Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

TDM - The 14 Hour Offensive 1918


  • Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#1 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 25 March 2011 - 17:22

A few of us have just finished testing a mission that I hope can appeal to a BROADER spectrum of players, in response to the "Question to the MP community". I have made a new version of this with CLOSE BASES - there should be no trouble finding each other for a fight :x

I want to try to appeal to most players so we can once again join together for the kind of large bustling busy MP that we used to remember. The things I tried to incorporate into the mission to appeal to both sides of the realism/quake debate:

  • Large centrally accessible region of objectives for both sides, not dispersed.
  • SHORT distance to the fight!
  • Air starts so players with limited time can get into the action quickly, and new players don't have trouble with mixture or starting engines! A ground start base as well for those who like it real.
  • Low (1000m) clouds for fun cloud fights and bomber tactics
  • 6000 feet Air starts for bombers to save climbing time. Actually is fairly realistic compared to the usual circle climbing for 30 minutes, as airstarts simulate being halfway through the LONG fight that happened in reality.
  • Long running "WAR" mission - no mission timeout all day for 14 hours until night time, so you can begin your bomber climb without getting a timeout message. It actually runs 6am-8pm (14 hours).
  • Historical "basis" - based on the Meuse-Argonne offensive, the American's contribution at Verdun in particular, but VERY loosely. Gameplay is the chief concern to keep peoples interest as FUN is the most important thing, whatever style of fun that is we can try for a balance.
  • Objectives that are open: Something for everyone. You can either fly bomber/recon cover, recon hunt, play ground strafing, tank hunting, or high patrol for some PvP combat. Even strategic denial of planes to the enemy by knocking out their airbases that have the best planes/bombers. Knock out the two bomber bases and they can't bomb for an while.
  • DFW - it's intended for the DFW to give central fighter-bomber abilities… to attack the AAA positions, barges, trains, tanks etc.
  • Tanks will move in and attempt to attack enemy units - and your airbases!
  • Balanced plane sets (1918). Each plane will have a front start set and a back/ground start set.

Some notes for server hosts:
1. It does start early - 6:05am. But it gets lighter quickly and the morning has very nice lighting.
2. It's intended to run for a longer period so set your rounds up high. It can run any time between 3 hours and 14 hours 6am-8pm ingame time.
3. Please don't change planesets or bases without checking first. You may edit the briefing to add your server rules etc. Let me know any feedback or issues.

DOWNLOAD AI 2-Seater and Artillery Versions (original): Attached File  The 14 Hour Offensive v1.21.rar   123.26KB   110 downloads
DOWNLOAD AI Fighter Cut Down Versions (less memory): Attached File  The 14 Hour Offensive v1.25.rar   111.87KB   91 downloads

A screenshot of one mission today, my friends in DFWs escorting my GOTHA to destroy the allied airfield :x
Image
  • 0

#2 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 26 March 2011 - 12:32

Updated mission - the bases were too far to attract the fast food crowd.

They are now MUCH MUCH closer, hopefully suitable for all.
  • 0

#3 kirock777

kirock777
  • Posts: 1138

Posted 26 March 2011 - 13:43

Thanks, O_TaipaN!
Tried out the earlier version on our FBS server yesterday and found it a blast to fly!
Beautiful map!

Note: Got up early this morning and saw you were flying on it… did the server work well for ya?
  • 0

#4 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 26 March 2011 - 14:06

Yeah it worked pretty well thanks, has the server got high outgoing bandwidth and good CPU?

The new versions up on your server now I'm going in for a game.
  • 0

#5 kirock777

kirock777
  • Posts: 1138

Posted 26 March 2011 - 14:22

Yeah it worked pretty well thanks, has the server got high outgoing bandwidth and good CPU?

The new versions up on your server now I'm going in for a game.

I pay extra for bandwidth/speed on my connection (Comcast) and the CPU is an AMD Athlon II x4 635 OC'd to 3.2

Not the top of the heap, but not at the bottom either… seems to work pretty well… especially with your cool maps.
Keep it up! :D

(God, I hate these new smilies! shudder)
  • 0

#6 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 26 March 2011 - 14:31

Cool.

Moving the bases closer did also move their AAA defense - which makes many objects in a tight area - NOT good for performance. I noticed the prop stopped spinning on the DFW AI this is a sign of slowdown.

So I've done another edit:
- removed half AAA from front bases
- removed the target area MGs since theres already some in the front and at the front bases.
- changed base rebuild times, as some bomber pilots are so good to blow up ALL the bases so quickly. Now front base rebuilds in 30 minutes, second base in 20 minutes, and back base rebuilds in 10 minutes. So you should always have at least one base if there are eager bomber pilots. Otherwise - fighters protect your bases if you're still in the air and one goes down!

I quickly updated it I think you were the only one who downloaded the new one yet. So please grab new one again for better performance… sorry your server has been a test ground but thanks its helped alot! Got all the bugs ironed out.
  • 0

#7 kirock777

kirock777
  • Posts: 1138

Posted 26 March 2011 - 16:24

I think it's cool being the guinea pig once in a while… keeps things fresh!
I'm downloading and installing now.

EDIT: My apologies to anyone that was playing when I switched to this new map and got bumped.
  • 0

#8 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 27 March 2011 - 03:05

Thanks.
Minor edit for 1.17 - removed lots of outside buildings due to the mission area getting smaller now. Will now use a bit less memory.
  • 0

#9 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 27 March 2011 - 08:25

New dark system means 14 hours is too long it's too dark.
Changed 1.18 - Finishes at 7pm instead of 8pm now.
  • 0

#10 SYN_Kollwitz

SYN_Kollwitz
  • Posts: 298

Posted 27 March 2011 - 10:33

Hi Taipan,

I put this one up on the intermediate server, havent flown it myself yet, but it looks like a winner,

keep up the good work,
cheers,
SYN_Kollwitz
  • 0

#11 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 27 March 2011 - 10:46

Cool Kol, will have a go next time I see it up
  • 0

#12 charlo

charlo
  • Posts: 814

Posted 27 March 2011 - 19:19

Not sure which version of this fantastic mission I was flying yesterday, but here's an interesting consequence of the much closer airbases.

After a lengthy dogfight in my Camel flying against Kleini (S! Kleini!) in his DVIII, I was happy to return to base for a well-deserved rest…

… only to find a German tank sitting on the airfield and happily firing away! :shock: There was another in town, too.

Oh, how I wish I still had bombs to drop on them, since shooting up a tank takes a lot of rounds. After many firing passes on the one on my landing field he eventually damaged me, so I just landed as far away from him as I could but still be on the airfield itself.

It is so cool to be surprised by the ground war when flying ROF. 8-)

Charlo
  • 0
Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake OC @ 4.8 GHz | Corsair Hydro H70 CWCH70 CPU Cooler with two Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm fans | ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO motherboard | EVGA Titan X Hybrid GPU | G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB DDR4 3000 F4-3000C15Q-32GRK RAM | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD | CoolerMaster HAF 932 ATX Full Tower case |SeaSonic Snow Silent 750W Power Supply | Acer B6 Series B286HK ymjdpprz 28" 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) Monitor | Windows 10 Pro | CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Throttle Quadrant, CH Pro pedals, CH MFP, Track IR 5, Buttkicker Gamer 2 | ====== My original ROF rig (now used by visiting gunners): MacBook Pro Core2Duo 2.66 GHz | 8 GBs RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512 MB GPU

#13 Wolfstrike

Wolfstrike
  • Posts: 185

Posted 27 March 2011 - 20:12

What is the name of this server?
  • 0

#14 hq_Neca

hq_Neca
  • Posts: 282

Posted 27 March 2011 - 21:30

Currently Les Hellequins server is running this mission.
  • 0

#15 Wolfstrike

Wolfstrike
  • Posts: 185

Posted 27 March 2011 - 21:35

ty
  • 0

#16 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 00:24

Yep the arty will shoot at them if the recon survives to spot them. But arty is not always accurate too so you sometimes have to help out with bombs.

The arrows on the map show the tank movement from the other side. DFW is a great tank killer, as is the Sopwith Dolphin on the other side. With guns they only really damage in the rear but it takes too long grab bombs :)
  • 0

#17 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 04:01

Small Update 1.19:
-some allied tanks got stuck on a building, fixed this with better waypoints. Now allied tanks will have the same chances to bust through as central
-split tank attacks between two bases for more dynamic results
-adjusted artillery
-reduced frontline machine guns for better performance
  • 0

#18 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 16:41

Updated 1.20:
-air start and ground start version
-main targets come back 20min instead of 60min
-removed frontline MGs for better performance on older computers
-removed some artillery for better performance on older computers
-added "CENTRE POINT" frontline quick-respawning balloons to attract planes for dogfight
-both front aerodromes repair in 20minutes now
-fixed balloon respawns
  • 0

#19 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 28 March 2011 - 16:43

Will pop 1.20 on later, does the groundstart one still have airstart for bombers or is there no airstart at all?
  • 0

#20 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 16:44

Same as your version, air for bombers, ground for fighters ;)
  • 0

#21 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 28 March 2011 - 16:47

I think you saved me a lot of hassle :D


edit: oh snap, did not see your pm, thanks :)
  • 0

#22 SYN_Kollwitz

SYN_Kollwitz
  • Posts: 298

Posted 28 March 2011 - 17:27

Just a heads up from someone who flew on the intermediate server.

Syn Intermediate server.

We were running 1.18 at that time, so you might have changed it already,

cheers,
Koll
  • 0

#23 Skyburn

Skyburn
  • Posts: 109

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:16

played for an hour. Shot down a bomber, my first PvP victory!
Escaped twice with blood in my eyes over the trenches. still can't seem to fly and use the hatswitch.
But at least I saved my virtual …

I enjoyed it a lot, thanks for making this!
  • 0

#24 hq_Neca

hq_Neca
  • Posts: 282

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:32

I got RoF.exe twice. Could be due to my shit PC, did anybody else expirienced that?
  • 0

#25 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:36

I think Peter was having an awful evening with errors, not RoF.exe, but skin errors and stuff like than.
  • 0

#26 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:41

If you are also on 32bit Neca it is probably lack of RAM. When I checked my ROF.EXE was using 1.8GB and I am using relatively low graphic and texture settings.
  • 0

#27 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:42

Good stuff Skyburn. I find the bombers more dangerous than fighters sometimes!

Hi Neca, I never saw anyone with a ROF error but one person had out of memory error.

So I removed all the machine guns from the front as they weren't doing too much anyway - so that should be using less memory for sure.

When your server is on 1.20 mission it should be better, probably 25% less objects now it's safer.

Also what's your graphics memory % at? Is it above 50%?
  • 0

#28 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:47

Not sure about Neca but Peter was having the issues with 1.20, but with 32bit you just can't use all the skins at the same time you need thin them out a bit.

I am at 14% for reference and I had no problems at all.
  • 0

#29 hq_Neca

hq_Neca
  • Posts: 282

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:47

It's 80%
Yep, 32bit XP Imp.
And I had it few minutes ago, it may be due to HP, since I started following it. I remember long time ago, after patch that fixed RoF.exe(after graphic updates iirc) I got one, when HP was around me.
  • 0

#30 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:49

This mission is great for us N28 jockeys Taipan, managed to do some serious damage tonight, a fun mission for sure, though the airfields might be a tad close to the front now as it definately makes for interesting take-offs at times.

Nice one.

I have 48% set right now and saw no graphic problems, though I did get the of drop on FPS when entering chat messages (that an alt-tab out and back solved).
  • 0

#31 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:52

80% is not good :)

50% is the max you ever want to be at, because that estimate is at te bare minimum style blank mission like the lake map.

Check Peters graphics memory as well.

Mine is about 18% I think.
  • 0

#32 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 28 March 2011 - 23:59

80% is OK but only for singleplay where things only happen around your plane.

For multiplay you want it a lot lower Neca.
  • 0

#33 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 29 March 2011 - 00:00

Neca you can only use 2GB of ram for rof.exe on your system and all the graphic effects and textures also affect your ram, if you go above that things go tits up so you need to turn down your graphics or switch to a 64bit operating system.
  • 0

#34 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 29 March 2011 - 00:02

This mission is great for us N28 jockeys Taipan, managed to do some serious damage tonight, a fun mission for sure, though the airfields might be a tad close to the front now as it definately makes for interesting take-offs at times.

Nice one.

I have 48% set right now and saw no graphic problems, though I did get the of drop on FPS when entering chat messages (that an alt-tab out and back solved).

Yeah yesterday I scrambled my SE5 as a DFWs bombs ripped into the hangars behind me! Exciting, and theres the back base too if you get overrun by the enemy planes.
  • 0

#35 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 29 March 2011 - 00:04

DFWs are nasty, watched one bomb spawned aircraft but he was unlucky and dropped the bombs right between them doing little harm :) Had some great fun flying the "multi-role" fighter camel with bombs going low over NML and then return home for some air combat :) Eventually they took out the camel airfield so we had to slug it out with the lawn mower for a bit :D
  • 0

#36 WWBrian

WWBrian
  • Posts: 2418

Posted 29 March 2011 - 00:20

Excellent mission design TaipaN!!!

Another masterpiece of mission design from you!!!

Keep up the excellent work!

I appreciate your efforts.

:S!:
  • 0

#37 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 29 March 2011 - 00:23

Wow that writing is big! Thanks Brian ;)

For graphics memory - the big thing that helps is reducing landscape. It drops the % down lots but visually the landscape doesn't look too bad. Post-effects also take up alot of memory.

For frame rate though, I think its best for shadows: special-medium and medium or no reflections.
  • 0

#38 BroadSide

BroadSide
  • Posts: 2057

Posted 29 March 2011 - 04:04

Flew this today Taipan…nice work!

What's the respawn on the camel? Seemed like I waited forever for one to spawn…
  • 0

#39 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 29 March 2011 - 08:22

Front one is 10 minutes, back one is unlimited.

You're not supposed to wait you're supposed to take a different plane or come in slower from the back thats the idea :) Back base is 5 minutes flying if you're on the deck.

If camels run out, it means there is already multiple in the air. A limit on all planes, this means for example a D12 pilot won't be chased down by 3 camels which is unbeatable situation. I considered adding the tripe as well for another turner but it's not 1918.
  • 0

#40 BroadSide

BroadSide
  • Posts: 2057

Posted 29 March 2011 - 09:10

There were multiple germans over our front fields, and a number of newer entente pilots were in the air (meaning the camels went FAST). I ended up taking an SE5a and ended up dead…so yeah, back field was the better choice, but I didnt want to wait :) )
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users