Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Les Hellequins Dedicated Server


  • Please log in to reply
738 replies to this topic

#81 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:31

Saw foxl disconnect today in order to avoid a death…or so it seems. FYI.
That's not such a worry it still awards a kill, and it removes streaks too. Yesterday I was on final approach to land and got booted out, came back and my streak was gone but no deaths recorded weird.

It could be connection issues, I lost connection twice yesterday.

Also I have to do lots of manual disconnections any time I click fly now that it gets stuck on the hangar screen. It happens most on FF server but anywhere the ping is above 350 I get this problem, Hellequins is about 400 ping for me probably because Australia - Europe is not close :)

Other than that, server is very smooth for me minimal warping only the occasional player will warp.
  • 0

#82 KAPEH

KAPEH
  • Posts: 832

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:05

Some friends of mine complain that hq Server very "heavy" for their PCs and they refuse flying at the hq. Some of them experienced rof.exe error while flying at the server. Ping is ok, but they have an impression that missions is "overstuffed".
I'm writing this just to keep you informed.
+1
Every time rof.exe error or kick.
On what mission do your experience this? Only in the 14 hour mission or in the other missions aswell?
Only in the 14 hour mission.Earlier it was fine.
Guys, we've got another assumption about unstability of the certain PC systems in the "14 hour mission"….we've observed some kind of pattern…guys with Radeon videochipsets never experienced any problems with this mission, while guys with nVidia suffered from rof.exe error quite regular.
  • 0

#83 =J99=Sizzlorr

=J99=Sizzlorr
  • Posts: 1700

Posted 14 April 2011 - 15:41

I also have constant warps and disconnects from your server with the 14h offensive mission. I also have an Nvidia card.
  • 0

yedwwtfx.gif


#84 Coirdin

Coirdin
  • Posts: 95

Posted 14 April 2011 - 17:55

NVIDIA 460gtx
  • 0

#85 A.S.Pushkin

A.S.Pushkin
  • Posts: 291

Posted 14 April 2011 - 18:10

no bots plz!!!
  • 0

#86 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 14 April 2011 - 18:41

I have nVidia GTX295 but don't see anywhere near the DCX that others report, in fact I can only recall two DCX since the server came up.
  • 0

#87 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 14 April 2011 - 18:48

We will remove a few planes, hopefully that will help a bit.

no bots plz!!!

In 1.019 both AI Breguet and DFW will be removed I think :)
  • 0

#88 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 14 April 2011 - 19:26

Some of the artillery pieces are a bit redundant as well perhaps?
  • 0

#89 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 14 April 2011 - 20:05

Remove the Camel and Dr1. :mrgreen:
  • 0

#90 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 14 April 2011 - 22:11

After saying I rarely get a #10009 DCX error I got one tonight :(

I had ripped off my wings diving a slightly damaged N28 onto a DFW and a DVII (?) over an airfield.

My wingless fuselage smashed into the ground building area killing me, but in the few seconds when you go third person looking at your wrecked plane a stick of bombs from the DFW straddled my wreck.

I saw on bomb explode then got black screen, heard several others explode and got a #10009 DCX.

I wonder if a some of the DCX's happen to others around the time when the player is near bomb explosions?
  • 0

#91 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 14 April 2011 - 23:18

I dont get any memory errors but I do get no error but disco

Maybe 14 hours of artillery was not such a good idea :)

I'll make a new version soon. It's a shame the engine can't handle it it's really not very complex mission it's only 20% of what I really wanted if I was let loose…

I'll make a new version soon, maybe remove artillery and some planesets.
D7 SopTripe and maybe one more central plane pfalz D3? It's too slow anyway and we have Albys.

We have human DFW so I will remove that ai but keep the breguet
  • 0

#92 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 14 April 2011 - 23:21

The D.IIIa is a somewhat decent plane to fight off Camels if the Fokker field is gone but D.IIIa and D.Va are quite similar otherwise so I don't mind either way. The D.Va should really stay though as you said.

Somehting else, could you maybe find a less bumpy spot for the Fokker airfield? Maybe it's just me but it seems a lot harder to land there compared to the entente fields.

Also, is there a way to make tanks less accurate? They seem to wound me every time I fly past them.


Thanks for taking your time to implement these changes before 1.019 comes out, lets less people will have issues with that one :)

In our squadron two people actually just switched to windows 7 64bit just to play this mission better, upon other things :D
  • 0

#93 charlo

charlo
  • Posts: 814

Posted 14 April 2011 - 23:25

I dont get any memory errors but I do get no error but disco

Maybe 14 hours of artillery was not such a good idea :)

I'll make a new version soon. It's a shame the engine can't handle it it's really not very complex mission it's only 20% of what I really wanted if I was let loose…

I'll make a new version soon, maybe remove artillery and some planesets.
D7 SopTripe and maybe one more central plane pfalz D3? It's too slow anyway and we have Albys.

We have human DFW so I will remove that ai but keep the breguet

You know I love this mission, and IMHO I'd like there to always remain at least one AI flying on each side - that way the first person to arrive has something to do in the air, and are more likely to stay long enough to draw others to join.

That has been my experience, anyways… and even though I much prefer to fight a human-controlled 2-seater, until another human comes joins, I want a reason to stay off the deck and go hunting in the skies.

(Even an AI scout on each side would be something until another human joins.)

Charlo
  • 0
Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake OC @ 4.8 GHz | Corsair Hydro H70 CWCH70 CPU Cooler with two Noctua NF-F12 PWM 120mm fans | ASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO motherboard | EVGA Titan X Hybrid GPU | G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB DDR4 3000 F4-3000C15Q-32GRK RAM | Samsung 840 EVO 500GB SSD | CoolerMaster HAF 932 ATX Full Tower case |SeaSonic Snow Silent 750W Power Supply | Acer B6 Series B286HK ymjdpprz 28" 4K UHD (3840 x 2160) Monitor | Windows 10 Pro | CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Throttle Quadrant, CH Pro pedals, CH MFP, Track IR 5, Buttkicker Gamer 2 | ====== My original ROF rig (now used by visiting gunners): MacBook Pro Core2Duo 2.66 GHz | 8 GBs RAM | NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT 512 MB GPU

#94 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 14 April 2011 - 23:27

Yes but when we have artillery spotting etc the first human can take the role of the AI plane, or just take a bomber. Of course in that case the first guy joining will not be a fighter pilot so you have a point. But I can understand that people don't like AI planes.
  • 0

#95 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 14 April 2011 - 23:36

Well I've never been shot down by a tank but occasionally wounded. You should kill them most people ignore them.

Maybe I'll put just ai fighters because at least something is needed to start it when its empty.

Fighters are MUCH less likely to cause ROF exe than 2 seaters.
  • 0

#96 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 15 April 2011 - 00:01

Also when you modify it for the briefing etc, please rename it add hq on the end. Otherwise it overwrites my version when I connect to play. I'm too lazy to save backups :lol:
  • 0

#97 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 15 April 2011 - 02:21

ok it's done: TDM - The 14 Hour Offensive (Now with CLOSE bases)
  • 0

#98 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 15 April 2011 - 13:49

Today, we'll run a new mission again. Unlike the last friday missions, this mission will not end when one team has finished their objective. The mission will end after 4 hours and destroying targets will trigger secondary objectives, which will give the team bonus points. So there still is a reason to go for the objectives, but it's not entirely necessary. So people are free to do what they want.

All objects respawn in this mission.


The name of the mission is "All quiet near Amiens". It's a summer 1918 mission, shortly before the Battle of Amiens. It will feature most late-war planes.

Albatros D.Va, Fokker D.VII, Pfalz D.XII, DFW C.V, Fokker D.VIIF (limited), Fokker D.VIII (limited) on the Central side and S.E.5a, Sopwith Dolphin and Sopwith Camel (limited) on the Entente side.

The Dolphin and Camel spawn on one airfield and carry bombs by default. If people don't want to bomb something, they can drop those bombs over nomansland (just don't bomb your own airfield please..). The S.E.5a does not carry bombs in this mission.

The Camels are very limited, about the same as the D.VIII and D.VIIF combined. All other planes are unlimited.

The mission will start around

18:15 GMT
19:15 BST
20:15 CEST

Attached Files


  • 0

#99 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 15 April 2011 - 21:13

We had some massive problems with the master-server, like usual.

People were unable to join for a while and all that.
Sorry about that, but that's out of our hands.
  • 0

#100 Tom-Cundall

Tom-Cundall
  • Posts: 5549

Posted 15 April 2011 - 21:20

No problem! There's always next week! :)
  • 0

#101 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 19 April 2011 - 18:09

Any chance that you guys might put a tighter leash on the DFW, HP, and Gotha? I flew on your server a bit today, and in addition to the teams being constantly stacked in favor of CP, the only way I saw those aircraft being flown was as suicide bomb trucks. SOP was to cross no man's land at 10m altitude, and then bomb the hangars while the AI gunners pick off scouts on the ground.
  • 0

#102 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 19 April 2011 - 18:30

It's true, I have to say. Entente forward aerodromes are nearly constantly down and out.
  • 0

#103 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 19 April 2011 - 21:30

True sometimes, but sometimes same for CP dromes.. The DFW I had on a real quick respawn because it was the best new thing etc.

However since we don't have Breguet yet, there's no need for 20 quick spawning bombers. So I've reduced the front bases to 5 DFW, 5 Breguet. HP is still 10 until we get the Breguet.

But further to reduce the risk of the LOW alt suicide attacks, the MGs at front base are upgraded to "normal" ai.. i.e. semi-sniper.

The MG and AAA at rear bases is now high, to minimise chance of all bases going down at once.

See original thread for 1.25 version TDM - The 14 Hour Offensive 1918
  • 0

#104 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 20 April 2011 - 02:58

Yeah, it does happen both ways. One guy complained when his HP was shot down by AAA as he suicided the CP aerodrome while his AI gunners attacked the scouts taking off.
  • 0

#105 KAPEH

KAPEH
  • Posts: 832

Posted 29 April 2011 - 11:12

Guys, this morning I've experienced very strange behaviour of the AI Pf D.12…it looks like some kind of a strange freezing. It was flickering all around me with the speed of jet fighter…as though somebody doubletimed it's time!…Server was almost empty, just me and other guy…maybe it was something wrong with my inet, but it was first time I've ever seen RoF planes flying like that, neither piloting by human nor by AI.
  • 0

#106 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 29 April 2011 - 11:29

The AI is testing a new field mod :D


On a more serious note, thanks for reporting this! I think before 1.016b AI planes were always a bit odd in MP but I haven't seen or heard much of them laggin about since then, of course AI is used very little or not at all and I think we will remove them soon anyway, hopefully by next week.

What you describe (time acceleration) sounds a bit like SPS jumps on the server. If you ever see it again watch the clock in your cockpit (or the 2D one) closely, if you see the seconds jump it indicates problems with the syncronisation on the server side. Of course with just two people flying it should not happen and I don't think I have ever seen it with 40 or 50 people flying on our server but I guess odd things can happen all the time with computers and the internet :) I checked if it was installing windows updates or something but it doesn't do that on it's own so not sure… did it last for long or was it just for few seconds, did it reoccur etc?

I could try to blame the master server but I am not sure it can be made responsible for everything :D
  • 0

#107 Miggins

Miggins
  • Posts: 3115

Posted 29 April 2011 - 12:24

I noticed a couple of planes banding about last night, there were 40+ clients in server and the banding happened when I had 6 EA and 2 friendly in a small volume (maybe 1000m diameter globe).

It was apparently the same couple of planes though (a couple of DVa's) rather than a selection of different planes at different times, so that points towards a client side problem to me.
  • 0

#108 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:18

Hey guys,

Thanks for the good fun and congrats for your server's success.

You probably know this already, but this is one of the more common sights during the 14 hour mission:

Attached File  base rape.PNG   723.07KB   292 downloads

This is at Verdun, of course. The same rarely happens on the other side. There seems to be a core of pilots who mostly fly CP and make it a habit to fly directly to Verdun in an attempt to base-rape the Entente. I personally watched a D.VIIF pilot drop straight down from 2.5km to attack aircraft that had barely lifted off the ground. It's a rare thing that I get to fly CP on this map myself because the CP almost always has more, but when I do, I find myself fighting near Verdun, too, because that's where the action is.

The irony is that the Entente almost always has a better k/d because pilots are forced to work together. :lol:

Maybe it would be better to post this in Taipa's thread, but consider converting some of the AAA gunners at the aerodromes into flak trucks. I can't help but think that the quality of combat would improve immensely if the fights were mostly over No Man's Land instead of Verdun.
  • 0

#109 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:22

We're soon putting up a new version that will hopefully address this issue. I agree that it's a major problem.
  • 0

#110 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:22

We are working together with Taipan to address some gameplay issues but with bloody april and the easter holidays things slowed down a little.
  • 0

#111 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:36

Cool! I look forward to it! :S!:
  • 0

#112 ZaltysZ

ZaltysZ
  • Posts: 1638

Posted 01 May 2011 - 14:47

It will be hard to push the fight into no mans land. DFWs easily shut the forward bases down, and it takes some time for Entente to fly from rear base. In fact, even if forward bases are functioning, Entente prefers the rear base as it is more safe. In addition, I can't say Entente is unhappy with fights near Verdun (no wonder, because having dogfight over own territory has less risks). Maybe Breguet will change this.
  • 0

#113 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 01 May 2011 - 15:46

I love fighting over Verdun :) Very exciting takeoffs and more people for me to shoot very soon!

Actually I thought they were coming there because of the scenery ;)

But seriously there is an issue because many ground targets are behind the bases… which makes base fighting almost legitimate.
Well the history - this happened because the frontline there is so wide - the complaint was that the bases were too far away. Hence they got moved right forward to keep people interested.

Next mission I will use a smaller section of the lines, and put the bases behind the main targets. But for this one - use the back base. It's not too far. Consider the front bases special bases for when you have pushed the war back into the lines more.

So Matt & HQ guys - if you have time you're welcome to move the front bases slightly back. But it needs good testing because it's a very bumpy area there and hard to get a good spot for a base.
  • 0

#114 hq_Jorri

hq_Jorri
  • Posts: 14143

Posted 01 May 2011 - 17:20

Taipan,

We'll look at that. Especially since the Fokker base is still very bumpy.

The new mission is running now. It's half as long, some units have been removed (AI planes and artillery positions), and some machineguns have been added to the trenches: both to protect against low flying bombers, and to add immersion.

We have also removed the big bombers from the front fields, because a lot of low level bombing was going on and it had a very bad effect on the mission.

Finally, we reduced the mission time to 6 hours to prevent problems with statistics and the master server.

Most likely, we will add another mission, similar but with a different planeset, and taking place in the afternoon/evening.

I must say, this mission has seen some versions but in concept, but it is the future of Rise of Flight multiplayer. It offers something for everyone, and there are many things you can do. The fact that everybody makes his own objectives and goes his own way means you never know who you will meet where or when. Taipan has struck gold with this one.
  • 0

#115 gavagai

gavagai
  • Posts: 15542

Posted 01 May 2011 - 17:42

Taipan has struck gold with this one.

Without a doubt, it is the most popular multiplayer mission in the history of the game.
  • 0

#116 Chill31

Chill31
  • Posts: 1892

Posted 01 May 2011 - 19:27

I made a mission that you might find to your liking for the HQ server. Files and description here: Chill31s High Altitude War MP mission

If you use it and it bogs down or has rof.exe, let me know and I will trim it. Or you can trim it. Either way. Should be a good time though and show the planes for what they were meant to be.
  • 0

#117 1PL-Lucas-1Esk

1PL-Lucas-1Esk
  • Posts: 1038
  • LocationPoland/Warsaw

Posted 02 May 2011 - 08:00

Hi Guys,
yestreday I finally had a pleasure to fly on your server together with my teammates and we enjoyed the mission a lot. We operated from Sivry with two DFW's, two D.VIII's and one D.VIIf responsible for the protection. I must say, I like the low level strafing a lot. And it gives a lot of satisfaction, if you bring your bombers safe to the home base. Anyways, we have to stop hiding and training between ourselves on our server and start appearing more often in a large group.
  • 0

1PL-Lucas
CO of 1.Pułk Lotniczy
http://1pl.boo.pl


#118 ImPeRaToR

ImPeRaToR
  • Posts: 7902

Posted 02 May 2011 - 10:53

I am glad you enjoyed yourselves Lucas, you certainly don't have to hide and everyone knows about your secret gliding attacks now anyway :D :D :D
  • 0

#119 hq_Overmax

hq_Overmax
  • Posts: 358

Posted 02 May 2011 - 11:00

We operated from Sivry with two DFW's, two D.VIII's and one D.VIIf responsible for the protection
Haha cool, yesterday we did almost exactly the same. :D We tried different things sometimes with two sometimes with three DFW and with diffrent escort planes and altitude, it was great fun. The Escort had a lot to do to keep us alive. Maybe we meet next time and do a formation together. :S!:
  • 0

#120 1PL-Lucas-1Esk

1PL-Lucas-1Esk
  • Posts: 1038
  • LocationPoland/Warsaw

Posted 02 May 2011 - 11:58

Sounds great! We will try to be present on 19:00 UTC. I hope that we will have about 3-4 bomber pilots from our unit. Always good to practise some gliding :mrgreen:
  • 0

1PL-Lucas
CO of 1.Pułk Lotniczy
http://1pl.boo.pl



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users