Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ROF Online


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:43

New features of dedicated servers allowed to make this such an online list of servers rof.flying-barans.ru.
Servers clickable icon_rolleyes.gif

Information about each server is updated once a minute. If the server information is not updated within 5 minutes - the server disappears from the list.


Server admin need to edit the file \ROF\data\startup.cfg

In the account must be a login and password, for example

[KEY = account]
login = "login@mail.com"
password = "password"
[END]


The section system to add three parameters
rcon_ip - is the ip of your server
rcon_port - port on which to run the console
rcon_start - launch the console

[KEY = system]
bin_log_folder = "logs\bin\"
chatlog = 1
chatlog_folder = "logs\chat\"
debug_info = 1
gamelog = 1
keep_binary_log = 0
mgenlog = 1
mission_text_log = 1
modes = 0
rcon_ip = "192.168.1.1"
rcon_port = 8991
rcon_start = 1

show_net_skins = 1
skin_dir = "graphics\Skins\"
text_log_folder = "logs\txt\"
[END]


After the change startup.cfg need to restart the server.

If you use a firewall and/or nat - need to add a port - rcon_port
If you wish to restrict access - leaving open the port for 95.85.7.50 (service address)

Next step - Write me a private message that will contain:
1) server name
2) server ip (external, white etc)
3) server rcon port
  • 0

#2 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:48

Wonderful!

This needs a website with all the big servers listed + a big chat lobby with a few smaller chatrooms + a plugin to show the ROF TS channel :D
  • 0

#3 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:51

Hi Vaal, looks nice!

Just to be sure I understand: when we install this on our own decicated machine, will the server show up on http://online.riseofflight.net/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/en/ only or can you use it to display your server status on your own website as well?
  • 0

#4 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:52

If this is going to be a global list of servers, then why not just get the information from the ROF master server?
  • 0

#5 SYN_Repent

SYN_Repent
  • Posts: 175

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:53

great work :)
  • 0

#6 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 29 November 2011 - 11:57

Wonderful!

This needs a website with all the big servers listed + a big chat lobby with a few smaller chatrooms + a plugin to show the ROF TS channel :D
I hope that someday the developers will make a official lobby, chat, etc..

Hi Vaal, looks nice!

Just to be sure I understand: when we install this on our own decicated machine, will the server show up on http://online.riseofflight.net/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/en/ only or can you use it to display your server status on your own website as well?
The server is added to the list automatically when running the utility. If I understand your question.

If this is going to be a global list of servers, then why not just get the information from the ROF master server?

I asked the developers about this a long time. But they refused.
  • 0

#7 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 29 November 2011 - 12:06

Thanks! It's clear for me now…
  • 0

#8 KAPEH

KAPEH
  • Posts: 832

Posted 29 November 2011 - 12:48

Thank you, MAN!!! Really useful thing!
  • 0

#9 Riemann73

Riemann73
  • Posts: 883

Posted 29 November 2011 - 14:21

Great news ! Thanks very much
  • 0

#10 Acasto

Acasto
  • Posts: 197

Posted 29 November 2011 - 20:08

:shock: Great!
  • 0

#11 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4709

Posted 30 November 2011 - 16:51

Works really well! Nice that you can see the plane set and who is flying :)
  • 0

#12 EclecticRazor

EclecticRazor
  • Posts: 631

Posted 30 November 2011 - 17:11

Thanks for this - another step in the right direction. Appreciate the effort!
  • 0

#13 J2_Wallenberg

J2_Wallenberg
  • Posts: 1600

Posted 30 November 2011 - 19:16

Great job!
  • 0

#14 DxyFlyr

DxyFlyr
  • Posts: 27

Posted 30 November 2011 - 19:42

Yes, this is excellent! Is there a link to this server info page somewhere on the RoF site? Maybe coming later? Bookmarked for now.

Along with the chat function, another bit of info that would be handy on this page is a "time remaining" counter for the current map in each server.
  • 0

#15 Riemann73

Riemann73
  • Posts: 883

Posted 03 December 2011 - 18:53

How can I recognize the DS port ?
  • 0

#16 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:24

Yes, this is excellent! Is there a link to this server info page somewhere on the RoF site? Maybe coming later? Bookmarked for now.

Along with the chat function, another bit of info that would be handy on this page is a "time remaining" counter for the current map in each server.

Chat maybe later do, the amount of time before the end of the mission is not possible.

How can I recognize the DS port ?
startup.cfg ?
  • 0

#17 VR_Warrior

VR_Warrior
  • Posts: 41

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:59

:S!: Awesome and very useful!!!

Thanks
  • 0

#18 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 06 December 2011 - 13:35

06.12.2011
- minor bugs fixes
- now in case of an error in the program folder appears log errors rof_online.log
http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip

  • 0

#19 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 08 December 2011 - 05:26

Thanks for this. Now if only Oceanic server gets listed then Ill have all of the servers I play on listed!
  • 0

#20 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 11 December 2011 - 15:35

11.12.2011
- added autorun option
http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip

  • 0

#21 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 12 December 2011 - 12:01

If this is going to be a global list of servers, then why not just get the information from the ROF master server?

I asked the developers about this a long time. But they refused.

What about launching ROF.exe with a command line parameter of server IP/port?
If they could allow this command line, we could click on a server from the page and launch just like hyperlobby..

ROF would also need to allow auto-login, at the moment we must click login every time. I hope one day login can just read from config file and go straight into game.
  • 0

#22 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 12 December 2011 - 12:03

What about launching ROF.exe with a command line parameter of server IP/port?
If they could allow this command line, we could click on a server from the page and launch just like hyperlobby..
Now there is no such functionality. And it seems not planned.
  • 0

#23 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 12 December 2011 - 12:26

Thanks for this. Now if only Oceanic server gets listed then Ill have all of the servers I play on listed!

Oceanic is now on there, thanks for setting this up Vaal.
  • 0

#24 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 12 December 2011 - 18:13

What about launching ROF.exe with a command line parameter of server IP/port?
If they could allow this command line, we could click on a server from the page and launch just like hyperlobby..
Now there is no such functionality. And it seems not planned.

Thats really a shame. Would be great to be able to see whats going on without haveing to log in and all.

Sorry if I missed this in a post, does this show mods on as well as mods off servers?

At any rate, great little utility, thanks alot.

edit,,yep,,works with mods on or mods off….

Port can be edited if you dont want to use the default. It appears you can run this utility, and run the Rcon client as well.

For those who run the dserver, and then join thier own game thru the game gui, you can leave your game username/password as it is in your startup.cfg. It still works.
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#25 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 12 December 2011 - 18:28

you can already see who is flying here: http://online.riseofflight.net/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/en/
  • 0

#26 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 12 December 2011 - 23:34

I stand corrected….If you want the autorun utility to work, then you do have to have your dsever login in your startup.cfg.
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#27 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 12 December 2011 - 23:58

you can already see who is flying here: http://online.riseofflight.net/en/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://online.riseofflight.net/en/
Am I missing something? That's the same link as in the OP. :?:

Regardless, I hadn't seen this until today. Pretty cool.
  • 0

#28 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 13 December 2011 - 00:09

click on the server names and it drops down and reveals plane set, players etc.
  • 0

#29 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 13 December 2011 - 00:49

Yeah, I know that, but thanks. I was just confused about your first post but I think you were replying to sittingduck and just giving him the link.
  • 0

#30 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 16 December 2011 - 04:50

Thanks for adding Oceanic server and does SYN have theirs on there as well, just curious?
  • 0

#31 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 16 December 2011 - 19:20

Am not using this feature alot, but when I do, I've noticed that the autorun feature that automatically starts the Rcon to the rof servers doesn't seem to work all the time.

I have to stop the rofonline.exe and restart it again to get it to get that rcon conected message.

Anyone else seeing this?
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#32 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 16 December 2011 - 19:29

autorun feature in rof_online - this startup with windows
rof_online starting check a server right after the start
but does this one every minute. not permanent.

I did a test:
1) Start rof_online
2) start a dedicated server rof
3) shutdown dedicated server rof
4) start a dedicated server rof
everything was fine, rof_online worked and sent data to the site.
  • 0

#33 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 18 December 2011 - 00:59

If I start up a dserver soon after starting the rof_online, it works fine.

If I come back lets say 12 hours later, and start a dserver, it never makes the rcon connection.

I'll take you comment "but does this one every minute. not permanent" to mean that eventually it times out. At least it seems to for me.

Notice alot of servers are not taking advantage of this, which is too bad. Would be nice if the web page could indicate if its a mods on or mods off server (yes,,,people do run mods on servers…)
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad


#34 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 18 December 2011 - 04:09

The problem you see happens if more than one instance.

Same if someone opens RDP second instance and tries to start server without closing a server that crashed.

You must fully close the previous server instance before starting the next one
  • 0

#35 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 18 December 2011 - 11:03

I'll take you comment "but does this one every minute. not permanent" to mean that eventually it times out. At least it seems to for me.
Yes, you need to wait a maximum of one minute. If the connection does not happen, I will look for the cause. 12-hour test of idle time - I did not ))
Notice alot of servers are not taking advantage of this, which is too bad.
Have any ideas how to change this?
Would be nice if the web page could indicate if its a mods on or mods off server (yes,,,people do run mods on servers…)
I'll do it.
The problem you see happens if more than one instance.

Same if someone opens RDP second instance and tries to start server without closing a server that crashed.

You must fully close the previous server instance before starting the next one
way to replay?
1) run server1
2) run rof_online
3) run server2 from the same folder, but with different settings?
4) stop server1
  • 0

#36 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 18 December 2011 - 13:13

To recreate:
1) Run rof_online
2) Run server1 - rof online connects
3) Server1 crash, error message, stays open
4) Someone else logs in starts new server, same settings, but crashed server1 still running in background.

But it's not really an issue, because we should stop server1 before start server2. Just saying, maybe sittingduck had similar problem but didn't see server1.
  • 0

#37 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 18 December 2011 - 13:15

Notice alot of servers are not taking advantage of this, which is too bad.
Have any ideas how to change this?

Do you have a simhq forum account? Maybe post on the simhq ROF forum too http://simhq.com/for...irst_Great.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://simhq.com/for...bbthreads.php/f … Great.html
  • 0

#38 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 18 December 2011 - 15:57

18.12.2011
- servers that are running in the mode of modification will be marked in the list
http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://ftp.flying-ba.../rof_online.zip

  • 0

#39 =FB=Vaal

=FB=Vaal
  • Developer
  • Posts: 2849

Posted 18 December 2011 - 16:01

To recreate:
1) Run rof_online
2) Run server1 - rof online connects
3) Server1 crash, error message, stays open
4) Someone else logs in starts new server, same settings, but crashed server1 still running in background.

But it's not really an issue, because we should stop server1 before start server2. Just saying, maybe sittingduck had similar problem but didn't see server1.
Thank you. I do not think that this situation with a dedicated server can somehow handle the external software.
Do you have a simhq forum account? Maybe post on the simhq ROF forum too http://simhq.com/for...bbthreads.php/f" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://simhq.com/for...bbthreads.php/f … Great.html
I do not think it would help, but I'll try.
  • 0

#40 WWSittingduck

WWSittingduck
  • Posts: 613

Posted 19 December 2011 - 19:52

Thinking this is the best place for this post and get an answer.

Exactly what is the "sps", and when using the remote console, we can get more information on the sps.

Do these numbers mean alot, and if we are having issues with a server, can they help give us an idea of what might be going on?

What numbers are acceptable, and if these numbers are off, what does that tell us…

Image
  • 0

Old Fokkers Squad



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users