Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ROF and Catia Models!


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Ja52Krupi

Ja52Krupi
  • Posts: 35

Posted 02 December 2012 - 17:42

Hi,

I am looking to make a few models for ROF however I am not a 3DS Max user but I do use CATIA so the question is can CATPart models be saved to IGS and then loaded/modified in 3DS Max?

Thanks!
  • 0

#2 SQSN

SQSN
  • Posts: 85

Posted 03 December 2012 - 16:21

I am not quite familiar with software, like various CADs, but I believe, technically this is possible.

Yet, absolutely non-practical. It is better to build models for a game in a 3D-modeling software, which was used/approved by the developers of the game and according to the technology and technical requirements, issued by the developers.
  • 0

#3 Ja52Krupi

Ja52Krupi
  • Posts: 35

Posted 03 December 2012 - 22:27

I am not quite familiar with software, like various CADs, but I believe, technically this is possible.

Yet, absolutely non-practical. It is better to build models for a game in a 3D-modeling software, which was used/approved by the developers of the game and according to the technology and technical requirements, issued by the developers.

Okay, have been meaning to learn 3DS Max so no time like the present…

Thanks for the heads up! :S!:
  • 0

#4 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 04 December 2012 - 09:51

make sure you learn 3d max studios 8 only
  • 0

#5 Browning

Browning
  • Posts: 635

Posted 27 December 2012 - 16:53

make sure you learn 3d max studios 8 only

Why?
Isn't it easy enough to import/export across different versions?
  • 0

#6 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 27 December 2012 - 21:12

yes Browning it is easy enough to import/export across different versions of max studios ,but it comes with problems , when a 3d model is made in lets say 2011 or 2010 then saved as obj file and opened in max 8 you will see 3d model is not the same, not 100% duplicate.
I ended up rebuilding the whole cockpit model because of this , when i opened it in max8

Plus if your going to walk the Rise of Flight stepping stones of 3d modelling you have enough to learn without having to translate that to a different version of max studios.

Making a 3d model is easy, but to make a 3d model for ROF ,thats a challenge.
  • 0

#7 GOZR

GOZR
  • Posts: 562
  • LocationAshland, Oregon

Posted 05 January 2013 - 20:59

So basically you have to stick with MAX 8 ( older and more annoying ) ;)
  • 0

#8 Bulkhead

Bulkhead
  • Posts: 230

Posted 06 January 2013 - 12:47

Wow… It's expensive. Any other way to make 3D models?
  • 0

#9 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 06 January 2013 - 14:02

GOZR max studios 8 and yes its a frustration version especially as it unstable workload crash ,save every few minutes or lose time
  • 0

#10 Bulkhead

Bulkhead
  • Posts: 230

Posted 06 January 2013 - 14:22

What about blender?
  • 0

#11 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 07 January 2013 - 01:22

max studios 8
  • 0

#12 Bulkhead

Bulkhead
  • Posts: 230

Posted 07 January 2013 - 18:04

I think I stick to blender. Making models for fun at least. 3700 USD is overkill for home use…
  • 0

#13 Browning

Browning
  • Posts: 635

Posted 08 January 2013 - 07:31

What about blender?

No, unless you can get someone who has max8 to import your models when your done.

Max 8 is expensive to buy, but some people manage to find max 8 for less.
  • 0

#14 Bulkhead

Bulkhead
  • Posts: 230

Posted 09 January 2013 - 09:22

3ds max 8

Is this the program?? The site mentions about a student license and a 30 day trial. It gets more expensive every time I take a look; now about 5400 USD :shock: .

I can't find out about someone who told me about a different cheaper license for non-profit private home use a while back. Anyone knows about it?
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users