Beta.

Please check out the included Readme and post your comments and observations here so Lazer and the TX Squadron team that assisted him can read them.

Great job Lazer and TX!

Jason


Tryed this. Generated 3 different missions. All 3 CTD at the end or in the middle.
:cry:
  • 0

#6 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:38

I'm not the dev. I'm only the sponsor. Lazer created the Readme. Feel free to edit the Readme and send to me and I'll give it to him.
"the best choice is to build statically linked binary". Just pass this words to the Laser, it's just advice.
He can do that easily by change of building options in Visual Studio.

Why it's better? Cause in such case it'll not require MSVC++ 2008 Redistributable installation. You may easily remember several problems, discussed on forums, related to installation of MSVC++ 2005 (required by RoF settings and updater binaries) on Windows Vista/7 powered systems. Statical linking helps to avoid such problems.
  • 0

#7 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:40

Lefty,

That's why it's a beta. Lazer wanted feedback. I will make sure he sees that you had CTD.

Keep the comments coming.

Jason
  • 0

#8 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:41

Tryed this. Generated 3 different missions. All 3 CTD at the end or in the middle.
:cry:
а рухнуло на публичной версии или на девелоперской?
  • 0

#9 MiG-77

MiG-77
  • Posts: 2651

Posted 02 October 2009 - 12:53

Made two mission with generator. First one was simple 5 SE5a vs 5 Albatros D.III fight. Worked Fine. Then next mission was 5 Dolphins "escorting" two breguets (just 2 different flight in same side) attacked by 5 Albatros D.Va (random AI level) and 2 Pfalz DXII (random AI level). Total 4 different flight. Again worked fine and mission actually was very fun to fly (fast, easy and directly to the "fun" part ;) ).

Nice to use aswell as I can alt/tab to generator when in Rof menu, generate mission and then just alt/tab back and pick my new generated mission to play.
  • 0

#10 AI-Neoqb

AI-Neoqb
  • Posts: 1697

Posted 02 October 2009 - 13:59

Tryed this. Generated 3 different missions. All 3 CTD at the end or in the middle.
:cry:
а рухнуло на публичной версии или на девелоперской?


Публичная…
  • 0

#11 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 02 October 2009 - 14:59

Tried a 10vs10 mission (two groups of 5 planes each side). Worked perfectly. Also i finally know, that there aren o enemy planes around, because it ends the mission automatically.

Off-topic: I think you guys should write in english and not in russian. I don't think it's showing people a lot of respect. There is a russian forum for this after all.

I don't jump into the russian forum and write english, german or french either.
  • 0

#12 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:05

Публичная…
Жаль (иначе всё можно было бы списать на более новую версию менеджера миссий).

Возможно, проблема связана с отсутствием русской локализации при генерации (я так понимаю игра запускалась на русском языку).
Probably, problem is related to missed localisation files (.rus in case of Lefty) for generated mission.

Ладно, пусть стараются.
Goog luck in QMB polishing.
  • 0

#13 LETCHIK

LETCHIK
  • Posts: 122

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:10

Публичная…
Объясните пожалуйста смысл этого генератора. Я так понял что в РоФ нет возможности создания собачьего сервера как в Иле. Что делать с генерироваными миссиями тогда?
  • 0

#14 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:17

I don't jump into the russian forum and write english, german or french either.
I'm better in Russian language then in others. It's not matter of respect/disrespect, and Jason've not posted similar thread in Russian part of forum by the way, although QMB may be interesting not only for English-speaking persons.

Anyway, my question was related to crash details.
  • 0

#15 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:21

Объясните пожалуйста смысл этого генератора. Я так понял что в РоФ нет возможности создания собачьего сервера как в Иле. Что делать с генерироваными миссиями тогда?
Генерировать, класть в соответствующую папку и летать в ВвН.
Идея в быстрой генерации легковесной миссии по указанным параметрам.

translation:
Q: Explain me, please, purpose of this generator. As I understand, RoF have no such feature as dogfight server in Il-2. So, what to do with generated missions?
A: Generate, place in appropriate folder and fly in RoF. Idea is in fast generation of lightweight mission with configurable parameters of generation.
  • 0

#16 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:27

Jason've not posted similar thread in Russian part of forum by the way, although QMB may be interesting not only for English-speaking persons.
Maybe because he doesn't speak russian? What kind of an argument is that. Like he should create a thread like this in every language.
Anyway, my question was related to crash details.
Exactly. And if someone else experiences crashes, he doesn't know what you are talking about.
  • 0

#17 Sirocco

Sirocco
  • Posts: 1966

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:42

I have to agree. I know it's not intended, but switching languages has a negative feel to it, looking in from the outside.
  • 0

#18 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 02 October 2009 - 15:42

Maybe because he doesn't speak russian? What kind of an argument is that. Like he should create a thread like this in every language.
It is not argument, mate, it's just pure fact.

And If i can speak German, I'd talk with you in German when needed to solve problem faster.

Exactly. And if someone else experiences crashes, he doesn't know what you are talking about.
My question was: "Have crash occured in public or developer version of game". Answer was: "in public".
Do your conclusions, if it can help other game users in any way to solve their problems.

PS:
If you are not satisfied with situation, let's move our language related discussion to PM or you may use "report about this post" link at the bottom of every post to inform moderator about inappropriate content of my posts.
  • 0

#19 Sirocco

Sirocco
  • Posts: 1966

Posted 02 October 2009 - 16:04

Imagine you were having a conversation with two people, and suddenly they started talking to each other in their own language, which you didn't understand. It's uncomfortable for the third person.
  • 0

#20 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 02 October 2009 - 16:41

I'd talk with you in German when needed to solve problem faster..
And i wouldn't answer in german, not in a english forum. PNs are a different thing.
Anyway, let's go back to topic.

Created and tried some more missions, all went well. The program is just perfect for me. Now the only thing that i wouldn't mind seeing added in one of the next releases, is mixed groups. Squadrons consisting of different type of planes. And maybe an option for random skins in the group (i love that you can select a skin for the flight leader btw). And maybe also the option to set the distance between you and the enemy. That's all i could think of.
  • 0

#21 Laser

Laser
  • Posts: 1611

Posted 02 October 2009 - 17:14

Hey guys,

The latest version of Lazer's wonderful Dogfight Generator for Rise of Flight is now available. Download it directly here. page. Feel free to grab it and give it a try.

Lazer would like your feedback and ideas on how to improve it. This version is considered a Beta.

Please check out the included Readme and post your comments and observations here so Lazer and the TX Squadron team that assisted him can read them.

Great job Lazer and TX!

Jason


Tryed this. Generated 3 different missions. All 3 CTD at the end or in the middle.
:cry:


Hello Lefty, if you want to give me some details, you can also send them to me by email. Could you generate a mission in a similar way as before, and then open it in the official Mission Editor? Perhaps you can spot some error in mission making logic that can create CTDs.

S!
  • 0

#22 Endy

Endy
  • Posts: 878

Posted 02 October 2009 - 18:31

Laser, thank you very very much for this latest QMG.

The first one was great, this is even better, brilliant.

Tried a couple of missions, fantastic stuff, love the new locations, time of day, etc.

Thanks to all involved in bringing this to the community. :D
  • 0

#23 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 02 October 2009 - 18:39

Easy guys…lets not start an argument.

Taleks - Can you please re-post my post in the Russian section? Thanks.

Jason
  • 0

#24 musicman

musicman
  • Posts: 352

Posted 02 October 2009 - 19:24

Just so you know. I made a gob of missions with it and it all works fine.
I do how ever open them up in editor and tweek them a little and rename them so as to add new missions for each plane.
MM
  • 0

#25 TX-EcoDragon

TX-EcoDragon
  • Posts: 656

Posted 02 October 2009 - 22:20

I'm really happy to hear that you guys are enjoying it!
  • 0

#26 TX-Thunderbolt

TX-Thunderbolt
  • Posts: 1436

Posted 02 October 2009 - 23:54

I'm really happy to hear that you guys are enjoying it!

Agreed. And as Jason stated, this is, again, just a beta. Provide ALL feedback (good and bad) and it can only get better.
  • 0

#27 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 03 October 2009 - 00:00

PNs are a different thing.
Ok, I'll use PM to avoid unnecessary quarrels in future.

Can you please re-post my post in the Russian section? Thanks.
started topic here: http://riseofflight....hp?f=113&t=3580">viewtopic.php?f=113&t=3580
  • 0

#28 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16188

Posted 03 October 2009 - 00:37

Wow - just D/L'ed this and tried creating a new mission - very cool addition of features and capabilities, so many great ones it's hard to think which one(s) are the best, but not having to manually go back and rename each mission is worth the price all by itself :D

Going to try flying my new mission and see how it comes out - thanks so much for updating this absolute gem of a tool :!:

[edit] Just flew my mission of me and 3 Alb.D.IIIs against 4 N.17s escorting 2 two-seaters. Found I had to move fast to dodge my no.3 AI wingman as it loaded me in just a few feet right behind/below him. After getting toasted twice in a row by the N.17s in the initial head-on passes, I managed to duck them on the next try and mixed it up quite well with them after that. It was a great quick mission, and being able to set the time of day, wind and clouds was a real plus. I really wish RoF had a flight recorder feature, as it seemed like we had cleared all the N.17s and I was trying to climb back up off the deck to look around for the 2-seaters they had been escorting when out of the blue I got shot down by something that must have come up out of my blind spot down below (I guess - without a recorder function i have no idea what it was that got me or where it came from). Mission ended almost immediately once I got killed, so I didn't get a chance to cycle camera views around to see what else was out there.

Gotta go back into the generator and see what options it gives for not having the mission end so quickly, and also see if there's a way to tell it what to call the mission on the in-game menu list. All in all - a great first try with this new version of the tool. Kudos out the wazoo for this one - well done !
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#29 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16188

Posted 03 October 2009 - 01:38

Ok - maybe I missed it, but is there any way in the current version to either:

1. Tell it what to call the mission on the in-game menu list?

2. Tell it not to end the mission after just 10 seconds (after you or all the planes on one side are down)?

I figured out how to do the first thing by manually editing one of the mission files in notepad, but it would be a handy addition to the tool if it would give you a field to fill in so it would do this for you.

However, I don't know enough about how the mission editor files work to figure out for sure how to change the mission-ending time counter manually - I tried changing the "10 seconds" to "60 seconds" in lines 9 and 10 of the .eng file, but I haven't had time to test it and I wasn't sure if the game was actually using those lines or if they were just basically comments explaining what would happen based on settings somewhere else - anybody know?
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#30 taleks2

taleks2
  • Posts: 2040

Posted 03 October 2009 - 02:36

I tried changing the "10 seconds" to "60 seconds" in lines 9 and 10 of the .eng file, but I haven't had time to test it and I wasn't sure if the game was actually using those lines or if they were just basically comments explaining what would happen based on settings somewhere else - anybody know?
.eng, .rus and so on - are localisation files only, all mission logics is in .mission file.
If you want to change any timer settings manually, search for MCU_Timer objects in generated .mission file or template.
  • 0

#31 AI-Neoqb

AI-Neoqb
  • Posts: 1697

Posted 03 October 2009 - 03:55

Hello Lefty, if you want to give me some details, you can also send them to me by email. Could you generate a mission in a similar way as before, and then open it in the official Mission Editor? Perhaps you can spot some error in mission making logic that can create CTDs.

S!

Yes, I will do what you asking about and mail you all the detais as soon as I get back to office at monday, OK?
Mainwhile I would like to say that you doing a greate stuff - very like it!
  • 0

#32 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16188

Posted 03 October 2009 - 04:02

I tried changing the "10 seconds" to "60 seconds" in lines 9 and 10 of the .eng file, but I haven't had time to test it and I wasn't sure if the game was actually using those lines or if they were just basically comments explaining what would happen based on settings somewhere else - anybody know?
.eng, .rus and so on - are localisation files only, all mission logics is in .mission file.
If you want to change any timer settings manually, search for MCU_Timer objects in generated .mission file or template.

Cool - thanks for the prompt reply and info. In the mission file generated by the quick generator, I found only two such timer objects, only one of which had anything that looked like it might be a 10 second time limit - that section of the file read as follows:

MCU_Timer
{
Index = 12;
Name = "Trigger Timer";
Desc = "";
Targets = [5];
Objects = [];
XPos = 219671;
YPos = 299.322;
ZPos = 81108.3;
XOri = 0;
YOri = 0;
ZOri = 0;
Time = 10;
Random = 100;
}

Does this look like it would be the right place, and would changing the "Time = 10;" line to "Time = 60;" mean that the mission wouldn't end until 60 seconds after all the planes on one side were down?


(The other such object read as follows:

MCU_Timer
{
Index = 4;
Name = "Trigger Timer";
Desc = "";
Targets = [6];
Objects = [];
XPos = 219461;
YPos = 257.152;
ZPos = 81500.3;
XOri = 0;
YOri = 0;
ZOri = 0;
Time = 3;
Random = 100;
}

I have no idea what this object does, but since it seems to have time = "3" instead of 10, I assumed that it would not be related to ending the game 10 seconds after anything - does that sound right?
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#33 TJTAS

TJTAS
  • Posts: 142

Posted 03 October 2009 - 04:49

Good work.

There appears to be a problem with one of the DIII skin names as i got all white aircraft.
  • 0

#34 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 03 October 2009 - 06:58

Just made a mission, way simple to use. I first tried 20vs 20 dolphin and dva but haha my system cant handle. so I went down to 10 on 10. runs great! truely an awesome addition. S!
  • 0

#35 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 03 October 2009 - 08:47

ok so its 2:45 am and I really should get to bed but I can't get enough of this. I set up a 5 bomber 5 albatross dva vs my 5 dolphin flight, all random skill. my flight at 5000 alt, enemy at 4500 alt. I must say its the most fun I've had in SP missions since getting this game 2 or so months ago. cant wait till I recover some energy and make more missions tomorrow…. um or better said.. today. S!
  • 0

#36 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 03 October 2009 - 14:11

I think there is something wrong with the Red Baron paint sheme of the DIII.

In the Generator, the skin is called 501010_a01, while the file should be 501011_a01. That's why i think it doesn't load the skin correctly.
  • 0

#37 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 03 October 2009 - 17:02

I also wouldn't mind slightly higher distances between the planes in a group. I get many many collisions in my mission with 4 planes each group in the first 10 seconds.
  • 0

#38 musicman

musicman
  • Posts: 352

Posted 03 October 2009 - 23:06

I also wouldn't mind slightly higher distances between the planes in a group. I get many many collisions in my mission with 4 planes each group in the first 10 seconds.

Yes. Your formation should be in a 'V' like the first Dogfight Generator gave you. I notice that all your wingmen start out in a single file row and crashes do happin.
I love this program regardless. Best thing for more enjoyment in this game.
MM
  • 0

#39 Voidhunger

Voidhunger
  • Posts: 556

Posted 05 October 2009 - 15:14

I noticed that when I chose Albatros D.III or D.V ,a Spad XIII never tried to fly away and always kept turning with me. When I chose Fokker D.VII , Spads fly away. I used the same dogfight parameters.
  • 0

#40 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 05 October 2009 - 16:19

I quote the readme:
- While most options are saved when closing the program, the flight groups are not. If you
really think you can't live without this option, tell me and i'll eventually implement it.

Yes i would like that. :D

Or atleast save the start height of the flight groups, because i usually set it to 2000 and it's 1000 by default. I mean, it's not cumbersome, but if you could implement it, that would be great. Also the quantity (1 plane per flight group is a bit low), would be great, if the program could remember that aswell. But other than that (excluding the 501010_a01/501011_a01 typo and the too close distance between planes in a group), i'm having a very hard time finding something to improve this generator. It works amazingly well.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users