Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

TO ALL PEOPLE RUNNING SERVERS


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rkirk77

rkirk77
  • Posts: 241

Posted 08 August 2009 - 04:54

Hello there, just a hint to all the people running servers.. TURN THE GRAPHICS DOWN!! LOL By setting everything so high in the game makes it harder for everyone else to play because the game is already CPU hungry and will thus take up more bandwidth.. In laments terms.. NOT GOOD..
  • 0

#2 Smudge

Smudge
  • Posts: 226

Posted 08 August 2009 - 11:48

surely your game visual settings won't effect bandwith
  • 0

#3 =IRFC=AirBiscuit

=IRFC=AirBiscuit
  • Posts: 2455
  • LocationNaples, FL USA

Posted 08 August 2009 - 12:28

If their framerate is adequate (60+), the server should be responsive enough. I mean, at least I would think so. I don't know what the network tick rate of the server is. I'm guessing it's <= 60hz tho. Many games use 20-30hz server frames.
  • 0

=IRFC=Air Biscuit

http://quetoo.org


#4 MiG-77

MiG-77
  • Posts: 2651

Posted 08 August 2009 - 12:41

In multiplayer server dont send any data about graphics so graphic setting is irrelevant aslong server side has enought power to handle it all (slowdown in server side means also slow down everyone connected). Also if server is dedicated, then it wont even "see" anything. It just sends/reaceives plane positions, etc.
  • 0

#5 rkirk77

rkirk77
  • Posts: 241

Posted 08 August 2009 - 15:04

Ok, Mig.. so if i have my settings all the way down (which i do) .. and when i log on to these servers, my settings are all of a sudden JACKED ALL THE WAY UP AGAIN.. I can tell by the tree's and the grass (for example).. so i DO think that the person who is serving dictates the default settings for the Online game, which .. for now should be turned all the way down..
  • 0

#6 Dumbo

Dumbo
  • Posts: 121

Posted 08 August 2009 - 15:31

Another suggestion to all people running servers…

If you've got TeamSpeak up and running, it would be great if you could put the TeamSpeak address somewhere where players could see it before actually entering the game–e.g., in the mission briefing, in the server's name. I'm a total newbie to RoF on-line so forgive me if what I'm suggesting here is already being done (or can't be done, practically).
  • 0
Dumbo
  :icon_e_smile:
 
Intel Core i7-6700 processor 3.4 Ghz
Asus Strix GeForce GTX960 4GB graphics card
Kingston 240GB SSD hard drive
Gigabyte Z170X GAMING 3 mobo
Cougar RS 650 watt power supply
Kingston 8GB PC4-2133 desktop RAM
Windows 10 Premium 64 OEI
24" Dell LCD monitor
CH Fighterstick/ProPedals
TrackIR 5-Pro

#7 Smudge

Smudge
  • Posts: 226

Posted 08 August 2009 - 15:46

i think you could put it in the mission discription or the mission briefing (available in the aircraft selection screen)

BUT you have to understand some people don't like having random people (sometimes kids) shouting on there TS servers and leaving an address public leads to that quite a lot.
  • 0

#8 Dumbo

Dumbo
  • Posts: 121

Posted 09 August 2009 - 03:52

Never thought of that, Smudge. You're probably right :( .
  • 0
Dumbo
  :icon_e_smile:
 
Intel Core i7-6700 processor 3.4 Ghz
Asus Strix GeForce GTX960 4GB graphics card
Kingston 240GB SSD hard drive
Gigabyte Z170X GAMING 3 mobo
Cougar RS 650 watt power supply
Kingston 8GB PC4-2133 desktop RAM
Windows 10 Premium 64 OEI
24" Dell LCD monitor
CH Fighterstick/ProPedals
TrackIR 5-Pro


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users