Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

PWCG (RoFCampaign) 12.0 Beta to be available soon


  • Please log in to reply
246 replies to this topic

#41 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 15:37

That's OK, I'll show my own stupidity :) - I have no idea how to do a screen capture/voice over video. I assume that I need a screen/voice capture program - any suggestions (free is the biggest requirement :) ).
  • 0

#42 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 19 December 2012 - 16:16

I don't think that's necessary. All I did to install the beta campaign generator was to expand it into my RoF directory. Done.

Anyway, couple of questions. I started a campaign in August 1916, and I noticed that some of Verdun (the city) was missing. I think it's the industrial part of the city:

Attached File  2012_12_19__15_58_17.png   4.39MB   284 downloads

In the past, many buildings were removed, supposedly to save performance, but I don't believe that is necessary. The main thing that affects performance is AI, and you have already left that as a customizable parameter.

I also noticed an intact village in the middle of no-man's-land. Is that a result of the moving front? Not a big deal, but it would be great if villages were destroyed as the front moves over them.

Thanks! :S!:
  • 0

#43 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 17:16

In 12.0 I updated to use the latest object set. It is very possible that my object reader is missing some of the entries. Also, please note that I have different levels of static ground objects in simple config. If you want everything please max that out.

You can tell if the intact village is a result of moving front or not - if it's in the mud then it's part of the original data set and not a result of moving front. If it is moving front then it will be out of the mud. I like the idea of dynamic destruction, just not sure how to do it.
  • 0

#44 elephant

elephant
  • Posts: 1156

Posted 19 December 2012 - 17:31

Have you checked the moving front map Mods by xjouve (in JSGME format), I've sent you Pat?
Any chance of incorporating them? (Mods On, of course).
The idea of the moving front away from the actual mud area is kind of weird
and disorientating also I have to say…
  • 0

#45 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 19 December 2012 - 17:39

Oh, so the mud is not going to move with the front? I thought that would be the whole point! I have also played multiplayer missions where the front has moved away from the mud, and it always feels wrong.

Anyway, very good work Pat. Thanks again.
  • 0

#46 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 18:11

No, the mud does not move. I don't have that kind of control over the underlying terrain.

For me the only weird part on this map is the area around St Quentin, as that was a very static area for a long time and would have had trenched filled in. However, in 1918 it is right - the war became fluid again and fixed trench lines were no longer available as guides. The lines really did go through woods, fields, and villages.

One option is to keep the front static until 1918 and then let it move for that period only.
  • 0

#47 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 19 December 2012 - 18:19

The issue has to do with permissions on HT's computer. For a reason that I am completely unable to explain, he does not have permission to write either to the ROF mission folder or the PWCG campaign folder. Both of these locations are written to when you accept a mission.

Suggestions:
1. Run PWCG.exe (not the JAR)
2. Run PWCG.exe as administrator (Windows knows to do that with an exe, can't do it with the JAR)
3. Check permissions on the PWCG campaign folder (right click on folder/properties/security)
4. Do same on RoF mission directory.

Aha! That did it!

Ran the exe as administrator (it allows me to run as admin on exes but not on jars) and it created a mission!

In the past, I had anyways used the jar file.

I finally can try it out.

Thanks for your patience!

:S!:

HT
  • 0

#48 vschoell

vschoell
  • Posts: 21

Posted 19 December 2012 - 19:13

Hello Pat,

started a british career in 01/06/1916 No24 Sqdr in Baizieux.
First flight (6 dh2 planes) 3 of them take off into buildings. (big hangars). All 3 lost.

2nd Flight (2 DH2) Flight leader take off into a hangar.

Hope you can find the problem.

All the Best.

vschoell
  • 0

#49 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 19 December 2012 - 19:22

Whoo i manage to run the camping, or at list 1 part setings and creat campainge , only thing i m not shore now is wereI need to enter the folder were my rise of flight is , the path i mean and how cleming victory and all theat is working. But i will give it a tray and i hope i will figure it out.
:S!:
  • 0

#50 Pirato

Pirato
  • Posts: 1595
  • LocationUnder a Bridge

Posted 19 December 2012 - 19:43

LordNeuro, go into your RoF\data folder and look for startup.cfg file. Open it with the Texteditor and find the line mission_text_log = 0 its close to the bottom under [KEY = system].

Just change it to mission_text_log = 1 and save the file. It allows to write some Mission logs into the data folder,you should either change it back to 0 if you finished playing with Campaign or delete those mission log files from time to time.

In PWCG go to Advanced Config and chose Configuration Parameters:GUI on the right side. At the top you will find a line Mission log file directory: type in where your RoF\data folder is. Something like C:\Games\RoF\data.

That should be all you need to do.
  • 0

Dann gibt's Heulen und Zähne klammern, für das ganze Lumpenpack.
Dann ist Schluss mit "Tischlein deck' dich", da gibt's "Knüppel aus dem Sack"!


#51 Sherman7

Sherman7
  • Posts: 282

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:16

HT,
Glad you got it going.
Pat,
Just installed 11.6 and the GUI this past week. 12.0 the other day. No issues at all. I even tried to create issues to help HT out.
Excellent work!
As does Joker, I also put my games into separate files. ROF is in its own folder titled "Rise of Flight", of all things.
  • 0

#52 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:38

Have you checked the moving front map Mods by xjouve (in JSGME format), I've sent you Pat?
Any chance of incorporating them? (Mods On, of course).
The idea of the moving front away from the actual mud area is kind of weird
and disorientating also I have to say…

I did look at them but I can't think of any way to use them.
  • 0

#53 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:40

Whoo i manage to run the camping, or at list 1 part setings and creat campainge , only thing i m not shore now is wereI need to enter the folder were my rise of flight is , the path i mean and how cleming victory and all theat is working. But i will give it a tray and i hope i will figure it out.
:S!:

You should not have to anymore. PWCG tries to find the mission logs on its own and now uses that path only as a last resort. Do make sure that mission log generation is enabled in your RoF ini file (See one of the READMEs for ho to do that)
  • 0

#54 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4448

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:42

Pat were to find the 11.6 and 12.0??
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#55 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:43

Hello Pat,

started a british career in 01/06/1916 No24 Sqdr in Baizieux.
First flight (6 dh2 planes) 3 of them take off into buildings. (big hangars). All 3 lost.

2nd Flight (2 DH2) Flight leader take off into a hangar.

Hope you can find the problem.

All the Best.

vschoell

Thanks for the post. These can all be fixed - it's a bit painful, but the biggest thing is knowing about it.
  • 0

#56 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 19 December 2012 - 20:44

Pat were to find the 11.6 and 12.0??

It's 11.4 - 11.6 must be a typo. 11.4 is the current release version available from Useful materials.

Jason posted in this thread, I think page 2, the link for 12.0.
  • 0

#57 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 20 December 2012 - 18:38

This is what I have so far:
1. Two problematic airfields:
- Baizieux
- Lachelle
2. Missing part of Verdun
3. Intact village in NML

Anything else? Anybody have any feedback on the new features? Changing planes, moving front, aces harder to kill, etc.?
  • 0

#58 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4448

Posted 20 December 2012 - 18:44

Will try it this weekend,
Pat: any region/date/jasta/Sq/Esc I have to test for you.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#59 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 20 December 2012 - 19:11

This is what I have so far:
1. Two problematic airfields:
- Baizieux
- Lachelle
2. Missing part of Verdun
3. Intact village in NML

Anything else? Anybody have any feedback on the new features? Changing planes, moving front, aces harder to kill, etc.?

Pat, I'm going to see if 2 and 3 were caused by fubar's terrain tiles. Standby.

———

I'm an idiot. That part of Verdun has never exist on the default map. It looks like something should be there, but… :oops:
  • 0

#60 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 20 December 2012 - 20:16

Thx Pirato and pat for replay and help. :S!:
  • 0

#61 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 20 December 2012 - 20:48

The CG seems to think the Fokker E.III is an Allied plane.

Tried an E.III career in Jasta 4 at Banneuil in April 1916. German gunners at my aerodrome blasted holes in me and my airplane. When I quit, it showed me as a prisoner.

Tf'd to Jasta 16b at Balatre/E Role and same thing happened.

****

Yes, 24 Squadron DH2s are hitting the hangars when they take off all through early 1916. Reported this in V. 11 as well. Just need to point them a bit further east to miss the buildings. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#62 Flying_Toaster

Flying_Toaster
  • Posts: 137

Posted 20 December 2012 - 23:04

I installed 12.0 and all seems to be going well.
I renamed the folder so that the GUI mod would find it, and that is generally working. Occasionally, when I do something odd like select 'restart mission' instead of 'finish mission' it will get a bit confused, but nothing else.
  • 0

#63 Sherman7

Sherman7
  • Posts: 282

Posted 21 December 2012 - 00:23

HT,
Glad to see you've got it running. Taking advice from us "allieds" probably garnered some suspicion from your squad mates.
  • 0

#64 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 21 December 2012 - 01:09

HT,
Glad to see you've got it running. Taking advice from us "allieds" probably garnered some suspicion from your squad mates.

Yup. I almost always fly Allied, so the Huns probably don't trust me. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#65 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 21 December 2012 - 04:09

Question about claiming victories: I am flying with Jasta 6 out of Assevillers, May 1, 1917, flying Alb. DIIIs. We went on a 7 plane offensive patrol across the lines into enemy territory. I was pilot #7. I shot down an RE-8 and then landed at our aerodrome safely. When I went to claim my kill, the interface wanted me to choose a pilot # and then list the kill. I chose pilot #7 (noticed there was a pilot #0 options, too, which I don't understand), and then there were 7 dropdowns shown where planes could be claimed. I claimed my RE-8 in the 7th dropdown. However, my kill was denied, although the summary said an RE8 was brought down by me.

I don't understand the claim interface. If I choose pilot #1, only one dropdown appears. If I choose pilot #2, two dropdowns appear, etc. Its as if it wants me to claim kills for all the pilots. But, I also don't see how I could have claimed multiple kills with the interface.

Confused! :?

Edit: Just saw that I was credited with the kill anyhow, looking at the pilot roster. So maybe it is automatically determining my kills and I don't need to claim them? If so, why was I asked to report my kills? I have AAR set to 1. Is that automatic AAR? If I want manual AAR, set it to 0? I'm wanting to use the method where I claim, but it may be allowed or not – I guess that was verified?
  • 0

#66 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 21 December 2012 - 06:26

Arj,

The pilot number it asked for is the number of kills you are claiming. If you claim too few (as in zero) you won't get credit for any.

AAR set to 1 is automatic (matches what the Mission Log says) but I believe 2 is verified and 3 is manual. This version doesn't show what the options mean. Previous versions did. That probably ought to be restored.
  • 0

#67 Flying_Toaster

Flying_Toaster
  • Posts: 137

Posted 21 December 2012 - 08:08

After posting that all is well, I just had an error last night.
Started a new Bristol F2B campaign (in August 1917 I think), and drew a patrol mission. Flew the mission, all well and good, shot down one plane and flipped on landing, but no big deal.
Finished the mission, and PWCG came up (with the GUI mod - I've renamed folders for it to work with 12.0), clicked combat report, claimed my victory, then clicked to go to the debrief. At this point an empty error box came up - I clicked 'ok' and ran the debrief, which seemed to work. Exiting the debrief, the window flashed briefly, did not display the summary/journal page, and then it didn't do anything when I clicked mission again.
I closed the program at this point (due to it being bedtime, not due to frustration). Let me know if you want any of the files or anything.
  • 0

#68 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 21 December 2012 - 14:15

In 11.4 I eliminated fully automatic, and now use only verified (you make claims and PWCG uses mission logs to verify them) and fully manual (not really recommended, but very useful for testing). I would strongly suggest taht players use verified and stick with it.

FlyingToaster: Sounds like an error in the debrief code. The blank error window usually means null pointer exception - which translates to I made a mistake. If you have the following it would be very useful:
1. Your campaign
2. Your mission logs

If you don't have them that's fine. I'll try to figure out how this happened.

HotTom: Thanks for the details on the friendly AAA issue. That helps.
  • 0

#69 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 21 December 2012 - 14:30

Thanks for the explanation, Tom. :S!:
  • 0

#70 Sherman7

Sherman7
  • Posts: 282

Posted 22 December 2012 - 02:01

Pat,
#45 Squadran, Sept/1917 w/Camel Crash into hangars on t/o.(11.4)
  • 0

#71 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 23 December 2012 - 23:58

In June 1918, the flights are ignoring the base altitude. They're flying around at 1200m instead of 3000m.
  • 0

#72 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4448

Posted 24 December 2012 - 09:11

2-sept-1917 #56-Se56a flying balloon defense noticed one balloon is made out of 3 balloons, distance between each seems to be to narrow.
Also I did gunned out 8 aircraft and that is unbelievable, normal it is between zero and only one. did you changed the AI? I was stalking a flight of Halby/PfDIII and they did not move, acting like siting ducks. I suspect the DIII should act like a bunch of angry hornets, after I shot up one Halby from below.
Also I got chased by a Dr1 with the lower left wing missing, guess this is more a 777 failure.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#73 Flying_Toaster

Flying_Toaster
  • Posts: 137

Posted 24 December 2012 - 16:55

The latest patch resets keep mission logs to 0, so you will need to go into the startup.cfg and change it back, just as an FYI.
  • 0

#74 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 27 December 2012 - 20:23

Boy, has this topic slipped down the list…new toys :mrgreen:

48 Sqdrn, January 1918, F2b F3, Hancourt, German gunners on RFC airfield. I guess no one told them their infantry had retreated.

Shoot up my Biffs as they are taking off. :cry:
  • 0

#75 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 31 December 2012 - 19:53

The latest patch resets keep mission logs to 0, so you will need to go into the startup.cfg and change it back, just as an FYI.

PWCG never edits startup.cfg - the UI mod does. Maybe Ankor can help on this one.

Oh, and my cat says …
m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m m mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
  • 0

#76 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 31 December 2012 - 20:00

Im really looking forward to this. I enjoy all your hard hard that goes into this…Happy New Year
  • 0

#77 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 31 December 2012 - 20:19

Happy New Year, Pat!

And thanks again (and again and again) for such a great CG!
  • 0

#78 ollivier-berry

ollivier-berry
  • Posts: 45

Posted 31 December 2012 - 21:44

Thank's a lot Doc Pat Wilson its a sort of christmas gift you do
The force be with u,
Olliver Von
  • 0

#79 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 01 January 2013 - 16:47

Thanks PatAWilson for your awesome Campaign generator. Had a Blast last night in a DIII squad on a balloon mission. Between the Balloons winching down :D (I got it diving straight down on it :lol: ) and the 3 SpadVIIs which were high above us and BnZed us (never TnBing :D )and my own Flight Leader maintaining a speed where I could keep up :D , I had quite a flight, RTBing and pulling off the sweetest, most perfect landing(i haven't landed anything in over a month except the Felix) in the DIII that I ever have. As a bonus all of our flight made it back and landed with none crashing into anything :D . The only bummer of the whole mission was when I went to make my report and claim 1 balloon and 3 Spad VIIs, it rejected my claims!!! :( I tried again, no joy. I went and checked the Config file, and you guessed it, the mission log was off!! Son-of-a B#@$%!!! Oh well, looks like I will be flying that Mission again tonight.

My first question is this, How can I use the Journal feature and save it? Is this possible? When I write in it now and switch dates or go to another screen and come back, what i have written is gone?

My Second question is, Does anyone have a standardizing list of details they check to help Pat test the PWCG. It seems you guys are so on top of this, like the squad doesn't fly at the briefing altitudes, German infantry on wrong airfields, 3 balloons to close together. I would like to help, but I think
if I had an idea of some major things I should be looking for, I could do a more beneficial job. Maybe a quick top ten things to look for?

Anyway, thanks again Pat

S! Blade<><
  • 0

#80 PatAWilson

PatAWilson
  • Posts: 3381

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:16

Fixed the enemy AAA at airbase issue. That was the biggest one. Here are the others that I have to do:

1. Landings are too close to the hangars and the AI crashes.
2. Some airfields cause the planes to crash on takeoff.
3. Triple balloons on balloon defense.
4. Escorts did not react. Need to check mission priority (needs to be low for all way points otherwise they will just fly on like idiots)
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users