Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Who is NOT having Suttering issues at all?


  • Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 athlondude

athlondude
  • Posts: 515

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:24

Really simple question here, if you are not having any stuttering issues what so ever with ROF please post your EXACT system Specs. By EXACT I mean make and model of CPU, Mainboard, Graphics card, Sound Card, Lan card, plus the driver versions. Also, please post what if any Virus Scanner, SpyWare Scanner, etc… you are using to include version number. Maybe if we can look at what is working for some folks, it will shed some light on what my be hindering what isn't working for folks. Here are my system specs.

Windows Vista Home Basic 64 bit Service Pack 2
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.0 Ghz
Gigabyte G31M-ES2L Driver Version 8.3.1.1009
Realtek RTL8168C(P)8111C(p) Ethernet Adapter Driver Version 6.202.125.2008
Gskill 2x 2Gb sticks DDR2 800 ram
X-FI Extreme Gamer sound card Driver Version 6.0.1.1368
EVGA GTX260 core 216 video card Driver Version 190.62
Saitek ST290 PRO joystick
ClamWin Anti-Virus Version 0.95.2
Microsoft Windows Defender Anti Malware Version: 1.1.1600.0

My PC is set to update automatically once a week for all important updates.
  • 0

#2 3DDevil

3DDevil
  • Posts: 141

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:29

Great Idea…. Maybe a poll should be started as well… sadly I have the ST ST STUTT STUTTERS!!…. :lol: :D
  • 0

#3 MiG-77

MiG-77
  • Posts: 2651

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:40

E8400 @ 3150Mhz
Memory 4Gb
ABIT IP35 PRO
ATI Radeon 4870 512Mb
NIC is intergratd to motherboard (realtek RTL8169/8110)
SB X-Fi
Windows 7

Virus scanner/firewall F-Secure client security 7.11
  • 0

#4 athlondude

athlondude
  • Posts: 515

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:45

Great Idea…. Maybe a poll should be started as well… sadly I have the ST ST STUTT STUTTERS!!…. :lol: :D

You know I set this thread up in the hopes of coming up with some kind of solution to the problem. I'm not part of NEOQB. Now if you think this is a poor idea, or another waste of time why don't you go and setup a poll to see how people feel about it.
  • 0

#5 3DDevil

3DDevil
  • Posts: 141

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:48

Great Idea…. Maybe a poll should be started as well… sadly I have the ST ST STUTT STUTTERS!!…. :lol: :D

You know I set this thread up in the hopes of coming up with some kind of solution to the problem. I'm not part of NEOQB. Now if you think this is a poor idea, or another waste of time why don't you go and setup a poll to see how people feel about it.

Touchy Touchy… Dude calm down.. I wasnt having a go at all… I was actually sincere in my comments…. Good Idea!!…
  • 0

#6 athlondude

athlondude
  • Posts: 515

Posted 29 September 2009 - 03:54

Great Idea…. Maybe a poll should be started as well… sadly I have the ST ST STUTT STUTTERS!!…. :lol: :D

You know I set this thread up in the hopes of coming up with some kind of solution to the problem. I'm not part of NEOQB. Now if you think this is a poor idea, or another waste of time why don't you go and setup a poll to see how people feel about it.

Touchy Touchy… Dude calm down.. I wasnt having a go at all… I was actually sincere in my comments…. Good Idea!!…

My bad, You actually gave me a great idea.
  • 0

#7 valky

valky
  • Posts: 28

Posted 29 September 2009 - 04:16

What exactly do you mean by " stuttering "?

Do you mean LAG - i.e. rubber-banding of aircraft relative to one another?
- or -
Occasional freezing of the game (both momentarily and/or for longer periods, which may include requireing game restart?)
- or -
Some other type of game behavior?

For what it may be worth, i've only had issues with the first two things mentioned, when I set my screen resolution to higher levels than 1024x768.

I did this to allow me to see aircraft at greater distances, which worked, but at the cost of these issues. I've since returned to lower resolution and the issues have disappeared.

I feel the current sighting distances for non-icon aircraft to be very unrealistic, and when combined with a small screen display/monitor, it presents a major handicap to players with less than current hardware.
( I have a flatscreen SAMSUNG which is about 15 inches by 10 inches )
I do not have trackir and find it difficult to find and follow other aircraft with panview, but I digress, the higher resolutions do in fact allow easier sighting and tracking of aircraft at greater distances.

This should be the same for all, at all distances and resolutions. Perhaps
NEOQB could look into this issue when possible??
  • 0

#8 athlondude

athlondude
  • Posts: 515

Posted 29 September 2009 - 04:27

What exactly do you mean by " stuttering "?

Do you mean LAG - i.e. rubber-banding of aircraft relative to one another?
- or -
Occasional freezing of the game (both momentarily and/or for longer periods, which may include requireing game restart?)
- or -
Some other type of game behavior?

For what it may be worth, i've only had issues with the first two things mentioned, when I set my screen resolution to higher levels than 1024x768.

I did this to allow me to see aircraft at greater distances, which worked, but at the cost of these issues. I've since returned to lower resolution and the issues have disappeared.

I feel the current sighting distances for non-icon aircraft to be very unrealistic, and when combined with a small screen display/monitor, it presents a major handicap to players with less than current hardware.
( I have a flatscreen SAMSUNG which is about 15 inches by 10 inches )
I do not have trackir and find it difficult to find and follow other aircraft with panview, but I digress, the higher resolutions do in fact allow easier sighting and tracking of aircraft at greater distances.

This should be the same for all, at all distances and resolutions. Perhaps
NEOQB could look into this issue when possible??

Stuttering = When your frames per second drop below fluid movement to the point that you can easily notice them with the naked eye. If you have experienced that, then please post as directed. NEOQB is aware of the issue, yes, but thus far has not been fixed, I am merely trying to help.

Attached Files


  • 0

#9 HaJa

HaJa
  • Posts: 72

Posted 29 September 2009 - 05:52

When I still played the game, and I have tried with latest patch I had absolutely no stutters or lag. It is maxed out at 1680x1050 an AA 4 and Ani 8 (but in Cat set for 8 and 16) plus Vsync on. Drops and old cinema turned off.

Apart from the specs in my sig:
Saitek X52 with latest drivers and SST
TIR 4 with software v5
Avast running in background
Teamspeak
CAT 9.8 (will revert to 9.6 due to OGL issue in IL2)
CH Pro pedals
  • 0

#10 Chaos

Chaos
  • Posts: 624

Posted 29 September 2009 - 06:03

1+ Great idea man
  • 0

#11 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 29 September 2009 - 09:45

Here.

C2D 6300 @ 1.86 GHz
HD 4830 512 MB CAT 9.8
4 GB DDR2 RAM
EP45 Extreme (had a Neo3F before, that wasn't a problem either)
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Freetrack
MS FFB2 (again, had a different joystick before, wasn't a problem)
Avast

(someone might have realised, that i marked my graphics card, since i'm pretty much certain that ATI users don't suffer from this problem, yes a few people have mentioned that they suffer from stuttering with an ATI card, but i think they are just experienced generally low FPS, that doesn't have anything to do with this issue)

Attached Files


  • 0

#12 Del-Dredd

Del-Dredd
  • Posts: 55

Posted 29 September 2009 - 10:44

ASUS P5K
4GB DDR2 Ram
Intel Q6600 at 2.4GHz
HD 4890 1Gb on Cat 9.8
Creative SB X-FI Extreme on 1.4.79
2 500Gb SATA drives
Windows XP Home SP3
Coolmaster 750W PSU

Using TrackIr 5 with 5.03 software (i think).
Thrustmaster T.16000 Joystick.

No Stutters, get micro pause when aircraft spawn but i think every body gets that.

Wish OFF worked half as well, now that is slide show city.

Del
  • 0

#13 JohnBanks

JohnBanks
  • Posts: 102

Posted 29 September 2009 - 16:21

I don't have any stutters at all, but only when i disable the SLI option in the NVidia Control Panel. Otherwise the game runs in slow motion. Atleast it did after patch 1.006. Maybe that has changed, although i doubt that.
  • 0

#14 inferno-canada

inferno-canada
  • Posts: 102

Posted 29 September 2009 - 16:42

Windows Vista 32 Service Pack 2
Intel Q6600 @2.7 Ghz
DDR2 667 PC5300
Nvidia 8800GT

ROF just works fine on my machine
  • 0

#15 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 29 September 2009 - 20:31

Posting here to remember to answer later :P
  • 0

#16 non_unique_name_131

non_unique_name_131
  • Posts: 58

Posted 29 September 2009 - 23:56

Here you go:

Windows XP Pro 64
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 @ 4.32 Ghz
Rampage Extreme X48 Latest BIOS
NB/SB and 3 MOSFETS watercooled
SupremeFX X-Fi original OEM driver
G.Skill 2x 2Gb DDR3-1600 PC3-12800
Saphire HD 4870 X2 Cat 9.8 aircooled and OC'd to 782/960
Cougar HOTAS Thrustmaster
Kapersky Signature Date 9-28-2009
  • 0

#17 Potenz

Potenz
  • Posts: 279

Posted 12 October 2009 - 06:17

Well reading this post, my theory is quite clear now, all who doesn't have stuttering issues are ATI users, see this thread only one guy who has no stutters using an Nvidia card, so seems this issue is related to video card profile in game.

While we were working on our last effects Platinium ediotion mod for il-2 we had some issues with ati cards and textures, cause atis manage the textures in a total different way than Nvidias, so we have to adaptate our mod for both brands.

may be the stuttering issue is related to the video card profile that RoF use, seems to be friendly with atis and not for nvidias.

reg

Potz
  • 0

#18 ArcticWolf

ArcticWolf
  • Posts: 370

Posted 12 October 2009 - 07:26

Not everyone has replied here yet Potenz…I use Nvidia and it runs fine here….everything on high except landscape @ med settings and I don't get no stutters….the occasional minor lag at the beginning but thats it.

Here's my specs:
HP M8000n Media Centre
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2
AMD Athlon 5200 Duo Core x2 2.6 ghz
ASUS M2N Motherboard
4gb Mushkin 800MHz Ram
BFG 9800GTX OCX 512mb using Nvidia 191.03 Beta Driver(never had any issues with previous drivers)
OCZ 700w GameExtreme Power Supply w/120mm blue lighting
Samsung 226bw 22" Monitor (1280x1024 75hz)
Logitech Extreme 3D Pro
Avira Antivirus Personal Free
Realtek HD Audio (Driver 6.0.1.5910)
  • 0

#19 Chill31

Chill31
  • Posts: 1891

Posted 12 October 2009 - 12:54

Intel E8500 (stock, no OC)
ASUS P5Q mobo
4 gigs OCZ 1200
Nvidia gtx 260 driver 6.14.11.8048
TrackIR4
Windows XP pro
No antivirus software

In single player, i can run it full out on graphics. In multiplayer I turn down all the terrain features since i think it helps prevernt the rof.exe/mem leak CTDs i was getting. I havent had them in a while. COuld be cooincidence I guess
  • 0

#20 NickM

NickM
  • Posts: 1625

Posted 12 October 2009 - 13:01

i7 920 2.66Ghz @ 3.80GHz
6 GB DDR3
GTX285 1024 MB
MS FFB2 joystick
TIR3

All high except landscape on medium. No post effects.
1600 x 1200, 4xFAA, 8xAF
Vsync ON
40-75 FPS, usually at about 75 FPS

No significant stutters at all. Panning with the TIR is not 100% smooth, but it's like that in other sims too and is probably because of the TIR's finite refresh rate.

Cheers,

Nick
  • 0

#21 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 12 October 2009 - 13:37

aMd Phenom II X4 920 Processor
Radeon HD4850 512 MB
4 gig RAM
Windows XP 32 BIT

running at 1920x1200, all post effects except DOF, and all settings max except landscape, 20 to 30 fps most of the time.
  • 0

#22 Dreadnought

Dreadnought
  • Posts: 25

Posted 12 October 2009 - 16:09

No stuttering for me.

Intel Quad 6600
Asus Maximus motherboard
8GB DDR2 RAM @ 667mHz
Creative Fatal1ty Gamer Pro sound card
MSI GeForce N260GTX Lightning 1792 MB
Vista 64bit Ultimate
  • 0

#23 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 12 October 2009 - 16:12

No Stutters for me. been having a blast with quick dogfight builder.

running everything on high except terrain, that's on med. all post effects turned on, 4X AA.
  • 0

#24 wrong_name_416

wrong_name_416
  • Posts: 247

Posted 12 October 2009 - 16:35

this is very interesting ……in all the systems is see 4gb ramm ore more .

mine is running smooth but sometimes realy sometimes a small stutter .

my answer is going alt tab and from the desktop back to the game .

problem with stutters solved .

yes i am going to get 2 gb more ramm

specs: intel dualcore 2.66
2 gig ramm ddr2 800
4870 ati
striker extreme board
  • 0

#25 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 12 October 2009 - 16:41

I still can't alt-tab :(
  • 0

#26 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 12 October 2009 - 16:46

my answer is going alt tab and from the desktop back to the game .

problem with stutters solved .
That is very interesting. I had performance issues in a different game (Company of Heroes) and when i alt-tabbed back into the game, i had like a 100% performance boost. If this is true for ROF also, then there must be something wrong with memory usage most likely and i heard that they fixed some memory leak in the 1.008 update.
  • 0

#27 Potenz

Potenz
  • Posts: 279

Posted 12 October 2009 - 18:25

Not everyone has replied here yet Potenz…I use Nvidia and it runs fine here….everything on high except landscape @ med settings and I don't get no stutters….the occasional minor lag at the beginning but thats it.

Here's my specs:
HP M8000n Media Centre
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2
AMD Athlon 5200 Duo Core x2 2.6 ghz
ASUS M2N Motherboard
4gb Mushkin 800MHz Ram
BFG 9800GTX OCX 512mb using Nvidia 191.03 Beta Driver(never had any issues with previous drivers)
OCZ 700w GameExtreme Power Supply w/120mm blue lighting
Samsung 226bw 22" Monitor (1280x1024 75hz)
Logitech Extreme 3D Pro
Avira Antivirus Personal Free
Realtek HD Audio (Driver 6.0.1.5910)

It's weird i have same specs as you but 9800GTX+ instead of 9800GTX and 8gb ram 800mhz and same cpu clocked at 3.0 and i can't even play the game. i don't even want to start this shite
  • 0

#28 ZaltysZ

ZaltysZ
  • Posts: 1638

Posted 12 October 2009 - 18:45

Core i7 920 at stock speed
Asus P6T Deluxe v2
6GB of 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 RAM
NVIDIA 8800GTS 640MB (G80) in PCI_E16_2; driver: 186.18
Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro in PCI_2; driver: 2.18.0013
TrackIR4 with TrackClip Pro: software v5. Final B
3xSeagate Barracuda 7200.10 in RAID0
Windows 7 Pro x64
Pagefile disabled.

RoF settings:
1680x1050@60Hz at full screen with vsync
landscape - low (helps to reduce aliasing near horizon)
grass - off
trees - high
shadows - med
reflections - off
textures - high
filter: af x8
antialiasing: x2
post effects: only post saturation

NVIDIA CP settings:
Texture filtering: high quality
Antialiasing: app controlled
Anisotropic filtering: x16

No stutters.
  • 0

#29 ArcticWolf

ArcticWolf
  • Posts: 370

Posted 12 October 2009 - 20:20

Not everyone has replied here yet Potenz…I use Nvidia and it runs fine here….everything on high except landscape @ med settings and I don't get no stutters….the occasional minor lag at the beginning but thats it.

Here's my specs:
HP M8000n Media Centre
Windows Vista Home Premium 32bit SP2
AMD Athlon 5200 Duo Core x2 2.6 ghz
ASUS M2N Motherboard
4gb Mushkin 800MHz Ram
BFG 9800GTX OCX 512mb using Nvidia 191.03 Beta Driver(never had any issues with previous drivers)
OCZ 700w GameExtreme Power Supply w/120mm blue lighting
Samsung 226bw 22" Monitor (1280x1024 75hz)
Logitech Extreme 3D Pro
Avira Antivirus Personal Free
Realtek HD Audio (Driver 6.0.1.5910)

It's weird i have same specs as you but 9800GTX+ instead of 9800GTX and 8gb ram 800mhz and same cpu clocked at 3.0 and i can't even play the game. i don't even want to start this shite

I understand your frustration Potenz….but it is wierd that people with way better systems are having such trouble playing this game while my lil pimped up HP can run this game with no issues. Insane isn't it. Although I can't do the alt tab like some people :cry:
  • 0

#30 Masaq

Masaq
  • Posts: 511

Posted 12 October 2009 - 21:13

Mine is now fine.

Core 2 Quad Q9550 - overclocked to 3.6Ghz.
6GB DDR2 800MHZ RAM.
9800GTX 512Mb.
X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro Extreme Gamer, or something daft like that.
TrackIR 5, latest software/driver versions.

Running Vista64, nVidia WHQL 191.07 drivers and whatever the hell the last feeble effort was from Creative for the X-Fi.

RoF Settings:
1680x1050: Fullscreen, VSync Off.
AA: Off
PostProcessing: Off
AF: Bilinear
Landscape: Medium
Rest: All High

64 Sound Counts, Quality: Medium

Force Feedback disabled (no FFB joystick)


To improve visual quality (ie, remove the jaggies in the foreground and the jaggy shimmer in the distance), I'm using the latest version of nHancer:

AA forced - Combined, 8xS
AF forced - 4x
Texture Filtering - Quality
Trilinear Optimization - On
Ansio Sample Optimization - On
Negative LOD BIAS - CLAMP
Power Management Mode - Max Performance


In nVidia Control Panel, I have PhysX disabled and my screen setup set to dualview multimonitor support.

Average FPS in the high fifties, no problem with jaggies or stuttering.
  • 0

#31 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4451

Posted 14 October 2009 - 17:03

Until now no stuttering here, despite my CPU is going for reaching the limit:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+ @3.5Ghz
Hyper TX2 Cooler
Crucial Ballistix 4Gb 800mHz
Sapphire HD4890 VaporX, Cat9.9 no overclocking
XPme-32 but it is lean and mean, no virusscan, all not needed programs are closed.
Corsair TX750w
Logitech FF and Simped rudder
Rig is only for playing RoF, OFF3 and future CK.
All RoF settings are on max, raindrops and old movie are not selected!!!

Correction: I'm facing shutdowns/Errors and stutters now, some RoF update made it worser for me. It appears to be a CPU load issue.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#32 GISTAND

GISTAND
  • Posts: 23

Posted 19 October 2009 - 22:36

:D I AM NOT HAVING STUTTERING PROBLEMS!!!!…Here is what I did to fix the "Problem" !!!
I figured how to stop the stutters after patch 1.007…I am using 2 Sapphire ATI 4870's in CrossFire Mode….I thought was a game issue but is NOT!!!!…I went to the Catalyst Control Center Panel and played with different settings…I am running at highest resolution that my monitor can handle which is 2560 x 1600 @ 60Hz..that is also what Rise Of Flight can be set at also!!! Here is my set-up:

In the Catalyst Control Panel:
-Standard Settings= Use custom settings
-SmoothVision HD: Anti-Aliasing @ 2X with Wide-tent (Samples: 6X)
-Adaptive Anti-Aliasing= Quality
-SmoothViision HD: Anisotropic Filtering= 2X
-Catalyst A.I.= Disabled or Checked (Does not make a difference…)
-Mipmap Detail Level= Quality (High Quality)
-All Section:
-Wait for vertical refresh= Quality/Always On
-OpenGL Settings=Unchecked Triple buffering

My System:
Mother Board: DFI Lanparty LT X38
Intel Q6600 Prosessor..Note:"Not Over Clocked!!!"
4 Gigs of RAM
2-Sapphire ATI 4870's 512 MB DDR5 Video Cards in CrossFire Mode
Microsoft Vista Ultimate 32bit SP2 and all updates
Monitor: Apple HD Cinema 30 inch @ 2560 x 1600 /60 Hz
JoyStick= Saitek X52 Pro with Seitek Pro Rudder Peddles
TrackIR System= TrackIR 4 Pro

ROF:Graphic Settings Panel:
**All set to "High"
*Filter=Anisotropic @ X8
*Advance Settings= Antialiasing @ 4X or 4
-Vertical synchronization=Checked
Post Effects="All Boxes Checked"….Note: You can use "Post Effect" or not!!!!..Did not affect
my frame rates "On or Off"…And that depends on your taste!!!!

Conclusion: With the above "Graphic Settings",Rise Of Flight is running as smooth as butter with "NO" Stutters!!!!!!…Again nothing is wrong with Rise Of Flight or any of the previous patches….It's just a matter of playing with different Graphic settings!!!!…In my case it was in the Catalyst Control Center Panel settings!!!!!….That Fixed The Stuttering Problems with ROF and all of my "Other Flight Sims"!!!!!
  • 0

#33 Marco_._

Marco_._
  • Posts: 2594

Posted 20 October 2009 - 06:33

:.I thought was a game issue but is NOT!!!!..

oh yes it is…before v1006 ROF was running fast and smooth here…after v1006 -> stutters….heavy
and Im not the only one….
  • 0

#34 ThomasH

ThomasH
  • Posts: 151

Posted 20 October 2009 - 08:08

Gistand, what you're basically doing by forcing the settings through ccc is that you get stuck with 2x anisotropic filtering as it's overrunning the ingame settings.
  • 0

#35 3DDevil

3DDevil
  • Posts: 141

Posted 20 October 2009 - 10:30

:.I thought was a game issue but is NOT!!!!..

oh yes it is…before v1006 ROF was running fast and smooth here…after v1006 -> stutters….heavy
and Im not the only one….

+1 to this post… had no problems before… now stutters to the point that the game is unplayable…. like whole second pauses…
  • 0

#36 Masaq

Masaq
  • Posts: 511

Posted 20 October 2009 - 16:34

Masaq"]I've just had a thought though - I'm going to disable the performance/power saving type properties in the BIOS - EIST and the like. I'm just wondering if the problem is caused by the CPU's voltage or multiplyer being changed on the fly as RoF shifts threads between cores.



Just been and tested this. Disabled C1E (Enhanced Halt Step) and EIST (Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technology). I left TM2 (Thermal Monitoring 2) enabled, for safety*.

None of the stutters whatsover. The occasional slowing of framerate in busy areas or when suddenly snapping my head around the cockpit, but no sudden/random stuttering/pausing of any kind.

Framerates were also increased, by an order of between 15-40%, depending on scenario.

It looks to me like what's happening is that for whatever reason, Rise of Flight is causing my BIOS to throttle back the CPU. Either for some reason it's allowing HLT commands to still go through, or it's working the CPU hard so EIST is trying to throttle it back. Disabling these CPU functions in the BIOS is preventing the system from automatically reducing the VCore, Multiplyer and FSB of the system; forcing it to run at the clock speed and multiplyer that I've specified. The result is no sudden pauses as processing power is suddenly dropped from underneath the game.


Further testing would probably allow me to double-check if it's C1E or EIST causing it, but it was both noticeable and real; flying 1v1 Russian Roulette (over that little town) used to give me all kinds of little stutters. I was using Russian Roulette as a benchmark for a while - I'd tweak my graphics settings then load RR, to see if stuttering was improved or not.

Looks like I was tweaking the wrong place.




*For safety's sake, leaving TM2 is advised simply because it's the part of Speedstep that will throttle the CPU back if operating temperature goes through the roof. I would also strongly advise anyone who doesn't know their way around a BIOS to refrain from testing this themselves. If you know what C1E and EIST are and how to disable them though, please do try it yourself and see if it has any effect for you.
  • 0

#37 GISTAND

GISTAND
  • Posts: 23

Posted 22 October 2009 - 00:52

:D To THracing…All I did in CCC is set the SmoothVision HD Anti-Aliasing to 2x and SmoothVision HD: Anistropic Filtering to 2x….I didn't change the Ingame at all but I did set everything to the highest setting poossible. In fact you can set the Ingame Advanced Settings: Antialiasing to 4x or no..it did not make a difference because ROF is still running smooth as butter. From my prospective the CCC was causing the stuttering problem in ROF and all my "other" Flight sims/Racing sims etc…..
  • 0

#38 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16516

Posted 24 October 2009 - 04:55

Masaq"]
Masaq"]I've just had a thought though - I'm going to disable the performance/power saving type properties in the BIOS - EIST and the like. I'm just wondering if the problem is caused by the CPU's voltage or multiplyer being changed on the fly as RoF shifts threads between cores.



Just been and tested this. Disabled C1E (Enhanced Halt Step) and EIST (Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technology). I left TM2 (Thermal Monitoring 2) enabled, for safety*.

None of the stutters whatsover. The occasional slowing of framerate in busy areas or when suddenly snapping my head around the cockpit, but no sudden/random stuttering/pausing of any kind.

Framerates were also increased, by an order of between 15-40%, depending on scenario.

It looks to me like what's happening is that for whatever reason, Rise of Flight is causing my BIOS to throttle back the CPU. Either for some reason it's allowing HLT commands to still go through, or it's working the CPU hard so EIST is trying to throttle it back. Disabling these CPU functions in the BIOS is preventing the system from automatically reducing the VCore, Multiplyer and FSB of the system; forcing it to run at the clock speed and multiplyer that I've specified. The result is no sudden pauses as processing power is suddenly dropped from underneath the game.


Further testing would probably allow me to double-check if it's C1E or EIST causing it, but it was both noticeable and real; flying 1v1 Russian Roulette (over that little town) used to give me all kinds of little stutters. I was using Russian Roulette as a benchmark for a while - I'd tweak my graphics settings then load RR, to see if stuttering was improved or not.

Looks like I was tweaking the wrong place.




*For safety's sake, leaving TM2 is advised simply because it's the part of Speedstep that will throttle the CPU back if operating temperature goes through the roof. I would also strongly advise anyone who doesn't know their way around a BIOS to refrain from testing this themselves. If you know what C1E and EIST are and how to disable them though, please do try it yourself and see if it has any effect for you.

Well, this sounded promising so I looked into it - took me a little while searching to realize that these were Intel-related concepts and that for my AMD CPU the equivalent apparently was disabling the "Cool'n'Quiet" function (or something like that). Unfortunately, disabling that had no apparent effect on my stutter problem - still there in the one career mission I was able to fly tonight :cry: Didn't run FRAPs on my test (in case it was introducing stutters itself), so I don't know if there was any FPS difference, but FPS wasn't my problem before - just stutters, so this seems to be a bust so far for my AMD CPU at least. Oh well - it was worth a shot. Hopefully they'll fix it with 1.008.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#39 Voidhunger

Voidhunger
  • Posts: 556

Posted 24 October 2009 - 12:32

Windows 7 RC
Intel q9550@3.6Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
Corsair 4GB DDR2 1066Mhz (overclocked)
WD Caviar Black
XFX GTX280 (working at default clocks), driver 191.07
Corsair 650W
Samsung T220 (1680x1050)
Sb audigy4

All ROF settings on max. 8xAF 4xAA, post saturation, blood
Video memory usage 49%
  • 0

#40 Speedingbullets

Speedingbullets
  • Posts: 65

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:56

Windows 7 Ult
I7-975
Gigabyte EX58 Extreme
12 Gig Corsair ddr 3 2000mhz (running at 1600 with mem mult at 12)
2 x Nvidia GTX 295 SLI (PhsX dis) driver ver 1.9107
WD Velociraptor 10k
LG blue ray writer
Gigabyte 1200 odin pro
Samsung LCD (Native 1920 x 1080)
onboard realtek ALC889A (using dolby control panel and optical out)
All drivers should be up to date.

I get full stutters (momentary freezes ever few seconds - fps remains 50-60) if I enable immediate mode and enhancments in the realtek digital output properties for sound. I also get the sound cutting in and out if I have the motherboard monitoring program (ET6) running.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users