Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

weather generator beta 1.6


  • Please log in to reply
161 replies to this topic

#81 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16180

Posted 26 April 2012 - 02:18

I've been trying to follow this thread with great interest, but this is pretty much beyond my ability to follow all the technical aspects of how these clouds are being created and how they're getting put into the game. One major question I have about it though - besides making the clouds look better/more varied, is there anything in what's going on here that might address the couple of problems I occasionally have with cloud "performance", i.e.:

1. Any chance this would reduce/eliminate the flashing I occasionally get (where parts of clouds pop in and out of existence/view as you pan your view across them)?

2. Any chance this would reduce/eliminate the jerky cloud motion that I sometimes see when I'm approaching some clouds?

Also, I still have not been able to fathom how the mission editor works enough to spend any real time messing around with creating my own missions or editing missions of others - is there anything ready at this point as a JSGME-ready mod that would let us test any of these new clouds in either QMB or career missions?

There are some really nice-looking screenshots and things being posted here - would love to figure out how to see some of this in my own game :)
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#82 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 26 April 2012 - 04:24

1. Any chance this would reduce/eliminate the flashing I occasionally get (where parts of clouds pop in and out of existence/view as you pan your view across them)?

2. Any chance this would reduce/eliminate the jerky cloud motion that I sometimes see when I'm approaching some clouds?

Good points. I think we're all affected by these at one time or another. Although generally speaking I think the default clouds are pretty good except from above an overcast layer. More variety would be cool though.
  • 0

#83 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:46

в подключении сторонних модов есть один серьезный ньюанс.
Дело в том, что не существует проверки оригинальности мода, тому образцу, что используется на сервере.
Это означает, что игроки, которые не захотят использовать облака - просто не будут их ставить в папку с игрой и будут летать в совершенно чистом небе. Это даст им преимущество, так как игрой со стороны сервера никак не обрабатывается такое событие - как сокрытие облаками или изменение видимости в облаках.

Существует другой, более правильный путь реализации разнообразия погоды в игре.
Это создание каждый раз нового случайного набора облаков из готовых пресетов по какому либо ключу - единому для всех игроков в онлайне или в карьере. Этим ключом может быть время старта миссии, количество стартовых объектов в миссии или вообще ключ может быть отдельной строкой прописан в файле миссии.

Тогда все игроки будут в гарантированно одинаковом положении без всяких читов. Иное я считаю неправильным.

Своей мини-программой я показал - что это реально - разбросать облака по небу с любой различной плотностью и стартовым набором. Надо только реализовать это в игре.

Ручная правка погоды, к сожалению, ни к чему хорошему не приведет :(
  • 0

#84 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 06:52

1. Any chance this would reduce/eliminate the flashing I occasionally get (where parts of clouds pop in and out of existence/view as you pan your view across them)?
Это проблема рандомизации облаков в теле игры. Я написал альтернативный алгоритм без пересечений (без моргания) облаков. Но чтобы это работало в игре, разработчики должны поменять свой алгоритм формирования расположения облаков в небе относительно друг друга. Тут я бессилен.

Also, I still have not been able to fathom how the mission editor works enough to spend any real time messing around with creating my own missions or editing missions of others - is there anything ready at this point as a JSGME-ready mod that would let us test any of these new clouds in either QMB or career missions?

Я написал подробные инструкции как вставлять облака в игру. Я не пойму, в чем именно сложность увидеть в игре те наборы, что вы захотите вставить?
  • 0

#85 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16180

Posted 26 April 2012 - 07:15

Also, I still have not been able to fathom how the mission editor works enough to spend any real time messing around with creating my own missions or editing missions of others - is there anything ready at this point as a JSGME-ready mod that would let us test any of these new clouds in either QMB or career missions?

Я написал подробные инструкции как вставлять облака в игру. Я не пойму, в чем именно сложность увидеть в игре те наборы, что вы захотите вставить?

[translated by Google: I wrote detailed instructions on how to insert a cloud in the game. I do not understand what it is to see the complexity of the game are the sets that you want to insert? ]

I may have missed something in all these pages, but the stuff I remember seeing seemed to be talking about ways to create clouds or insert the clouds into mission files and such. I was hoping that there might just be a way to use a JSGME mod to add some new clouds you had already created and just have them show up in the game (hopefully, in career mode, but at least QMB) without having to create the clouds myself or do anything else (yeah, I know that sounds lazy but I'm kinda busy with other stuff so I was just looking for a quick fix). If the instructions on doing that are in the thread somewhere, maybe someone can point me to the page or post and I will take another look.

Thanks for all this great work and info.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#86 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 07:26

Блин, тема вызывает когнитивный диссонанс. Тут по-русски или по-английски общаются? :)

Дело в том, что не существует проверки оригинальности мода, тому образцу, что используется на сервере.
Согласен, серьёзная проблема. Причём даже загрузка облаков автоматически вместе с миссией её особо не решает, т.к. нет никакой возможности определить изменение файла после загрузки. Печально. Ещё раз подтверждает моё опасение, что моды в РоФ скорее для галочки, чем для реального использования.

Существует другой, более правильный путь реализации разнообразия погоды в игре.
Всё что ты пишешь правильно. Но…
Надо только реализовать это в игре.
Считайте меня пессимистом, но такая фраза равнозначна утверждению, что это никогда не будет сделано.

Я написал подробные инструкции как вставлять облака в игру. Я не пойму, в чем именно сложность увидеть в игре те наборы, что вы захотите вставить?
Практика показывает, что людям нужна кнопка "Сделай мне хорошо", а не инструкция :)
Никому не в обиду и в этом нет ничего плохо, просто я уже много лет программистом работаю и знаю что говорю.
  • 0

#87 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:06

Считайте меня пессимистом, но такая фраза равнозначна утверждению, что это никогда не будет сделано.
Значит будет так. Других путей я не вижу.

То что есть сейчас - накладывает очень жесткие ограничения.
Стандартный рандомайзер встроенный в игру не дает реального случайного числа. Он лупит в 5-10 точек небольшими вариациями, что дает, при отсутствии проверки на пересечение и альтернативного размещения облаков, картину, когда в небе облаков может быть 1000, но все они будут выведены практически в одной точке.

Практика показывает, что людям нужна кнопка "Сделай мне хорошо"

Я даже не знаю что мне сделать. Сделаю инструкцию в картинках сейчас.
  • 0

#88 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:08

How to made self set of clouds.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  5.JPG   137.14KB   358 downloads
  • Attached File  4.JPG   147.21KB   358 downloads
  • Attached File  3.JPG   128.73KB   358 downloads
  • Attached File  2.JPG   131.25KB   358 downloads
  • Attached File  1.JPG   107.44KB   358 downloads

  • 0

#89 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:09

more

Attached Files

  • Attached File  10.JPG   137.49KB   357 downloads
  • Attached File  9.JPG   147.82KB   357 downloads
  • Attached File  8.JPG   131.86KB   357 downloads
  • Attached File  7.JPG   135.8KB   357 downloads
  • Attached File  6.JPG   135.08KB   357 downloads

  • 0

#90 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:10

more

Attached Files

  • Attached File  15.JPG   76.41KB   355 downloads
  • Attached File  14.JPG   123.95KB   355 downloads
  • Attached File  13.JPG   138.71KB   355 downloads
  • Attached File  12.JPG   160.74KB   355 downloads
  • Attached File  11.JPG   133.65KB   355 downloads

  • 0

#91 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 08:11

result
my "average_01" fog = 30, density = 15, my cloud-set.

if you dont rename cloud name (ex. "average_01") - "Path mission" is not necessarily.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  16.JPG   121.76KB   394 downloads

  • 0

#92 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 09:51

So nobody wants to try to make a sky for career mode? :xx:

Here's another idea to raise the interest for cloud making.
I can't test it right now, but it *may* be possible to use custom clouds in multiplayer missions with mods OFF and WITHOUT the requirment to download them manually.
However, to test this I need a server instance of RoF and I don't have time to setup one.
The idea is simple: for each mission there's a special .list file that is used to automatically download localization and other media files from the server to player's computer.
What if we add cloud config files into this list? Anyone tried it?
Sky configs are placed in different folder than mission files, but fortunately the list file uses paths that are relative to game data folder and thus allows to specify required subfolder:
filename="graphics\sky\average_01\sky.ini","da69700e"
and similar lines for .clt and other stuff.

My concerns are:
- does the game really allow to use arbitrary paths in the .list?
- will it create "average_01" folder if it doesn't exists?

Anyone with a server and willing to try?
We need a server instance to see if those files are really downloaded to the client.

This was exactly what I'm hoping as well. Did you do the tests already Ankor? Should I test this on our/my server? Can someone send me the test files, just one modded cloud/weather mode?

I haven't spend any time with the cloud generator, but if we can use this in MODS OFF then I definitely will!
  • 0

#93 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:05

Vander, I've tried it yesterday by setting up a server and downloading clouds to player works perfectly with mods OFF. However DiFiS already pointed out (in Russian) that there's a serious flaw with that. Custom weather won't be protected from modifications - anybody will be able to edit these files and make clouds disappear for him and thus will have advantage in multiplayer. As far as I know there's no way to control that in RoF (there's a slim hope that that those hex numbers in .list file may help - if only they were a kind of hash or checksum… but I doubt they are, may try to test today, but it won't be bulletproof solution anyway).

So, right now the best way may be to make a lot of predefined weather sets and include them officially - to be used in career and multiplayer as well.
  • 0

#94 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 10:38

Well, that is a good approach as well.

My only requirement would be: Make some clouds, perhaps with less particles, that don't have too much effect on framerate. The current "Heavy Clouds" are not very good when you try to dogfight close to them!
  • 0

#95 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:39

Maybe I'll find some time to have a look at DiFIs' excellent work this weekend.

A reminder for myself; looking from a mission maker perspective I would like to have:

-Overcast weather, but without the fog
-Stratus: low "stretched" clouds. No need for lots of particles, these may be "fuzzy"
-Cumulus: We already have these in the game (Average & Heavy), but it would be nice to have something in between. Larger clouds, but less particles to keep good performance.
-Stratocumulus: higher clouds, without the typical flat bottom of normal Cumulus


Altocumulus and Altostratus are nice but optional for now. I think these should be able to use as second layer of clouds

Image
  • 0

#96 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:39

filename="TEST.txt",""

1й вход в миссию - файл закачался, я изменил его содержания на своем компе
2й вход в миссию - файл снова закачался, т.е. содержание соответствует тому что на сервере
  • 0

#97 MarcoRossolini

MarcoRossolini
  • Posts: 2991
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:43

I'd love layered clouds, even more interesting situations for two-seaters and scouts to play hide and seek in.

Edit: and maybe a thunderstorm or even if possible squalls, or fog, or a hurricane, or, or…

Do what you can and what is easy on frame rates, I look forward to the results.
  • 0

#98 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 11:50

filename="TEST.txt",""

1й вход в миссию - файл закачался, я изменил его содержания на своем компе
2й вход в миссию - файл снова закачался, т.е. содержание соответствует тому что на сервере
Да, можно так – если не смущает закачка при каждом коннекте. Но я сейчас проверил и моя "слабая надежда" на то, что второй параметр это некая контрольная сумма оправдалась. Число зависит от содержимого, а значит, если всё работает именно так как я представляю, с одной стороны позволит избежать лишних закачек, а с другой стороны обезопасит от модификаций.
Так что пока всё очень даже позитивно (что прям как-то неожиданно :lol: )

Я там, кстати, в другой теме попробовал целую карту протащить с сервера – работает, но именно так как ты и сказал, только после перезапуска игры. А вот с облаками всё с первого раза подхватывается.
  • 0

#99 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 12:56

Удивительно. Я понял что используя файл "*.list" можно дать команду - загрузить файлы с облаками. Я просто не знал об этом. Значит получается без труда можно добавлять любые облака в игру с сервера. Удивительно - просто удивительно. Получается эта возможность была с самого начала - и никто не обмолвился ни одним словом об этом. Тогда я не вижу никакой проблемы ставить любые наборы облаков в игру. достаточно модифицировать этот файл миссии.

Андрей. У тебя исходники есть. может добавишь в обработку кнопки правки миссии еще и вставку списка облаков из файла sky.ini?


и можно будет пробовать это на любом сервере.

Остался только вопрос - будут ли создаваться нужные папки в структуре папок.
  • 0

#100 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:09

DiFiS, да, я именно об этом и рассказываю. Я сам иногда удивляюсь, почему столько явных возможностей RoF никак не используются. А уж сколько в RoF неявных возможностей, но вот некому ими заняться :)

Андрей. У тебя исходники есть. может добавишь в обработку кнопки правки миссии еще и вставку списка облаков из файла sky.ini?
Там есть сложность с этими контрольными суммами. Я хочу разобраться с тем, как их получать, чтобы избежать лишних загрузок с сервера. Но для начала да, может сделаю просто заполнение списка прямо из твоей программы.

Остался только вопрос - будут ли создаваться нужные папки в структуре папок.
Будут, я уже проверял :)
  • 0

#101 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:12

Об этих суммах мне разработчики отвечали, что это какой-то внутренний алгоритм, т.е. не стандартный. И не дали его потому что нельзя.
  • 0

#102 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:18

Об этих суммах мне разработчики отвечали, что это какой-то внутренний алгоритм, т.е. не стандартный. И не дали его потому что нельзя.
Хехе… Ну я и не сомневаюсь. Я на разработчиков в таких вопросах вообще не рассчитываю.

Но! Я всё-таки знаю что делаю. У нас теперь есть resaver, который вполне официально пересохраняет миссии. Я им уже пользуюсь. При этом произвольные файлы запихнуть в лист можно через MCU_TR_Media. Он рассчитан только на jpg и прочие флэши, но никто не запрещает написать туда что угодно… В результате путём нехитрых манипуляций я могу официальным способом получить нужный мне list с контрольными суммами. Ловкость рук и никакого мошенничества.
  • 0

#103 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:36

Ловкость рук и никакого мошенничества.
Здорово!
  • 0

#104 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 13:39

Smart thinking AnKor! :)
  • 0

#105 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 16:39

Ok, I've added .list update feature into weather gen, now DiFiS should test and build a new version.
Meanwhile I will post some instructions in English.

So, we want to make a custom weather in multiplayer.
Let's say we have a mission in "multiplayer\dogfight\test.Mission".
Also assume that we have already made a new weather set and called it "myTestWeather". I want to warn that if anyone is going to make a weather for multiplayer he must ensure that his weather name is unique! It may make sense to use the name somehow related to the mission name. Otherwise weathers from multiple authors may overwrite each other.

First step is to export a new weather into RoF by clicking a button "Export Weather to RoF". The weather is written into %ROF%\data\graphics\sky\%weather name%\ subfolder.
I think you may do any experiments locally, but obviously you must copy any new weather to the server instance of RoF from which it will be distributed to players.

So, once the weather is ready you must update a mission to use it. This is what "Patch Mission" button is for. Click it, select .Mission file and let it do the work.
It uses official mission resaver that is available in update 1.024. Resaving a big mission may take some seconds and you will see a "dos" window while resaver does its work.
Note that this process does several things:
- updates CloudConfig parameter inside .Mission text file
- rebuilds .msnbin file from the .Mission
- adds references to weather files into .list file
- makes a .bak copies for all of those 3 files before any modifications are made

List file is updated in a "smart" way: if it already contains any references to weather files they will be removed, so you won't get duplicate entries.

And of course, please keep backup copies of all your mission files because I can't guarantee that everything will always work as intended.

I've verified and can confirm that new weather is correctly downloaded and applied. If any file is modified locally (by the player) then it will be downloaded again, so checksum validation actually works.

Let me know if you have any problems or questions.
  • 0

#106 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 26 April 2012 - 17:33

wait tomorrow weater generator beta 1.5
  • 0

#107 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 17:35

Ok, I'll then post a mission for testing here. Just need to finish some checks.
  • 0

#108 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 17:39

Thanks guys!

"I want to warn that if anyone is going to make a weather for multiplayer he must ensure that his weather name is unique! It may make sense to use the name somehow related to the mission name."

I think we'll use the "SYN" prefix for our weather files, that should do the trick. Still hoping that the new weather files will be added to the official release of course…
  • 0

#109 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 18:08

Here goes a test "mission".
Extract archive into ROF data folder on the server (only if you know what you are doing).

Then start a server and join it. Of course the server must run on another PC so you can actually see that files are downloaded to your copy of rof.

Despite my work on mission editor I just don't know how to make a multiplayer mission :oops:
So this one won't let you actually fly (it says that no planes left, but I don't understand why), but at least you can click spectate and see the sky :)

I want to note that there still may be possibilities for cheating, so I wouldn't recommend using custom clouds in games where cheating is a concern.

Attached Files


  • 0

#110 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 19:32

Works like a charm! Just testing it now (I have two PC's). The Syndicate 3 server "Weather Test" Is now running… :)
  • 0

#111 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 19:59

Cool. Joined the server and saw the sky (I've deleted my copy of that weather prior to joining). And you've managed to fix my mission :)
However, first time I joined my game just hung in "downloading files" screen and I've had this problem also when doing local tests. I think this may be somehow related to old mission files in multiplayer\dogfight folder - everything worked perfectly after I deleted them. Still I'm a bit concerned about the issue because I've never seen it before though I don't play a lot of MP.
  • 0

#112 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 20:46

Yes this is a known problem. We have to rename new MP missions or players that have an old copy on their system can't join the game.
I'm pretty sure though that this wasn't the case some time ago….
  • 0

#113 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 26 April 2012 - 21:17

Now eagerly awaiting v1.5 and I'll try my hand at weather making… :) Low Stratus anyone?
  • 0

#114 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 26 April 2012 - 21:50

Well, you can try it in current version - the only difference is that 1.4 doesn't update .list for multiplayer. It can insert weather into .Mission and .msnbin files.

Though I'm afraid that there is one detail that causes confusion.
Weather gen. tool allows to combine a set of clouds, fog and some other parameters into a "weather". However specific clouds models must be made beforehand: Do you want to create a new clouds? It's easy!
For example that teapot for my test was made by DiFiS: Re: weather generator beta 1.2
I believe the need for models is actually the main showstopper. Someone has to make cloud models to use them in weather gen.
Also I'm not an expert in the area but it seems that RoF is geared towards cumulus clouds, I'm not sure if it is possible to make good loking stratus here. Perhaps DiFiS can tell more.
  • 0

#115 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 27 April 2012 - 08:14

v 1.5

Attached Files


  • 0

#116 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 28 April 2012 - 06:43

I've spent last evening making a *very* basic and barely usable cloud editor :)
In this program you can paint clouds layer-by-layer in the left pane and see then in isometric (3d) view in the right pane. Then click "Save!" and cloud will be exported as "test.clt" file that can be loaded into weather gen by DiFiS. During the export the cloud is optimized by removing redundand spheres, unfortunately I don't have any experience in such algorithm so right now it works like a sh*t (and so looks the clouds), but at least it tries.

Note that I wrote this editor in one evening, and it can't load existing clt files and lacks a lot of functions (for example you can't control the width of the brush). So, it is not a production tool, it is just a proof of concept that editing clouds is actually possible. I'm not going to spend a lot of time on it - my priority is still a mission editor, but I just wanted to try. If anyone is interested in such thing then let me know.

Attached Files


  • 0

#117 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 28 April 2012 - 06:48

If anyone is interested in such thing then let me know.
Wow! Take it!

Attached Files


  • 0

#118 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 28 April 2012 - 11:12

Me too! :S!:
  • 0

#119 AnKor85

AnKor85
  • Posts: 1002

Posted 28 April 2012 - 13:03

Good to know - it is really important to know that my work is needed.

I will work together with DiFiS on this tool and with all his knowledge we should find the best and easiest way to draw clouds. But before that feel free to try attached version above - it is only a prototype that lacks very important functions but it should be easy to draw some clouds just for fun :)

PS: Actually, I didn't expect at all that I will be able to come out with something working just in one evening. I hope this tells something about how complex the mission editor task is because I already spent months on it.
  • 0

#120 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3467
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 28 April 2012 - 20:20

Can it make thin whispy clouds? That's what folks really want. But really great work regardless!

Jason
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users