Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

London bomber map


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#41 Zoring

Zoring
  • Posts: 850

Posted 30 June 2011 - 09:11

Hope we get 32x Speed up for trundling across the channel in a Gotha.
  • 0

#42 elephant

elephant
  • Posts: 1156

Posted 30 June 2011 - 09:13

Or better warp to action…
(I'm afraid such option may be not even supported)!
  • 0

#43 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall
  • Posts: 5549

Posted 30 June 2011 - 11:51

How long did those gotha missions last?

HP missions were c7-9 hours. Not sure about Gothas.
  • 0

#44 Millst0ne

Millst0ne
  • Posts: 1425

Posted 30 June 2011 - 11:54

How long did those gotha missions last?

c7-9 hours.

Wow! If this was put into ROF, Would the map be realistically sized? I can see some MP issues with this! The interceptors would only be up for normal sortie length, But most ROF'ers don't have time or patience to sit in a Gotha for 7 hours.
  • 0

#45 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall
  • Posts: 5549

Posted 30 June 2011 - 12:02

Air starts probably. Of course some people would fly the full thing (maybe SP so you can pause it).

It would be night as well, high level and the scouts (and AA) very rarely found bombers anyway.
  • 0

#46 MarcoRossolini

MarcoRossolini
  • Posts: 2991
  • LocationMelbourne, Australia

Posted 02 July 2011 - 05:25

I'd hate to do that sort of thing in real life, pitch black (for the most part), no radar, open cockpit…
  • 0

#47 JimmyBlonde

JimmyBlonde
  • Posts: 2346

Posted 02 July 2011 - 11:16

HP missions were c7-9 hours. Not sure about Gothas.

The first night raid on London made by Gothas of England Squadron from Gontrode took 5 hours according to Gotha Crewman Walter Aschoff.

ref. Hanson, Neil. "First Blitz". Corgi Books 1988, p.270

According to this account the flight was conducted with a minimum of mistakes but other flights took longer due to navigational errors, bad weather, combat, etc.
  • 0

#48 MPcdn

MPcdn
  • Posts: 421

Posted 02 July 2011 - 12:28

The good thing about a water map like this is that aircraft carriers could be used and yes they were around back then. The game could be 100% water map and each side must sink the others carrer.

Sounds like fun to me.

Carriers could als be used for raids on the mainland or london.

Attached Files


  • 0

#49 charlo

charlo
  • Posts: 814

Posted 02 July 2011 - 16:10

Hope we get 32x Speed up for trundling across the channel in a Gotha.

32x?! Heck, even in missions now, after the first 20 minutes or so when all sorts of planes are in the air my pretty fast rig can't go faster than 2x! :cry:

Sure, ROF will indicate I'm flying at 4x, 8x or 16x, but if I watch the seconds tick off on the little clock, it's usually really only going 2x or 4x, depending upon how many planes have spawned.

Charlo
  • 0
Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake OC @ 4.8 GHz | Corsair Hydro H70 CWCH70 CPU Cooler with two Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm fans | ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO motherboard | EVGA Titan X Hybrid GPU | G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB DDR4 3000 F4-3000C15Q-32GRK RAM | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD | CoolerMaster HAF 932 ATX Full Tower case |SeaSonic Snow Silent 750W Power Supply | Acer B6 Series B286HK ymjdpprz 28" 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) Monitor | Windows 10 Pro | CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Throttle Quadrant, CH Pro pedals, CH MFP, Track IR 5, Buttkicker Gamer 2 | ====== My original ROF rig (now used by visiting gunners): MacBook Pro Core2Duo 2.66 GHz | 8 GBs RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512 MB GPU

#50 J.j.

J.j.
  • Posts: 1959

Posted 02 July 2011 - 19:38

In ROF the end of the map is a texture that some called Stripe-land ,,,,maybe now it needs a new name :P , because after the last HUGE patch .19 it became constant fields texture with no stripes :) no one noticed but they did alot with-in one patch (amazing achievement).

That was not announced in the changelist, and in the past weeks I had difficulties in finding some time to play ROF.
But now I can start again to mess up with Belgian Flanders and some missions for the Aéronautique Militaire Belge.

Terrific job!
  • 0

#51 Herodotus

Herodotus
  • Posts: 769
  • LocationAustralia

Posted 02 July 2011 - 22:02

It would certainly make for an interesting flight across the Channel, considering just how many aircraft were lost being ferried to France over the early-to-mid years of the war. Life jackets for all.
  • 0

#52 VonGerlach

VonGerlach
  • Posts: 60

Posted 23 August 2011 - 08:14

Such a map would work well for Zeppelin raids too..some raids had up to 12 airships in them and tho they were replaced by the Gotha bombers when losses were too high, even with the high flyers, the Zeps were a major element in the air war….
  • 0

Director and Lead

3D World and Game Developers Group Linkedin

"We Build Worlds"


#53 Dunkers

Dunkers
  • Posts: 390

Posted 23 August 2011 - 09:38

I'd love to help on this one. (Just finished reading 'First Blitz'). Like Prangster I've got some experience with Il-2 maps: Midway Expanded, Ian Boys' Burma, RAF Manston for WestFront44 and loads of tweaks for the HSFX pack.
So who's going to make the Zeppelin and Staaken then?

:cheers:
  • 0

#54 Trooper117

Trooper117
  • Posts: 3410

Posted 23 August 2011 - 10:59

Interesting stuff.. Cecil Lewis, in his book 'Sagittarius Rising' makes many trips backwards and forwards across the channel simply delivering all kinds of aircraft to the forward depots, before flying on to join his squadron airfield..
Would make interesting starts to missions or careers, having to fly over from England with a new scout etc..
  • 0

#55 Catfish

Catfish
  • Posts: 1501

Posted 23 August 2011 - 16:44

Hello,
would be very cool to have this in the game. I still remember RedBaron (1 !) and the Zeppelin .. they have a beautiful 3rd party Zeppelin in OFF phase 3, but it does not work in campaign.
Would be fun to have some naval patrols to fly, but this means seaplanes and being able to land on the water. I think Jason said that there has been no plan to implement this yet.
As well we would need a few ships … hard to code into a flight sim i guess (?)

Would also be nice to e.g. learn flying an Avro 504K in a school before being transferred .. or a german AEG ..

So dear RoF team,
I know there's a lot to do, but please do not entirely forget the idea of water, seaplanes and Zeppelins, and a bigger map. Even if it's not possible in the next year or so :!: ;)
I promise to buy all, just don't stop :S!:

Greetings,
Catfish/Wels
  • 0

#56 VonGerlach

VonGerlach
  • Posts: 60

Posted 23 August 2011 - 16:51

It would be nice to have a nice London map, city might take some work ….but I imagine that the developers plan at some point to expand…but one does not how or in what directions. Maps can take a lot of work.
  • 0

Director and Lead

3D World and Game Developers Group Linkedin

"We Build Worlds"


#57 BigDuke66

BigDuke66
  • Posts: 247

Posted 02 April 2012 - 20:24

To be honest I hope it will take a while before London comes in simply because if this London would be like other cities on the current RoF map reduced in size it would simply look silly, I mean this is London with all it's landmarks that the players expects to see from above the size of the city has to be at least near the original size or else it will look like a theme park.
  • 0

#58 O_WolfPac

O_WolfPac
  • Posts: 1294

Posted 03 April 2012 - 01:07

Bigger question is regarding water touching the edge of the map , will the new 3d ocean water carry on outside of the map location or stop like water in a container.
Image
Will a Tank be able to spawn in France and drive to waypoints off the map and arrive in England without getting wet.

We wait and Sea :)
  • 0

#59 Badgerbrown

Badgerbrown
  • Posts: 256

Posted 14 May 2012 - 19:44

The chanel map on one side - city of London proper on the back/map 2.

Eagerly awaiting…
  • 0

#60 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 14 May 2012 - 19:57

It doesn't even require crossing the channel. There will be lots of targets along the Channel coast if it is done properly.

There were many German ports and aerodromes in Belgium that were bombed regularly by British and French bombers flying from bases along the French coast. Submarines based inland at Bruges and moving to the channel along canals were often attacked.

Similarly, German bombers from the Belgian air bases bombed Allied bases along the French coast. And they attacked British ships standing off shore bombarding the German ports.

A ship type I really would like to see is any of several classes of British monitors, small (destroyer-size) shallow-draft ships mounting battleship-size guns that could stand off shore far enough to avoid the German shore batteries. They were unique to WWI.

The flight distances actually were quite short.

Both Gothas and H-Ps flew those mission, (but only at night). Daylight bombing by Sopwith Strutters and DH4s was a routine mission (weather permitting.

No need for cross-channel flight unless you really enjoy long flights (I do).
  • 0

#61 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 14 May 2012 - 22:10

Yes I was hoping peoplew ould stop calling it a channel map, and start calling it a coastal map :)
  • 0

#62 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall
  • Posts: 5549

Posted 14 May 2012 - 23:14

Precisely - everyone knows a 'map' of water is called a 'chart' anyway. 'Channel map' makes no sense.
  • 0

#63 TheBlackPenguin

TheBlackPenguin
  • Posts: 567

Posted 14 May 2012 - 23:21

I wonder if we'll have the Worlds Longest pleasure Pier modeled on this map (its in Southend-on-Sea)? It wouldn't be too far away from Rochford Aerodrome, which was the biggest airfield in Essex and important for home defence.
  • 0

#64 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 14 May 2012 - 23:34

Gentlemen…it's a map, and in the center is: The English Channel. "Channel Map" makes perfect sense. :P ;)

:lol:
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#65 von_Pilsner

von_Pilsner
  • Posts: 107

Posted 22 May 2012 - 19:00

Gentlemen…it's a map, and in the center is: The English Channel. "Channel Map" makes perfect sense. :P ;)

:lol:
I agree, though if we want to be pedantic we can insist on calling it the 'Strait of Dover' map… :D

Image
  • 0

#66 Dunkers

Dunkers
  • Posts: 390

Posted 22 May 2012 - 21:00

Gentlemen…it's a map, and in the center is: The English Channel. "Channel Map" makes perfect sense. :P ;)

:lol:


Ummm… afraid not. The English Channel goes from the Strait of Dover westward. There's precious little of it on the new RoF map. The rest of the sea area on the map is actually the Thames Estuary and the (majority of it) North Sea.

Still, what's in a name?

:cheers:
  • 0

#67 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 22 May 2012 - 22:09

Gentlemen…it's a map, and in the center is: The English Channel. "Channel Map" makes perfect sense. :P ;)

:lol:


Ummm… afraid not. The English Channel goes from the Strait of Dover westward. There's precious little of it on the new RoF map. The rest of the sea area on the map is actually the Thames Estuary and the (majority of it) North Sea.

Still, what's in a name?

:cheers:

Touche, sir, touche. :S!:

I've always looked at the stretch of water between France and England as the "English Channel"…but hey, je suis un Americain, so take it with a grain of salt. :lol:
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#68 Rama

Rama
  • Posts: 338

Posted 22 May 2012 - 23:09

I've always looked at the stretch of water between France and England as the "English Channel"…but hey, je suis un Americain, so take it with a grain of salt.

Well, well, well… the "English Channel" is the portion of sea between England and France… today it's not specifically "English" (even if the Islands in between are brittish…). The Hundred year war is over since near 500 years… 8-)
AS information the French don't even call it the "Channel", it is "La Manche" (that you could translate by "the sleeve")… :mrgreen:
Same as for the "strait of Dover", for the French it's the "Strait of Calais". ;)
  • 0

#69 navair2

navair2
  • Posts: 1467
  • LocationIllinois, USA

Posted 23 May 2012 - 10:53

:lol:

Well said Rama. 8-)
  • 0

Case: Corsair 650D Motherboard: AsRock Z77 Extreme4 PSU: Antec TruePower New 750 Blue CPU: Intel i5-2500K ( Socket 1155 )

CPU Cooler: ZalMan CNPS9500A LED GPU: EVGA GTX 580 MEM: 8 GB G.Skill PC12800 DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Monitor: Samsung 2343 BWX 23"@ 2048 x 1152 OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit


#70 redcoat22

redcoat22
  • Posts: 840

Posted 05 July 2012 - 15:16

In case anyone missed this.

Aerial pictures of England around our period.


http://www.bbc.co.uk...gazine-18542080" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.bbc.co.uk...gazine-18542080
  • 0

#71 zachanscom

zachanscom
  • Posts: 385

Posted 07 July 2012 - 04:39

Great idea, but how many players would relish the idea of flying that far in a slow bomber and similarly any defending players would have very few targets to go for. I can see some gameplay issues arising.
they'd have to implement air start in the campaign and possibly time compression x32
  • 0

#72 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 07 July 2012 - 06:48

and possibly time compression x32

My 'not that bad' rig, can't really handle X16 many times…so think about X32!…
  • 0

#73 zachanscom

zachanscom
  • Posts: 385

Posted 21 July 2012 - 07:08

sorry to offend you, but london appears not to be included. i think that solves the issue of long flights.

Image
  • 0

#74 sallee

sallee
  • Posts: 1662

Posted 21 July 2012 - 20:29

sorry to offend you, but london appears not to be included. i think that solves the issue of long flights.

Image
(Blimey the spelling needs some seeing to!)

Well since some of the worst Gotha Raids were on Dover Folkestone and other coastal towns I think it's still game on!
  • 0

#75 zachanscom

zachanscom
  • Posts: 385

Posted 21 July 2012 - 22:12

also rendering london would definitely have been problematic. though i still am very curious what it might look like. the engines does seem fine rendering some of the larger towns like lille and reims. with good lod progression, who knows, london might be doable.
  • 0

#76 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall
  • Posts: 5549

Posted 21 July 2012 - 22:15

We don't have Paris yet either.
  • 0

#77 Avimimus

Avimimus
  • Posts: 1317

Posted 25 July 2012 - 14:21

also rendering london would definitely have been problematic. though i still am very curious what it might look like. the engines does seem fine rendering some of the larger towns like lille and reims. with good lod progression, who knows, london might be doable.

Get a copy of Il-2 CoD ;)

Only 20 years later… (1940)
  • 0

#78 zachanscom

zachanscom
  • Posts: 385

Posted 26 July 2012 - 22:08

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=4TuDxW6QhSE" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">

well it looks like the pop up would be horrendous for london, but maybe that's just a il2 cod problem, ie not having good lod progression.
  • 0

#79 Bf-110

Bf-110
  • Posts: 649

Posted 27 July 2012 - 00:54

Well,IL2 CoD haves London,I guess.But however,game is heavier than a fully loaded AN-225 with a Buran on its back.

IDK if I already asked,but were the WWI raids on England similar to the WWII ones?Or they were far lighter?(In damage and frequency,not in payload)
  • 0

#80 BADMUTHA

BADMUTHA
  • Posts: 3535

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:33



well it looks like the pop up would be horrendous for london, but maybe that's just a il2 cod problem, ie not having good lod progression.

Play it yourself before judging, my game has nowhere near that level of popin; I have the view distance set enough that buildings and trees only pop in just out of what I can see.
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users