Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cloud MOD. Heavy clouds.


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 29 November 2011 - 14:51

1. Unpack and copy files to:
"X:\\Rise of Flight\data\graphics\sky\averagefog\sky.ini"
"X:\\Rise of Flight\data\graphics\sky\map.bmp"
"X:\\Rise of Flight\data\graphics\sky\big_test_03.clt"

2. select MODS ON

3. select "averagefog" in missionbuilder or average in "Quick mission"


limitations:
1. Cloud altitude min 2000 metters. Clouds intersect with ground by hight-altitude view.
2. Tales of clouds bigger 4:1 than original and more rotary.

better:
1. Only one cloud for all world. Very fast render with heavy overcast.

Attached Files


  • 0

#2 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 29 November 2011 - 14:51

quick example

Attached Files


  • 0

#3 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 29 November 2011 - 14:54

more

Attached Files


  • 0

#4 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 29 November 2011 - 14:58

Thank you!
  • 0

#5 elephant

elephant
  • Posts: 1156

Posted 29 November 2011 - 15:56

Very nice, DiFiS.
Thank you!
  • 0

#6 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 29 November 2011 - 16:24

Looks really…well…real ;)

Thank you!

Do the clouds move or are they static?

Also, I'm not finding a folder called data/graphics/sky…am I missing something?

Or this for the Mission Editor?
  • 0

#7 rOEN911

rOEN911
  • Posts: 1074

Posted 29 November 2011 - 16:34

way better now Thanks fella.
  • 0

#8 SamJoDo

SamJoDo
  • Posts: 122

Posted 29 November 2011 - 16:37

Looks excellent. Is this only for mission builders? If I add it to my game will these clouds appear in career mode on overcast days?
  • 0

#9 BADMUTHA

BADMUTHA
  • Posts: 3535

Posted 29 November 2011 - 17:50

Oh awesome! So does this replace the marshmallow field?
  • 0

#10 elephant

elephant
  • Posts: 1156

Posted 29 November 2011 - 18:01

No I don't think so…

The former average cloud cover is getting a bit more intense with this mod,
if I'm not awfully wrong…
  • 0

#11 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 29 November 2011 - 18:59

Friends!
I created a sample only.
I would like to know your opinion.
This cloud can be connected to any kind of weather just replace the files in the folder of weather.
Open the files and see their contents.
Welcome to the Russian forum to create clouds.
use translate.google.com

http://www.sukhoi.ru...ead.php?t=65643" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.sukhoi.ru...ead.php?t=65643
and instructions
http://www.sukhoi.ru...ead.php?t=68938" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.sukhoi.ru...ead.php?t=68938

or
Do you want to create a new clouds? It's easy!
  • 0

#12 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 29 November 2011 - 19:26

Looking very nice on your pict!

But…i want to keep stock overcast bad weather too. Also other clouds config as we find them through the CM…

Best would be to create new cloud config file, to add your nice creation as a new weather possibility!
How to do that?
  • 0

#13 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 29 November 2011 - 19:29

How to do that?

I do not know :( Ask developers.
  • 0

#14 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 29 November 2011 - 22:00

I'm not going to bother devs with it…but hope they'll have a look on it, and maybe add this new weather feature in some next update.
  • 0

#15 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 29 November 2011 - 23:27

Wow! That does look really good.
  • 0

#16 rOEN911

rOEN911
  • Posts: 1074

Posted 30 November 2011 - 07:37

Hi i gave a go to this mod but i dont have the "sky" folder i must make one my self?
  • 0

#17 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 30 November 2011 - 12:20

yes, make foldrers manualy.

also,
less heavy clouds.

unpack same path.

Attached Files


  • 0

#18 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 30 November 2011 - 12:22

screenshots

Attached Files


  • 0

#19 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 30 November 2011 - 12:39

If I want these clouds to appear when I select "heavy clouds" in the Quick Mission Builder, what do I name the folder?
  • 0

#20 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 30 November 2011 - 12:45

sky/average
sky/averagefog
sky/clear
sky/clearfog
sky/heavy
sky/heavyfog
sky/precipitation
sky/precipitationfog
sky/thunderstorm
  • 0

#21 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 30 November 2011 - 14:22

Couple of questions:

How can I use this mod with JSGME?

and

Is "less heavy clouds" making the clouds smaller in all weather types?
  • 0

#22 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 30 November 2011 - 19:07

>>How can I use this mod with JSGME?
what is JSGME?

>>Is "less heavy clouds" making the clouds smaller in all weather types?
No. It is my only one cloud for "mods on" with less size.
  • 0

#23 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 30 November 2011 - 19:14

Jimmy, just set up a folder tree in your jsgme folder with the files Difis included.
  • 0

#24 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 November 2011 - 19:54

Damn…this looks really good. I love your second try.
I'm gonna put it in Jsgme to replace heavy clouds…
  • 0

#25 cgjimeneza

cgjimeneza
  • Posts: 198

Posted 30 November 2011 - 22:50

any chance of this being used by JGSME?
  • 0

#26 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 November 2011 - 23:05

Doesn't seem to work in Jsgme…
I created new folder "sky" in data/graphics, cause i didn't have any :? and inside an other one named "heavy" (to get it only when heavy weather is on)
Any help?
  • 0

#27 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 30 November 2011 - 23:11

Not sure that I want it, I don't really understand what it does.
  • 0

#28 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16442

Posted 01 December 2011 - 02:18

Very intriguing, and pretty cool looking - especially the second effort (big_test_04). However, something about this seems to exacerbate a problem I've sometimes seen in normal RoF - clouds undergoing major lighting shifts/changes and popping in and out of view due to slight changes in the direction you're looking. Note the difference near the bottom of the clouds just behind the RE8 in the following pictures, which differed only by a few degrees rotation of the viewing angle:

Image

Image
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#29 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16442

Posted 01 December 2011 - 03:49

BTW - here is a JSGME-ready package for those who are having trouble with putting it in that format. This one is for the second version (big_test_04), and only for use in the "Average" sky condition. I haven't experimented with making this work for the other sky settings yet (e.g., heavy), but if I get them working I'll post a JSGME-ready version for those too.

http://www.mediafire...airx9cpwawj3hk9" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.mediafire...airx9cpwawj3hk9

Just unzip this into your "MODS" folder and use JSGME to activate/de-activate it.
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online: RoF SPAM killer markings 66.jpg


#30 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 01 December 2011 - 04:21

Great Panther, thanks!
I'll give it a try finally!
Good thing if you could make it work only for heavy sky…it's an heavy sky imo!
  • 0

#31 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 01 December 2011 - 05:47

Those clouds are simply awesome!! :o
Black clouds are impressives!

Attached File  2011_12_1__5_27_42.png   1.57MB   575 downloads

But for career mode…it should be VERY difficult to fight through all those!
Problem (for the moment) is AIs don't care clouds :twisted: …they can see through…not us!!!
A real challenge imo :mrgreen:

Attached File  2011_12_1__5_33_16.png   1.6MB   575 downloads
  • 0

#32 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 01 December 2011 - 06:38

test_5: heavy
http://www.sukhoi.ru...l=1#post1741850" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.sukhoi.ru...um/showthread.p … ost1741850

Attached Files


  • 0

#33 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 01 December 2011 - 08:26

все дело в том, что у моих облаков есть много недостатков. Поэтому их нельзя официально использовать в игре.
Я сделал их только для того, чтобы показать большую красивую облачность.
Возможности игры не позволяют сделать такую облачность официальной.
но если разработчиков заинтересует это направление, то оно могу включить в планы создание похожих вариантов.
Сейчас облака очень большие по размерам частей в них. Это неправильно. В моей работе на небо выводится только одно большое облако, потому что иначе облака перекрывают друг друга. Это недостаток, который заставляет меня делать так. Ситуацию можно изменить только переделав сам код игры.

http://translate.google.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://translate.google.com/

the thing is that my cloud there is a lot of shortcomings. Therefore, they can not officially use in the game.
I made them only to show the most beautiful clouds.
Of the game do not permit such a cloud of official.
but if developers are interested in this direction, it can be included in plans to create similar options.
Now the clouds are very large in size parts in them. This is wrong. In my work on the sky shows only one large cloud, because otherwise the cloud overlap. This deficiency, which causes me to do so. The situation can only change yourself altering the game code.
  • 0

#34 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Posts: 3411

Posted 01 December 2011 - 11:32

Looks good, but I'm not going to use it.. If the AI had the same limitations as ourselves I'd snap it up though..
  • 0

#35 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 01 December 2011 - 20:22

I wish devs could add one day this new weather type, when clouds take-in care will be effective.

Not easy to spot ennemies, not easy to fight and fly through, but very realistic!

BTW, no FPS drop with it…
  • 0

#36 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 01 December 2011 - 23:47

A screenshot from the new Elder Scrolls? :D

Image

  • 0

#37 SYN_Bandy

SYN_Bandy
  • Posts: 2599
  • LocationWishing I was in the La Cloche

Posted 17 December 2011 - 14:45

… Now the clouds are very large in size parts in them. This is wrong. In my work on the sky shows only one large cloud, because otherwise the cloud overlap. …

Not sure how to interpret the translation. Are you saying the current RoF clouds contain too many cloud particles?

I've always thought the current cloud particles are too small and there should be fewer of them. A larger but more random cloud particle .tga (if that is the file format used for the particle file) could achieve the same overall look, and go a long way to reducing FPS impact when simply looking at large clouds.
  • 0

#38 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 17 December 2011 - 16:25

A screenshot from the new Elder Scrolls? :D

Image

I wonder what settings you guys are using to get that kind of resolution and beauty… :o
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#39 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 17 December 2011 - 18:08

… Now the clouds are very large in size parts in them. This is wrong. In my work on the sky shows only one large cloud, because otherwise the cloud overlap. …

Not sure how to interpret the translation. Are you saying the current RoF clouds contain too many cloud particles?

I've always thought the current cloud particles are too small and there should be fewer of them. A larger but more random cloud particle .tga (if that is the file format used for the particle file) could achieve the same overall look, and go a long way to reducing FPS impact when simply looking at large clouds.

look this
Do you want to create a new clouds? It's easy!
and video
Re: Do you want to create a new clouds? It's easy!

I want to say i use only ONE very very big (15km) cloud for this weather becouse RoF clouds-random-generations is not easy for undestand fo me.
Cloud like this
http://www.sukhoi.ru...l=1#post1751739" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.sukhoi.ru...um/showthread.p … ost1751739
current limits for one clouds is 2670 particles. It's not enough for the square 15x15km. Therefore I use big size of particles (my 400m vs 100m default)
  • 0

#40 ROSS_DiFiS

ROSS_DiFiS
  • Posts: 801

Posted 17 December 2011 - 18:25

I wonder what settings you guys are using to get that kind of resolution and beauty… :o

Attached Files


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users