Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

A roadside experiment (with textures)


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:20

Just what the topic title says :)
While I like ROF graphics, I don't like the look of roads and railroads which appear like a thin lines painted over the fields.
That's why I tried to use mask textures to try and alleviate the problem by adding some roadside which will allow roads to blend more naturally.
Unfortunately the resolution of mask is quite low and I couldn't achieve the effect I wanted – roadsides appear either too wide or too blocky. So the result is still disappointing, however I want to hear some opinions on this:
Attached File  roads-mask.jpg   349.02KB   985 downloads
If you think it looks like sh*t then just say so, I won't argue with that :)
However, constructive ideas are also welcome.

What our roads also lack are trees and telegraph poles along them. I tried to add trees but "global forests" mask has even worser resolution and it is impossible to add a narrow line of trees. Adding telegraph poles is problematic because so many 3d object may push the game engine above it limits. Perhaps a 400m line of poles as a single block may work better, but I'm still not sure.
  • 0

#2 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:27

Good idea, but especially in the distance it looks too wide.
How many pixel is your width?
  • 0

#3 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:44

2-3 pixels, and one pixel is 50m for the mask texture :(
The problem is that I need such width for anti-aliasing – otherwise if I draw the mask strictly one pixel wide then it will appear as distinct squares and not aligned with the roads in some places.

The effect I wanted to achieve is something like this: Re: Making rails, roads, and trenches. It works.
DiFiS used substrate texture to draw roadside along the railroad, but susbtrate has much better resolution.
Maybe I will try to experiment with substrates and if I'll be able to automate their placement along the roads just as I automated the mask drawing - it may work better.
  • 0

#4 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:58

Oh yes, thats not much :(
You know I also used substrate to paint some roads for Roucourt, they fit in pretty well into the landscape quality (512x512). But as you said, the problem would be an automatisation for placement :|
Also, you have an idea how many substrates can be used? If it is possible to use hundreds of them a nice thing could also be to paint connections with the textured rouds and the "real" roads from the roadmap in certain areas (airfield / city-surroundings) :) (but also alot of work)
  • 0

#5 redcoat22

redcoat22
  • Posts: 840

Posted 03 October 2012 - 12:25

I love ROF porn in the morning. Keep up the good work!
  • 0

#6 Avimimus

Avimimus
  • Posts: 1317

Posted 03 October 2012 - 16:12

Well, my main additional comment is: If you are working on the textures for roads - is there any chance that you could make them dirtier? It'd be great to have some mud or incidental roadside debris…
  • 0

#7 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 03 October 2012 - 19:49

Tried it with substrates.
Used a simple algorithm that puts a small substrate texture every 50 meters along all roads and railroads. For the Lake map it produced 19000 entries in layers.ini but the game seems to handle them well.
Comparison screenshots.
Before:
Attached File  roads-lake-original.jpg   359.91KB   838 downloads
After:
Attached File  roads-lake-mask-and-substrate.jpg   357.29KB   838 downloads
I've also adjusted the mask along roads as in previous attempt, but this time change is very subtle and not normally noticeable, however it makes the picture better.
At first I tried to use the same color as dirt roads, but such color appear so bright it will be visible from space. So after lots of tries I settled with darker green.

Well, my main additional comment is: If you are working on the textures for roads - is there any chance that you could make them dirtier? It'd be great to have some mud or incidental roadside debris…
I like the idea but I've tried changing the road texture and it didn't worked. Looks like there's something I don't fully understand about them.
  • 0

#8 Haggart85

Haggart85
  • Posts: 135

Posted 03 October 2012 - 22:12

I like it…good work!
  • 0

#9 redcoat22

redcoat22
  • Posts: 840

Posted 05 October 2012 - 13:17

I am not sure how I feel about the changes. Love the effort but I am not sure I think it is better.
  • 0

#10 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 05 October 2012 - 13:46

It would be best if the roads were simple wider. With a "road side/dust" part included. Is that possible?
  • 0

#11 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 05 October 2012 - 13:52

Understandable. I'm not satisfied with the result. And at the same not sure what should be changed.

One problem with roads and rails is that they don't break the pattern of fields. They look as if they were magically built overnight right across the green fields. Just like crop circles :)

I'm not sure if anything can be done about that, though (especially because I'm not an artist).

It would be best if the roads were simple wider. With a "road side/dust" part included. Is that possible?
Road texture is actually wider, but only about half of it is visible. However simply replacing the texture doesn't seem to work. Perhaps roads have to be completely regenerated for new texture to be applied, I may try it someday.
  • 0

#12 Feathered_IV

Feathered_IV
  • Posts: 1575

Posted 05 October 2012 - 14:16

Certainly interesting to see what is possible and well worth the effort. I wonder, can a similar texture be applied around bodies of water?
  • 0

#13 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 05 October 2012 - 14:25

Certainly interesting to see what is possible and well worth the effort. I wonder, can a similar texture be applied around bodies of water?

Yes. In fact, that has already been done by default, but it is very subtle now.
  • 0

#14 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 05 October 2012 - 20:42

I much prefer the map small tracks texture than main road texture (looking from above).
But i guess it's because they were 'painted' with the global map ground, that's why it melt better way in the background.
I wish main roads could be this way, but probably not good for trucks to follow any move path…
  • 0

#15 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 05 October 2012 - 23:23

Hello AnKor85 :)

If the roads are to wide then make them narrow its not hard
If to narrow make them a little wider but you can only widen a small amount ( limitation of the graphic file dds )

I changed the grass to dry grass with desert look then when i looked at the map i saw the roads looked totally wrong , a cobbled road in a desert just does nott happen all over a map :)
So i opened the road texture up and edited the colours and made a road that looked better in a desert

Image
But thats when i realised i didnt like the colour of the desert :) so i changed the texture again and its a loop of retexturing from then onward lol
Basically you can make a road as wide or as narrow as you want but it will challenge the other textures :) on the map.

on a other option that would allow Difis sub textures to have easier control and solve your side of road request all in one achievement…

Carpet tiles are 100 tiles 10 x 10

I personally find this very odd .. flight sims or standard shootem up terrian is not normally made this way , normally granted IL-2 was something within the same confines.

I would like to learn how to do the following

1. make 100 tiles were the north of the tile is pointing north
( At the momment the sequence is coded to stop you using real textures , PLUS in number Order )


2. make 3000 or 4000 tile map , this map would be approx Verdun 5x5 map size and each tile then could be graphically edited to add detail on the foundation and updated easily at later dates.
( plus i would like to see how ROF handles the tiles with in the flight engine )

All i need to know is how do i ADD to 10x10 tiles extra rows and columns

I have the textures map files here from a different flight sim Landscape ,i made along time ago.
As im the creator of the map terrian and texture i can use as i please , and its approx verdun sized map terrian it just happens to be of New Zealand which i love ,but it would save a hole heap of time and allow the test to be completed very fast , and i think ROF flight engine can handle it , the standard map of rof is good but i still think it was made with 10 x 10 =100 tiles to save TIME because to make the Large ROF map with individual tiles would be a huge task , when rof was first released this was the Only map :)
verdun and the lake map are just children of the same textures made fast because it was easy to add the maps.
Its easy to make smaller maps in the same style.


10x10 tiles repeats something like 42 maybe 56 times i could give you the exact amount it repeats by just opening a map in the editor with my retextures numbered tiles on the landscape but off memory,,, cant remember right now :) sorry , but on the verdun map 5x5 , the LANDSCAPE is loaded at the start of a mission , and once loaded remains , so testing would just be load time
I really would like to test the flight engine i believe its got more than we realise regarding stamina and strength and landscape quality can be much greater than the high standard we have presently.
It does not have to be released as a mod , just a personal test , i have many already :) , i typed this part so the complainers of change dont panick and vioce negative vibes :P , im not posting to cause hassles just experiment and learn and improve the dream

Another example

Lets say i made a Ocean Map :)

The Island in the middle of the ocean was 150 tiles in size
Lets say i want to texture the cliff edges and beachs and shore line all around the island ,and ofcourse the centre land texture of the island could be the field textures we already know and see and love ,,,
With 10x10 =100 tiles it can be done, we can only texture 100 tiles so the coastline has to be a compromise where some places the field grass texture has to enter the ocean … but ,,,, it can be done and look fine ,,its just low quality or rushed texturing , but if extra time is taked substrates can be added to higher the quality.
If the island was textured using 150 Individual tiles, then we have foundation of quality to add substrate quality upon.
The load time at mission starting at present would be 100 tiles repeated twice ,, but in the example i believe this load time with 150 individual tiles would be approx the same load time and higher quality allowing side road texturing substrates to be added to the foundation texture tiles and then higher quality to be added ontop as substrates afterwards…

Ankor sorry for a long post but sometimes lateral thinking solves many requests
1 ,add rows and column tiles
2 uniform the 100 tiles we have so we use all of them and they are more suitable not a jigsaw mismatch uniform
3 test alot , one attempt might open the door to greater quality

Maybe your side road texture barrier is actually the same barrier of 10 x 10 =100 tile carpet card ,,,, i think , but i am no guru just a rambling traveller.

Good thread nice read sorry for the post if it took the subject off topic :) Slightly

Best Regards
Tony
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users