Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ROF Online


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#41 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 19 December 2011 - 20:45

Thinking this is the best place for this post and get an answer.
The next time you better start a new topic or to find eligible, no need to arrange a mess.
Do these numbers mean alot, and if we are having issues with a server, can they help give us an idea of what might be going on?
Normal value of 49-50
This is the rate of generation of the world.
The rate of generation falls under a heavy load on the system. And then catching up for lost time.
During the game, it looks like slowing down or speeding time.
  • 0

#42 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 10 January 2012 - 21:03

Noticed I have 2 instances of this process running. I have autorun selected. Is this normal?

Attached Files


  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#43 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 11 January 2012 - 11:06

yes. this is normal
  • 0

#44 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 05 March 2012 - 17:43

05.03.2012
new version
http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip

  • 0

#45 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 06 March 2012 - 13:58

I assume until all the servers get online with the new version, they will not show up on the web page?

http://online.riseofflight.net/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/en/
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#46 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 06 March 2012 - 15:47

yes
  • 0

#47 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 16 March 2012 - 20:45

Updated :D
  • 0

#48 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 20 March 2012 - 03:40

updated
  • 0

#49 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 23 March 2012 - 17:25

23.03.2012
new version
http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip

  • 0

#50 Riemann73

Riemann73
  • Posts: 883

Posted 23 March 2012 - 17:46

Thanks !
  • 0

#51 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 23 March 2012 - 17:56

Vaal, the date stamp is still March, 5th???
  • 0

#52 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 23 March 2012 - 18:03

Vaal, the date stamp is still March, 5th???
sorry :roll: i reupload archive :mrgreen:
  • 0

#53 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 23 March 2012 - 18:29

Thanks, Vaal!
  • 0

#54 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:13

Vaal, is it possible to use ROF Online with two Dservers? Or can we use a different port number for the 2nd ROF Online?
  • 0

#55 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:40

Vaal, is it possible to use ROF Online with two Dservers? Or can we use a different port number for the 2nd ROF Online?
Yes, possible, just put it in the folder in another server.
Flying Circus and ROF Duel server - one server machine
  • 0

#56 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 01 May 2012 - 12:28

Thanks!
  • 0

#57 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 17 June 2012 - 19:32

Vaal, the ROF Online creates a temp folder on my computer (_MEIxxxxx).

Inside that folder is a kernel32.dll. version is 6.1.7601.17651 (win7sp1_gdr.110715-1504)
I am running xp64 bit. (kernel32 ver 5.x)

Is there any chance that xp users should have a different kernel32.dll in that folder?

I'm getting some BSOD on err_krnlcrash and am trying to pinpoint the problem.

And its always bothered me a bit that MalwareBytes doesn't like this file at all…

Attached File  kernel32.JPG   43.96KB   516 downloads
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#58 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 17 June 2012 - 20:29

And its always bothered me a bit that MalwareBytes doesn't like this file at all…
My antivirus does not pay attention to the file.

rof online is written on python, and is build to exe using pyinstaller http://www.pyinstaller.org/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.pyinstaller.org/
By default, the used to build library from my OS, and compress it using UPX. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UPX" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UPX
Perhaps the problem with anti-virus due to compression.

Is there any chance that xp users should have a different kernel32.dll in that folder?
I'm getting some BSOD on err_krnlcrash and am trying to pinpoint the problem.
I used the exact same version rof-online in the OS win 7, win-server 2008, win-server 2003. But in xp not tested. Problems with the BSOD was not.

But you can always temporarily disable the rof-online and wait a bsod. Or you might to read the memory dump.
  • 0

#59 Ketzerfreund

Ketzerfreund
  • Posts: 52

Posted 12 September 2012 - 22:25

Is it possible to have the realism settings of the servers listed, too?
  • 0

#60 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:50

added to the todo list
  • 0

#61 chn6

chn6
  • Posts: 22

Posted 16 September 2012 - 02:41

Hi =FB=Vaal, what meaning about "Ratio" in Pilots Statistics? thx for explain..
  • 0

#62 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:37

Hi
http://rof1.dof.so:88/help/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://rof1.dof.so:88/help/
Ratio – if ratio > 1 - pilot flying in the minority, if ratio < 1 - pilot flying in the majority.

  • 0

#63 chn6

chn6
  • Posts: 22

Posted 18 September 2012 - 04:06

thx Vaal!
  • 0

#64 chn6

chn6
  • Posts: 22

Posted 21 September 2012 - 01:06

Hi, =FB=Vaal, Our CHN-DOF Server disappear in list from 1.028 update, it's strange, I believe every thing right.
  • 0

#65 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 21 September 2012 - 08:50

Hi, =FB=Vaal, Our CHN-DOF Server disappear in list from 1.028 update, it's strange, I believe every thing right.
right now I see the server in the list
  • 0

#66 Quax.

Quax.
  • Posts: 633
  • LocationGermany

Posted 01 November 2012 - 20:28

Site is down :(
  • 0

#67 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 01 November 2012 - 20:30

The site works fine. The problem with some DNS servers.
  • 0

#68 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 07 January 2015 - 20:31

The service is updated. No longer need to use my utility (rof_online.exe) for an update.
The information in the first message is updated.
  • 0

#69 =HillBilly=

=HillBilly=
  • Posts: 5605
  • LocationSouthern Ozark Mountains

Posted 08 January 2015 - 00:14

Next step - Write me a private message that will contain:
1) server name
2) server ip (external, white etc)
3) server rcon port
Is this necessary for the server to show in list?
Frankly I like the old one better, not only did it list the servers it listed the missions and plane sets too.
  • 0

     So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

 
 


#70 -NW-ScudWillms

-NW-ScudWillms
  • Posts: 129
  • LocationFederaL Way, WA.

Posted 08 January 2015 - 08:11

Hillbilly beat me to it…..

OK, you've given the site a new and different look, but there is so much less information there. One now sees the server, where the server is, and who's on the server.

We used to see the server, who is on it, what mission is currently active, what planes are available for that mission, oh, and country of origin via a flag. One was able to bring up this page and make a quick determination, whether or not one wanted to fire up the game and join the action, or wait for the next rotation.

The new look is good….just give us back all of that other information.

Scud

  • 0

-NW-ScudWillms


#71 J2_Jakob

J2_Jakob
  • Posts: 442
  • LocationPrague, Czech Republic

Posted 08 January 2015 - 09:35

Could this site display another information? As Scud Williams pointed out - the planeset info was useful to have. And what I'd appreciate even more is having displayed the time when the map rotates, or how much time is left there. It's really annoying when you enter WG, hop in the recon and after 5 minutes of flight you get to know mission will rotate in another 10 min. :|

(Sorry, didn't read the whole thread, so I don't know if anyone suggested this already…)
  • 0

#72 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 08 January 2015 - 11:41

Is this necessary for the server to show in list?
yes
Frankly I like the old one better, not only did it list the servers it listed the missions and plane sets too.
The name of the mission is likely to appear later. About the list of aircraft can not say anything now.
And what I'd appreciate even more is having displayed the time when the map rotates, or how much time is left there.
It is hardly possible to determine because the terms of the mission may be completely different.
  • 0

#73 ST_ami7b5

ST_ami7b5
  • Posts: 2137

Posted 08 January 2015 - 12:28

Hm…

I hope you will manage to include all the info from the old one and incorporate it also to BoS.
I miss the planes list very much (in BoS and now also in RoF)…
  • 0

#74 VonVonVon

VonVonVon
  • Posts: 26

Posted 08 January 2015 - 20:50

Hey Vaal, great looking update I must say, but I also miss the specs from the old one. Especially the planesets. 8-)
  • 0

#75 FourSpeed

FourSpeed
  • Posts: 1756

Posted 08 January 2015 - 20:56

Hopefully, you're planning to expand this listing, but honestly, as it appears right
now, it seems like a step backwards to me.

Additionally, what is the rationale for everyone needing to *apply* to be on this list?

Why not simply mirror the server list that appears in-game (ie. grab the info from the
Master server), rather than poll only specific servers from folks that had to apply to be
represented?

Don't get me wrong. I'm not against what's being done, necessarily, but the current
feature set is substantially less helpful than the previous approach.

I'm really curious about what is actually driving this change.


Regards,
4 :S!:
  • 0

#76 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 08 January 2015 - 21:40

Why not simply mirror the server list that appears in-game (ie. grab the info from the
Master server), rather than poll only specific servers from folks that had to apply to be
represented?
This service was (before I became a member of the dev team) and still is my personal project. It does not depend on me. So, no access to official databases of the game.

I'm really curious about what is actually driving this change.
Changes related to the new functionality that I want to implement.
Now I'm not going to tell exactly what I want to do, but this functionality will return the name of the current mission.
With a list of aircraft a bit more complicated, but I'll try to think of something.
  • 0

#77 SYN_Jedders

SYN_Jedders
  • Posts: 766

Posted 09 January 2015 - 00:15

Just add a join server option along with a live chat room function and you got it nailed ;)
  • 0

#78 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 09 January 2015 - 03:05

Just add a join server option along with a live chat room function and you got it nailed ;)

This +1000
  • 0

#79 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 09 January 2015 - 13:13

Just add a join server option along with a live chat room function and you got it nailed
This option can not be done because Unfortunately the game does not support such a join.
About the chat I thought, but came to the conclusion that it will hardly be enough demand. So just added a commenting system.
  • 0

#80 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 28 January 2015 - 22:50

http://online.riseofflight.net/chat/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/chat/
I made a prototype chat. Very simplex. Will I develop it depends on whether it will be "popular"
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users