Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Historic Buildings


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 07 December 2010 - 05:58

S!

A few questions if I may:

I'm not much of a 3D modeler, but I'd like to try my hand at a few buildings which are missing from the large map - nothing too exciting, I'm thinking of La Citadelle at Lille and a few of the forts around Verdun. Is 3DS Max an absolute requirement or could I consider using one of the open source programs that abound for 3D modelling and export the models?

What are the requirements for buildings in the sim?

W.
  • 0

#2 Interloper

Interloper
  • Posts: 185

Posted 16 December 2010 - 02:05

That is a good question.

I am personally using Lightwave, and I am interested in creating aircraft, will I be able to use this program? Or is 3DS max the only one?
  • 0

#3 HotTom

HotTom
  • Posts: 8177

Posted 16 December 2010 - 02:51

Fort Douaumont at Verdun is conspicuous in its absence (along with trenches, etc.)
  • 0

#4 RAF74_Winger

RAF74_Winger
  • Posts: 245

Posted 20 December 2010 - 05:53

Douaumont was one of the buildings I was considering in particular, but there are many other forts around that area for which good data is available.

W.
  • 0

#5 Gimpy117

Gimpy117
  • Posts: 1661

Posted 23 December 2010 - 02:30

well our map is supposed to be 1918 isnt it?

looks like we'll be modeling whats left of the fort. but a non blowed up version would be nice
  • 0

#6 =HillBilly=

=HillBilly=
  • Posts: 5605
  • LocationSouthern Ozark Mountains

Posted 30 March 2016 - 14:53

Sounds like a good program, but has the smell of Spam. 


  • 1

     So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

 
 


#7 Tzar

Tzar
  • Posts: 84

Posted 30 March 2016 - 19:36

I believe no matter what, you will need 3d studio Max.

Your work can be done in Blender, Maya, or program of your choice.

You will need 3dMax to export the data as an .mgm file, I know of no other way.

 

3dmax 8 student version is still available and comes with 30day trial, install sdk, and you have 30 days to get it to work..... VM ware is your friend, if your a techie.

 

We use 3d Ripper at the moment to get the game models and textures.

 

Good Luck.

 

Fritz


  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users