Photo
- - - - -

London bomber map

• Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 Prangster

Prangster

Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:40

I was reading "The First Blitz" and "Green Balls" about the German and British strategic bombing campaigns and thought I'd take a look at what size map you would need to recreate them.

I was surprised that the map would only be around half the size of the current RoF Western Front map. It looks quite feasible assuming the game engine can be changed to include open sea and can handle the large number of building needed to reproduce London.

I have already created two mod maps for Il2 (Sakishima and Palembang) as well as the Mosquito so I have some experience and I would love to have a crack at producing this map for RoF. I hope now the campaign is out 777 will have the time to produce the tools and information to allow 3rd party maps and ground objects.

Prangster

SWsig.jpg

#2 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri

Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:51

I deeply share your hope. It would be a great addition and would open up a whole league of new possibilities for ROF, as well as complete the current map which doesn't have enough Belgium on it.

#3 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall

Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:54

+1 Short Sea-planes and Sopwith Baby.

And finally there'd be a point in the HP and Gotha and home defence skins and RNAS channel ports and the main RFC dept at St Omer.

Landing a Pup on the deck of HMS Furious for anyone?

#4 HotTom

HotTom

Posted 15 June 2011 - 21:55

It's much more than just a "London bomber map"! It could really offer whole new dimensions of play to RoF!

In addition to German bomber targets in SE England, your map also has the advantage of providing many historical targets for Allied bombers including submarine and Zeppelin bases on the Belgian coast at Ostend (Oostende), Bruges (Brugge) and Zeebrugge. And, of course, fighter bases on both sides to defend the targets.