Photo
- - - - -

elephant's pilot skins (8/Dec/2010 - update at 1st post)

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 elephant

elephant

Posted 31 October 2010 - 21:29

This is my first attempt to produce a pilot skin for RoF.
Many of you may be familiar with my work on hardcore historically accurate pilot skins in IL-2 series.
I didn't do any special historical research for this one, as I usually do.
It all started from a poll by B-24_LIBERATOR about the lack of scarves in RoF pilots.
So I got the default skin and tweaked it a little to change the original turttleneck into a scarf.
I changed the collar fur to black as it suited better to my taste plus in vintage German pilot photos the fur collars look very dark.
I have also changed the helmet with one that resembles the piece worn by German pilots in the last Red Baron movie.
And finaly I changed the default face with another made by colorising a Manfred von Richthofen photo, (pic attached).
There is much streching on the skin from the actual 3d model and lots of tweaking was needed to make the face look right,
that I don't think that, finaly, much of a resemblance with the Baron himself left.
Nevertheless, IMHO it looks more human than the default one and for sure the eyes that gaze through that goggle lens are his eyes.
I have included for you 4 versions of the skin:
Version1 with the new helmet and the scarf you see in the pics.
Version2 with the default helmet, (a bit enhanced…nice helmet too), same scarf.
Version3 with new helmet, red scarf.
Version4 with default helmet, red scarf.
I hope you like them.
I wish we could have the option of individual pilot skins ala IL-2 in RoF too… :roll:

Who knows, may be sometime in the future, the game is still very young. ;)

Have a look here:

Version 1

Attached File  German pilot V1.jpg   495.59KB   2242 downloads

Version 2

Attached File  German pilot V2.jpg   496.92KB   2242 downloads

Download here: