Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Water towers


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#41 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 13 August 2012 - 21:33

So will you be able to make a damaged version, or will it be like the chateaux and chapels? It would be good if you could have a burnt out version like the maximum damage state of existing buildings, and then a rubble stage as the new maximum damage state, as a test.

One of the target types for the IAF raids I'm reading about were cavalry and artillery barracks, I was struck by there not being a barracks building or buildings in the game.

I am making a damage model, but there is only 1, so there is no "intermediate" damage level. I tried by using two objects but somehow it didn't work. I seperated the tank from the supporting structure so that both had a damage model. You would then be able to destroy the tank first and then the tower or vice versa. However: a) it just doesn't look right when one half is destroyed and the other half is in pristine condition, b) for some reason only one part (the tower) would take damage and the other wouldn't.

So I have had enough of testing and I will simply create one damage model where the tower is scarred and the tank deformed. Simple is always best.. :). Then move on to the next model!
  • 0

#42 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 13 August 2012 - 21:38

Simple is always best..

Agreed!
And +1 for smaller towers.
  • 0

#43 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 13 August 2012 - 21:44

Hey Fifi, what is that on your list? "Airfields static stuff" ? :) :)

Now if only the devs would give us some 3d models of the vehicles already in the game we could very quickly turn them into static objects ("buildings") !!! Same for artillery and bunkers.
  • 0

#44 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 14 August 2012 - 22:41

Small update. First water tower is finished, including damage model & textures. I have now started work on the smaller water tower:

Attached File  watertower09.jpg   88.61KB   1008 downloads

Based on this:

Image

It seems to have been a common design from late 19th century, at least in Flanders / Northern France, as I have seen many pictures of similar towers…
  • 0

#45 Dr.Zebra

Dr.Zebra
  • Posts: 2663

Posted 14 August 2012 - 22:50

great work, vander! S!
  • 0

#46 Gadfly21

Gadfly21
  • Posts: 1081

Posted 14 August 2012 - 22:57

Super! Will the 777 team consider the first one for standard inclusion into the game?
  • 0

#47 SC/JG_Oesau

SC/JG_Oesau
  • Posts: 2024

Posted 14 August 2012 - 23:04

great work Vander - who would think that water towers was such a hot topic!!
  • 0

#48 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 15 August 2012 - 00:15

Yes, Vander's water towers will be a nice addition in ROF (though i think we'll never have to bomb them…)

Next great addition in our ROF world should be telegraph poles along main roads.
Such roads are looking so desertic to me! Flat grey stripe needs some more "life" looking imo.
Then, some field fences added here and there should brake few real empty fields spaces, and add some difficulties for emergency landings :idea:
  • 0

#49 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 15 August 2012 - 00:16

Super! Will the 777 team consider the first one for standard inclusion into the game?

Guys,

I'm going to be blunt, not trying to be rude, but please do not beg us for inclusion of new items as official objects. As I said in the initial SDK post, we view this is a long term project and we will watch to see the results. If these efforts prove successful in Mods On mode then we will consider, not promise, to look at new objects as official candidates. We expect problems and limitations to appear and we want to see what occurs before we promise anything.

So, build, test, be creative and use in Mods On mode for the forseeable future.

That's the best I can offer at this point.

Jason
  • 0

#50 Gadfly21

Gadfly21
  • Posts: 1081

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:46

Sorry, I didn't realize what was specifically meant in that post. I hope my question wasn't taken the wrong way.
  • 0

#51 redcoat22

redcoat22
  • Posts: 840

Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:15

Sorry, I didn't realize what was specifically meant in that post. I hope my question wasn't taken the wrong way.

I am sure it wasn't taken the wrong way. Jason is simply managing expectations. I bet you a buck we see these in-game within a year.
  • 0

#52 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:17

Sorry, I didn't realize what was specifically meant in that post. I hope my question wasn't taken the wrong way.

It's ok Luno. I know you didn't mean to cause a ruckus. I do have to manage expectations sometimes.

Jason
  • 0

#53 Gadfly21

Gadfly21
  • Posts: 1081

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:28

It's a wise move. It's hard to reign in the wishes and wants… :S!:
  • 0

#54 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:50

Next great addition in our ROF world should be telegraph poles along main roads.

Oh Lord! Yes YES YES!!!! :D
  • 0

#55 MarcoRossolini

MarcoRossolini
  • Posts: 2991
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 15 August 2012 - 06:21

I agree catchov, those would add so much.

BUT, pure speculation here and not a serious suggestion but once this sort of thing gets off the ground, could this sort of thing run the same way as skins do(though of course with a more exacting quality control etc, final vote being cast by 777 etc.)
  • 0

#56 rolikiraly

rolikiraly
  • Posts: 457

Posted 15 August 2012 - 10:50

Telegraph poles and fences? A big yes from me, but this is the water towers thread :S!:
  • 0

#57 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 15 August 2012 - 11:00

I dont know if is posibole but would love to see same plane crash site and remenings of the planes on the map, but dont know if is posibole to add them as static objects, crashed burned striped and all theat. But it would be cool. :D
  • 0

#58 FlightFight

FlightFight
  • Posts: 37

Posted 15 August 2012 - 11:42

There also already were Electricity poles 1914. :D

I am currently working on Heystacks, how do you implant models and the according textures into the game?

Attached Files


  • 0

#59 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 15 August 2012 - 12:12

There also already were Electricity poles 1914. :D

I am currently working on Heystacks, how do you implant models and the according textures into the game?

The SDK documentation describes the importing process so you can test.

Remember, if you're serious about adding stuff to RoF, then consider a number of objects in one package, sharing textures. So not just one haystack, but a whole cluster of them, ditto for telegraph poles etc.

We also need to have a place to share our projects so we don't end up making the same things or overlapping stuff.
  • 0

#60 MarcoRossolini

MarcoRossolini
  • Posts: 2991
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 15 August 2012 - 12:30

Special section in Useful materials…? Or A released objects section of the mods forum and as an extension a proposals/WIP section as well.
  • 0

#61 Von_Crapenhaus

Von_Crapenhaus
  • Posts: 44

Posted 15 August 2012 - 12:35

Top work guys.

All adds to overall look GREAT! 8-)

Attached Files


  • 0

#62 FlightFight

FlightFight
  • Posts: 37

Posted 15 August 2012 - 15:34

Special section for usefull materials would be great!

Thanks for advice!
If I have understood the SDK dokumentation correctly you can only implent 3ds Max 8 models.?

Please correct me if I missed something there. I use blender! :S!:
  • 0

#63 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 15 August 2012 - 16:12

yes, the plugin is only for max8.
  • 0

#64 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 15 August 2012 - 19:50

Update: Second tower is finished (might work on the damage model more). I have some texture space to spare so will probably make a 3rd tower based on the small one, with different colours etc…

Attached File  watertower10.jpg   245.93KB   381 downloads
  • 0

#65 Rivfader

Rivfader
  • Posts: 386

Posted 15 August 2012 - 22:44

Woah these are gigantic structures and looking great!!!
  • 0

#66 LordNeuro_Srb

LordNeuro_Srb
  • Posts: 990
  • LocationNovi Sad/Serbia

Posted 15 August 2012 - 22:47

Just a sugestion if u dont midn but u cann maybe tray and add same wetering to the textures, so they wont look like the r new. Just a thote. But iven without it it is a gr8 work and a wery nice addon for rof. :S!:
  • 0

#67 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 16 August 2012 - 05:58

Just a sugestion if u dont midn but u cann maybe tray and add same wetering to the textures, so they wont look like the r new. Just a thote. But iven without it it is a gr8 work and a wery nice addon for rof. :S!:

Yeah, they are still too " bright and shiny" atm. :)

Mind you, with these low poly models it's all about textures. Working on textures easily costs twice as much time as creating the 3d model.
  • 0

#68 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 16 August 2012 - 06:06

It looks like you're making a castle there Vander with so many towers together! :lol:

Nice work. :)
  • 0

#69 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:08

It looks like you're making a castle there Vander with so many towers together! :lol:

Nice work. :)

That's why the French call them: "Chateaux d'eau " !!!
  • 0

#70 zachanscom

zachanscom
  • Posts: 385

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:46

a suggestion for the damage model, maybe have chunks of debris lying around the tower.
  • 0

#71 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 16 August 2012 - 19:32

update:

-added weathering
-added extra damage to damage model
-scaled down smaller water tower to proper size

Attached File  watertower11.jpg   267.98KB   608 downloads
  • 0

#72 WW1EAF_Paf

WW1EAF_Paf
  • Tester
  • Posts: 1458

Posted 16 August 2012 - 19:40

Looking good Vander!
  • 0

#73 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 16 August 2012 - 20:36

It's a learning experience and great fun to do it!
  • 0

#74 redcoat22

redcoat22
  • Posts: 840

Posted 16 August 2012 - 20:50

Really nice work Vander
  • 0

#75 NewGuy_

NewGuy_
  • Posts: 4114

Posted 16 August 2012 - 20:55

Coooooool. :D :S!: MJ
  • 0

Something something SPAD. Something something then dive away. 


#76 Lfox

Lfox
  • Posts: 51

Posted 17 August 2012 - 15:03

Very nice work Vander. I can t wait to try them in game. It may have been mentioned before but I suppose for the channel map we will be needing some hedgerows.

Cheers,
Lfox
  • 0

#77 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 22 August 2012 - 14:51

Update: Almost done now. Just have to create a damage model for the third (middle) water tower. I fixed some rendering issues (when getting close the summit would dissapear when looking up) and added a bit of specular lighting…

Attached File  watertower12.jpg   372.95KB   447 downloads
  • 0

#78 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 22 August 2012 - 15:50

cool!
but I think that we need a foundation, fence, shed, gate, garbage :) near water towers
  • 0

#79 Von_Crapenhaus

Von_Crapenhaus
  • Posts: 44

Posted 22 August 2012 - 16:01

Excelent work
I used to do some 3d moddeling on FSX so i know how much work there is in even basic buildings.
Well done keep up the great work 8-)

Attached Files

  • Attached File  SE5a.jpg   149.88KB   413 downloads

  • 0

#80 GUIGNOL

GUIGNOL
  • Posts: 60

Posted 22 August 2012 - 16:11

It looks like you're making a castle there Vander with so many towers together! :lol:

Nice work. :)

That's why the French call them: "Chateaux d'eau " !!!

Jolie Vander!

Chez nous,les châteaux d’eau font partie inhérente de notre paysage. Conçus pour stocker de grandes quantités d’eau pour la population, ils sont généralement peu esthétiques et situé sur des hauteurs ou point haut.

Le château d'eau d'Amiens construit en 1750,

Image

un autre en Belgique de 1901

Image

A vendre 331.800 € à Thionville. :shock:

Image

Château d'eau de Dunkerque

Image
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users