Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Stuttering after 1.021 Update


  • Please log in to reply
147 replies to this topic

#1 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 15:23

Hey everyone, I am enjoying flying around in our new SPAD VIIs but something new has come up that was never apparent before. I seem to be getting stuttering with quite a few different setting options. I've been trying to lower the settings to fix the stuttering but haven't been able to. Does anyone know what may be causing it?

Windows 7///HP-Pavillion e9250t///Intel Core i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz///6144MB RAM///DirectX 11///ATI Radeon HD 4800/// Memory: 3826MB///Display: 1920 x 1080 32bit
  • 0

#2 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 31 August 2011 - 15:26

Possible the skin packs fill your hard disk? They are quite large this time.
  • 0

#3 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 15:33

How could I test this? Would I have to manually delete skins from 2.021? Or is there a way to uninstall them…

:S!:
  • 0

#4 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 31 August 2011 - 15:36

take a screenshot of your settings please
  • 0

#5 242Sqn_Wolf

242Sqn_Wolf
  • Posts: 2881

Posted 31 August 2011 - 17:21

Sometime upload change your video settings.
  • 0

#6 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 31 August 2011 - 17:23

How could I test this? Would I have to manually delete skins from 2.021? Or is there a way to uninstall them…

:S!:

Check the disk space in my computer
  • 0

#7 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4451

Posted 31 August 2011 - 17:51

Here a nice tool on Beta Skin Manager for Rise of Flight (beta03) to clean up your skins.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#8 Dutch_851

Dutch_851
  • Posts: 61

Posted 31 August 2011 - 18:54

I've just downloaded the latest update and also am experiencing bad stuttering, which has never been there before, with no changes to any settings, either in-game or on my graphics card.

intel i7860@2.8ghz/6 gigs DDR3/Ati 5770/ 1Tb hard drive

Can anyone give me any clues? thanks in advance! :)
  • 0

#9 meezer3

meezer3
  • Posts: 99

Posted 31 August 2011 - 18:57

Seeing a pattern here…a LOT of ATI issues. I haven't downloaded the update yet, but I've always had issues with my ATI cards. I'll say it again for the ATI guys like me:

-FPS limiter to 50 or 60
-Sound quality to LOW
-Consider turning off post effects entirely.

Sure we have bad@$$ computers, but ATI seems to be giving us the cold shoulder, so for now, underwhelm your computer if you have a Radeon card.
  • 0

#10 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:33

take a screenshot of your settings please

Image
  • 0

#11 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:35

There we go, unselect multi-GPU, I don't think the Radeon 4800 has more than one GPU?
  • 0

#12 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:35

How could I test this? Would I have to manually delete skins from 2.021? Or is there a way to uninstall them…

:S!:

Check the disk space in my computer

Says my (C:) Drive still has 463GB of 686GB of space free.
  • 0

#13 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:36

96%!!! :0o: Way too high!
  • 0

#14 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:36

There we go, unselect multi-GPU, I don't think the Radeon 4800 has more than one GPU?

Oops, sorry, that is usually unchecked, I just checked it to see if it would change anything but with/without it there are still stutters.
  • 0

#15 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:37

96%!!! :0o: Way too high!

It was the same before 2.021 and didn't stutter. :P
  • 0

#16 242Sqn_Wolf

242Sqn_Wolf
  • Posts: 2881

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:37

96%!!! :0o: Way too high!

I say "Ditto".
  • 0

#17 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:39

Yes, guess you were lucky! Try to lower around 70%, and see the result ;)
Shadows medium is a good way to reduce without eye candy losses.
  • 0

#18 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:43

Yes, guess you were lucky! Try to lower around 70%, and see the result ;)
Shadows medium is a good way to reduce without eye candy losses.

Brought it down to 77% by lowering FPS Limiter to 50, sound quality to low, and turned off Post Effects. The stuttering is exactly the same. :0o:

Tell you what, I'm going to lower everything to the lowest setting and see what happens. :?

EDIT: Okay, setting all to low or off did the trick. Now I'm going to just bump things up piece by piece until I get stutters again.
  • 0

#19 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 31 August 2011 - 21:47

EDIT: Okay, setting all to low or off did the trick. Now I'm going to just bump things up piece by piece until I get stutters again.

Great! that's the best way to solve it!
  • 0

#20 ICDP

ICDP
  • Posts: 139

Posted 31 August 2011 - 22:06

1.020: - stutter free 35+ FPS on the ground and 50+FPS in the air
1.021: - stutters close to the ground but still 50+FPS in the air

I beleive the stutters are caused by the ground bumpmap. Also when I select a mission with overcast and rain (post effects on) I get unbeleivably bad performance. It is sub 15 FPS when pre 1.201 it was 30+.

AMD HD6970 with 11.8 Preview drivers.
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Motherboard
Intel i7 2600k clocked at 4.5GHz
Windows 7 x64
16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
ASUS Xonar D2 Soundcard

From Jason's info he has been in touch with Nvidia and they have given input on how to improve performance on their cards, AMD have not. Despite this I have to ask how come the performance is broken on AMD when it was perfect in 1.20? What has changed and what have Nvidia been "improving"?

While I have no affinity to either card manufacturer I will drop RoF before I will drop AMD as an option in my GPU purchases. Under absolutely no circumstances would I deliberatley limit my hardware options based on one game.
  • 0

#21 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 31 August 2011 - 22:14

Let's not go to ultimatums, OK? This is day 1 of the new update and the dev team will figure out what the problem is and get a fix out as quickly as possible. There was a previous patch (forgot which one now) that also introduced some performance problems for a lot of people and the dev team worked very hard and got out fix that corrected the issue. So give them some time to sort out the scope and nature of the problem.
  • 0

#22 nbryant

nbryant
  • Posts: 165

Posted 31 August 2011 - 22:40

Ok, first I did a recovery install. When I started the game I had not changed the default screen reolution and the game ran great. I then changed it to 1900x1200 (16:10) and the stutter was there. Went back in and changed it to 1440x900 and NO stutter.

Going to keep trying various mixes but am wondering if anyone else has or will try this to see if they get the same result.
  • 0

#23 Joker_BR

Joker_BR
  • Posts: 550

Posted 31 August 2011 - 22:59

Hm, I'm seeing this problem scattered all over several threads now… maybe the moderators should bring this matter into only one thread and close the others?
  • 0

#24 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 23:33

So far all signs point to it being something attached to the ground. Bumpmap, trees, mesh quality…not sure what it is yet but seems the higher you are the smoother it is.
  • 0

#25 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 31 August 2011 - 23:35

Let's not go to ultimatums, OK? This is day 1 of the new update and the dev team will figure out what the problem is and get a fix out as quickly as possible. There was a previous patch (forgot which one now) that also introduced some performance problems for a lot of people and the dev team worked very hard and got out fix that corrected the issue. So give them some time to sort out the scope and nature of the problem.

Agreed. Please, nobody turn this into a doom thread please, just trying to solve a puzzle. 8-)
  • 0

#26 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3468
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 01 September 2011 - 00:16

1.020: - stutter free 35+ FPS on the ground and 50+FPS in the air
1.021: - stutters close to the ground but still 50+FPS in the air

I beleive the stutters are caused by the ground bumpmap. Also when I select a mission with overcast and rain (post effects on) I get unbeleivably bad performance. It is sub 15 FPS when pre 1.201 it was 30+.

AMD HD6970 with 11.8 Preview drivers.
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Motherboard
Intel i7 2600k clocked at 4.5GHz
Windows 7 x64
16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
ASUS Xonar D2 Soundcard

From Jason's info he has been in touch with Nvidia and they have given input on how to improve performance on their cards, AMD have not. Despite this I have to ask how come the performance is broken on AMD when it was perfect in 1.20? What has changed and what have Nvidia been "improving"?

While I have no affinity to either card manufacturer I will drop RoF before I will drop AMD as an option in my GPU purchases. Under absolutely no circumstances would I deliberatley limit my hardware options based on one game.

Then tell ATI to get off their asses and talk to us. They have my information.

Jason
  • 0

#27 kirock777

kirock777
  • Posts: 1138

Posted 01 September 2011 - 01:39

Boom bah! :0o:
  • 0

#28 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 01 September 2011 - 01:53

For those who are seeing stutters, can you recreate the problem in a QMB? Something like set clouds to 1000m, weather to overcast, etc. to create heavy cloud cover and rain. I have an ATI card (6950) and haven't seen any stutters yet, although I haven't flown that much with 1.021 thus far. I have flown a few QMBs with the 150hp SPAD VII and the Fly Now mission with it as well. I just tried a QMB with settings like the above so I would be flying low in rain and no stutters. I don't know if I just haven't tried what you guys are doing or if maybe my system doesn't have the issue.
  • 0

#29 BraveSirRobin

BraveSirRobin
  • Member
  • Posts: 6535
  • LocationHackistan

Posted 01 September 2011 - 02:00

I have an ATI card and I am getting the stuttering down low in QMB. None of my changes to graphics settings so far have made any difference. Clouds are off completely. I'm not going to have time to do any more testing tonight.
  • 0

The toughest part of my job is dealing with incompetent clowns who think they're good at their job.

Free Plank!

 


#30 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 01 September 2011 - 02:05

What are your other QMB settings? Can you post a pic of the setup screen? And, is the aircraft you are flying using an Aldis?
  • 0

#31 DidNotFinish

DidNotFinish
  • Posts: 4454

Posted 01 September 2011 - 02:25

What are your other QMB settings? Can you post a pic of the setup screen? And, is the aircraft you are flying using an Aldis?

I can comfirm stutters in QMB. No clouds, no artillery, trains, ships or anything like that. No Aldis as I don't own the SPAD 7's mod kit. Stutters at ground level. Also, something kind of wierd. Grass fades in. Used to appear as soon as the mission started, now it kind of fades in after you start moving… :?
  • 0

#32 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3468
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 01 September 2011 - 03:03

I have an ATI card and I am getting the stuttering down low in QMB. None of my changes to graphics settings so far have made any difference. Clouds are off completely. I'm not going to have time to do any more testing tonight.

Turn off Parrlax Mapping. Set your shaders to High not Maximum and see if that helps down low.

Jason
  • 0

#33 Jason_Williams

Jason_Williams
  • Producer
  • Posts: 3468
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV USA

Posted 01 September 2011 - 03:04

What are your other QMB settings? Can you post a pic of the setup screen? And, is the aircraft you are flying using an Aldis?

Aldis has nothing to do with this issue.

Jason
  • 0

#34 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 01 September 2011 - 03:20

Aldis has nothing to do with this issue.
Glad you've ruled it out. I saw a posting in one of these threads where someone thought it was the difference between them getting stutters or not.

Just trying to help figure out what the differences might be here. Again, I have an ATI card and I do NOT have stutters. I just completed a Career mission flying the 150hp SPAD VII with no stutters. About 45 minutes of flying and things are working as great as before 1.021.

Maybe its a driver issue? I am using Catalyst 11.3 drivers.
  • 0

#35 SYN_Mike77

SYN_Mike77
  • Posts: 1161

Posted 01 September 2011 - 03:26

how do you turn off parlax mapping?
  • 0

#36 BraveSirRobin

BraveSirRobin
  • Member
  • Posts: 6535
  • LocationHackistan

Posted 01 September 2011 - 04:19

I have an ATI card and I am getting the stuttering down low in QMB. None of my changes to graphics settings so far have made any difference. Clouds are off completely. I'm not going to have time to do any more testing tonight.

Turn off Parrlax Mapping. Set your shaders to High not Maximum and see if that helps down low.

Jason

I already had shading set to Med. Still had stutters when set to High. Set to Low and, oddly, stutters seemed to be even worse. It also seems like stutters are worse when looking left or right than when looking forward, but they do still happen when looking forward. I set landscape quality to 0. That may have helped a little, but not much.

I don't know how to change parrlax mapping, and did not have time to figure it out.
  • 0

The toughest part of my job is dealing with incompetent clowns who think they're good at their job.

Free Plank!

 


#37 2LtBlake

2LtBlake
  • Posts: 45

Posted 01 September 2011 - 04:27

dont ever post, but became too frustrated to stay silent. I have horrible stuttering no matter how low I set the graphics and fps. I also Have an ATI 5450 radeon card. please find a solution for us ATI pilots, being grounded sucks.

not fair :xx:
  • 0

#38 JoeCrow

JoeCrow
  • Posts: 4147

Posted 01 September 2011 - 06:19

While I have no affinity to either card manufacturer I will drop RoF before I will drop AMD as an option in my GPU purchases. Under absolutely no circumstances would I deliberatley limit my hardware options based on one game.

History repeatedly shows that it would be a mistake to put too much faith in card drivers from either source. Cockups and an endless stream of updated drivers abound. I believe that AMD are about to release 11.8.
  • 0

#39 ICDP

ICDP
  • Posts: 139

Posted 01 September 2011 - 06:47

1.020: - stutter free 35+ FPS on the ground and 50+FPS in the air
1.021: - stutters close to the ground but still 50+FPS in the air

I beleive the stutters are caused by the ground bumpmap. Also when I select a mission with overcast and rain (post effects on) I get unbeleivably bad performance. It is sub 15 FPS when pre 1.201 it was 30+.

AMD HD6970 with 11.8 Preview drivers.
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Motherboard
Intel i7 2600k clocked at 4.5GHz
Windows 7 x64
16GB DDR3 1866 RAM
ASUS Xonar D2 Soundcard

From Jason's info he has been in touch with Nvidia and they have given input on how to improve performance on their cards, AMD have not. Despite this I have to ask how come the performance is broken on AMD when it was perfect in 1.20? What has changed and what have Nvidia been "improving"?

While I have no affinity to either card manufacturer I will drop RoF before I will drop AMD as an option in my GPU purchases. Under absolutely no circumstances would I deliberatley limit my hardware options based on one game.

Then tell ATI to get off their asses and talk to us. They have my information.

Jason

Are you are implying that the reason 1.021 is causing problems for AMD/ATI GPU users is down to the fact that AMD haven't contacted you? It isn't AMDs fault that 1.021 has broken things on their cards. It was running perfect in 1.020 so any changes/negative effects came from the developers.

Did you contact @CatalystCreator on twitter to ask him to put you in touch with the correct team for your region?
  • 0

#40 ICDP

ICDP
  • Posts: 139

Posted 01 September 2011 - 06:50

While I have no affinity to either card manufacturer I will drop RoF before I will drop AMD as an option in my GPU purchases. Under absolutely no circumstances would I deliberatley limit my hardware options based on one game.

History repeatedly shows that it would be a mistake to put too much faith in card drivers from either source. Cockups and an endless stream of updated drivers abound. I believe that AMD are about to release 11.8.

This isn't about drivers, also 11.8 are already released. I have absolutely no affinity to either AMD or Nvidia, they are both companies that want my money and I give my money to whoever has the best card for my given budget/needs.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users