Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Custom Paint Jobs...


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#1 Nova...

Nova...
  • Posts: 1120

Posted 30 August 2009 - 23:40

I was at a friend's house last night and they were watching Evil Dead.
Who knew that the dead could have buckets of blood in them?

This inspired my next paint job.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Nova…
  • 0

#2 Herbs107

Herbs107
  • Posts: 234

Posted 30 August 2009 - 23:52

Thats really a scary looking Alby, i would not like to meet that plane on a foggy day over no mans land..
  • 0

#3 VonZimmerman

VonZimmerman
  • Posts: 448

Posted 04 September 2009 - 05:49

Nice work, but historical > fictional skins.
  • 0

#4 WWBrian

WWBrian
  • Posts: 2418

Posted 04 September 2009 - 07:00

Nice work, but historical > fictional skins.


Oooo..that would make nice additional helper options!!!

[ ] Historical Skins
[ ] Fictional Skins


or something similar

…Great suggestion! ;)

S!
  • 0

#5 VonZimmerman

VonZimmerman
  • Posts: 448

Posted 04 September 2009 - 07:48

uhhh.. ok..
  • 0

#6 rkirk77

rkirk77
  • Posts: 241

Posted 05 September 2009 - 03:02

What directory are the skins located in?
  • 0

#7 Chaos

Chaos
  • Posts: 624

Posted 05 September 2009 - 09:22

Could someone tell me how to do this?

I know how to use photoshop, and would love to have a go at this !S


Is it just a file?
  • 0

#8 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 05 September 2009 - 15:02

Chaos,

http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html">http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html

This is a file posted by DiFiS which has two DVa skins in it, the original and a new one.

There is no template so you have to work with the existing skins, and the files are dds files so you need the plugin for photoshop. I believe the files are dxt5 with an 8 bit alpha but am not 100% certain yet (file size is consistent on new saves though so maybe.)

You need to create a new folder to use these skins: …/data/graphics/skins(new)/albatrosd5a(new).
I also put a WIP folder there to house my working copy so I don't accidentally mess up my progress.

Good luck and hope to see your new skins… mine are on there way ;)
  • 0

#9 Chaos

Chaos
  • Posts: 624

Posted 06 September 2009 - 00:09

Chaos,

http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html">http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html

This is a file posted by DiFiS which has two DVa skins in it, the original and a new one.

There is no template so you have to work with the existing skins, and the files are dds files so you need the plugin for photoshop. I believe the files are dxt5 with an 8 bit alpha but am not 100% certain yet (file size is consistent on new saves though so maybe.)

You need to create a new folder to use these skins: …/data/graphics/skins(new)/albatrosd5a(new).
I also put a WIP folder there to house my working copy so I don't accidentally mess up my progress.

Good luck and hope to see your new skins… mine are on there way ;)


Thanks for your prompt reply, and advice cheers mate~@S!
Going to have a go at it right now-
  • 0

#10 Chaos

Chaos
  • Posts: 624

Posted 06 September 2009 - 00:14

Chaos,

http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html">http://narod.ru/disk...trosd5.rar.html

This is a file posted by DiFiS which has two DVa skins in it, the original and a new one.

There is no template so you have to work with the existing skins, and the files are dds files so you need the plugin for photoshop. I believe the files are dxt5 with an 8 bit alpha but am not 100% certain yet (file size is consistent on new saves though so maybe.)

You need to create a new folder to use these skins: …/data/graphics/skins(new)/albatrosd5a(new).
I also put a WIP folder there to house my working copy so I don't accidentally mess up my progress.

Good luck and hope to see your new skins… mine are on there way ;)


Thanks for your prompt reply, and advice cheers mate~@S!
Going to have a go at it right now-


Couldnt download that skin from the above link as its in russian, I tried to put in number and hit the text below it but it doesnt work :( anywhoo going to try to edit a preexisting skin in that dir
  • 0

#11 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:25

Yeah, I had some trouble working the Russian out too: what you are going to want to do is enter the number and click the green button below it (or hit enter). You will be taken to a page where there is a link for the rar file. Right mouse button click on that and select 'open link in new window'. You will get a blank screen and an option to open or save the file. Save it…

Note: I made an error in the folder needed for the skin, it is: …/Data/Graphics/Skins/albatrosd5 not albatrosd5a! :oops:
  • 0

#12 Nova...

Nova...
  • Posts: 1120

Posted 07 September 2009 - 04:55

Image
  • 0

#13 Nova...

Nova...
  • Posts: 1120

Posted 07 September 2009 - 05:00

Here are a few pictures of the damage to my aircraft when my right wing touched the ground on landing.

Image

Image

Image

Image
  • 0

#14 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 07 September 2009 - 08:18

thanks for the files! I was able to make this! I also made a blank white one. if anyone wants it to make their own. I'll post link to that later.

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/4.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/4.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/5.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/5.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg
  • 0

#15 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 09 September 2009 - 05:06

here is my Final skin

http://riseofflight....php?f=63&t=3000">viewtopic.php?f=63&t=3000
  • 0

#16 winger2

winger2
  • Posts: 1056

Posted 09 September 2009 - 06:04

Yeah, I had some trouble working the Russian out too: what you are going to want to do is enter the number and click the green button below it (or hit enter). You will be taken to a page where there is a link for the rar file. Right mouse button click on that and select 'open link in new window'. You will get a blank screen and an option to open or save the file. Save it…

Note: I made an error in the folder needed for the skin, it is: …/Data/Graphics/Skins/albatrosd5 not albatrosd5a! :oops:

Nice work. 3 Things you might make better. Try to not give the color 100% opacity so the Structure of the plane becomes visible.
Second: Try to not use 100% black or 100% white. The reason is that were working with additive colors. A 100% white will ingame be displayed as 100% white and just shine. A 100% black will just absorb any light and not reflect anything. It just doesnt look right if you use 100% black or white colors.
Last one is that i cant see any specularity on your skin. Do you have an alpha or specularity in your skin?

Winger
  • 0

#17 Grumpy_18

Grumpy_18
  • Posts: 3

Posted 11 September 2009 - 10:14

and the files are dds files so you need the plugin for photoshop

I didn't have any trouble downloading the file I just clicked the translate button on my GOGGLE tool bar.

Anyway, How and where can I get the dds plugin for photoshop?

Attached Files


  • 0

#18 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 11 September 2009 - 11:39

http://developer.nvidia.com/object/photoshop_dds_plugins.html
  • 0

#19 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 13:10

How can I open a .dds skin file with photoshop? Could anyone tell please?
  • 0

#20 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 13 September 2009 - 14:30

You need the plugin I posted a link to, just above your post.

Here it is again:

http://developer.nvidia.com/object/photoshop_dds_plugins.html
  • 0

#21 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 14:37

Danke, Sensenmann.

Attached Files


  • 0

#22 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 14:48

Mh. I have some problems with making this plug in work …

Attached Files


  • 0

#23 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 13 September 2009 - 15:15

Mh. I have some problems with making this plug in work …

What seem to be the problem? Is it with installation? Open files? Saving files?
I will do what I can to help you.
  • 0

#24 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 15:21

Actually I have no idea how to use it. I installed it and I have now two folders within my plugin folder of photoshop, both with files in it. When I click on them PS is launched but nothing particular happens. I cannot open the dds files either. Same when I launch ps as usual.

edit: I have ps 6 (not cs and not elements)
  • 0

#25 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 13 September 2009 - 15:44

When you ran the installation, did you select the plugin folder or did you install to the photoshop root directory? By default the installer chooses the root and this is how you should install it.

Perhaps an uninstall and reinstall of the plugin will remedy your issue. If not let me know.

Good luck.
  • 0

#26 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 15:55

I chose the "Adobe" folder where ps is under Photoshop 6 folder. The Plugin folder is under the ps 5 folder. How do I uninstall it? Delete it?
  • 0

#27 Sensenmann

Sensenmann
  • Posts: 381

Posted 13 September 2009 - 16:01

To uninstall go to your computer's control panel (on the start menu) and then got to "add or remove programs". the plugin is in the list as "Nvidia Photoshop Plugins".

Remove that and then run the installer again using the default Photoshop root for the destination (shouldn't have to change anything when installing).
  • 0

#28 sturmkraehe

sturmkraehe
  • Posts: 967

Posted 13 September 2009 - 16:06

I found out now how to use it.

under Bearbeiten>Voreinstellungen>Zusatzmodule & Virtueller Speicher select the folder containing the dds.8BI in the plugin folder. Then double click the dds.8BI file from your explorer windows. That's it.

PS: Sorry, I do not know the English language correspondings to Bearbeiten, Voreinstellungen, Zusatzmodule …

If somebody could add this please?
  • 0

#29 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 13 September 2009 - 21:11

damn all my skins are white, what im doing wrong?

using those setttings:

DXT5 ARGB 8 bpp | interpolated alpha

EDIT: even aircrafts from you guys are white (only ingame - cockpit), strange…
  • 0

#30 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 14 September 2009 - 05:17

damn all my skins are white, what im doing wrong?

using those setttings:

DXT5 ARGB 8 bpp | interpolated alpha

EDIT: even aircrafts from you guys are white (only ingame - cockpit), strange…


try using a simple name. albatrossd5_fox.dds, some people including myself, found that renaming the skins will do the trick in most cases. try that and let me know if it works S!
  • 0

#31 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 14 September 2009 - 07:38

now, this is what i get…

http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/8083/rof2009091410310811.jpg


the pink Baron! :)

i didnt change anything, except name, just copied your plane into the custom made folders.
  • 0

#32 jamie

jamie
  • Posts: 93

Posted 14 September 2009 - 10:27

RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!
  • 0

#33 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 14 September 2009 - 12:38

RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!

yea, if my enemies see me in that, they run, fearing me while i come "from behind"!

Attached Files


  • 0

#34 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 14 September 2009 - 16:23

RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!

yea, if my enemies see me in that, they run, fearing me while i come "from behind"!


haha nice. dont know what might be affecting that, but this is what I get, and others who have tried it.


http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg


maybe try dowloading it again. and trying it again.
  • 0

#35 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 14 September 2009 - 17:55

strange thing is, only happens with your skin when flying (not hangar/menus), all other skins work, how do you save your DDS?



RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!

yea, if my enemies see me in that, they run, fearing me while i come "from behind"!


haha nice. dont know what might be affecting that, but this is what I get, and others who have tried it.


http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg


maybe try dowloading it again. and trying it again.

  • 0

#36 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 14 September 2009 - 18:12

strange thing is, only happens with your skin when flying (not hangar/menus), all other skins work, how do you save your DDS?



RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!

yea, if my enemies see me in that, they run, fearing me while i come "from behind"!


haha nice. dont know what might be affecting that, but this is what I get, and others who have tried it.


http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg


maybe try dowloading it again. and trying it again.


I save it out as .DDS, when the menu comes up i select dxt5 with interpolated alpha. then hit save. thats pretty much it. thats how I've done all my skins, and that works fine in menu, and in game. I do notice that the pictures you posted look like they have been altered. they look more pixelated, are you sure you didnt try to bump up the color? if you open the DDS file in photoshop, it looks really dark, but in game it looks right. The first time I did this skin and loaded it, it looked like " the pink baron " since the game saturates the colors. so I did color adjustments, and darkened the texture and that worked. so I'm not sure what might be giving you the pink look.
  • 0

#37 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 14 September 2009 - 18:37

strange thing is, only happens with your skin when flying (not hangar/menus), all other skins work, how do you save your DDS?



RoccoRedBaron, Mate, I haven't laughed that hard in ages! That is hilarious!

yea, if my enemies see me in that, they run, fearing me while i come "from behind"!


haha nice. dont know what might be affecting that, but this is what I get, and others who have tried it.


http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/6.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/1.jpg

http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck.../bobnoone/3.jpg


maybe try dowloading it again. and trying it again.


I save it out as .DDS, when the menu comes up i select dxt5 with interpolated alpha. then hit save. thats pretty much it. thats how I've done all my skins, and that works fine in menu, and in game. I do notice that the pictures you posted look like they have been altered. they look more pixelated, are you sure you didnt try to bump up the color? if you open the DDS file in photoshop, it looks really dark, but in game it looks right. The first time I did this skin and loaded it, it looked like " the pink baron " since the game saturates the colors. so I did color adjustments, and darkened the texture and that worked. so I'm not sure what might be giving you the pink look.



i just redownloaded it and put it into the folder while deleting the old one, same issue, looks great in hangar, but as soon as im in the cockpit, i get the pink color.

where can i check your other skins?
  • 0

#38 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 14 September 2009 - 18:45

Haven't uploaded anymore DDS, but here are some screens.

http://i38.photobuck...rner_voss_2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck...om/albums/e110/ … voss_2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck...rner_voss_4.jpg">http://i38.photobuck...om/albums/e110/ … voss_4.jpg

http://i38.photobuck...rner_voss_5.jpg">http://i38.photobuck...om/albums/e110/ … voss_5.jpg

http://i38.photobuck...one/green_2.jpg">http://i38.photobuck...om/albums/e110/ … reen_2.jpg

http://i38.photobuck...one/green_3.jpg">http://i38.photobuck...om/albums/e110/ … reen_3.jpg

I'll be finishing the Voss one tonight. then I'll upload it.
  • 0

#39 RoccoRedBaron

RoccoRedBaron
  • Posts: 29

Posted 14 September 2009 - 18:46

Ok, i fixed it by disabling the post saturation setting in the graphic settings. finally a nice red skin!
  • 0

#40 =MR.FOX=

=MR.FOX=
  • Posts: 577

Posted 14 September 2009 - 18:55

Ok, i fixed it by disabling the post saturation setting in the graphic settings. finally a nice red skin!

ah! excellent! so it was due to game saturation. ok. well good to know for those who get this same thing in the future! down with the pick baron! its funny though, some British pilots did think the Red Baron was a female pilot. They didn't think anyone but a woman would fly such a plane. well. at least that's what they might have thought at first… then once they started getting shot down.. well I'm sure their point of view changed.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users