Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Best FPS/eye candy in ROF


  • Please log in to reply
123 replies to this topic

#1 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 28 August 2011 - 22:41

Hi,

Wanted to share my latest best settings, after hours of testing on my system (I5 2.66 GHz, GTX 580, Win7 64, 6Go RAM).

I used FRAPS to check the FPS each time, but it seems the FRAPS numbers doesn't appears when taking screen shots :?.

I'm running 280.26 Nvidia drivers too, without any CTDs so far.

Attached File  Sans titre.jpg   131.42KB   4494 downloads
Attached File  Sans titre1.jpg   85.07KB   4495 downloads
Attached File  Sans titre2.jpg   181.07KB   4494 downloads

I didn't expect some results, using only inspector Antialiasing instead of ROF one…
It seems i've get always jagging lines on plane whatever Nvidia inspector AA settings!
Most of all, inspector AA seems only to affect the plane in hangar, but not in game!
(in hangar, the plane turning have usually very bad jagging lines, like if there is no AA at all, even with ROF AA set to 8)
So, or i get nice AA in hangar, or i get nice AA ingame, but never in both!…(anyway i prefer ingame!)
To get completely rid of jagging lines (mainly on plane), only ROF AA set 8 works very good.

Before the test, i was running game like Jason said: ROF supersampling on, ROF AA X2 (or X4) and AF to bilinear with no settings in inspector. Pretty good quality, but around 30 FPS average and 70% memory used…
After the test, with the settings above, i get awesome quality, 40 FPS average and 64% memory used!

Attached File  2011_8_28__21_26_20.png   2.55MB   4495 downloads

On pict above, i get full 40 FPS even with forest (they are really FPS eater) even turning around my plane. When zooming on plane i loose only 2 FPS.
Inside cockpit is 5 FPS more.
No shimmer, nice wires, but still few blinking trees…and hangar sides (flying high).
Most of all, my plane edge lines are absolutely jagging lines cleaned…full zoom or not, inside cockpit or not (it was not the case even with highest AA inspector settings :? )

Attached File  2011_8_28__21_31_45.png   2.32MB   4495 downloads

On pict above, no waving ground at all, even with 280.26 drivers. But i had to set X4 spares grid supersampling in inspector to not have it.
I get 25 FPS average when on ground like that. Anyway, the more we close the ground, the more FPS we loose. Flying low on ground, i get 30-35 FPS which is good enough to me.

I'm very happy with those settings, and hope it could help some same system users :S!:
  • 0

#2 JoeCrow

JoeCrow
  • Posts: 4147

Posted 28 August 2011 - 22:55

Thanks for sharing Fifi!
  • 0

#3 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 28 August 2011 - 23:09

Thanks for sharing Fifi!

Thanks mate!

I forget to say i setted triple buffering on, but it seems it doesn't work for DX games…only OpenGL ones. On or off doesn't change any FPS. But i let it on.
  • 0

#4 SC/JG_Oesau

SC/JG_Oesau
  • Posts: 2024

Posted 28 August 2011 - 23:14

Thanks Fifi - there is a option in FRAPs to embed the FPS
  • 0

#5 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 29 August 2011 - 03:48

Thanks Fifi - there is a option in FRAPs to embed the FPS

Ok, i found it! :D

So i decided to roll back to previous recomanded drivers (266.58) and made some more tests to see if any difference with 280.26 (keeping same settings as first post, and same mission altitude/weather of course).
With 266.58, on my system, i get a slightly increase of FPS (just one or two from here to there). Good!

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-43-33-20.png   1.14MB   4438 downloads

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-43-50-30.png   1.26MB   4438 downloads

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-45-06-20.png   1.25MB   4438 downloads

No shimmering wires anymore:

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-45-29-12.png   1.13MB   4438 downloads

Best FPS increase is on ground looking backward with engine smoke on (3 more FPS with 266.58)
That's the worst FPS of the game:

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-49-55-85.png   1.37MB   4438 downloads

Attached File  rof 2011-08-29 13-52-43-70.png   1.35MB   4438 downloads

I can add that flying low on ground, i get better FPS too (at least 5 more!)…so i'll keep it like that :D
  • 0

#6 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 29 August 2011 - 23:08

An other thing i just tried, is to lower shadows special high to shadows special medium…
I don't see any eye candy difference! :shock:…but my memory usage droped to 54%, and FRAPS tested, i get only 1 or 2 FPS more in all situations.

I would have expected more FPS earned with such a big memory usage drop!!
I don't really understand, firstly why i can't see any graphic difference beetwen both shadows settings, and second the memory usage/FPS ratio…
  • 0

#7 242Sqn_Wolf

242Sqn_Wolf
  • Posts: 2881

Posted 29 August 2011 - 23:16

Thank Fifi, It would be nice to see other results of their video set up on this thread as well.
  • 0

#8 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 30 August 2011 - 02:33

Fifi I can't Thank you enough, Your settings have made my game really come to life…..
  • 0

#9 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 03:34

Fifi I can't Thank you enough, You settings have made my game really come to life…..

I'm happy it could help for some better adjustments.
But it's obvious depending of each pilot computer machine.
You're welcome! (and very nice sig as well!)
  • 0

#10 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 30 August 2011 - 05:30

Here's a shot Fifi from my machine with the new settings, and a new skin I'm working on…just a quick peek, thanks again man! :S!:

Image
  • 0

#11 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 05:39

:0o: Very clean and neat picture!!
What's your saturation settings in start conf? Mine is 0.90 (don't recall how many zeros behind lol)
And great skin too…
  • 0

#12 Herodotus

Herodotus
  • Posts: 769
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 30 August 2011 - 16:09

Thanks Fifi. Though not FPS-related, I am interested in your Gamma settings. I have HDR turned off, yet still the aircraft can become very dark while the skyline at midday is punishingly bright to the point where it's difficult to see anything. Had this problem for quite some time now, and as I say lowering the Gamma just makes the aircraft and other 3D objects too dark while not affecting the brightness of the landscape and skies.
One question - why Vertical Synchronisation checked? I thought this capped the FPS.
  • 0

#13 J5_Wolf

J5_Wolf
  • Posts: 416

Posted 30 August 2011 - 16:15

Where's my config file located and I can tell ya….

*Found it….0.75000
  • 0

#14 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 August 2011 - 16:17

Just to see what would happen, I shoved my gamma settings all the way to 100% and found I like it that way. Softer overall, less harsh, looks more real to me.
  • 0

#15 IRFC_SmokinHole

IRFC_SmokinHole
  • Posts: 1861

Posted 30 August 2011 - 16:35

I'd love to have the performance you have Fifi. But I do well to get 30FPS with Medium settings (see specs below to learn why). One thing I am happy not to have is the funky ground textures when seen from a few feet off the deck with "Shadows:High". I'd rather have the grass.
  • 0

#16 rOEN911

rOEN911
  • Posts: 1074

Posted 30 August 2011 - 18:59

I dont want to ruin your day Fifi but have a look with my setup :P
With fraps set it to 60 fps i almost get all the time 55 to 40 when i record a clip and when i play about 65 to 79.

Image
Image
Image
  • 0

#17 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4451

Posted 30 August 2011 - 19:18

fifi how many Vram does your GTX580 have??
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#18 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 20:57

fifi how many Vram does your GTX580 have??

Hmm…in fact it's a Zotac 580 (factory overclocked) and i don't think it's over 1.5 Go…

I dont want to ruin your day Fifi but have a look with my setup

:) Yeah, you own a very nice flying machine mate!
You're running ROF supersampling with AA X8!! :0o: …and so many FPS :0o:
I see your landscape is on medium, i much prefer the high one for the fields details, such as plowings.
My next upgrade will be the CPU, going for an I7 (875K or 880)

One thing I am happy not to have is the funky ground textures when seen from a few feet off the deck with "Shadows:High

Really? Could you post a pict so we see what you mean with funky ground textures?
Shadows high doesn't give me such things…but so many different computer spec!

Just to see what would happen, I shoved my gamma settings all the way to 100% and found I like it that way. Softer overall, less harsh, looks more real to me.

:0o: 50% to me is just too bright!

Found it….0.75000

So stock one…it's surprising, your ground on screen shot looks like it was more.

One question - why Vertical Synchronisation checked? I thought this capped the FPS.

If i don't check vert. sync, my screen is badly splitted when turning head fast with TIR.
But you're right FPS should be better without it.
  • 0

#19 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 August 2011 - 21:11

Fifi, the gamma setting isn't a matter of dark or light (it's not contrast).

I suspect it may depend on the monitor and video card as well.

Anyway, 100 percent works for me.

I'm just suggesting, for those who haven't, it's worth experimenting with.
  • 0

#20 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 21:16

Well, here, when i raise the cursor above 50%, the overall light is too much!
And it seems to affect the contrast by this way…(even if not related!)
  • 0

#21 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 30 August 2011 - 21:21

Well, here, when i raise the cursor above 50%, the overall light is too much!
And it seems to affect the contrast by this way…(even if not related!)

Well, that's just you and your card and your monitor.

With me and mine, at the default 50% everything looked entirely too intense, nothing like real life.

We don't all have the same toys and there is no "one size fits all" here. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#22 rOEN911

rOEN911
  • Posts: 1074

Posted 30 August 2011 - 21:22

I see your landscape is on medium, i much prefer the high one for the fields details, such as plowings.

I like this too but ,when i record low i set everything to maximum but when you record clips and dogfight higher is useless to loose fps for details that you cant see.If i set everything to maximum + Landscape and Supersampling i have 25 to 30 fps when i am flying low.
  • 0

#23 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 21:24

TOM, here is an example of what it looks like when too much gamma (though it's not my pict):
http://riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=212&t=23146

I like this too but ,when i record low i set everything to maximum but when you record clips and dogfight higher is useless to loose fps for details that you cant see.

Agree with you!
  • 0

#24 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2011 - 22:14

Here is exactly what i get when 100% gamma instead of my current 30% (not that much difference as i thought with the link above).
Same mission, same place, same weather/hour of day, same altitude:

100% gamma:

Attached File  2011_8_30__21_43_45.png   1.75MB   507 downloads

30% gamma:

Attached File  2011_8_30__21_47_41.png   1.8MB   507 downloads

With 100%, colors are washed out for me, even some shadows are missing…the blacks aren't black, and inside cockpit view is…awefull.
With 30% gamma, it gives more landscape depth, shadows are clean black and all here, and most of all my inside cockpit is perfect to me!

I think gammas are affecting contrast to me.
  • 0

#25 JoeCrow

JoeCrow
  • Posts: 4147

Posted 30 August 2011 - 23:12

[quote="HotTom"}

We don't all have the same toys and there is no "one size fits all" here. :mrgreen:[/quote]

Toys? TOYS? TOYS!!!

How dare you!
:0o:
  • 0

#26 242Sqn_Wolf

242Sqn_Wolf
  • Posts: 2881

Posted 30 August 2011 - 23:38

Gamma is for people who have dark monitors. You may not even need any on some monitor. Running your computer at a 100% doesn't mean squat. Some setting are redundant.
  • 0

#27 IRFC_SmokinHole

IRFC_SmokinHole
  • Posts: 1861

Posted 30 August 2011 - 23:40

IRFC_SmokinHole wrote:
One thing I am happy not to have is the funky ground textures when seen from a few feet off the deck with "Shadows:High".


and Fifi wrote:
Really? Could you post a pict so we see what you mean with funky ground textures?
Shadows high doesn't give me such things…but so many different computer spec!

Your own shot…

Attached Files


  • 0

#28 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 31 August 2011 - 00:04

Your own shot…

Ah!…so the little bumps everywhere are the things you call "funky things"! :)
Well, it has been added volontarily by 777 some time ago to simulate better the ground level when landing…
Hmmm…i like it when flying very very low, but agree when plane stopped it's not that good rendering. Even sometime my wheels seems half stuck in the ground.
On winter map, it's a lot more realistic imo (simulating snow depth)
  • 0

#29 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 31 August 2011 - 00:30

What setting gives you the funky things ? Landscape high ?
  • 0

#30 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 31 August 2011 - 00:50

I didn't test if it still remains with landscape medium. But as i'm running landscape high, they are showing for sure…
  • 0

#31 catchov

catchov
  • Posts: 3986

Posted 31 August 2011 - 01:03

I didn't test if it still remains with landscape medium. But as i'm running landscape high, they are showing for sure…

Hmmm, I see. High landscape sends my vid memory into the high range. I guess I can live without the funky things. :cry:
  • 0

#32 IRFC_SmokinHole

IRFC_SmokinHole
  • Posts: 1861

Posted 31 August 2011 - 11:28

What setting gives you the funky things ? Landscape high ?

I believe shadows High creates that effect. And yes it is to provide some depth perception at low altitude. To me that's what grass is for. It looks like Mars.
  • 0

#33 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 03 September 2011 - 02:38

No changes for 1.021 release on my system.
Have to test FPS yet, but at first, it seems they are equal as in 1.020.
Updated post title to 1.021.
  • 0

#34 Mogster

Mogster
  • Posts: 3919

Posted 03 September 2011 - 14:12

1.021 really seems to like my ancient XP32 dual core system.

Special high shadows never go pixellated now and my issues with low fps after switching between cockpit and external views have vanished. ROF is smooth as silk.

This update gets a huge thumbs up from me so far :D
  • 0

#35 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 03 September 2011 - 16:21

The bumps on the ground texture are related to the Shaders setting, not the shadows or the landscape setting.

Shaders MAX will show this detail on medium landscape, though you might note a drop in FPS when closer to the ground (maybe 100m and down), at least I see a drop in FPS on landing and take-off, though normal flight at normal height appears unaffected.
  • 0

#36 Capt.OReilly

Capt.OReilly
  • Posts: 170

Posted 03 September 2011 - 18:01

The bumps on the ground texture are related to the Shaders setting, not the shadows or the landscape setting.

That will be why I couldn't get rid of them when I was playing around today - I didn't get around to trying that one!! :D

However I did find that setting shadows to off dropped my card useage by about 11%, made no noticeable difference to the eye-candy, yet gave an increase in fps of at least 5, possibly more.

With regard to Gamma, unless you are all running hardware calibrated monitors, you're comparing chalk with cheese, because each monitor will be displaying the image differently. Add in the different lighting conditions in everybodies room, and you're simply not talking about the same thing.

As a photographer I do have a hardware calibrated monitor which gets re-calibrated every two weeks. I run a gamma setting of 30% - which works for me!

:S!:
  • 0

#37 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 03 September 2011 - 20:42

The bumps on the ground texture are related to the Shaders setting, not the shadows or the landscape setting.

Yes, thanks for that! I forgot it was it ;)
  • 0

#38 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 04 September 2011 - 23:36

I just discovered something :!:

By checking this box:

Attached File  Sans titre.jpg   138.4KB   517 downloads

I get a huge FPS improvement, like never i had!!

Have a look, i can run ROF full 60 FPS!:

Attached File  rof 2011-09-05 10-11-13-94.png   1.4MB   517 downloads

I earned more than 10 FPS for a view like that!:

Attached File  rof 2011-09-05 10-11-57-59.png   1.46MB   517 downloads

Even on ground, i never had such good FPS with my first post settings!

Attached File  rof 2011-09-05 10-16-16-49.png   1.59MB   517 downloads

As far as i know, my 580 isn't a multi GPU…so i don't know why it is working…
But multi GPU checked is a great improvement for 580 owners!
  • 0

#39 J2_squid

J2_squid
  • Posts: 3815

Posted 26 September 2011 - 10:28

hey fifi, i wouldnt of belived it, but i tried this too (the multi GPU check) and i got about 10fps extra too. Im running a Nvidia 460! Nice find :D
  • 0

#40 Greywing2

Greywing2
  • Posts: 433

Posted 26 September 2011 - 11:06

Ive got i7920 OC3.5Ghz and GTX470 Twinfrozr2 OC to 750Mhz on cOre. Best picture/performance Ive got with all settings to high except AA and shadows/refelctions. AA is at 4x and shadows and reflections are OFF (biggest imapact on performance in the ROF). Only recently I lowered shaders to high (from max) because of the nvidia bug on terrain (with the few latest driver releases). But it still looks very good and game is super fast.
Will post settings screenies when I get home.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users