Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to use zoom with Track IR


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#1 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 28 August 2010 - 17:52

I finally know how to make this work the way I wanted it! :) (although it's not easy)

Here's a short preview what you can do with it. Zooming in and out becomes very natural and intuïtive. It's a lot more easy to spot those distant bogeys!




There are two problems to tackle:
1. You can't select TrackIR as axis in the Controls settings screen in the game.
2. The default zoom level needs to be adjusted to fit your preference (monitor aspect ratio).

Instructions:

Choose your profile in the game Under "Options"-> "Controls".
Assign an analog axis to "Head: Zoom" under "Pilot head control". Perhaps you already use this.
Go to the "Responses" screen and scroll/select "Head: zoom". Now you change the default zoom level. Here is an example:

Image

In the above example, the default zoom level (the value for X=0 ) is zoomed out 45%, because the player has a Widescreen monitor (or it is his/her personal preference).

Save the profile under a new name, eg "TrackIR Zoom".

Now we need to assign the TrackIR Z-axis to zoom and we could use the analog axis for moving the head forward (not necessary, but perhaps you want to use this sometime).
Go to your …\Rise of Flight\data\input folder. Open the new profile "TrackIR Zoom.map".

Look for the following lines:

action("BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P",State,_trackir_axis_Z);

action("BC_HEAD_ZOOM_P",State,_joy2_axis_S);


And change them as follows (basically we are swapping the assignments):

action("BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P",State,_joy2_axis_S);

action("BC_HEAD_ZOOM_P",State,_trackir_axis_Z);


Please note that "_joy2_axis_S" is my particular assignment, you will probably have a different control assigned.

Start the game, select the new profile and voila!

Note that you can't change the "Respones" curve on the new profile in the game. You will have to do that on the original profile, then copy the settings manually using a text editor. EDIT: I'm not sure this is true anymore, just try…

Another Note: You have to disable "trueview" in TrackIR if you want to look sideways/back and be able to zoom.

Here's the section:

[BC_HEAD_ZOOM]

data_row0 = -1.000000, -0.992000, -0.986000, -0.978000, -0.970000, -0.964000, -0.956000, -0.948000, -0.942000, -0.934000;
data_row1 = -0.926000, -0.918000, -0.912000, -0.904000, -0.896000, -0.890000, -0.882000, -0.872000, -0.862000, -0.850000;
data_row2 = -0.840000, -0.830000, -0.820000, -0.810000, -0.800000, -0.790000, -0.780000, -0.768000, -0.758000, -0.748000;
data_row3 = -0.738000, -0.728000, -0.718000, -0.708000, -0.698000, -0.688000, -0.676000, -0.664000, -0.648000, -0.630000;
data_row4 = -0.614000, -0.598000, -0.580000, -0.564000, -0.548000, -0.530000, -0.514000, -0.496000, -0.480000, -0.464000;
data_row5 = -0.446000, -0.436000, -0.418000, -0.400000, -0.384000, -0.366000, -0.350000, -0.332000, -0.314000, -0.298000;
data_row6 = -0.280000, -0.264000, -0.246000, -0.230000, -0.206000, -0.182000, -0.156000, -0.132000, -0.106000, -0.082000;
data_row7 = -0.056000, -0.032000, -0.006000, 0.018000, 0.044000, 0.068000, 0.094000, 0.118000, 0.158000, 0.202000;
data_row8 = 0.246000, 0.292000, 0.336000, 0.382000, 0.426000, 0.472000, 0.516000, 0.558000, 0.592000, 0.626000;
data_row9 = 0.660000, 0.694000, 0.728000, 0.762000, 0.796000, 0.830000, 0.864000, 0.898000, 0.932000, 0.966000;
data_endrow = 1.000000

points_rows_count = 2
points = x%2cy|0.15833333333333%2c0.058333333333333|0.36666666666667%2c0.165|0.50158333333333%2c0.27666666666;
points_row1 = 667|0.63325%2c0.38825|0.77316666666667%2c0.56333333333333|0.86833333333333%2c0.77658333333333;
symmetry = 0;
dead = v|1|0|0.0066677779629938|1;
spline = 0;

[end]

*** Update because of changes in 1.022 *** (thanks Lausbub78!)

You have to go through the Steps listed above ,but with the "_current_.map" file. After that you have to change your profiles .actions file as well. Look out for the Line "BC_HEAD_ZOOM, " and change your Joystick axis that is in that line to "trackir_axis_Z," and you're done. Maybe you have to invert your Axis,as I had to. You may as well add a second axis for the Head zoom ingame. If you do that you can set the Curve for the Zoom in the Responses Tab ingame at all time,without to change the _current.map_ file back to its normal State like it was pre Patch.
  • 0

#2 SYN_MrWolf

SYN_MrWolf
  • Posts: 807

Posted 28 August 2010 - 18:40

Good Job.!!! I certainly gonna try that! Thanks
  • 0

#3 SYN_MrWolf

SYN_MrWolf
  • Posts: 807

Posted 28 August 2010 - 18:41

Would u mind sharing your Rof control setup?
  • 0

#4 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 28 August 2010 - 21:28

Wolf: Do you mean the actual file? Or a screenshot?
  • 0

#5 SYN_MrWolf

SYN_MrWolf
  • Posts: 807

Posted 28 August 2010 - 22:18

Hi Vanderstok,

I was not thinking. So I wouldn't need it. sry.. THough I succeeded in doing your tutorial.
I am really happy with it Thanks again!
  • 0

#6 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 29 August 2010 - 15:56

Subscribed. To be clear, this is how to configure so you zoom in and out using TrackIR? This is something I have been wanting to set up and try.
  • 0

#7 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 29 August 2010 - 16:44

Yes, the youtube movie should give you an idea what to expect!
  • 0

#8 MattM

MattM
  • Posts: 2595

Posted 29 August 2010 - 16:49

Excellent. You're a genious. Will definately try that out.
  • 0

#9 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 29 August 2010 - 22:23

Question: Do you know what these two actions do in game?

action("BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P",State,_joy2_axis_S);
action("BC_HEAD_ZOOM_P",State,_trackir_axis_Z);

More to the point, do we need to keep BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P assigned to _joy2_axis_S (using your example) after the assignment switch? I ask because I don't have a good choice for an axis to use to do this mapping. I thought maybe I can use one temporarily to make the assignment, then switch it back to its normal assignment.
  • 0

#10 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 29 August 2010 - 23:45

It works nice for front view zoom, but for sides view zoom, it's pretty weird…
It seems, sometimes, it's the inverse of zooming!
  • 0

#11 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 30 August 2010 - 05:56

Question: Do you know what these two actions do in game?

action("BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P",State,_joy2_axis_S);
action("BC_HEAD_ZOOM_P",State,_trackir_axis_Z);

More to the point, do we need to keep BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P assigned to _joy2_axis_S (using your example) after the assignment switch? I ask because I don't have a good choice for an axis to use to do this mapping. I thought maybe I can use one temporarily to make the assignment, then switch it back to its normal assignment.

The first is head move (forward/backward), the second is head zoom.
No, you don't need to assign an axis to BC_HEAD_TRANS_X.

It works nice for front view zoom, but for sides view zoom, it's pretty weird…
It seems, sometimes, it's the inverse of zooming!

That must be because I have "trueview" disabled in TrackIR settings (because of known problems with sinking head). I guess you need to turn that off.
  • 0

#12 =Fifi=

=Fifi=
  • Posts: 10329

Posted 30 August 2010 - 06:31

Ah, ok. I'll retry it later then ;)
  • 0

#13 BlackSwan

BlackSwan
  • Posts: 68

Posted 30 August 2010 - 07:57

Am I missing something, all I did was assign two buttons to the zoom function, one for zoom in and one for zoom out. My trackIr works during the vooming process too.
  • 0

#14 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 30 August 2010 - 08:45

Yes, you're missing something ;), the idea is to use the z-axis in TrackIR to zoom in/out instead of moving the head forward/backward. So, by leaning forward, the view will automatically zoom in.
  • 0

#15 Panthercules

Panthercules
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 16192

Posted 30 August 2010 - 22:33

Yes, you're missing something ;), the idea is to use the z-axis in TrackIR to zoom in/out instead of moving the head forward/backward. So, by leaning forward, the view will automatically zoom in.

Just curious - why would you want to do this? I find the normal z-axis/lean forward mode with my TIR to be very useful for leaning around in the cockpit to view compasses or other instruments that seem to be hidden behind the control stick in some of the planes, or to lean out over the side of the cockpit to look below my aircraft for ground targets or maybe enemy planes down below - wouldn't changing the z-axis in TIR to zoom tend to mess that up?
  • 0

New "Useful Materials" page now available: http://riseofflight....ks/#entry628960
Useful Skinning-related Info:  http://riseofflight....g-related-info/  
Spammers banned while still online:


#16 J5_Ben

J5_Ben
  • Posts: 51

Posted 30 August 2010 - 23:26

now that I did it I cant zoom out unless i lean back, is there anyway to set the zoom all the way out and still have this enabled?

heres as far as I can zoom out with the trackir zoom profile

Image

and heres as far as i can zoom out with my normal profile(joystick buttons assigned to zoom in/out)

Image
  • 0

#17 arjisme

arjisme
  • Posts: 2377

Posted 31 August 2010 - 01:28

You have to play with the response curve so that, by default, it is zoomed out like that.
  • 0

#18 J5_Ben

J5_Ben
  • Posts: 51

Posted 31 August 2010 - 02:05

TY, i fixed it
  • 0

#19 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 31 August 2010 - 05:42

Yes, you're missing something ;), the idea is to use the z-axis in TrackIR to zoom in/out instead of moving the head forward/backward. So, by leaning forward, the view will automatically zoom in.

Just curious - why would you want to do this? I find the normal z-axis/lean forward mode with my TIR to be very useful for leaning around in the cockpit to view compasses or other instruments that seem to be hidden behind the control stick in some of the planes, or to lean out over the side of the cockpit to look below my aircraft for ground targets or maybe enemy planes down below - wouldn't changing the z-axis in TIR to zoom tend to mess that up?

It's just personal preference. I find it much more intuitive and natural than scrolling a wheel or pushing a button. So far, I haven't found any problems with seeing the instruments in the cockpit; even the radiator knob in the SPAD I can still find :)
  • 0

#20 O_Taipan

O_Taipan
  • Posts: 2291

Posted 01 September 2010 - 16:39

Thanks for this Vanderstok! O_Dingo pointed me here and this seriously improves my game.Cheers
  • 0

#21 ArnySimPilot1

ArnySimPilot1
  • Posts: 2

Posted 19 December 2010 - 08:28

It's works perfektly for me. Thanks a lot. :D
  • 0

#22 jimcarrel

jimcarrel
  • Posts: 570

Posted 07 January 2011 - 03:33

I will have to give this a shot. I just haven't flown much lately ( I developed a bad attitude with having to zoom in and out to see other flights).
  • 0

#23 Bilbo_Baggins

Bilbo_Baggins
  • Posts: 542

Posted 07 January 2011 - 09:26

Question: In the Trackir software itself, do you just use the default z curve? Have you experimented with the 1 to 1 curve? Would a faster curve be better?

I understand why the response curve in the ROF software would need to be adjusted so that the default head position would be zoomed all the way out. I wondered if starting out with a certain curve in the TIR software would make adjusting the ROF's software curve easier.

Also, what does a wide screen have to do with anything?

I appreciate the thread and will try this out tomorrow.
  • 0

#24 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 07 January 2011 - 10:39

Question: In the Trackir software itself, do you just use the default z curve? Have you experimented with the 1 to 1 curve? Would a faster curve be better?

I understand why the response curve in the ROF software would need to be adjusted so that the default head position would be zoomed all the way out. I wondered if starting out with a certain curve in the TIR software would make adjusting the ROF's software curve easier.

Also, what does a wide screen have to do with anything?

I appreciate the thread and will try this out tomorrow.

You can still adjust sensitivity in TrackIr. The main reason to use response curve is so the default zoom level can be changed. I think I use a default curve.

It seems FOV is calculated from horizontal resolution, because if you use a 16:9 screen the default FOV will be more zoomed in than with a 4:3 screen. So with a 4:3 screen the default zoom level may be acceptable, when you use a 16:9 screen it becomes awkward; at least that was my experience.
  • 0

#25 Bilbo_Baggins

Bilbo_Baggins
  • Posts: 542

Posted 08 January 2011 - 03:13

Worked great. I found good results by using the "deadzone" curve in the trackir software.
  • 0

#26 BullpupBarrie

BullpupBarrie
  • Posts: 112

Posted 16 March 2011 - 21:16

I'm now using this with Freetrack. Worked first time by following Vander's excellent instructions.

Thanks Vander for taking the time to put this up - looking around is so intuitive now and leaning over the guns lining up the sights is just the way it should be.

I would recommend this to anyone.
  • 0

#27 sanelmalo

sanelmalo
  • Posts: 16

Posted 21 March 2011 - 17:13

Didn't work for me..
action("BC_HEAD_TRANS_X_P",State,joy0_axis_W);

action("BC_HEAD_ZOOM_P",State,_trackir_axis_Z);

Im switching zoom with my W axis and the track ir zoom doesnt respond…
EDIT…………………………………………………………….

OOOOOOOuh! problem solved…After doing all the process, use to check the game confi, and noticed that head:zoom was not marked, so…i repeating the assignament… :?
Works perfect!

Thx
  • 0

#28 Mertons

Mertons
  • Posts: 72
  • LocationSpain

Posted 22 March 2011 - 21:42

Thanks a lot, Vander, it works great!

TY, i fixed it

I've got same problem, but no idea on how to edit the curve, so coul you please post a screenshot of your final curve?

Thanks in advance
  • 0

#29 aircastellon

aircastellon
  • Posts: 436

Posted 28 March 2011 - 22:19

Thanks
  • 0

#30 Dutch2

Dutch2
  • Posts: 4375

Posted 29 March 2011 - 17:58

thanks, could also be helpfull for my Facetracknoir setup.
  • 0
If I wrote something in this forum that is hurting or abuse a member, organisation or country? Let me know by pm for the corrections, please do not react back by bashing/trolling/flaming or other personal attacks!

Yep I’m an 2009 Rof pre-order buyer and one of the few that did buy the Sikorsky game.

#31 thunder-bolt

thunder-bolt
  • Posts: 10

Posted 24 April 2011 - 05:29

You have to play with the response curve so that, by default, it is zoomed out like that.

how do you do it?
can you please explain in more detail?
  • 0

#32 -Thierry

-Thierry
  • Posts: 3

Posted 24 April 2011 - 18:22

I have a 4:3 screen and with the mentioned curve I only get a slight zoom out. No zoom in.
Could the setting with the curve be explained.
Thanks
  • 0

#33 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 24 April 2011 - 18:54

I have a 4:3 screen and with the mentioned curve I only get a slight zoom out. No zoom in.
Could the setting with the curve be explained.
Thanks

Read the first post carefully. The main trick is to change the assignement of the track ir z axis in the input config file. The curve is used to adjust the default zoom level. The example is indeed to make the view zoomed out at the default head position.
  • 0

#34 -Thierry

-Thierry
  • Posts: 3

Posted 24 April 2011 - 19:54

I launched the game again to check my profile and discovered that the axis had not been saved. It works perfecly. Nice find!
Thanks
Thierry
  • 0

#35 Blade_meister

Blade_meister
  • Posts: 1356

Posted 25 April 2011 - 02:35

Hmmm, I just mapped zoom to the slider on my X52pro in game and have been using it since almost day one. My TIR5 zoom also works independent of slider zoom. It is very handy to use especially in the full real servers where I am almost certain to get lost or fly right by the fight. This gives me a chance to find some of the action.
S! Blade<><

Edit, And become a :x target :x for all the experienced pilots!!! :lol: :lol: :cry: :S!:
  • 0

#36 SYN_Vander

SYN_Vander
  • Tester
  • Posts: 4710

Posted 25 April 2011 - 08:05

Yep, a slider for zooming also works very well.
  • 0

#37 MikiBzh

MikiBzh
  • Posts: 27

Posted 25 April 2011 - 12:45

Thank you ! Working perfect :S!:
  • 0

#38 thunder-bolt

thunder-bolt
  • Posts: 10

Posted 26 April 2011 - 05:44

the problem is: in my response screen, there are only 4 items:
pitch
yaw
throttle
rudder

there is no "head zoom",
how to change this?
  • 0

#39 -Thierry

-Thierry
  • Posts: 3

Posted 26 April 2011 - 06:18

the problem is: in my response screen, there are only 4 items:
pitch
yaw
throttle
rudder

there is no "head zoom",
how to change this?


I Guess you forgot that step:
Choose your profile in the game Under "Options"-> "Controls".
Assign an analog axis to "Head: Zoom" under "Pilot head control".

  • 0

#40 thunder-bolt

thunder-bolt
  • Posts: 10

Posted 27 April 2011 - 19:28

oops, sorry I miss that part. :oops:
thanks for pointing that out. :S!:

I Guess you forgot that step:
Choose your profile in the game Under "Options"-> "Controls".
Assign an analog axis to "Head: Zoom" under "Pilot head control".

  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users