Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Channel Patrol - Single Player Missions


  • Please log in to reply
81 replies to this topic

#1 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:15

Hi everyone,

To add to the quick missions in RoF, I decided to make a generic single mission for the Felixstowe and Brandenburg for those that would like to patrol the seas or explore the coastlines (warning: This can take some time!!).

Features (version 11):

-Three missions: Felixstowe and Dover as take-off point for the Felixstowe F.2 and Oostende for the Brandenburg W12
-All scenery along the coastline included (not all scenery further inland)
-Merchant ships sail along the coast
-Several German submarines to search and destroy (also British, check before attacking!)
-Several flights of both friendly and enemy aircraft will patrol as well.
-Extra scenery in coast towns: train, trucks, AAA, balloons etc.
-Included some light vessels for navigation and plotted on the map (although they all look the same)
-All AI objects only get spawned when within visible range. This means you can use max time acceleration most of the time to cover large distances over the water.

Get the download here (on the Syndicate website):

https://sites.google...issions v11.zip

Unzip in Rise of Flight directory. You will find a "Channel" folder under Single Missions with the missions in it. Both Felixstowe F.2 or Brandenburg W12 and Channel Map should be activated for this mission.
Please provide feedback & suggestions so the missions can be improved.

Attached File  2012_12_28__11_19_7.jpg   190.33KB   3773 downloads

A light vessel:
Attached File  2012_12_28__11_21_27.jpg   109.36KB   3715 downloads


  • 0

#2 J.j.

J.j.
  • Posts: 1959

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:26

Sorry to bother, but…

The same mission for Hansa Brandenburg W. 12, pretty please? :S!:
  • 0

#3 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:28

Give me a minute… :)
  • 0

#4 Edward_Gale

Edward_Gale
  • Posts: 622

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:31

Thanks Vander, will try that out :)
  • 0

#5 Y0Y0

Y0Y0
  • Posts: 26

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:33

Please to do too for W.12 - like Recon/Photo mission? Here no bomb but photo mission is ok I Think (start from Calais to Dover for example). :)
  • 0

#6 Zappatime

Zappatime
  • Posts: 8

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:34

Thanks for your efforts Vander, much appreciated.
  • 0

#7 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 11:48

Okay I added the Brandenburg W12 as well. New version (v3) is up. Just check the first post.
No photo recon yet. The Brandenburgs can do a free patrol: Hunt down enemy Felixstowes.

EDIT: now version 5 is latest (small fixes). You can simply overwrite previous versions.
  • 0

#8 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:25

Looks good Vander. But I can't download the mission. :( The download bar won't respond to save (or cancel) at my end. Tried doing it directly from the syn site too but same thing. Are you able to put it somewhere else?
  • 0

#9 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:36

Try it again after refreshing your browser, I'm frequently updating this mission. In fact, please wait 5 more mins as I'm doing one more update..
  • 0

#10 J.j.

J.j.
  • Posts: 1959

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:40

Awesome! Thanks a lot Vander!
  • 0

#11 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:45

Okay, last version of today is up (version 6). Have fun!
  • 0

#12 Edward_Gale

Edward_Gale
  • Posts: 622

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:47

Wow, 5 updates in 1 hour!

:D
  • 0

#13 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:50

Sorry Vander. No go. I'll try another time.
  • 0

#14 Prangster

Prangster
  • Posts: 99

Posted 28 December 2012 - 12:55

Thanks Vander.
  • 0

Prangster

 

SWsig.jpg


#15 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:06

Sorry Vander. No go. I'll try another time.

I've changed the link to http instead of https, still no go?
  • 0

#16 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:25

Thanks for your help Vander but the http link makes no difference. The download bar at the bottom of the pic is unresponsive to any command and can only be cancelled by closing the browser. :?

Attached File  a.png   315.64KB   394 downloads
  • 0

#17 Avimimus

Avimimus
  • Posts: 1317

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:41

Thanks!
  • 0

#18 Avatar

Avatar
  • Posts: 888

Posted 28 December 2012 - 13:42

Thanks Vander, looking forward to checking out what you've done! :S!:
  • 0

ASUS Maximus VII, i7 4970K @ 4.8, GTX 970 SSC, 32GB G.Skill DDR 2133, Win 7 Pro, Track IR5, Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, CH Throttle Quadrant, 2 MFCDs, 32" Bravia & 2 19" Syncmaster monitors


#19 SYN_Blackrat

SYN_Blackrat
  • Posts: 293

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:08

Thanks for your help Vander but the http link makes no difference. The download bar at the bottom of the pic is unresponsive to any command and can only be cancelled by closing the browser. :?

How weird, I just grabbed it using chrome, PM me an email and I will send you it if you like.
  • 0

#20 Rivet

Rivet
  • Posts: 272

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:18

Thanks Vander. Very much appreciate your hard work. Can't wait to try it out :S!:
  • 0

#21 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 28 December 2012 - 14:40

Thanks for your help Vander but the http link makes no difference. The download bar at the bottom of the pic is unresponsive to any command and can only be cancelled by closing the browser. :?

How weird, I just grabbed it using chrome, PM me an email and I will send you it if you like.

Hey thanks Blackrat. :) It's weird alright. :? I'll send you a PM.
  • 0

#22 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:12

Thanks for your help Vander but the http link makes no difference. The download bar at the bottom of the pic is unresponsive to any command and can only be cancelled by closing the browser. :?

How weird, I just grabbed it using chrome, PM me an email and I will send you it if you like.

Hey thanks Blackrat. :) It's weird alright. :? I'll send you a PM.

Okay, Let's see if I can attach it here:

*** See next page ***
  • 0

#23 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:15

Great!

Will try them today!

Many thanks, Vander!

:S!:

HT
  • 0

#24 W1ndy

W1ndy
  • Posts: 1475

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:17

Thanks Vander , d/ling now
  • 0

#25 AndyJWest

AndyJWest
  • Posts: 1284

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:20

Excellent work, Vander. :S!:

…Several German submarines to search and destroy (also British, check before attacking!…

Um, any guidance as to how to tell them apart?
  • 0

#26 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:36

Excellent work, Vander. :S!:

…Several German submarines to search and destroy (also British, check before attacking!…

Um, any guidance as to how to tell them apart?

German subs have an Iron Cross on them to start with… :)
  • 0

#27 AndyJWest

AndyJWest
  • Posts: 1284

Posted 28 December 2012 - 16:41

Er, thanks, Vander. Though I suppose that if I get close enough to see the markings, I'll know anyway as they'll be shooting at me?
  • 0

#28 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 528

Posted 28 December 2012 - 17:12

Great, just what I needed to debut the Felix! Thanks.
  • 0

#29 ChiefRedCloud

ChiefRedCloud
  • Posts: 2850
  • LocationWaleska, Georgia, USA

Posted 28 December 2012 - 17:14

Thank you very much for this …..
  • 0

G5fCmYF.png

NEW WINGS VIRTUAL FLIGHT TRAINING

"Hardcore Through Passion"


#30 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 17:23

Er, thanks, Vander. Though I suppose that if I get close enough to see the markings, I'll know anyway as they'll be shooting at me?

Oddly enough, they don't shoot at planes. Maybe the gun on the deck is not an AAA gun?

EDIT: Just tested this. You can let the sub attack a plane. You don't see shell bursts in the air so I think it's indeed not an AAA gun. I think I'll change the missions so Subs may attack you (before they dive!)
  • 0

#31 Dr.Zebra

Dr.Zebra
  • Posts: 2663

Posted 28 December 2012 - 17:30

Thanks a lot, Vander. Really great work!

and yes, the deck gun would not elevate enough to fire at airplanes on german subs, however a lot did have a single machinegun for that purpose.
  • 0

#32 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 28 December 2012 - 18:51

Flew the first mission. Missed the sub with my bombs but still a great experience. Atmosphere is awesome!

These will get many replays from me!

Thank you, Vander!
  • 0

#33 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 28 December 2012 - 19:32

Some minor changes to Submarine AI behaviour, so version 7 is available (see first post).

I'll also include it here.

Attached File  Felixstowe Patrol Missions v7.zip   848.4KB   108 downloads
  • 0

#34 HippyDruid

HippyDruid
  • Posts: 226

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:28

This is just what I needed.

Cheers, Vander!
  • 0

#35 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 29 December 2012 - 01:34

Okay, Let's see if I can attach it here:

*** See next page ***

Ah success at last! :D Thanks Vander! :)
  • 0

#36 159th_Jester

159th_Jester
  • Posts: 1168

Posted 29 December 2012 - 02:05

Downloaded the zip file ok, but when I try to run the mission it locks RoF absolutely solid. So solid infact I can't even alt-tab out of the game - Had to do a hard re-boot to get out of it.

I tried to open the mission in the editor but there's no mission file in the download. Any suggestions?
  • 0

#37 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 29 December 2012 - 08:33

Downloaded the zip file ok, but when I try to run the mission it locks RoF absolutely solid. So solid infact I can't even alt-tab out of the game - Had to do a hard re-boot to get out of it.

I tried to open the mission in the editor but there's no mission file in the download. Any suggestions?

Well it does have a LOT of objects on the mission. To open in the mission editor, simply type in the full mission name and .msnbin as extension. It will load this as well. Or not, if memory is the root problem…..
  • 0

#38 KAPAX1918

KAPAX1918
  • Posts: 33

Posted 29 December 2012 - 10:11

Hi,

Thanks for the missions.
As I use the french version of rof, all the 3 missions get the same name.
I edited with text editor the briefing (?) part of the fra file to change text but always the same title.
It is not a problem, but if I could change the names it would be easier for me.

Can I install the mission in another folder under data/missions than 'Channel' ?

Happy 2013 !

P.S. Do you plan to create a new campaign ?
  • 0

#39 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:46

Hi,

Thanks for the missions.
As I use the french version of rof, all the 3 missions get the same name.
I edited with text editor the briefing (?) part of the fra file to change text but always the same title.
It is not a problem, but if I could change the names it would be easier for me.

Can I install the mission in another folder under data/missions than 'Channel' ?

Happy 2013 !

P.S. Do you plan to create a new campaign ?

Hi KAPAX, thanks for noting that. I'll create new versions with proper description files.

You can't simply install in a new folder, you have to change the paths in the .list file.

Yes, I am working on a new campaign. More details later in the new year I hope!
  • 0

#40 NickM

NickM
  • Posts: 1625

Posted 29 December 2012 - 11:49

Thanks Vander - these look great. Will try them tonight.

Cheers!
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users