Photo
- - - - -

A great WWI aircraft reference book.....

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 US95th_Vampire

US95th_Vampire

Posted 03 April 2011 - 02:09

S! to all…

I have just had a great book sent to me, (yes,he is one of the authors),by an old and honorable foe. We have bumped heads in RB3D and IL-2, he is a great friend to have on your wing :S!: and a real pain to have on your six :x .. :xx: …..

The book is called, The Essential Aircraft Identification Guide Aircraft of World War I 1914-1918. By Jack Herris and Bob Pearson…by Amber Books Ltd. UK..C/R 2010..ISBN978-906626-66-2.

If this volume is not on your shelf, get it. The illustrations and the tech write ups, are outstanding, and belong on everyone's self who is into WWI aircraft….( I am a third generation pilot, and know good info manuals, when I see them).

BTW, maybe, just maybe, he can be talked into doing some projects for you….Vamp…

#2 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall

Posted 03 April 2011 - 07:28

Thanks for this recommendation.

I hope you don't mind but I've added it to this thread:

Recommended Reading

#3 JoeCrow

JoeCrow

Posted 03 April 2011 - 10:09

I can also recommend a small illustrated book by Francis Crosby (Imperial War Museum):

'The Illustrated Book of Fighter Aircraft' (Hermes House), with many previously unpublished pictures from the IWM archive. WW1 onwards.

#4 Colslaw

Colslaw

Posted 04 May 2012 - 00:08

I just bought an ipod and while checking the apps store I downloaded an app that finds military books … turns out it is a store for Amber - yes, the publisher that Jack Herris and I did the WWI Aircraft book for. In the pre-WWII section the first three options are FOR OUR BOOK "Complete Guide to WWI Aircraft 1914-1918" broken up into three sections. It will be $36 to download the entire thing to an ipod. . but it beats paying $2000 for it on Amazon now

#5 J2_Tony

J2_Tony

Posted 04 May 2012 - 00:24